Top_Nav_v2_Font
[headerTopEspot]
Ballard Designs
Shipping To:
ICAT
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300

Sonoma Bookcase

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

Ballard offers free swatch samples for our fabrics. See and feel the real fabrics in person before you make a decision. Choose up to 10.

18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Shipping

This is our most cost effective delivery route for items both large and small.

Smaller items are shipped via standard ground service and will generally arrive in 3-7 business days.Please note: Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Truck Delivery

Larger items shipped via threshold are delivered through a truck service and will generally arrive 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Please note: All items delivered by truck will be charged an additional freight delivery fee of $35/item.

Items designated for Truck Delivery may be upgraded to our White Glove Service at your discretion for an additional $25 per item in addition to any other freight delivery fees. See In-Home Shipping below.

In-Home Shipping

With our In-Home white glove service, the item will be brought inside in your home, unpacked, inspected, placed in its final destination, and packaging materials removed. Assembly is not included. Please note: If you see any damage to the box or item itself, please refuse delivery or notate physical damage when signing and contact us immediately.

In-Home deliveries are typically made 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Expect a call from a delivery agent to schedule a 4-hour window for the delivery (Monday-Friday, 8am - 8pm)

Express Shipping

For faster delivery and additional fee, we offer Next Business Day and Two Business Day express service. Express orders received by 4pm EST are shipped the same day.


Express Delivery Charges (for orders under 10 lbs.)
  • Next Business Day delivery - $19.95 additional
  • Two Business Day delivery - $9.95 additional
For express delivery items over 10 lbs., additional charges will be reflected at checkout.

How do you calculate standard shipping charges?

Orders under $200 will be charged 15% of the total order value. Orders $200.01+ will be charged 10% of the total order value with a cap at $300.

All shipping charges are based on the original retail price of the product prior to any discounts being applied.
*Orders placed in Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands will have additional costs

Weekend or After Hours Delivery freight (LARGE) items?

Weekend and after hours deliveries for your larger items, which require a scheduled window of time for delivery, may be available in limited areas at an additional cost. Please contact us via email or 1-800-536-7551 to receive a special shipping quote.

Can I return or pick up items from your store?

Sure. With Ship to Store delivery, you can purchase qualified items* online and have them sent to your closest retail store to pick-up. We’ll take care of the shipping costs. Click Here to find a store near you.


*Items available for Ship to Store service will have a "Ship to Store" icon on the top right of the product page. Additionally, if you see a “ship to store” delivery option in the “add to cart” or “checkout” function, you'll know those items also qualify.
10 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Sonoma Bookcase is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 100.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as expected! The piece was well represented online, arrived well packaged and on time. I have gotten quite a few compliments on it and would definitely buy again! Assembly was simple and like that the shelves adjust for different 'looks'.
Date published: 2011-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds A Lot of Books! This bookshelf is the best! It holds so many books because of its size. But the open design keeps it from overwhelming a small-ish room. Also, the open back lets my red walls show through for a more cohesive look in the library. Putting it together was straightforward. It's big, so it took a little while to assemble, but there were no glitches or surprises. I'm very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2011-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this piece. Love the wider two shelves on the bottom and the soaring height. It seems very adaptable and could be used in any room. Adds a nice eclectic look to my great room. Now I need to order a twin!
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the Sonoma bookcase! It's exactly what i expected, elegant and sturdy. Thank you.
Date published: 2011-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the look Love this bookcase! Reasonable price, good quality. Love the look. It took a little bit of time to get it put together, but well worth it!
Date published: 2011-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from all of the above^ The ballard product description provided online is completely accurate and says it all-a recommended read!
Date published: 2011-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as described My Sonoma bookcase arrived promptly. I was able to assemble it by myself with no problem (BTW, I am a 60yr old grandmother!), and it looks great! This is not a flimsy quasi-wood shelf product; these are solid, real wood shelves supported by a heavy metal frame. I am totally happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2011-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice-looking bookcase We were really impressed with the Sonoma Bookcase. Some assembly is required, but it was relatively simple and we had it up within about half an hour. The quality is excellent, and the overall appearance is even better in real life than in the catalog. It is very sturdy as well as polished and elegant-looking. And the open construction allows us to have a large bookcase without overwhelming our small home office. We thought the price was great for what you receive.
Date published: 2011-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Proportions We were debating between these shelves - we ultimately ordered two to frame the fireplace and mounted tv - and some smaller scale, but much cheaper, ones from another store. We love them! They are gorgeous and open and the wood has a very nice tone that coordinates well with the other wood tones in our home. Would have loved a better "deal", but what can you do? The cross-back is a nice feature too and the black frame is sturdy and made it easy to assemble. Great size and shape, perfect proportions. Overall = recommend.
Date published: 2011-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a perfect display unit. The item was easy to put together. It's height adds to a room with high ceilings. I wish the shelves were not distressed but I'm still using it.
Date published: 2011-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Sonoma Bookcases are perfect! I started looking for bookcases three years ago. I finally found the perfect bookcase at Ballard's. I love my bookcases! I put them in the living room which is small and oddly shaped. The design of the Sonoma bookcases makes the living room appear larger and they give it a great open look, and makes the room feel light. I love that that the lower shelves are wider which give me room to display books and artifacts. The bookcases were easy to put together. I am going to order the smaller Sonomas for other areas in my home.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! It was a little tricky to put together so I had to call in some big guns to help. Once it was up and in place it looked great. It fit beside my fireplace perfectly and now I want to buy another for the other side. I'm just waiting for a sale or special offer. (hint, hint)
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Substantial and nicely designed This shelving unit is substantial and somewhat quick to assemble. The frame seems to be made of aluminum so it's strong without being too heavy and the shelves are very substantial. It was packed with enough styrofoam to fill 3 huge contractors bags. Things to know are: 1. The units ship with annoying paper stickers to identify each part. While this helps during assembly, the stickers are hard to remove and the ones on the largest shelf left a sticky residue I was unable to remove. The glue should be changed to rubber cement type glue so these can be taken off without damaging the finish on the shelves. 2. The middle shelf and top of the unit are screwed in with very nice long screws. The bottom shelf has no holes in it and is supposed to be attached to the frame with 3 very small wood screws. However, the bottom shelf sits about 3" from the floor. I don't know how it would be possible to screw this on from the bottom with the unit standing up, and the screws are too small to actually hold the heavy shelf on if the unit was not standing up, so I just let the bottom shelf sit on the supports without affixing it. 3. The assembly instructions have an issue that should be corrected in the documentation! In steps 1 and 2, the front of the shelves is forward as you put the first couple of pieces together. At step 3, the back of the unit is suddenly facing forward, with no explanation, which is very confusing as you try to figure out how to complete assembly. I took the shelves apart twice after step 2 thinking I had started incorrectly. You'll figure it out eventually because of the location of holes in the frame, but this slowed down the project quite a bit. I recommend Ballard label the unit in the assembly instructions pamphlet FRONT and BACK so it's clear that the unit should get turned around midway through assembly. The crossbracing doesn't add to the design in my opinion, but is probably an important structural component and will provide a way for us to secure the unit to the wall--we're here in earthquake country.
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from once assembled great Assembly should come with instruction that states not to actually screw all pieces together to start...it almost needs to be losely held in place or not all of it will line up. Also you need a short handled screw driver to put the screws in the bottom shelf (or do that out of order!). The self leveling feet are great - but they are only on the back feet so be warned that you might need to place felt pads under the front so that it does not lean forward. Once assembled and leveled front and back it is great.
Date published: 2012-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This bookcase has lots of shelf space in a small footprint I ordered this bookcase because had a simple yet classically modern look. It caught my eye in the catalog also because the dimensions were perfect for my space and the open back was necessary for a heating unit. The process of assembling was simple, with photo directions. The places where certain screws were supposed to go, under the main shelf, did not match but were not really necessary.
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for I really like this bookcase. It is a perfect size for the wall in our living room. I love the look of the wood too. It came quickly and was easy to put together. There is just one problem and that is the stickers that they put on it do not want to come off. I am frustrated that they are so hard to come off and you can't use any product on it or it will damage it. So I am slowly and gently scraping them off with my fingernail. I am not pleased about the sticky residue that is going to be left on the wood. And there are about 10 stickers. Other than the sticker issue I am pleased with this bookcase.
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive as an étagère, and light-weight book storage. We ordered two Sonoma Bookcases and like the open feeling that such large furniture normally would not have. They are sturdy, and really function more as illustrated in your catalog—fewer books and more objects. They are more suitable as an étagère rather than a bookcase, because most of the shelves are made of thinner wood and would not support a full shelf of books without eventually sagging. Please note that several shelves had rough long gouges, creating a rustic appearance.
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost five stars I've had this bookcase for several months now and I really like it. I use it as a baker's rack in my breakfast area and it shelves my cookbooks and all sorts of dishes etc. The overall look is great (love the height) and I'm impressed with the quality of the wood shelves. I just wish the frame were made of wrought iron instead of this matte black "tubular" metal (which is very black and a bit cheap looking). That would have earned it five stars for sure. But overall it's a great option for the price point and I really am happy with it (I'm even thinking of ordering another one to go next to it).
Date published: 2011-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bookcase Love the bookcase. The only negative was the bookcase came without instructions on how to assemble it. It took a long day of repeated phone calls to get the instructions. Once that happened it was easy to put together and we are enjoying it!
Date published: 2011-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ordered 3, really like the bookcases. I really like the 3 bookcases in my dining room. They provide a little break against the wall of mirror they're in front of. They offer good storage and are well constructed. Unfortunately, the baskets shown with the bookcase were too large and not usable. Sadly, it doesn't give the look in the catalog without the baskets.
Date published: 2011-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value, stylish look This bookcase looks great once assembled. Was a little disappointed at the quality of the metal but I guess for the price, and to save on shipping, it's not going to be solid wrought iron (metal poles are hollow). But once assembled it really does look great. I used it similar to one of the photos - to hold misc serving pieces and display in a kitchen/dining area. Wood is quality.
Date published: 2011-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall the Sonoma Bookcase is a well constructed versatile piece of furniture. The Sonoma Bookcase is wonderful. Very well constructed with easy to follow instructions for assembly. This bookcase is functional without taking up precious space. In an time when many people are down-sizing and need furniture that can morph from one room to another the Sonoma Bookcase fits the ticket. The colors used - the black matte finish metal frame and the English Cherry finish wood shelves lend an understated sophistication to the piece. It can blend easily with many styles. A quality, well built piece of furnture with out the bulky feel.
Date published: 2011-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's grown on me and now I love it We needed something to flank our fireplace, and built-ins were going to be too expensive. This bookcase has great height and its open design keeps our room from feeling closed in. I love the distressed shelves, but at first, I wasn't too crazy about the color of them. They have an orange tint to the stain, which I didn't think would work in my room. I had wanted something a little more brown. But, we found the perfect rug with all the colors in it that I'm using, and it also has a hint of rusty-orange which ties the bookcase in nicely. So, its a keeper. I still have to order a second one, and I'm hoping it goes on sale soon. I do wish it was a little less expensive. All in all, it's a good choice.
Date published: 2011-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality issues The bookcase is nice, but one of the boards was warped and wobbles when items are placed on it. I was hoping the quality would be better.
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks good from a distance The quality of this product isn't as high as expected compared to other Ballard Design items that we have purchased. We had to have an additional shelf sent as one was severely cracked. It appears that the look the manufacturer was going for is rustic. I'm not sure that this is portrayed in the description or the photos. The quality control from the supplier is suspect.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but not up to Ballard standards I was somewhat disappointed in this Sonoma line of open shelving. I purchased the cherry version ... had a bit of trouble putting it together, as holes were not drilled precisely. The finish on the metal is very cheap looking (factory pebbled texture) and doesn't match the rustic look of the wood. The shelves are nicely finished but, though distressed, they are not antique looking by any means (too slick and regular). The worst part is that after just a few weeks the seams in the deeper shelves are separating. What looked like a bargain piece of furniture now looks ready to be replaced.
Date published: 2014-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great quality but strong chemical odor This bookcase looks just as pictured. It is well packaged and puts together easily. However, there is a strong chemical odor coming off of this piece of furniture, and it is giving us a headache. We hope it wears off soon. Quality is high, but the strong smell gives this 3 stars instead of the 5 it should receive. I have ordered from Ballard 3 times before and never had such an issue - loved everything else I have received.
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks just gorgeous and very is sturdy, but ... These units look exactly as pictured, they are incredibly sturdy and well packaged so damage would be highly unlikely. There is one problem, unfortunately they have an incredibly strong chemical smell, probably off gassing formaldehyde from the compressed wood shelves. Solely because of that, I cannot recommend these.
Date published: 2011-09-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Assembly nightmare I loved the look of this bookcase, especially the height and the adjustable shelves. After over 4 hours of attempting to assemble, I waived the white flag and boxed it back up. I am a handy person, but could not get the holes to line up. I called in the troops, we tried loosening screws, tightening screws, but finally realized it was not going together without breaking out some power tools. Customer service was great about returning, no exchange available for 2 months, as this is a very popular item. Hoping my next Ballard purchase goes better!
Date published: 2014-06-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Shelves sway under weight of books I've had this bookshelf for 2 years and the shelves have begun to sway under the weight of the books I have stored on it. The shelves should have been made thicker so they could handle the weight of books -- it's a bookcase after all!! The finish is attractive and blends well with my custom cherry office cabinetry.
Date published: 2013-04-21
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_MV260, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 102ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Product:MV260-Sonoma Bookcase
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

When you see an item you love, drag and drop the photo here. when you Log In, You'll be able to add these items to your cart and lists.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]