Top_Nav_v2_Font
[headerTopEspot]
Ballard Designs
Shipping To:
ICAT
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300

Sonoma Bookcase

FurnitureHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

Ballard offers free swatch samples for our fabrics. See and feel the real fabrics in person before you make a decision. Choose up to 10.

18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Shipping

This is our most cost effective delivery route for items both large and small.

Smaller items are shipped via standard ground service and will generally arrive in 3-7 business days.Please note: Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Truck Delivery

Larger items shipped via threshold are delivered through a truck service and will generally arrive 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Please note: All items delivered by truck will be charged an additional freight delivery fee of $35/item.

Items designated for Truck Delivery may be upgraded to our White Glove Service at your discretion for an additional $25 per item in addition to any other freight delivery fees. See In-Home Shipping below.

In-Home Shipping

With our In-Home white glove service, the item will be brought inside in your home, unpacked, inspected, placed in its final destination, and packaging materials removed. Assembly is not included. Please note: If you see any damage to the box or item itself, please refuse delivery or notate physical damage when signing and contact us immediately.

In-Home deliveries are typically made 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Expect a call from a delivery agent to schedule a 4-hour window for the delivery (Monday-Friday, 8am - 8pm)

Express Shipping

For faster delivery and additional fee, we offer Next Business Day and Two Business Day express service. Express orders received by 4pm EST are shipped the same day.


Express Delivery Charges (for orders under 10 lbs.)
  • Next Business Day delivery - $19.95 additional
  • Two Business Day delivery - $9.95 additional
For express delivery items over 10 lbs., additional charges will be reflected at checkout.

How do you calculate standard shipping charges?

Orders under $200 will be charged 15% of the total order value. Orders $200.01+ will be charged 10% of the total order value with a cap at $300.

All shipping charges are based on the original retail price of the product prior to any discounts being applied.
*Orders placed in Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands will have additional costs

Weekend or After Hours Delivery freight (LARGE) items?

Weekend and after hours deliveries for your larger items, which require a scheduled window of time for delivery, may be available in limited areas at an additional cost. Please contact us via email or 1-800-536-7551 to receive a special shipping quote.

Can I return or pick up items from your store?

Sure. With Ship to Store delivery, you can purchase qualified items* online and have them sent to your closest retail store to pick-up. We’ll take care of the shipping costs. Click Here to find a store near you.


*Items available for Ship to Store service will have a "Ship to Store" icon on the top right of the product page. Additionally, if you see a “ship to store” delivery option in the “add to cart” or “checkout” function, you'll know those items also qualify.
10 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Sonoma Bookcase is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 100.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect piece for the den We needed a small bookshelf for a TV, books and other items. This fit our needs perfectly. Easy to put together and we get lots of compliments.
Date published: 2015-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bookcase It's sturdy, looks great, and despite how big it is and how much it holds, the open design keeps it from feeling large or overpowering, even in my small office. I love it!
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Addition to My Small Kitchen I had my eye on this bookcase for a long time and purchased it when it went on sale. It fits perfectly in the corner of my kitchen. I've made the main shelf a coffee/tea station and the other shelves provide additional storage. I love the English Cherry stain on the shelves and the fact that I'm able to adjust their height. This bookcase came with easy instructions and I was able to put it together myself with some help from my husband. This is my first purchase from Ballard Designs and it won't be my last.
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great Awesome look and fit! Perfect for our hallway. Took some time but easy assembly.
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Piece This bookcase has fit into my room beautifully. The openness and height were very important considerations for us. I love it, and am considering purchasing another one.
Date published: 2013-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy--easy to assemble I bought two to go on both sides of an antique buffet that I'm using for a media center. Their open design was perfect and does not overwhelm the wall. They are holding many books and table-side photos. Love them!!!
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Open, airy bookcase with solid construction I replaced two smaller, dark, enclosed bookcases with the Sonoma bookcase and LOVE the look. It's well constructed (assembly required# and solid but has a much lighter, open feel than did my enclosed bookcases. I'm using it to store heavy hard-bound books #lots of antique legal books), and it is holding up perfectly. Love this bookcase and the way it changed the look of our den!
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as stated on the site This bookcase meets every expectation. It fits wonderfully in the spot we chose for it. The finish looks very high-end and the matte metal frame adds a nice touch. We love the adjustable shelves and see this piece as the perfect addition to our room! Great buy!
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sonoma Bookcase We ordered this piece for it's look and dimensions and we were not disappointed! It was in perfect shape and easy to put together. The wood shelves are a lovely cherry and fit the black iron brackets with ease. We are using this piece for china and glassware in our dining room and have had many compliments. Thank you Ballard for a great first buy from your catalogue!
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to put together and functional for small space. I love this shelf. I bought the narrower "tower' a few months ago and loved it also. They are easy to put together, look good, and the extra height in my small space uses more room efficiently and makes my rooms look larger.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for price At first I was concerned about the quality of the product; however, once assembled I am thrilled with the way they look. They are a great value for the sale price. Read the reviews before you assemble they are very helpful. Some key things to note: oak finish is more of a brown than yellow (but still nice); I would recommend putting on the very bottom shelf first to easily access the screws from underneath the shelf and to help stabilize the unit while you finish the assembly, keep screws a little loose while assembling so you can line up holes, and assembly took me less than an hour per unit (I bought two) by myself but you may need help with the very top shelf since unit is so high.
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what my space was looking for! I had been postponing buying a new bookcase for quite some time since I couldn't find anything that fit the bill. My niece saw this on Ballards and sent a link to me to check it out. It was the perfect size and a substantial yet airy look to balance and compliment some heavier furniture I had in the room. It was easy for me to put together myself in less than an hour and turned out to be the perfect solution!
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow I could not be more happy with this piece of furniture. We purchased two of these to serve as a bookcase and media furniture. We have a small, oddly shaped living room so we needed something that would hold a lot yet feel open and not make the room feel smaller or cramped. This is perfect. Very easy to put together.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks like a much more expensive unit. Super sturdy I love my new bookcase! Put it together myself in about an hour and a half. I love the open look. Feels very airy despite its large size. The fixed shelves will hold an amazing amount of weight, haven't overloaded the others, so don't know how they would do long-term. Highly recommend this item. I could use it in any room.
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from functional and beautiful A great piece for any room - beautiful shelves, sturdy, flexible arrangement. I'm using it in the kitchen as an updated bakers rack. A great find for rhe money!
Date published: 2012-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So great - I ordered a second I ordered one and was so happy I ordered another a week later. They look great flanking my fireplace. One recommendation, when assembling the bookcases complete step 8 right after step 2. It reduced the time to just 10 minutes! Well worth the price!
Date published: 2012-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mulit-use possiblities Used this in kitchen as a sort of baker's rack. Looks great. Sturdy. Shelving has distressed portions which are part of the finish - giving it a great look. Love it.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! I'm a long-time Ballard customer and, when looking for a bookcase to go into my new mudroom, I found this one in a catalogue. Read the reviews -- and ordered it immediately. Easy to put together; did not need two people, either. Looks wonderful and is the perfect fit for the room. Once again, Ballard Designs comes through.
Date published: 2012-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sonoma Bookcase My expectations were surpassed by the high quality, beautiful materials in this bookcase. The shelving is top quality wood, the ironwork exceptionally sturdy, and the overall look just outstanding. All of the components were labeled well, making assembly easy.
Date published: 2012-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is a must have with its open airy design These bookcases are the perfect alternative to the "closed in" features of other designs. It allows for the wall color to show through while displaying favorite items- they provide the exact open and airy design I was looking for. Another Ballard Design winner!
Date published: 2012-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Functional and stylish This is my third purchase from Ballard and once again I am delighted with the style, quality and value. I bought a wall of shelving (2 Sonoma bookcases, 2 towers) for my study. The pieces don't take up too much visual space but add warmth as well as great storage. The wood is a heavily distressed cherry stain which doesn't show up well in the photograph but is very pretty. I use one of the bookcases to hold a 32 inch flatscreen TV--it works well for that, and you could even fit a larger TV than I have. Assembly is fairly straightforward, much easier as a two-person job. My only complaint is that the pieces are marked with stickers that are very difficult to remove from the wooden shelves. But that is a small objection. Overall, I love the bookcases.
Date published: 2012-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, functional shelving I'm so impressed with the Sonoma shelving. I used two of them in my kitchen/breakfast area to hold serving pieces, extra dishes, linens, cookbooks, etc. Because of their height they hold so much, and yet hug the wall so as not to be cumbersome next to the table and chairs. They are sturdy and beautifully crafted. Very easy to put together. I am extremely satistfied with my purchase!
Date published: 2012-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Shelves We used a couple of these to finish off a pantry and they were just the look we wanted. The shelves are nicely antiqued.
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid wood and tubular steel, easy to assemble Two of the shelves are fixed and the others can be left in or out. I use it in a secluded dining room wall off the kitchen for appliance and kitchen tool over flow. Might purchase another for my pantry area. Just what I need and meet my hopes for the intended application.
Date published: 2012-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous stately bookcase We loved the Sonoma bookcase so much in our office, that we purchased a second one for our daughter's bedroom. It is great with the adjustable shelves to accommodate various books or decor. Comes easy to assembly and looks fabulous.
Date published: 2012-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even more elegant in person! I needed furniture to both hold my stereo and store my textbooks. This unit fit the bill perfectly. My husband had it assembled in an evening. It is sturdy, well-made, and handsome. If offers a great deal of storage without making a small guest room/office look even smaller. The deeper shelves fit a tuner, cd player and speakers with room to spare. It would also hold a small to medium sized AV set, depending on how you set up the adjustable shelves. My only suggestion would be to get a basket or a set of book ends to ensure books not fall off the sides or back of unit.
Date published: 2012-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile piece The Sonoma bookcase is a nice addition to our Florida room. It was easy to put together by myself. I like that the shelves are adjustable to accommodate anything you may want to display.
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE my new bookshelf! I LOVE my new bookshelf. I ordered and received it within 3 days. It is very easy to put together...so easy in fact, I did it all by myself! I would recommend 2 people put it together, but 1 person can do it if it's a must. I was too excited to wait for help! It is very well made and sturdy. I can't wait to get it decorated and filled with books. I highly recommend this product! My shopping experience with Ballard was exceptional - their customer service was beyond my expectation. I will definitely shop with them again soon!
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Furniture I bought 2 of these to fill up large, high wall spaces. And, they do so beautifully. They are heavy and well made. The wood shelves are offer wonderful texture against the smooth black frames. I have filled them with books, lamps, plants, photos, a small wine rack and lots of pretty accessories, and they have become focal points. Check your measurements-they are (wonderfully) tall. Easy to assemble. Great buy!
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Open Shelves We are using two of these bookcases in our breakfast room to augment our kitchen storage. They are just right for displaying our more attractive dishware, fruitbowls, cookbooks, and things like that. We've placed them in front of windows, and they look great without blocking the light. Assembly was fine -- my husband did it on his own. Packaging was great and the bookcases had no damage. The wood is rich-looking and pretty in a dark honey-brown tone. It is mostly smooth, but heavily distressed in places, so be aware of that. The overall look of the bookcases is open and light, but they are sturdy and don't wobble. Their height is really nice -- 7' tall!
Date published: 2012-03-17
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_MV260, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 132ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Product:MV260-Sonoma Bookcase
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

When you see an item you love, drag and drop the photo here. when you Log In, You'll be able to add these items to your cart and lists.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]