Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

Ballard offers free swatches. Shipping and Processing fees apply. See the real swatches in person before you make a decision. Choose up to 10.


If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Shipping

This is our most cost effective delivery route for items both large and small.

Smaller items are shipped via standard ground service and will generally arrive in 3-7 business days.Please note: Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Truck Delivery

Larger items shipped via threshold are delivered through a truck service and will generally arrive 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Please note: All items delivered by truck will be charged an additional freight delivery fee of $35/item.

Items designated for Truck Delivery may be upgraded to our In-Home Service at your discretion for an additional $25 per item in addition to any other freight delivery fees. See In-Home Shipping below.

In-Home Shipping

With our In-Home service, the item will be brought inside in your home, unpacked, inspected, placed in its final destination, and packaging materials removed. Assembly is not included. Please note: If you see any damage to the box or item itself, please refuse delivery or notate physical damage when signing and contact us immediately.

In-Home deliveries are typically made 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Expect a call from a delivery agent to schedule a 4-hour window for the delivery (Monday-Friday, 8am - 8pm)

Express Shipping

For faster delivery and additional fee, we offer Next Business Day and Two Business Day express service. Express orders received by 4pm EST are shipped the same day.

Express Delivery Charges (for orders under 10 lbs.)

  • Next Business Day delivery - $19.95 additional
  • Two Business Day delivery - $9.95 additional
For express delivery items over 10 lbs., additional charges will be reflected at checkout.

How do you calculate standard shipping charges?

Orders under $200 will be charged 15% of the total order value. Orders $200.01+ will be charged 10% of the total order value with a cap at $300.

All shipping charges are based on the original retail price of the product prior to any discounts being applied.
*Orders placed in Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands will have additional costs

Weekend or After Hours Delivery freight (LARGE) items?

Weekend and after hours deliveries for your larger items, which require a scheduled window of time for delivery, may be available in limited areas at an additional cost. Please contact us via email or 1-800-536-7551 to receive a special shipping quote.

Can I return or pick up items from your store?

Sure. With Ship to Store delivery, you can purchase qualified items* online and have them sent to your closest retail store to pick-up. We’ll take care of the shipping costs. Click Here to find a store near you.

*Items available for Ship to Store service will have a "Ship to Store" option near the Add to Cart button on the product page.
10 0
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Original Home Office&#8482 2-Drawer File Cabinet is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 55.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what l needed. I ordered this cabinet primarily because of it's size. I needed something to place my computer printer on that would fit beside a new desk, in limited space. I was pleasantly surprised that it is so well made and looks more expensive than it is. The drawer, which was a bonus to me, is large enough to hold a ream of paper and my spare ink cartridges. The shelves hold my in /out baskets nicely. I am well pleased with both the fast service of Ballard in shipping this item, and the quality of the product.
Date published: 2013-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful quick and easy Love the product! Fits perfectly in my home. Great door delivery.
Date published: 2013-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my Tucsan Desk, the Color and Style. I am enjoying using my new Tucsan Desk. Ballard Sales Personnel were very accommodating and pleasant to work with. Although there was a slight flaw on one piece, Ballard Customer Service was also very accommodating and I received a new piece within days.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This file cabinet is perfect!! I was searching for a file cabinet for weeks, and the one I found at Ballard Designs is PERFECT for my needs. I LOVE the 2 drawer space for office supplies and the one file drawer is all I needed for files. The wood color matches my other furniture I already had in the room.
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just took the back panel off! I hesitated to buy this cabinet for my desktop based on the review about the overheating worry because I am also one to leave my PC on ALL THE TIME. Luckily I already owned the filing cabinets that are part of this collection and knew I could easily remove the back panel of the cabinet. This provided plenty of ventilation, as well as easier access to the cords in the back, and since it is against a wall as part of a corner unit, I don't see any of the mess!
Date published: 2012-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lovely and efficient home office Ordered two of the file cabinets, and work surface in grey. As with all the other products I have ordered from BD, it arrived much faster than I had expected. Also ordered the BD hutch and had my sweet husband anchor it to the wall like a cabinet. (I didn't want to waste the desk work surface, and we have very limited space. ) Am absolutley thrilled with the way it completed our little study. Very quality construction- am extremely pleased
Date published: 2012-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well-made, attractive product I love these file cabinets! They are durable, attractive, and strong. I bought four of them--two of the two-drawer cabinets and two of the single drawer cabinets--to support a custom desktop made of reclaimed wood. The result is absolutely beautiful! The desktop is very long (162" total length) and spans one entire length of my study; made of aged oak, it is VERY heavy. I spaced the four cabinets equally under the desktop, and they support it very well, with ample legroom. I bought the black cabinets, and the aged brass hardware coordinates beautifully with the old wood. I am delighted with this product and recommend it strongly.
Date published: 2012-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this product I love these file cabinets. They are very compact, attractive and have plenty of space for my legal size files. I would certainly recommend them. They take up little space, yet fill the bill perfectly. tz
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my NEW home office! Designed a home office / guest bedroom combination using several units of the "Original Home Office" system in Tuscan Brown. Quality is very good and appearance is very rich and warm. Have received lots of compliments from family and friends!
Date published: 2012-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was perfect for what I was looking for. I was looking for an "elegant/professional" filing cabinet and I found it here at BD. It has some weight to it also so there is no tipping when a drawer is opened.
Date published: 2012-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy, attractive, useful goes perfectly with Sonoma bookcase in my office: I removed 2 lower shelves and it fits beneath it. Nice touch- I didn't have to assemble it....
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Office Pieces I love this furniture. The quality is solid and the color matches my home perfectly. Thanks Ballard Designs for your wonderful products.
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality product ordered and delivered efficiently. The file cabnets are high quality and very attractive. The ordering process was simple and the material was delivered in a timely manner. I highly recommend the product and Ballard Designs.
Date published: 2011-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! We purchased a 3-Drawer file cabinet and a 2-Drawer file cabinet in white and use them as bases for an office desktop. They look beautiful, are good quality, and the best part is that they came completely assembled. So easy!
Date published: 2011-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I really like the whole look of the Original Home Office. I ordered it in white and everything exceeds expectations. This cabinet is probably my favorite as it provides a lot of easy storage.
Date published: 2011-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly pleased. The file cabinet is perfect for the area where it sits, and, the price very reasonable. Ordering was simple and delivery prompt. I love Ballard Designs!
Date published: 2011-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! It is a beautiful and very functional piece of funiture!
Date published: 2011-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality File Cabinet Quality is even better than expected and matches my office bookshelves! I am thinking of buying another.
Date published: 2011-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Original Home Office pieces were a great purchase. The versatility of these pieces is amazing. You can created functional office space in any space. I combined 7 individual cabinets with 2 desktops and a corner desk and now have a home office that is now a pleasure in which to work. The pieces are sturdy and well constructed.
Date published: 2011-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the whole collection! I bought this in 2006 - 8 file cabinets, a desk top, and the hutch - in Tuscan Brown. It is sturdy, gorgeous, and I get tons of compliments. You can't go wrong with this.
Date published: 2011-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Function Blended With Great Style! The file cabinets arrived in perfect condition . The stain was even with great quality wood. I had Glass special cut to create a great looking desk. The two smaller drawers provide great storage for office items while the ample file area keeps everything in its place. Well Done!
Date published: 2011-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didn't have to build it! I liked this filing cabinet -- it's well built (it was delivered assembled, which rocked my world) and it looks nice too. So many of the other cabinets that I looked at were cheaply made (for instance, one had drawers with a cardboard backing), but this one is not. I also appreciate that they have a whole office line that matches the cabinet so I can buy additional pieces without worrying about it looking mis-matched.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is good quality and price I am very pleased with the 2-Drawer File Cabinet. It is very well constructed with a beautiful finish and the price was great for a product of this quality. It looks great in my office.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely wonderful! I was pleasantly surprised when I received my Tuscan Brown 3-drawer file cabinet. The quality is great and it coordinates nicely with other pieces in the room. I plan to purchase several more pieces and a work surface to create a wall unit.
Date published: 2011-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, efficient unit I use this as one of the bases for my desk. It's pretty good quality - rolls smoothly, etc. I do wish it were a bit deeper - maybe 24" instead of 19" - because I have a fairly wide desk for architectural drawings. I had to use the plinth base and small additional risers to make my desk a more comfortable height.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product suits all my needs Great piece of furniture, as well as very useful. The drawers are a perfect size for files as well as other office essentials.
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, just short of great You can read a description a million times but until the thing sits in your home you don't get the whole picture. I waited a few months to receive the two file cabinets and the one four-drawer cabinet - there must have been three or four manufacturing or delivery delays. The looks cannot be beat and I knew they'd look great in my office, which they do. The pros are: looks, quality, price. The cons: drawer depth of the four-drawer cabinet is insufficient for my needs - it measures about 13" (the cabinet depth measurement is about 18") and the drawer pulls are difficult and uncomfortable to use - the drawers offer a lot of resistance and the pulls cut into my fingers. Am hoping that with time and use, drawers will open a bit more easily. Will probably expand to a few more units and as I said, they look terrific.
Date published: 2014-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, with one issue A nice built-in looking option for our house. Hanging folders (which have metal hangers) dig into the plastic slide rails. After some use (ours are 3-years old) the folders don't slide easily- they catch and drag along the rails. I'll try waxing them up to see if that solves the problem. If not, I'll search for a metal replacement.
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gray is very green/gray I really liked this product but the gray is very greenish. If you're into gray, like me, you know how many grays there are. This one was too green for my decor so I returned for the white and I'll just distress them myself.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice cabinet! Love this collection and the file cabinet in particular. It's solid and has lots of room for files. Isn't that the point??? Also love that the cabinets are assembled when received. I am, however, disappointed with the backs of the cabinets not being more finished. I use my desk as a freestanding unit with the backs exposed and they don't look quite right. Could you please consider developing an add-on back panel for those of us who use the collection in a freestanding environment? I would also add a locking mechanism to the cabinet. Just that finishing touch to make it just right. Thank you!
Date published: 2013-03-28
  • y_2018, m_3, d_20, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_MO229, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 108ms
Product:MO229-Original Home Office™ 2-Drawer File Cabinet

Original Home Office™ 2-Drawer File Cabinet

Original Home Office™ 3-Drawer File Cabinet

Original Home Office™ 4-Drawer Cabinet

Original Home Office™ 3-Drawer Cabinet with Charger

Original Home Office™ 2-Drawer Locking File Cabinet

Original Home Office™ 1-Drawer CPU Cabinet

Original Home Office™ 1-Drawer Shelf Cabinet

Original Home Office™ 1-Shelf Cabinet