Top_Nav_v2_Font
[headerTopEspot]
Ballard Designs
Shipping To:
ICAT
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300

Librarie Bookshelf

SaleHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

Ballard offers free swatch samples for our fabrics. See and feel the real fabrics in person before you make a decision. Choose up to 10.

18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Shipping

This is our most cost effective delivery route for items both large and small.

Smaller items are shipped via standard ground service and will generally arrive in 3-7 business days.Please note: Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Truck Delivery

Larger items shipped via threshold are delivered through a truck service and will generally arrive 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Please note: All items delivered by truck will be charged an additional freight delivery fee of $35/item.

Items designated for Truck Delivery may be upgraded to our White Glove Service at your discretion for an additional $25 per item in addition to any other freight delivery fees. See In-Home Shipping below.

In-Home Shipping

With our In-Home white glove service, the item will be brought inside in your home, unpacked, inspected, placed in its final destination, and packaging materials removed. Assembly is not included. Please note: If you see any damage to the box or item itself, please refuse delivery or notate physical damage when signing and contact us immediately.

In-Home deliveries are typically made 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Expect a call from a delivery agent to schedule a 4-hour window for the delivery (Monday-Friday, 8am - 8pm)

Express Shipping

For faster delivery and additional fee, we offer Next Business Day and Two Business Day express service. Express orders received by 4pm EST are shipped the same day.


Express Delivery Charges (for orders under 10 lbs.)
  • Next Business Day delivery - $19.95 additional
  • Two Business Day delivery - $9.95 additional
For express delivery items over 10 lbs., additional charges will be reflected at checkout.

How do you calculate standard shipping charges?

Orders under $200 will be charged 15% of the total order value. Orders $200.01+ will be charged 10% of the total order value with a cap at $300.

All shipping charges are based on the original retail price of the product prior to any discounts being applied.
*Orders placed in Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands will have additional costs

Weekend or After Hours Delivery freight (LARGE) items?

Weekend and after hours deliveries for your larger items, which require a scheduled window of time for delivery, may be available in limited areas at an additional cost. Please contact us via email or 1-800-536-7551 to receive a special shipping quote.

Can I return or pick up items from your store?

Sure. With Ship to Store delivery, you can purchase qualified items* online and have them sent to your closest retail store to pick-up. We’ll take care of the shipping costs. Click Here to find a store near you.


*Items available for Ship to Store service will have a "Ship to Store" icon on the top right of the product page. Additionally, if you see a “ship to store” delivery option in the “add to cart” or “checkout” function, you'll know those items also qualify.
10 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Librarie Bookshelf is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 162.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the looks! Easy assembly. I would have given this a five star review, but I wanted to put an object I have on the bottom shelf, and there just was not enough clearance to do so. It would be nice to make it a bit higher with a little more clearance on the bottom. I would still order again, it's great for my cook book collection.
Date published: 2012-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good kitchen addition I needed a place for my cookbooks in our new kitchen after downsizing. The slanted book shelf is perfect for them. I added baskets to the bottom shelf for additional storage and plants on the top shelf. The black scuffs easily because the finish is not smooth.
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just as pictured The book shelf is exactly what I wanted and I'm happy with the purchase. A gave it 4 stars only because assembly was not a "breeze". One person can do it, but two would make it easier.
Date published: 2011-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Functional and Attractive We placed the librarie bookshelf in our reception area to display several large "coffee table" type books. It works perfectly. The shelves are deep and the entire bookcase is very attractive. It was easy to assemble. The only caution is that the surface "scratches" easily; however, the marks can be wiped off with a damp cloth. I would definitely recommend this piece.
Date published: 2011-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking, hope it lasts This product is easy to put together. I was able to do it myself, took about 45 minutes start to finish. The white is very sharp looking and is a great element in our family room, but I did notice a small chip in the paint after putting it together and am hoping it will withstand a home with three children. I;'ve had it about 3 weeks and so far it looks great. Time will tell!
Date published: 2011-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from exactly what I was looking for I needed a shelf for my dinning area. I wanted something simple that would not take up a lot of space but still have some storage. This shelf was perfect for a small area. It holds all my cook books on the angled shelf so I can easily see the titles of the books, and on the bottom rack I stored some pretty stackable colorful bowls. This freed up storage space in my kitchen and looks great. there is also a tiny shelf on top perfect for displaying small seasonal decorations. Overall I am very pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2011-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to asemble, very sturdy. We were looking for something to place a slab of granite on for our kitchen. We need the workspace. The bookshelf combines the area for the granite as well as the shelving for cookbooks, my soup tureen and some baskets. It has become a hard working center for our kitchen without having to buy and island.
Date published: 2011-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful....but scratches easily Bought the bookshelf in black and am very pleased with how sturdy the bookshelf is. The metal is a nice, updated look for a typical wooden, bookseller's bookshelf and holds a ton of weight. The piece was a snap to assemble (comes with it's own allen wrench) and took about 30 minutes of my time from start to finish. As other folks have indicated in their reviews... the metal scratches very easily. To allay this problem, I simply used a matte, polyurethane spray to topcoat the the entire piece and voila..... no more scratches. (also... prior to poly-ing the bookshelf, I rubbed a little bit of gold, bronze, and antiqued silver to the edges and over various parts of the piece to give it a little bit of depth. The black is beautiful, but it needed a little more 'oomf')
Date published: 2011-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great style! I love the style of this bookshelf. It is exactly what I had been looking for. It was very easy to assemble by myself and the size is great. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the texture of the metal. It is not a smooth surface. It has an odd texture to it that I don't like at all. And it will scuff very easily. Wish this info had been noted in the write-up. Otherwise the item is fine and I would recommend it.
Date published: 2011-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bookshelf I use this in my kitchen to store my recipe books where I can see them. It is perfect for this use and attractive.
Date published: 2011-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product is attractive and functional. I was looking for a wood shelf just like this one, but couldn't find one at this price. It has turned out to be a great second option as it is very attractive and suits my needs. It's sturdy and does not need special care.
Date published: 2011-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Librarie Bookshelf This shelf is very charming and I like how it displays my favorite books. It receives many compliments and looks very nice in my foyer. I do wish it was made out of wood, rather than metal, but it is still a nice piece.
Date published: 2011-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Book Shelf This table has very nice styling at an affordable price. If you are looking for a different book shelf that displays your books and nick nacks then this is the one for you.
Date published: 2011-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from libararie bookshelves I'm using both bookshelves side by side as a sofa table. It looks and works great. It was very easy to assemble. The only drawback is that since it is made of metal, it is difficult to dust (and you can't wipe it down.)
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great storage This fit perfect for my daughters toys and books. I was only disappointed with the finish as it scratches very easily.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice addition to any room This piece looks great in my sitting room!! It is a good anchor piece being black, yet petite and not too overbearing. The metal adds a little bit of modern.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy I was impressed with this very sturdy, handsome product.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great accent piece for the room I love this librarie bookshelf which is a great accent piece in my office. I put all my current magazines on it. It is so easy to see what I have on the shelf and easy to pick up a book or magazine to read whenever I want.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from just what i needed for my entryway I needed something that would fit in a small space in my entryway underneath a window, where the kids could stash their schoolbooks, and shoes right as they come in the door after school. This bookshelf has worked great for that purpose. The design is very attractive, and the assembly was easy enough. A couple of the screws did not go in all the way, however, it is not noticeable and the shelf seems to be quite sturdy. I purchased this on sale, and I feel it was a good deal for the sale price. Honestly, though, I'm not sure that I would have bought it at full price.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good design but questionable execution Ideally I would have preferred this bookshelf in wood or with wood shelves but I found for an inexpensively priced item it had good design details and fits well into my living room. Assembly was straight forward with no problems. HOWEVER, while the textured paint softens the look and removes a cheap metal apperance that a gloss finish would do, the finish results in something akin to sandpaper. It is near impossible to wipe with a cloth without leaving reside or even if you swipe your hand across the surface. The abrasive surface is not friendly to book covers or fragile materials. Contrary to some other commenters, its "powder coated" paint does not mean that it has to be as rough as it is. I eventually solved the problem by very, very lightly sanding the shelf surfaces (not the frame or shelf undersides) with very fine sandpaper (really requires only a very small amount of sanding and could be easy to sand too much as you only want to knock down the sharpness) and then spraying the whole bookcase with a flat black enamel. It now retains a textured surface but not so extreme as to be problem. Ballard should revise their build/construction specs to provide a less abrasive but textured finish.
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to assemble I have assembled many items over the years, and this was a frustrating task. I ended up not following the directions as written, because they simply didn't work. That said, when I finally did get the job done, it looks good, is sturdy, and for a small piece, it holds an amazing amount of books.
Date published: 2013-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sturdy, but rough finish I like it for its strength and elegant lines, but I guess I did not know that powder coated meant a very rough, sandpaper-like finish. It scratches easily in black, as someone noted, but also it will scratch the books or whatever you store on it, because the metal is rough (think coarse grade sandpaper feel) to the touch. I still like it, I was just expecting smooth metal.
Date published: 2013-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good and bad I have wanted this for a year. Pros: super easy to assemble/sturdy/sizing is just right. Con: I HATE the rough, pebbled surface. It's rough, dull, and it's a pain to clean. In catalog the surface looks smooth. My brain did not register what "powder coated finish" meant, so can't fault Ballard for that. That is the only reason I cannot recommend this item.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Assembly was terrible! It took less time to replace six door knobs and six sets of hinges in my house than it did to put this shelf together. I think I will like the look of the bookshelf once I have it accessorized it but right now I am too disgusted by the amount of time it took to assemble to look at it any longer today.
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice but difficult to put together I liked the way this looked after I finally got it assembled, but assembly was very difficult, requiring two people, at least one of them strong. I was also frustrated because the price was reduced about a month after I bought it. But it is durable and requires no care.
Date published: 2011-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good product overall This is a good product overall but when I ordered it I thought it would be made of wood. The metal is okay but I would never put it where it would be obvious, too casual. But for what I need, a bookcase in an unseen corner, it works very well.
Date published: 2011-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice and funcitonal BUT material terrible The overall function and look of the piece is nice...but what everyone says is true the material is terrible. The metal coating is very rough and hard to clean - if at all. If you rub it even with brush up against it leaves a residue....so cleaning it is challenging - I just lightly dust it with a Swiffer duster but that is it. I got something on it - probably dog slobber and I couldn't really get it off. I like the look but wish the material was better - they need to sand down the coating a bit to make it easier to keep clean.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from nice look, don't like finish I love the look of this book shelf - unique. The size is great. But the finish is very rough - just like the other reviewers note. I sprayed the polyurethane on it as one reviewer recommended. But even so, the finish remains very rough. It's impossible to wipe off dust as the cloth gets caught in the rough finish. I kept this piece to avoid the hassle of returning it. But I would not have purchased if I had seen it first.
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Impossible to assemble Charming design, holds lots of books (but be aware that the bottom shelf cannot accommodate upright books because because the slanted middle shelf cuts into the space). I've downrated it because, while the description said something like "some assembly required," it did not indicate just how much assembly, or how difficult it would be. It took me eight hours over three days to put this thing together -- I have assembled whole dressers and cabinets in less time and with less effort. The diagrams were amazingly unhelpful, the hardware did not fit the drilled holes properly; some bits had to be forced and hammered into place. The individual iron (cast aluminum?) pieces are heavy and must be balanced on each other for assembly. Fine if you have another set of strong hands working with you. If you happen to be a strong but oldish woman with arthritic hands and don't have help, it's nearly impossible.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed I was very disappointed with the finish. Even though the reviews said it had a "rough" finish, I didn't expect it to be this bad. I sprayed it with a clear finish attempting to smooth it out, but it was so rough, even three coats didn't help. So now I'm in the process of sanding and spraying again. I wish I had returned the item before trying to make it work......
Date published: 2013-10-24
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_162
  • loc_en_US, sid_MV246, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 142ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Product:MV246-Librarie Bookshelf
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

When you see an item you love, drag and drop the photo here. when you Log In, You'll be able to add these items to your cart and lists.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]