Top_Nav_v2_Font
[headerTopEspot]
Ballard Designs
Shipping To:
ICAT
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300

Giant Clam Shell

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

Ballard offers free swatch samples for our fabrics. See and feel the real fabrics in person before you make a decision. Choose up to 10.

18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Shipping

This is our most cost effective delivery route for items both large and small.

Smaller items are shipped via standard ground service and will generally arrive in 3-7 business days.Please note: Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Truck Delivery

Larger items shipped via threshold are delivered through a truck service and will generally arrive 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Please note: All items delivered by truck will be charged an additional freight delivery fee of $35/item.

Items designated for Truck Delivery may be upgraded to our White Glove Service at your discretion for an additional $25 per item in addition to any other freight delivery fees. See In-Home Shipping below.

In-Home Shipping

With our In-Home white glove service, the item will be brought inside in your home, unpacked, inspected, placed in its final destination, and packaging materials removed. Assembly is not included. Please note: If you see any damage to the box or item itself, please refuse delivery or notate physical damage when signing and contact us immediately.

In-Home deliveries are typically made 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Expect a call from a delivery agent to schedule a 4-hour window for the delivery (Monday-Friday, 8am - 8pm)

Express Shipping

For faster delivery and additional fee, we offer Next Business Day and Two Business Day express service. Express orders received by 4pm EST are shipped the same day.


Express Delivery Charges (for orders under 10 lbs.)
  • Next Business Day delivery - $19.95 additional
  • Two Business Day delivery - $9.95 additional
For express delivery items over 10 lbs., additional charges will be reflected at checkout.

How do you calculate standard shipping charges?

Orders under $200 will be charged 15% of the total order value. Orders $200.01+ will be charged 10% of the total order value with a cap at $300.

All shipping charges are based on the original retail price of the product prior to any discounts being applied.
*Orders placed in Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands will have additional costs

Weekend or After Hours Delivery freight (LARGE) items?

Weekend and after hours deliveries for your larger items, which require a scheduled window of time for delivery, may be available in limited areas at an additional cost. Please contact us via email or 1-800-536-7551 to receive a special shipping quote.

Can I return or pick up items from your store?

Sure. With Ship to Store delivery, you can purchase qualified items* online and have them sent to your closest retail store to pick-up. We’ll take care of the shipping costs. Click Here to find a store near you.


*Items available for Ship to Store service will have a "Ship to Store" icon on the top right of the product page. Additionally, if you see a “ship to store” delivery option in the “add to cart” or “checkout” function, you'll know those items also qualify.
10 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Giant Clam Shell is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Diggin the Clam Shell It is as exactly as depicted. LOVE it!! Great décor, conversational piece @ a v-good price. Have not yet put it to use as a creative practical piece as per some of the uses described but plan to do this spring/summer or perhaps create something of my own.
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Centerpiece I purchased this for our patio table; our table is really huge. This is a big shell and I planted succulents in it like the picture shows. It took a lot of plants to fill it; I planted it at the nursery....good thing as it took way more plants than I estimated. It is really beautiful, I have had lots of complements on it. We will enjoy it for many years!
Date published: 2014-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product looks very realistic. I love this large clam shell and so does everyone who sees it. It looks like this real thing and is large enough to hold my stack of "to be read" books. It's a perfect coffee table item.
Date published: 2014-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is just as described I received this clam shell today, and I love it. The size is perfect, and I really appreciate the felt pads on the bottom of the shell to help protect my table. Even my husband was impressed. The description and pictures show it perfectly. The pearlized finish inside is done more to look like the inside of a shell. It is not overly done and looks perfect. I put a variety of shells into mine, and expect to change it out for the seasons. I would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a unique item! We have a four seasons room that we have done elegantly casual with tropical touches. The clam shell was the perfect accessory for our décor. It adds a unique design for our succulent plants.
Date published: 2014-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This is one of many of these Giant Clam Shells that we have ordered. Just as all of the others it is fantastic.
Date published: 2014-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my Giant Clam Shell I saw a Giant Clam Shell in a shop down south and thought I had no way of getting that home plus it was quite expensive. So I thought I could make my own so when I arrived home there was my Ballard's Catalog waiting for me in my mailbox with a Giant Clam Shell. I put together a really beautiful centerpiece for our outdoor picnic shelter for our coffee table. Everyone loves it and I did it for less than half the price of the one I saw earlier. Thanks Ballard's for another wonderful item to make our house a home!
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovin' my clam shell! I just love my new clam shell! Perfect centerpiece for my table!
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT I've had my eye on this piece for quite some time. At $129, I wanted to make sure I loved it. I do. Exactly as described and came in excellent condition. Ballard's products are high quality. You get what you pay for. This piece makes a statement.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to my beach house! Product is substantive, has many uses use and seems to be what all of our visitors notice. I love it!
Date published: 2013-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE my Gigantic clam!!!! I plan to put white phalienopsis orchids in it for summer decor or the succulent plants! So many other ideas and places to put it too!!! Light weight!
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from exactly as i wanted perfect. arrived on time and in great shape. buy it
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded my expectations! I put off purchasing this for awhile having not seen it in person, but it arrived today and I could not be more pleased! It is perfect for our dining room -especially since we have an ocean theme. The added felt pads on the bottom were a huge plus and will prevent scratches to the table. If you have had your eye one this for awhile, you won't be disappointed if you purchase this. Lots of centerpiece ideas in the Internet to make this shell ideal for all seasons.
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect!! We used the clam shell for our daughter's Hawaiian theme wedding. We placed the favors for guests in it. We also used it at the brunch the next morning to hold the rolls...I have many uses in mind for it!!! So glad I found it!!
Date published: 2012-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great accent! This is a really nice piece. It looks fairly realistic but not fragile like a genuine shell. The interior has a pretty pearlized finish. I could fine many uses for this. Very pleased.
Date published: 2012-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The product is quite unique. We haven't actually gotten to use the clam shell yet. We are planning on putting some succulent plants in it and putting it out on our deck. It was delivered intact and looks beautiful.
Date published: 2012-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive I was looking for a centerpiece for our outside lanai, and boy did I get one! This shell is huge, heavy, and beautiful. I'm so pleased. Worth the money.
Date published: 2012-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Conversation Piece!! This clam shell almost looks like the real thing but it's not as fragile as actual shells would be. I loved the picture with succulent plants put inside - so I took my shell to a local nursery and we created a living piece of art!! The price is also quite a deal. Real shells can go for a minimum of $600! I love it!
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! I love my giant clam shell. Very realistic looking and even prettier in person. I've priced the real ones and they are extremely pricey. So happy Ballard offers this as an alternative.
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from chic! So pretty & chic! I have mine filled with green apples. Have received countless compliments.
Date published: 2011-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Giant Clam Shell I love this shell, it is beautiful and looks real yet it's not heavy. Took it to a local florist to have them make an arrangement with cactus and other succulents. Looking forward to getting it back. Going to look great on my dining room table. However this shell could be used in any room of the home. When i get it back i will try to upload a picture.
Date published: 2011-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A nice touch for any room The clam shell is beautiful, I was very pleased when it arrived. It is also very versatile. I put candles in mine, but you could put anything in it, plants, potpourri, shells, pretty much anything and it could be used anywhere. It is so different and adds so much more than a typical candle holder. Very unique and something you won't get tired of because of it's versatility.
Date published: 2011-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not quite realistic looking - but close. If the actual item looked exactly like the picture I would like it more. The item received was not quite realistic looking and the one in the picture is more flat looking which is preferable. Price is high for the actual item received.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very versatile piece Bought this to serve cold drinks but may use it as a planter. I love the look but the inside is a bit shiner than I would have liked. All in all, I am happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wish it was a little bigger, but very nice! I love it, but wish it was made in a bigger size to put more things in it.
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love it - it can be used many ways. I love it. There are many uses - like a beverage cooler - a pot pourie container - a large salad server, etc. Good value for the money.
Date published: 2012-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Will Work Well I wanted to use this shell as a planter for very small succulents in my tropical back yard. I had bought a different shell last year that worked very well. This one, however, is not quite as realistic with its shiney interior and will have to be treated in order to use it out doors. It is okay, but I liked the one that I found last year better.
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Serves the purpose, but found it looked very faux and especially on the inside which simply looked like a shiny paint looking nothing near what a real shell would look. Purchased for our large eat in kitchen table for a Spring/Summer centerpiece with the intention of heaping it up with lemons or green apples. I did a lot of research on different similar shells and settled on this which was more pricey than the one I hemmed and hawed over. I wish I would have tried the other as this was too expensive for what I see. I recommend to others only because so many others seem ok with it and maybe I'm just a bit too picky and was more disappointed with the inside vs. the outside of the shell. For those that would want to do plantings would probably sufice. Personally, I would not like to do a planting in a shell such as this.
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not up to my expectations Thought the shell I had observed in the past, in a few catalogs, were generally all alike...not so. I visualized the multiple curved section would be more upright, more or less as a background for the succulents I planned to plant. Yours lays flat and with plants, the background would lose its visibility. Another catalog had one that looked t like the one I admired some time ago. It was considerably less in cost also. It had the upright look but looked "cheaper".. I contacted your customer service. Naturally I discounted the choice to return it! Was discounted Twenty five dollars
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as Realistic-Looking as You'd Expect It serves its purpose - acting as a centerpiece on our dining room table. But it's the second major disappointment we've ordered from Ballard Designs. It's too expensive for what you get. The BD catalogues go straight in the recycling bin now.
Date published: 2012-05-10
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_AA841, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 80ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Product:AA841-Giant Clam Shell
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

When you see an item you love, drag and drop the photo here. when you Log In, You'll be able to add these items to your cart and lists.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]