Top_Nav_v2_Font
[headerTopEspot]
Ballard Designs
Shipping To:
ICAT
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300

Eastman Secretary - Standard

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

Ballard offers free swatch samples for our fabrics. See and feel the real fabrics in person before you make a decision. Choose up to 10.

18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Shipping

This is our most cost effective delivery route for items both large and small.

Smaller items are shipped via standard ground service and will generally arrive in 3-7 business days.Please note: Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Truck Delivery

Larger items shipped via threshold are delivered through a truck service and will generally arrive 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Please note: All items delivered by truck will be charged an additional freight delivery fee of $35/item.

Items designated for Truck Delivery may be upgraded to our White Glove Service at your discretion for an additional $25 per item in addition to any other freight delivery fees. See In-Home Shipping below.

In-Home Shipping

With our In-Home white glove service, the item will be brought inside in your home, unpacked, inspected, placed in its final destination, and packaging materials removed. Assembly is not included. Please note: If you see any damage to the box or item itself, please refuse delivery or notate physical damage when signing and contact us immediately.

In-Home deliveries are typically made 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Expect a call from a delivery agent to schedule a 4-hour window for the delivery (Monday-Friday, 8am - 8pm)

Express Shipping

For faster delivery and additional fee, we offer Next Business Day and Two Business Day express service. Express orders received by 4pm EST are shipped the same day.


Express Delivery Charges (for orders under 10 lbs.)
  • Next Business Day delivery - $19.95 additional
  • Two Business Day delivery - $9.95 additional
For express delivery items over 10 lbs., additional charges will be reflected at checkout.

How do you calculate standard shipping charges?

Orders under $200 will be charged 15% of the total order value. Orders $200.01+ will be charged 10% of the total order value with a cap at $300.

All shipping charges are based on the original retail price of the product prior to any discounts being applied.
*Orders placed in Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands will have additional costs

Weekend or After Hours Delivery freight (LARGE) items?

Weekend and after hours deliveries for your larger items, which require a scheduled window of time for delivery, may be available in limited areas at an additional cost. Please contact us via email or 1-800-536-7551 to receive a special shipping quote.

Can I return or pick up items from your store?

Sure. With Ship to Store delivery, you can purchase qualified items* online and have them sent to your closest retail store to pick-up. We’ll take care of the shipping costs. Click Here to find a store near you.


*Items available for Ship to Store service will have a "Ship to Store" icon on the top right of the product page. Additionally, if you see a “ship to store” delivery option in the “add to cart” or “checkout” function, you'll know those items also qualify.
10 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Eastman Secretary - Standard is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 216.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional I should have done more homework. This desk is not functional to writing and holding a keyboard. There is enough room to hold your keyboard and mouse pad (if you use one.) It is very good looking and well made.
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great storage space I love the storage space this compact secretary offers...Sturdy, solid piece and leveling feet a plus on Mexican tile floors...I ordered the black/black...Wish I would have paid the extra $$ for the gray interior, as it can be difficult to find cords, or dark objects without a lot of light...
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for the space! Lovely "Secretary" desk. Very nice color, a bit lighter than the photo shows. Well-packed with no assembly required. Didn't give it five stars ONLY because there are no file folder racks included for the bottom drawer, clearly to be used as a file. A sturdy piece of furniture....
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice! Very nice piece! Sturdy! Comes assembled! HALLELUJAH! Writing surface is a bit high, for laptop use, but I don't use for long periods of time so I is ok. Really like being able to close the door and hide the junk!
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great size This is a great desk for a small space. I can sit and pay bills, file away papers in the bottom file drawer and hide my messes. My daughter uses it for her 1st grade homework station.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the looks and design of this product I love everything about this desk except the little drawers on top. They are very lightweight (which is fine) but they have no stops and when you open the drawer they come out all the way and if you were to pull it out fast it would fall out on the desk. They need to put stops on the back of the 2 drawers. Otherwise my rating is 5*.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice piece of office furniture. This a very nice piece of furniture that goes well in my office. It has great space for storing briefcase and work supplies. Great color.
Date published: 2015-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for I needed a desk for a small space. I received the desk and I couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2015-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pleased so far I recently started working from home and ordered this desk for my dining room so I would have a mini home office to work at and store things in. Overall it's great for what I need, it has just enough file storage and plenty of drawers to organize things in. I purchased it in the rubbed cream and it is very pretty. I wanted something that would go with other furniture and not look like office furniture. It is perfect in that respect. I'm glad I didn't pay the extra $100 for the delivery service to unwrap it. That amount is ridiculous just to have someone unwrap it for you, it is already assembled. The $140 shipping fee is already pretty high. If it weren't assembled then I can see paying the extra $100 to put it together and I would have paid it in that case. They rolled it right into my dining room. It was easy to unwrap. It's wrapped in Styrofoam panels and if you don't rip them there isn't a big mess. You just have to break down the box and put it all out in the trash, no big deal. The file drawer hardware is stapled to the very bottom of the desk right under the front molding. It was kind of hard find all the pieces and get out, don't know why it couldn't have been attached inside the drawer. The drawers do have to be pushed all the way closed, but this is typically a sign of good quality in office furniture, not bad. The height of the pull down desk is definitely too high like the other reviews have said, not so much to write on, but definitely too high to use a laptop. My back and shoulders hurt after just a few minutes. It's not 30.5" from the floor as the dimensions state, it's closer to 32". This is why I didn't rate it a 5. My husband is 5'10" and it's too high even for him, maybe someone who is 6' or taller would not have a problem. A typical chair isn't tall enough and a bar stool would be too high. I found a drafting table chair and it's perfect.
Date published: 2013-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this desk! I was pleased with the quality of the desk and how nice it looks. It is perfect for paying bills, keeping my personal files and roomy enough to hold desk accessories. I am 5'4" so I need to use a taller chair or would need to sit on a pillow.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pleased with this purchase! The Eastman Secretary is the perfect solution for my guest room!
Date published: 2013-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and functional This desk sits in a corner in my living room and serves as my work space. It is the perfect size for my laptop and odds and ends. The file drawer is what drew me to this piece and it has worked out well but is a bit on the small side (the files catch each other in the middle.) It is serving its purpose well, the only downside is that I paid extra for the belgian oak finish and it is ok but does have a lot of white specks here and there. Even my husband noticed them, kind of looks like any place putty or filler was used didn't take the stain. It is minor but it is something I would have considered before purchasing, looks a bit more rustic.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for small space I added it to our larger office space to have my own desk area next to my husband's. It is very functional and good quality. I'm converting my old desk in the kitchen area to a wine bar! That's the big win in this deal.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DESK IS GOOD QUALITY WE WERE PLEASED WITH THE QUALITY OF THE DESK WE BOUGHT. IT WAS WELL PUT TOGETHER AND DESIGN AND COLOR FIT IN VERY WELL WITH THE ROOM.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Mother's Mess...now hidden. The main purpose for this desk was to store our girls crafts, drawing materials, puzzles, and games. The bottom drawer is deep and perfect for the many puzzles and games, while the smaller drawers are perfect for paper, drawing utensils, and stickers. We use it in our kitchen and it really is a beautiful piece of furniture. The only complaint is the drawers don't seem flush when closed. It's not bad, but not great. I'm still overall pleased with our purchase and thankful that it hides our mess. :o)
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I recommend this purchase. The Eastman Secretariat is just what I was hoping for. The bottom drawer came with the pendaflex hardware and works perfectly. I especially like the hydraulic feature the top compartment has. This piece of furniture is worth the money.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice little desk Wish the finish had a little more gloss, seems hard to keep dust free.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice piece of furniture for less than expected. My new desk is well made from good materials that would cost alot more if made locally. I am very pleased with it!
Date published: 2012-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product for the price The desk is very handsome and is very well priced. It was packed very good for shipping. I noticed just a couple of minor flaws that I could touch up myself. To note, the brackets for the hanging files are underneath the desk!!
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Storage, Looks Great I'm really pleased with my Eastman Secretary. I had been wanting one for a long time and finally treated myself. Thankfully, it had leveling screws on the bottom feet so I could adjust it to accommodate my slanty floors. I needed to get an adjustable chair so that I could sit at a comfortable height relative to the writing surface...it seemed a bit high to me.
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the design - piece was delivered with some dents and scratches. The price is great and the design is wonderful. Unfortunately the piece was delivered with some dents and minor scratches which was a bit disappointing.
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This product is well built, and has multiple function to use. However, I think it is hard to adjust the height on the bottom of the feet, because it is very heavy you have to have at least two people to do it. Also the inside of the paint is not smooth. I just got it little while ago, and after use more I think I will have more opinions.
Date published: 2012-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple clean design just as shown in catalog. Height of drop down desk is too high. Had a chair as shown in catalog I wanted to use as a desk chair. All regular chair height are too low to use with this product. An adjustable would work, but they are SO unattractive. I have never purchased furniture through a catalog and was very pleased with the care Ballard took with my purchase.
Date published: 2012-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made small desk I got this desk so I would no longer use my kitchen as an office. I got tired of getting my printer (and mail) in and out of the pantry. This little desk is perfect to keep my laptop, printer and all the stuff I use everyday. I love that I can just close it and hide away the ugly electronics.
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great purchase! this is a great piece of furniture for a small space. I especially like that it can be used as a desk or serving station.
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice style, good quality, color is really yellow. I like the style and it is good for a smaller space. The file cabinet drawer on the bottom is great. The color is really yellow although light it is still yellow. If I had known that it was yellow, I would have purchased the black unit. There is a small crack in the trim on one of the drawers and that is disappointing, too difficult to return and that is the downside of ordering online.
Date published: 2012-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for. I have been trying to find a desk that I could hang file folders and also have drawers for other items. As soon as I saw this item in the catalog I knew I would work.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic design. Great storage space. I love the classic design and look of this piece. It fits in my small spare bedroom without crowding. And yet, it provides so much great storage space. Love the file cabinet drawer and the cubby is big enough to store my laptop and other various office objects.
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful piece! I love this secretary and so glad I found it! We wanted a nice desk for our sitting room so we could hide away the laptop and bills when we had company. I searched high and low for something nice that also had a lot of file storage and this is one of the only ones out there! Also it does come with hardware for hanglng files - someone in a previous review said it didn't but it indeed does. I'd say my only problem is it is a bit higher than desk height so I need to find a higher chair for when I do computer work. And I just noticed the tiny drawers on the inside are scraping a little but other than that it is a beautiful piece and came well packed - very happy! Thanks Ballard for making such a convenient multi-purpose piece of furniture!
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Waited a long time to get this... I admired this at a friend's house several years ago, but due to the expense I held off on ordering it. I finally decided to pull the trigger when BD offered a small coupon. Overall, I'm glad I did. It fits very well in the space we have, and it's interior space is efficiently set up. Furthermore, it was the only desk this compact that offered a file drawer. Construction is pretty good. It arrived fully assembled and safely packed. Unpacking took some time, but wasn't as messy as others have indicated. My only complaint thus far is that within 2 weeks of purchase the drawers became misaligned, so they do not close flush with the unit. Not horrible, just annoying. Also, not sure if they have the height of the desk listed, but it is too high to sit at comfortably in a standard chair.
Date published: 2012-01-28
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_216
  • loc_en_US, sid_MO196, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 52ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary - Standard
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

When you see an item you love, drag and drop the photo here. when you Log In, You'll be able to add these items to your cart and lists.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]