Top_Nav_v2_Font
[headerTopEspot]
Ballard Designs
Shipping To:
ICAT
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300

Eastman Secretary - Standard

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

Ballard offers free swatch samples for our fabrics. See and feel the real fabrics in person before you make a decision. Choose up to 10.

18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Shipping

This is our most cost effective delivery route for items both large and small.

Smaller items are shipped via standard ground service and will generally arrive in 3-7 business days.Please note: Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Truck Delivery

Larger items shipped via threshold are delivered through a truck service and will generally arrive 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Please note: All items delivered by truck will be charged an additional freight delivery fee of $35/item.

Items designated for Truck Delivery may be upgraded to our White Glove Service at your discretion for an additional $25 per item in addition to any other freight delivery fees. See In-Home Shipping below.

In-Home Shipping

With our In-Home white glove service, the item will be brought inside in your home, unpacked, inspected, placed in its final destination, and packaging materials removed. Assembly is not included. Please note: If you see any damage to the box or item itself, please refuse delivery or notate physical damage when signing and contact us immediately.

In-Home deliveries are typically made 2-3 weeks from the date it leaves our warehouse. Expect a call from a delivery agent to schedule a 4-hour window for the delivery (Monday-Friday, 8am - 8pm)

Express Shipping

For faster delivery and additional fee, we offer Next Business Day and Two Business Day express service. Express orders received by 4pm EST are shipped the same day.


Express Delivery Charges (for orders under 10 lbs.)
  • Next Business Day delivery - $19.95 additional
  • Two Business Day delivery - $9.95 additional
For express delivery items over 10 lbs., additional charges will be reflected at checkout.

How do you calculate standard shipping charges?

Orders under $200 will be charged 15% of the total order value. Orders $200.01+ will be charged 10% of the total order value with a cap at $300.

All shipping charges are based on the original retail price of the product prior to any discounts being applied.
*Orders placed in Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands will have additional costs

Weekend or After Hours Delivery freight (LARGE) items?

Weekend and after hours deliveries for your larger items, which require a scheduled window of time for delivery, may be available in limited areas at an additional cost. Please contact us via email or 1-800-536-7551 to receive a special shipping quote.

Can I return or pick up items from your store?

Sure. With Ship to Store delivery, you can purchase qualified items* online and have them sent to your closest retail store to pick-up. We’ll take care of the shipping costs. Click Here to find a store near you.


*Items available for Ship to Store service will have a "Ship to Store" icon on the top right of the product page. Additionally, if you see a “ship to store” delivery option in the “add to cart” or “checkout” function, you'll know those items also qualify.
10 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Eastman Secretary - Standard is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 216.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect desk for small spaces! This desk has a lot of storage for its compact size. It arrived in a very, well packed box. I especially like the file cabinet in the bottom drawer.
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm very happy with the quality of this desk. I looked for a long time to find a secretary desk with a file drawer to fit in a space only 32" wide. This is the only one I could find but it isn't cheap. I waited for the 15% off sale and then succumbed. I'm very happy with the quality. It's very sturdy and the drawers and hinges work well. File drawer hardware is stapled under the bottom of the unit for those who can't find it. I just cut the straps rather than trying to remove the staples. There is indeed lots of Styrofoam and cardboard to dispose of after unpacking. Mine arrived in perfect condition. The nice delivery man wheeled it to the middle of the dining room so unpacking it there and sliding it into place worked well. It's heavy!! I don't sit at it so the height of the desk part isn't an issue for me. It's more for storage. I LOVE having the file drawer. The unit was described well on the web site with pictures and words. There were no surprises and I'm very happy with the desk.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit! We ordered the off-white secretary for the living room. It arrived well packaged in a big box, fully assembled. It's a sturdy, heavy piece with quality hardware. We use it as a laptop station, and the flip-down desk is higher than a normal desk so you may need a higher chair. We wanted something practical but stylish, and this is perfect!
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! Very functional and attractive. Fits perfectly in the space and matches the other furniture in the room.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I hoped for! My new Eastman Secretary is the perfect desk for a small space. It has loads of storage and fits in beautifully with my antiques. I am especially impressed with the quality of workmanship! A wonder piece at a great price! I'm thinking of buying one for my daughters room!
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for the price I read other reviews in advance of purchasing this product and was glad I purchased it despite some of the other purchaser's misgivings. It arrived on schedule, perfectly packaged without any damage. The item is exactly as described and all parts work perfectly. I love it.
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Meets our needs! This secretary fits underneath our stairs and is a perfect place for mail, laptops, iPads, and phones. The file drawer at the bottom makes organizing easy and fun! Having this piece has made it possible to free up lots of other storage areas in the house. We are very happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Function Meet Arrived perfectly as it was packaged so very, very well. Impressed with the quality of the construction and the finish. It's the functional piece I had wanted. The piece is totally a reference for Ballard's quality. Excellent.
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect size I live in a small house build in 1943, it is difficult to find small furniture that will fit my small rooms, this secretary desk is the perfect size for my guest room and it also includes the file cabinet, absolutely perfect
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice! This desk is well put together, the hinge on the upper main door opens and closes the door slowly and the bottom files drawer has a nice rolling hinge system. It came packaged nicely to protect everything. I got the off white color which I normally wouldn't get but I really like it. Love it and would recommend it!
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JUST EXACTLY WHAT WAS NEEDED! This secretary turns out to be the best thing that happened to me this year! I have a townhouse that has a a kitchen, living room and dining room space that is kinda all together....my granite counters in the kitchen are beautiful but I could hardly ever see them cause I had so much stuff on them...important everyday stuff like keys,the newspaper, mail, hair elastics, pens & pencils, scissors, tape and on and on. I was always trying to find the perfect basket to contain a lot of it but there was always overflow. Until I ordered this secretary...it is absolutely perfect and is small enough that it fits my space but does not overwhelm it. It is very well made. I have other pieces from Ballard so I knew about their legendary packing as well... I have no issues whatsoever with the bottom drawer coming open like a previous reviewer but I can tell you if you don't shut it completely that would happen because the drawers are on very smooth glides and are a delight to open and close. The price for the value is outstanding. My boyfriend when I first showed him what I was getting said..."Oh I am sure we can find one locally, cheaper." I really didin't want to waste my time but I humoured him because I wanted him to know that I valued his imput! So we looked everywhere...I took pictures of everything but every single one of the secretaries we looked at was more expensive and didn't have all the features of the eastman...I finally just said...honey I'm ordering the one from Ballard cause it's just what I need and the price is outstanding. When we received it he was very surprised at how well it was made and packaged...It's not the end of our love story but it is the end of this review and we both give it 2 thumbs up!
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I needed a simple and compact desk/storage combination piece to allow me to work on my laptop, and to hold files, mail, desk accessories/necessities (e.g., stamps, scissors, pens), and many boxes of thank-you notes and stationery. Eastman Secretary is absolutely PERFECT for the small space in the corner of my family room, which now holds all my files and miscellaneous items that used to be stored in plastic boxes in a closet. Yay! I'm so excited to be so organized with such a beautiful piece of furniture. The cream color is perfect, not too white or yellow.
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice solid piece of furniture This desk/hutch is the perfect addition to my dining room. It was packed very well and required virtually no assembly. I need to get used to it though, as I keep clipping my shoulder on the top corner when I walk by it....my issue. I would strongly recommend this piece if you are looking for a functional work space that can be hidden in seconds. Great drawers for storage. Because of this desk, I've freed up counter space in my small kitchen!
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As usual - good quality and shipping. Nice piece for corner nook with extra storage. 15% off when I bought but after extra ship price, about full price. Go back to BD for our eclectic taste and their quality. Wish they'd offer more free shipping! I'd probably buy more!
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with the Eastman Good looking. And arrived without a scratch. Happy with the unit.
Date published: 2012-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I expected I ordered this secretary to have additional work space and storage for our apartment living room, and I am totally satisfied. It looks just as pictured (Belgian Oak in my case), and it's very functional. I haven't had the sturdiness issues that others have mentioned although it's only been a few weeks. I also don't mind the height of it because it keeps me from straining my neck by looking down too far. It has lots of great storage and looks great at as accent piece. I also used a 15% coupon so I got it for an unbeatable price. Haven't seen anything else like it for the price and quality.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a beautiful desk. We are very pleased with this spacious desk. The finish is beautiful. The packaging was excellent and the delivery service receives very high marks. I would recommend this secretary to anyone needing the work area and storage but want to close it up when not in use.
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this piece. This desk is very nice quality. It was packaged very very well and there wasn't a mark on it. I am very happy with it.
Date published: 2012-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid construction. Looks great next to my cream cabinets in the kitchen. The counter stool item #ST233 works well with the desk as it sits a little higher.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and High Quality We bought this for one of the bedrooms in our vacation home. It offers up the usefulness of a desk to hide away a laptop, papers, and files without looking like "work". The black finish is slightly worn to reveal a bit of the light/ white wood beneath which pairs nicely with any style. We purchased locally a reclaimed wood and iron piano stool to adjust to the height of our guests while using the desk which addresses the height issue other reviewers mentioned.
Date published: 2012-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I expected! Excellent quality, love the color, perfect for my kitchen!
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size I love my new Eastman Secretary. The color is well represented as rubbed cream. It is just the right size in our new "downsized" home where this desk and dining room table and chairs coordinate together in a fairly small area. The desk top is higher as indicated in other reviews. I was able to resolve the issue by purchasing a Farmhouse Cushion, also from Ballard Design. It gives me just enough height to feel comfortable working at my laptop.
Date published: 2012-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One year later -- still looking great We've had this secretary for over one year and it's still looking great. Fortunately, unlike some other reviews, ours did not arrive with warped doors, and we've found that the hinged door that pulls down is still in good shape, not loose. We bought the "Old World Brown" stain, and it's a lovely, warm, deep stain. The secretary is well-made, heavy, nothing cheap about it in my opinion. My husband has no patience for furniture that is poorly-constructed or uses cheap materials, but as soon as this one came out of the shipping box, he was impressed. We have it in the dining room to collect all the bills and papers from school that used to land on our dining room table. We have an old, small house with limited storage/closets. We really needed something that could be "closed up" and look neat and tidy, so this worked perfectly for us. One note -- we don't use it as a desk, and I can understand why some reviewers were disappointed with that function of it because the pull-down drawer that acts as the desk top is WAY too high for someone sitting in a normal chair. Maybe a bar-stool would work??
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with the size and functionality of this piece. Due to our home having 9 foot ceilings, the height of the piece is in good proportion to the home office where it resides. It sits on carpet so does have a tendency to lean forward when filing cabinet door is open, but the wall attachment should fix the problem. The lines of the secretary, are clean, simple and classy. Thanks for offering such a functional piece!!
Date published: 2012-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect little desk I needed a small desk for my laptop for my living room, and I love that I can close this one up and hide my papers and other mess. Great for a small space and a really nice looking piece of furniture.
Date published: 2012-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great desk Love this desk! It looks perfect in my office and I can close it up and the mess goes away and looks pretty. The cream color is so soft and classy looking, just is the perfect piece.
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Piece My son has a queen bed, which doesn't leave space for much more. This piece is exactly what we needed to provide some drawer space and a homework area. It is well built and very heavy. The drawers slide nicely & the desk front doesn't slam. It really looks nice in the room!
Date published: 2012-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful desk. Love the file drawer. We were looking for something compact but with plenty of storage, especially for the family files. We also wanted something that could 'hide' all the paper that collects in our household from bills, etc. This desk more than fit the bill. We got the black w/ grey interior and it looks fantastic. It arrived well packaged and on time. The only complaint is that it should come with instructions on how to unpackage without damaging it. We had to be very careful when opening the box.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great desk Love the slow opening hinges on the door. Packaged very well.
Date published: 2012-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Desk I had been looking at this desk for quite some time and when I saw it go on sale I jumped on the deal. So glad I did. I received it in perfect condition. Actually, it exceeded my expectations, as I love the look, quality, and size of this desk. It has so much storage space, but the overall size is compact, just right for a small space. I would advise anyone thinking about this desk as I was, to purchase it. You won't be sorry.
Date published: 2012-06-01
  • y_2017, m_10, d_15, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_216
  • loc_en_US, sid_MO196, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 86ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary - Standard
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

When you see an item you love, drag and drop the photo here. when you Log In, You'll be able to add these items to your cart and lists.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]