GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 10091
false header 2 10091
  20 5 20 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Whitley Desk 4.4 5 36 36
Beautiful however... First let me say this desk really makes a statement and is absolutely gorgeous. Everyone wants to know where it came from. I ordered it from a retail store to avoid shipping costs and it came in about 3 weeks later. It was easy to attach the legs. But I have 1 complaint: the wood is very soft and has no finish on it at all. You must put a glass top on this desk to use it. It scratches just from looking at it almost. That adds another $150 to the cost of the desk. January 10, 2014
Gorgeous! Looks just like the catalog photo. Looks exactly like I anticipated - beautiful. It does require some assembly that takes two people to do it. This desk is well made and heavy. My husband cannot lift heavy objects so I enlisted the help of a friend to get it out of the box and put it together for us. It is packaged well but one of the 2 decorative buttons that go on each end of the desk was crushed in shipping. Have ordered a replacement part and did not need to send in the part that was defective, so that was a nice touch. I am completely satisfied with this lovely desk. November 29, 2013
Very Nice I have been wanting this desk for awhile now, I finally purchased it and so glad I did. I should have not waited so long. Assemble was easy but needed two people to help turn desk upright after assemble. November 24, 2013
Nice looking but flaws in the finish Looks very nice and is of good quality, but the desk top had flaws in the finish. The appearance has a nice shine, but in several spots the finish is worn, almost like it was rubbed with sandpaper. I am going to use this desk for work so I am not too concerned. But if you are using it expecting it to look really nice, I would shop elsewhere. October 31, 2013
Writer looking for the "perfect place to work" I was skeptical about ordering a desk from an on line source...desk is beautiful! Construction is solid and well made. Assembly was relatively easy with one exception...holes in leg did not line up and my husband had to drill to enlarge. Customer Service adjusted the cost to offset this issue. Very elegant writing desk! May 31, 2013
I Found a Drawer Organizer that Fits This! High quality desk. Husband and father in law put it together in half an hour or less. Thinking of covering the top with glass, but so far the finish is holding up just fine after 6 mos. I bought this to work with the cream-colored Tuscan collection book cases and file drawers and it is a lovely match. Biggest concern, as many other have, was the depth of the drawers. Pens, small staplers, scissors, paperclips, etc fit fine, but I hate having all that rolling around in the drawer and none of our current drawer organizers fit in the shallow drawer. I finally found an organizer at a major bed and bath store that fits great! Its a small, clear, plastic, expandable interdesign drawer organizer that is made for makeup, but works nicely here. 1.25 inches high. Finding the organizer took this from 4/5 stars to 5/5 stars for me. January 9, 2013
Awesome desk, but watch for cracks in legs We love everything about the Whitley Desk -- color, design, size, and its "character." It is exactly what we wanted for a spot in our kitchen. We had the desk about three months when we noticed cracks in both legs. At first we thought they were cracks in the paint, but the cracks were much more severe. To Ballard's credit, a replacement set of legs was sent out. We are hoping this flaw was just a fluke because we like the desk so much. October 2, 2012
This Product is Gorgeous When I unpacked my Whitley Desk I was so pleasantly surprised at the size and detail of the workmenship put into this elegant piece. The scrolled legs are magnificient!!! I can't wait to show it off to family and friends. I will be using it in a beautiful room to make lovely family albums, wrap beautiful presents and write heartfelt letters. I'm sure I will enjoy it for as long as I can and then hand it down to someone special. September 13, 2012
Lovely desk I am very happy with this desk. It is sturdy, the drawers slide easily and it was easy to put together. It is heavy and I did need two people to lift it. I bought the ivory one and the color has a very slight yellow to it. I like that you can see the brush strokes in it too. Overall, quite lovely. September 12, 2012
Design, Yes. Quality, Not So Much Still love the design. And pretty easy to assemble -- though much heavier than expected. But the finish is pretty weak in many places. It is more 'distressed' than I thought and not in an artistic way. There are cracks in the paint in the detail work which are definitely not by design. And there are other imperfections that look more like a quality control issue than apurposeful effect. Need a taller chair to make it work as the desk is little higher than normal height to have proper body alingment. August 20, 2012
Beautiful desk We purchased your desk for our vacation home. It assembled quickly and looks great in our office. Yes, the drawers are very shallow, 1 1/2 " deep (thank you other reviewers for the heads up) so I was prepared for them not to hold too much. I especially like the legs, very elegant and fit into our french country look. The top is large and spacious. I am very happy with this desk. August 15, 2012
Office is Now Complete I really like this desk. It was easy to put together and looks great. Large work surface however, the two drawers could be a little deeper. Out of the box the desk smelled like varnish. There are a few places where the varnish looks uneven but probably not noticeable to others. Very happy with the purchase! August 12, 2012
Great looking and practical I'm very happy with this desk. I purchased the walnut finish and it looks wonderful. The shipping weight is 115 lbs. so it's helpful to have a second person available, but it assembled quickly and easily. The surface dimensions hold my 23" HP all-in-one, my printer and desk accessories with plenty of writing room to spare. Yes, the drawers are shallow but it's working out fine for me. I took away one rating star only because there's a small amount of side-to-side give and the desk shakes a little if bumped into. Nothing I'm really concerned about. June 18, 2012
Lovely large desk This is definitely more of a writing table than a desk, so if drawers are a requirement for you, perhaps looking at a different piece would be a better fit. The Whitley has a huge top surface, and that's about it... perhaps enough space in the drawer for a mouse and a mouse pad. We bought this for my husband's new home office (in the dark finish) and he loves it. It's big enough for a large lamp, his lap top, a phone, and anything else he might need during the day. Be aware that cable routing will be a challenge with this desk, as it is really just a slab on those beautiful legs - nowhere to hide anything. We're still debating whether to attach anything to the underside, but cannot bring ourselves to do it. It is beautiful. June 4, 2012
WONDERFUL feeling to own this desk! This desk is so substantial and well made...everyone should own one! The antique white finish is perfect in my house and it has so much room on top for all your needs. The drawers are shallow, but fits my bills and paper, pen, calculater etc. I have my white laptop on it and two small saddle stools underneath. It's a GEM of a desk and I'm so happy I found it. Was EASY to put the legs on and came very soon after ordering it. BUY ONE! May 27, 2012
beautiful Although I had to wait three months to receive this desk, it was, in the end, worth it. The desk is beautiful and very solid. Assembly was quick and easy. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because the there were a few spots where the wood was roughly finished on the edges and as another reviewer had written, the finial on one side doesn't catch, but glue took care of that. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase and Ballard Designs customer service. April 6, 2012
Beautiful, Sturdy Desk This desk works really well for me. It took 2 of us just one hour to assemble. It looks exactly as I hoped it would and fits well in my living room. I wanted a broad, flat surface, upon which I could do work (with laptop and external monitor and mouse), wrap presents, write cards, and more. This beautiful desk satisfies those desires and more. April 4, 2012
Beautiful Desk and Work Space This desk is as lovely as I had hoped, and we love the large workspace it provides. The two drawers are perfect for storing small items and several project folders. April 1, 2012
well worth the wait Had been waiting for 3 months for this desk. But I am so glad I was patient... It is beautiful! Substantial enough for my space, but the lines are graceful and soft. I wondered if my husband would love the antique cream color, but it looks so beautiful in our space, he agrees with me. It took us about 25 minutes to put it together- very simple instructions. And it is very sturdy. Just perfect- I could not be happier! March 20, 2012
Pleasantly Pleased! This is the perfect desk for my personal home office. The style is classic but not boring. The dark finish looks very rich and compliments well with a variety of accent pieces. I did purchase a custom glass top to insure the surface is protected. December 8, 2011
Exceptional Quality I've been looking for a desk for awhile now. This desk had caught my eye. I have purchased before from this site & was impressed withthe quality of my other items so I knew I wouldn't be disappointed. This had to be the easiest assembly job I've ever done & I've put together lots of furniture before. My only negative is that the drawers are rather shallow....can't fit too much. I would recommend this desk still....Top quality! November 28, 2011
Great Desk I just love this desk! Quality is nice, easy to assemble, it's the perfect working desk! I was worried that the "shallow drawers" would be a problem, but it's really not. (if in the future the drawer could be just deep enough to accommodate a stapler and tape dispenser - it would be ideal). November 23, 2011
Beautiful Desk! The desk is gorgeous, it has a beautiful finish I gave it 4 stars only because I wish the drawers were a little bigger. November 23, 2011
Absolutely perfect I love this piece and I love its price. I bought the walnut finish. The color is rich and the piece is well styled with a solid and sturdy feel. It looks so great in my bedroom! I highly recommend it. October 6, 2011
This is the most beautiful desk I've ever seen. I put this desk in cream under a bumpout double window in my master bedroom. The desk is my husband's. He loves it for its large desktop, and I love it for its beauty and character. My only regret is that the Whitley desk does not have deeper drawers. If you're using this desk as a functional desk, which we are, it definitely needs to have deeper drawers (reason for 4 stars, not 5). Otherwise, it's perfect! October 4, 2011
High quality, Tasteful desk The Pro's: Large working area. Can seat two. Simple elegant design, not trendy Solid wood, high quality Hand painted The con's: The white paint is yellow in some spots due to heavy varnish. August 10, 2011
Beautiful Piece of Furniture! I sent an email to customer service the day the desk arrived! What a gorgeous piece of furniture. Packaged with the utmost care. I can't say enough about this company, one of the best mail order companies for good quality out there. June 18, 2011
whitley desk review The desk is sleek, handsome and very nicely finished. I bought the mahogany- stained desk. The drawers are a bit more shallow than I expected, so do not hold much, even though there are two of them. The quality seems very good overall. Assembly was not difficult. June 17, 2011
Well made, high quality desk We are beyond satisfied with this purchase. We had never purchased anything from Ballard Designs before so were a little apprehensive of what the quality would be. The desk is as pretty, very solidly constructed, and well made. When it arrived, one of the legs was damaged, but the company quickly remedied the situation and was wonderful to deal with. Excellent quality product and wonderful customer service. Look forward to ordering again from Ballard soon! June 17, 2011
Nice looking It's a nice looking desk with a good size work surface. The beauty of this desk is the bottom being open which means the drawers are very small so you have limited storage space. Unfortunately, whatever product is used to paint or seal the inside of the drawers is extremely potent and as I sit at the desk each day the smell gives me a headache. June 17, 2011
<<prev2 3 next>>
Product:MO378-Whitley Desk
0

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???