Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 69404
false header 2 69404
  30 6 0 View All View All image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)

Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4 out of 5 by 21 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thrilled with this Console and Hutch! This is my favorite piece of furniture! It is so elegant, yet practical. The finish is beautiful and stylish. I love the lighted cabinet, just press a hinge and the light comes on. The console drawers are great for file folders, so overall it is outstanding. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality I am very impressed by the entire collection that we ordered. The furniture is well made and looks great. The quality is much higher than I expected. The hutch comes with a light inside that is a touch on and off from the corner hinge. The drawers are sturdy and even have a locking mechanism so that you cannot open both drawers at the same time thereby eliminating any accidental tipping. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Update to review While I still love my office and have schooled my kids about being super careful with the finish, very soft rubber wood scratches easily, a weird and unexplainable thing keeps happening with the light in the hutch. The hutch light seems to come on, all the time! I walk into the office in the middle of the day, it's on....when walking by the office on the way to bed, it's on.....when returning from week-ends away, it's on! I can't figure it out, it is to be touch feature and yet it comes on without being touched. It only does this on the right side hutch, the left is fine. My kids think its a ghost, I think maybe a short? For now we have decided to just pull the plug and not offer ourselves the hutch light feature. Kind of a bummer but I won't go to the expense of hiring an electrician. May 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful! Fit into my small space just right. Assembly was easy. Not as heavy as I expected, but still a nice product. April 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This product doesn't have properly working file drawers. I am waiting for my 3rd set of file drawers to be delivered. The first set's bottom drawer appears to have been installed crooked as the left and right sides do not close at the same time. One side is out about 3/4 of an inch out from the other. The replacement set of drawers I refused upon delivery. The drawers stuck badly mid-track and wouldn't slide consistently and properly. They were not functional. We are trying one more time. The service through Ballard's has been excellent in accommodating us. Unfortunately, there is a quality control issue with this product. March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product is just as described. Measured correctly. Delivery was excellent. The color is not too "antiqued" or "yellow", so will fit into any decor. January 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by very poor The delivery of this order was a nightmare. After 5 deliveries I finally have all the furniture. The hutches are poorly made with big gaps and the file doors do not close properly. One of the glass shelves does not fit over the shelving pins probably because the cabinet is not square. I am going to a local glass store to have a new shelf cut instead of dealing with Ballard anymore. I am very discouraged with the quality of this product. January 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place for files I needed extra space for my files, so all is organized now. Also, the cabinet looks great, and I love the way the interior of the top lights up with just a touch of the finger! December 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful product Hutch & console are well built. Electrical for lighting was a bit tricky to access. Also would like to have had two shelves instead of just one for the Hutch unit. Overall I truly love my file Hutch & Console x 2. The drawers in the Console are perfect and give you the option of using hanging files. These units replaced a stacking lawyer's bookcase and file cabinet. The best decision! This is the second furniture purchase I have made and would not hesitate again. April 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not that great! Although the pieces have a good look - they don't align properly even after playing with the leveling devices on the bottom of the pieces. The working hardware is not great and not for heavy use. February 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looks great and perfect size I was afraid it would be too big in our office, but it's smaller than I expected - which is good, as it fits perfectly and looks great. We love the feature of the light inside that can be turned on by a touch. It looks great!! December 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Quality The quality of this furniture definitely matches the price. It's heavy, nicely put together furniture with a beautiful paint and finish. Clearly, Ballard Design is not inexpensive, so I was pleased with the product for the price paid. I'm sure I will enjoy this furniture for years to come. December 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice piece of furniture I bought this hutch, and the left and right bookcases. The three pieces look very nice together, and the quality is good. One small issue is that it is a little tricky to get all the pieces aligned and level with one another. A note for future buyers; the rods for the file drawers are taped to the bottom of the cabinet, so be sure to remove them before you set everything up. September 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect!! I looked for weeks for the perfect piece. I wanted an attractive piece of furniture to act as a desk/organizing area in my kitchen. This piece is not too deep, like many of the other secretary desks and armoire style pieces. I really wanted a filing drawer to keep all of my household files in easy reach. The hutch is beautiful. The lighting inside the glass doors is very soft. I purchased the two drawer file, small hutch, and charging station from the Home Office collection as well. They fit inside the hutch on top of the file console. No more cords everywhere, and I keep my laptop inside the small hutch for charging. It is always handy! The charging station is a little tight for iPhone/ipad charger, but it will fit. I couldn't be happier with this purchase!! The finish is very rich. The quality is high-end. The drawers close very softly with a slight catch, so they don't slide open on their own. But, you do have to be sure to close them all the way. And, the rubbed black doesn't show fingerprints too easily. January 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Function and beauty! I love my Lateral File Console hutch. It is beautiful and functional. I enjoyed organizing my office and books in it. It looks stunning. October 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice This is a very nice cabinet (nicer than I was expecting for the price). Seems well made. Plenty if space between the shelf and the drawers. We are using it as a desk cabinet. We like that it could function as many other things too (would be nice in a dining room as a china cabinet). Will have this piece for a long time. It still has a bit of a smell a few weeks later, but my pregnant nose is ultra sensitive. August 10, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I'm generally pleased--for the price I ordered the hutch and console along with two side bookcases. For the price, I was actually pleasantly surprised by the finish--it is a nice rich cream (not white), just rubbed, not heavily distressed, could be smoother on the shelf surfaces, but nice on the front surfaces. The construction of the file console and hutch doors are also pretty sturdy for the price point. The back construction is not high quality, so it needs to be handled carefully. I was disappointed in a couple things: the "in house" delivery that I paid so much for is really just setting the pieces inside your home--no set up, leveling or assembly. Since the hutch and console are two separate pieces, I needed significant help putting them together--definitely not a one-person job nor a job for the unskilled since there are no instructions about how to assemble the pieces. They provide you with brackets/screws, but no indication of where/how to install them. It's also a very good thing that my floors are level since the levelers on the bottom of each piece were very shoddily installed (cracked, crooked) and absolutely useless. Because I have level floors, a handy husband and moderate expectations, I'm quite pleased with the set. May 22, 2011
  • 2015-11-24 T08:44:50.827-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_MO228, prod, sort_default
Product:MO228-Tuscan File Console and Hutch

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later