Top_Nav_v2_Font
Shipping To: ???HEADER_COUNTRY_SELECTOR_ENABLED???
1.800.536.7551 Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
ICAT
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300
 

Travelers Wicker Chest - Large

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $6.00 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

10 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Travelers Wicker Chest - Large is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chest! I bought this chest for my living room but I ended up putting in my bedroom at the foot of the bed. It looks great and I love it. Accidently, a perfect spot!
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great and holds alot Was looking and looking for something that could hold lots of blankets and pillows and I found this at Ballards.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I like this trunk so much I can't decide which room to use it in. Great quality. The height is great for the end of the bed, a side table, etc. And, of course, there is also the instant extra storage. Arrived in perfect condition and quickly. Thanks Ballard.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A perfect basket Good quality, unique features...looked nice with my traditional furniture at the foot of the bed in the guest room. It is perfect for storing extra blankets.
Date published: 2012-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It is very good looking and sturdy I have it at the end of a bed and it is great for extra blanket or general storage
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality This is my second one that I use for holding linens. It is attractive and durable. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an attractive piece for any room. D
Date published: 2015-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Classic I love that the wicker adds a different texture to a travel chest and at the same time the black metal latch and handles, and leather strapping speak of an earlier era. We wanted this for a room in which the decor developed around family photos and heirlooms from WWII. Our grandmother's Louis XV library desk sits with books and photos of Morocco and Egypt from the 1800's. Period English tea cups sit as if just used, family photos of pilots, British spitfires, and German Messerschmitts hang above a 1930's console. Angled in the corner, behind a small side table we added the travel chest, where we store pillows and throws. On top of it we have a few other period books stacked. It fits the room perfectly! However, we also found that it can slide under our console in the living room and take on a modern casual look. Overall, we love the versatility, quality construction, and classic design. When comparing with other wicker pieces...definitely a bargain!
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from versatile and roomy I love this chest, I bought it to use as an end table and it is the perfect height. Ads a nice touch to my living room. It could be used in any room of my home, and it holds plenty of seasonal items.
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Storage and Good Looking My living space is small so having furniture that can multi-task is very important. The Traveler's Wicker Chest is perfect! It is very substantial in feel and appearance so it holds its own as a furniture item (rather than just another basket). The interior is supported by wooden corners and it holds a lot (I have 2 bed pillows, quilts and other linens in mine). Some reviewers have had difficulty with the leather strapping, but I've managed it fine and it does loosen up a bit after a few openings/closings. My only caveat is that the leather is coated so I'm not sure that it will develop a patina - which I would like.
Date published: 2014-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful accent piece! I love this wicker chest. It is well made and a great addition to our family room. It is unique and I don't think anyone would be disappointed with it. I haven't tried the strap but I doubt that I will need to open and close the chest that often. Even my husband likes it and didn't complain when he saw it.
Date published: 2012-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Wicker Chest! I purchased this item to store extra linens in for guests…loved it so much I purchased another for the lake. The only item of contention is the leather belt on the top is very stiff and I have to have my husband or son open it the first time then I just leave it unbuckled and put it inside the chest. It's beautiful and fits just right under a double hung window.
Date published: 2012-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Looks and Great Quality! I love this Traveler's Chest! This is a very high quality piece of wicker furniture. It is a beautiful darker honey color and fills in the space next to my bed beautifully adding that casual, warm feeling I was looking for. The metal latches are substantial, strong accents and the leather strap on the top is beautiful. I have not seen anything like this with these types of accents or quality - you will not be disappointed if you order this item.
Date published: 2012-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely made storage chest . This product was delivered quickly. It is a quality product and I was very happy with the sturdiness of the chest. I did unbuckle the straps easily and left them inside the basket. I am using this for a laundry hamper in the master bedroom, but feel it could be used in a screened in porch or family room just as nicely. Thanks for a great traveler's chest. It is very unique and well made!
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful size Fits anywhere. High end look. Had no problem with top straps as other reviews. Was very spacious. Very happy with quality.
Date published: 2014-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Travelers wicker chest This wicker chest is nothing short of georgeous. It is extremely well made and worth the cost. I have never seen anything like this and am so happy with it. It can be used anywhere for storage or just decoration
Date published: 2012-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, high quality, wicker chest I am very pleased with my purchase of this wicker chest. It is a nice accent piece to my guest bedroom, and it is large and holds a lot of quilts and blankets. There is a wooden frame inside, and it is a sturdy, high quality, wicker chest. As other views have mentioned, the belt comes on the tightest setting which is annoying. Once we got that open though, we keep it on the next to tightest setting, and it looks and works fine. I definitely would recommend this product to others.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Chair Side Storage Perfect chair side storage of your favorite throws, books and other creature comfort necessities. Great mix with traditional or a bridge to transitional.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product Chest arrived on time and is exactly as pictured. Seems very well made. It had a slight odor, but that rapidly disappeared. Very pleased.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am delighted. I love this trunk. Large, sturdy and stylish. I am very pleased with this product.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish and a lot of storage This chest is large enough to be very useful as storage, and stylish enough to accent any room. Really well constructed too. My biggest criticism is the way they attached the leather strap in the manufacturing process. It is buckled to it's tightest setting, and then attached as tightly as possible to ship with the top strapped closed. The only way to open the chest is to unbuckle that strap, but it's impossible to do without cutting the buckle hole. They really need to fix that... it forced you to damage the strap before you can use the product. But once you get it open, it's great. Fast shipping too!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding! Just received the Chest. One method of evaluation is the packaging. It came via UPS not only in excellent shape, but in packaging that shows SOMEONE CARES about their product. That matters. Not a cheap item, but nicely executed and well delivered. We're looking forward to a long life of usefulness storing our BBQ supplies and utensils in it on our screened in porch. Well done!!!
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive but tricky chest! First of all the wicker chest is very attractive-the color is beautiful- and the quality is superior! The chest arrived in perfect condition and in a timely fashion. Two issues: 1- The dimensions given in the catalog do not reflect the dimensions inside the chest!!! There is a wooden structure(the source of the chest's sturdiness) that takes away from the dimensions given in the catalog/on-line. We ordered this chest specifically with those dimensions in mind and the items did not fit!!!!! We had to make other arrangements for those items which defeated the purpose of getting the chest in the first place. 2- The belt is very hard to unbuckle AND buckle back!! Unless you are not planning to open the chest very often, this can be very taxing. The belt does have some screws so we're thinking of taking them out if possible. The only reasons we're not returning it is that it looks real good AND it's just too heavy (the metal hardware and the wooden structure inside) to deal with the whole return issue.
Date published: 2012-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good looking trunk I looked at a lot of trunks and this one seemed to fit my needs. It arrived in perfect condition and it is really good looking. I love it. I receive many compliments and inquiries as to where I found it. I would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holds it all- but arrived smelly The wicker chest is just the right size to hold all of my sewing gear. Looks nice under our window. But it had an odor of pesticide when it arrived. Took quiet a bit of airing out. But worth it in the end. Could not find a similar product with big inside dimensions like this chest.
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes a great toybox The large wicker travelers chest makes a stylish toy box for my grandson's room.
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great storage basket I purchased this basket to store coats and other kids' items in our front hall. I love the design and how sturdy it is. It looks great in the room. Like other reviewers, I don't use (and think the basket would be better off without) the leather strap over the top. It makes it hard to get quick access to what's inside. While I feel it is a bit expensive, I love its great storage capacity.
Date published: 2012-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great storage piece - bring back the smaller size! I bought this two years ago to hold bed linens in a multi-use family room, and it's a wonderful piece. I agree with several reviewers that the strap closure is tricky to close without serious upper body strength, so I usually run the strap through the buckle without truly closing it since we open it every weekend. There used to be a smaller version of this trunk that I would buy in a minute if it was available. Ballard, please consider bringing it back!
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's perfect This chest is for outdoor shoes at our entry. Looks great and is so well constructed that one can sit on it while putting on shoes. Like it very much.
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but design flaw... Like other reviewers, I am very happy with the chest. I am using it in the corner of my living room as storage. I also had to remove the strap at the top, and it was so tightly buckled that it was a challenge. I think the design would be better without the strap. Otherwise, highly recommend it!
Date published: 2014-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Long-term storage Looks great, but best for long-term storage as it has a difficult, 3-step process to open. Unbuckle strap, move iron one way, then the other to unlatch. The strap is so tight, I can't get it back to first notch. Looks bad. See photo.
Date published: 2012-08-02
  • y_2017, m_6, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_, sid_MI431, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
Product:MI431-Travelers Wicker Chest - Large
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here.
  2. Login/Register for convenient access to your Gift Registry and Wish List.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]