Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 90919
false header 2 90919
  30 6 0 View All View All image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)

Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 96 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful, well-made, easy assembly I insist on real solid wood because it looks better, holds up better and because I have concerns about outgassing with fiberboard products. I've gotten several pieces from Ballard because they offer good-looking, real solid wood furniture at reasonable prices. For a price equal to or less than something made of mdf, the Sonoma bookcase is a quality piece of furniture that looks great now and, I'm sure, will for years. It also holds a ton and is a versatile piece. I got one for my home office. The top part organizes my work stuff and I got baskets for the larger shelves on the bottom to hold my young son's art supplies. The room looked neater instantly and I decided to get a second one for the living room. It suits my needs now as a bookcase and toy storage (again with baskets) but I can see using it as a media center with a flat screen TV (by removing one of the upper shelves) or in almost any other room. The piece was easy to put together. I was able to do it alone, though it would not be a bad thing to have one other person to help. The only complaints I have are that this very heavy piece was shipped in one box (I had to unpack it at my front door and carry the pieces up the stairs) and that there was so much styrofoam used in packaging. The item arrived in perfect condition, but I wish Ballard and other retailers would find more earth-friendly packing materials! (Styrofoam is not recyclable.) I'm very happy with this purchase! October 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love them! I ordered two of these and we just love them. I like the wood grain and texture of the shelves more than I thought I would. Not too hard to put together but it did take two of us. I think it would be hard to do by yourself. Also make sure the felt pads are on the bottom of the legs before you move it around. One of mine had fallen off and I scratched my floor a little. October 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it! This was better than expected. It was simple to put together--probably about 20-30 minutes. It looks great! Well made. October 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Bookcase Beautiful product, great price and easy to assemble. It looks gorgeous and fits perfectly in my house. October 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value, stylish look This bookcase looks great once assembled. Was a little disappointed at the quality of the metal but I guess for the price, and to save on shipping, it's not going to be solid wrought iron (metal poles are hollow). But once assembled it really does look great. I used it similar to one of the photos - to hold misc serving pieces and display in a kitchen/dining area. Wood is quality. October 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my Sonoma Bookcase I have been looking at this bookcase for a while now and finally the right time came to purchase it. I had a friend help me put it together and we did not tighten everything down untill we had it all together (one of the previous reviews suggested this). This design is perfect for my modest sized living room and I had the most fun arranging all my books, pictures and other treasures on it and then changing them all around untill I had it just right. I also put my flat screen on the fixed middle shelf and left out the one above so it fits and looks great. It does not overwhelm my room and the open design displays everything beautifully. September 29, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Looks just gorgeous and very is sturdy, but ... These units look exactly as pictured, they are incredibly sturdy and well packaged so damage would be highly unlikely. There is one problem, unfortunately they have an incredibly strong chemical smell, probably off gassing formaldehyde from the compressed wood shelves. Solely because of that, I cannot recommend these. September 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Easy to put together and looks very nice, exactly like the picture. September 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and functional! The Sonoma Bookcase was on my wish list for a long time! When it went on sale, I was thrilled! Then when it arrived and we put it together, it was beyond what I had was perfect! September 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic styling and beautiful wood! I am very happy with the height and generous amount of space that allows for books and accessories of all dimensions. The Sonoma is a classic style and adds to any decor style! September 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by sturdy, great looking bookcases, wood is beautiful these bookcases are a great value with great looking wood shelving, not a laminate product, easy to assemble. September 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! This is exactly as pictured. Beautiful, quality, couldn't love it more. Only piece of advice is to assemble on the floor. September 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value - great look The height is terrific and provides great scale to our room. It was fairly simple to put together, is quite sturdy and is an excellent value for the sale price of $349 (or even for the regular price). If you're pleased with how it looks in the catalog, I think you'll be very happy with these shelves. September 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is sturdy and easy to assemble. I love my Sonoma Bookcase. The assembly was easy. I am impressed with the construction. I love the flexibility it will give. I am currently usung it in my living room. When I get bored, I can move it to my kitchen, hallway, or even my 3 season room. Well worth the money. September 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by double delight Well this is my second Sonoma Bookcase, so you know I'm happy with my purchase. I bought the first one thinking if I wasn't satisfied with the quality, I could use it somewhere else in the house. Much to my delight, it was perfect, so I waited for a sale and ordered the second one. They both now give distinction to my great room. September 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rustic charm Its looks just like the catalog photo and compliments the black wrought iron in my liviing room. The unit is very sturdy. September 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply elegant Great buy! Looks beautiful in my small condo living room - stands out as a design piece, but unobtrusive in the overall decor. Sturdy also. I highly recommend! August 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect for my space this beautiful bookcase is perfect for the nook next to my fireplace. the openness of the design keeps it from overwhelming the small room. It is lovely. I had no trouble putting it together, had it done in about an hour and a half. August 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly as expected! The piece was well represented online, arrived well packaged and on time. I have gotten quite a few compliments on it and would definitely buy again! Assembly was simple and like that the shelves adjust for different 'looks'. July 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Holds A Lot of Books! This bookshelf is the best! It holds so many books because of its size. But the open design keeps it from overwhelming a small-ish room. Also, the open back lets my red walls show through for a more cohesive look in the library. Putting it together was straightforward. It's big, so it took a little while to assemble, but there were no glitches or surprises. I'm very pleased with this purchase. June 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this piece. Love the wider two shelves on the bottom and the soaring height. It seems very adaptable and could be used in any room. Adds a nice eclectic look to my great room. Now I need to order a twin! June 25, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall the Sonoma Bookcase is a well constructed versatile piece of furniture. The Sonoma Bookcase is wonderful. Very well constructed with easy to follow instructions for assembly. This bookcase is functional without taking up precious space. In an time when many people are down-sizing and need furniture that can morph from one room to another the Sonoma Bookcase fits the ticket. The colors used - the black matte finish metal frame and the English Cherry finish wood shelves lend an understated sophistication to the piece. It can blend easily with many styles. A quality, well built piece of furnture with out the bulky feel. June 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love the Sonoma bookcase! It's exactly what i expected, elegant and sturdy. Thank you. June 15, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's grown on me and now I love it We needed something to flank our fireplace, and built-ins were going to be too expensive. This bookcase has great height and its open design keeps our room from feeling closed in. I love the distressed shelves, but at first, I wasn't too crazy about the color of them. They have an orange tint to the stain, which I didn't think would work in my room. I had wanted something a little more brown. But, we found the perfect rug with all the colors in it that I'm using, and it also has a hint of rusty-orange which ties the bookcase in nicely. So, its a keeper. I still have to order a second one, and I'm hoping it goes on sale soon. I do wish it was a little less expensive. All in all, it's a good choice. May 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the look Love this bookcase! Reasonable price, good quality. Love the look. It took a little bit of time to get it put together, but well worth it! May 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by all of the above^ The ballard product description provided online is completely accurate and says it all-a recommended read! May 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly as described My Sonoma bookcase arrived promptly. I was able to assemble it by myself with no problem (BTW, I am a 60yr old grandmother!), and it looks great! This is not a flimsy quasi-wood shelf product; these are solid, real wood shelves supported by a heavy metal frame. I am totally happy with this purchase. April 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice-looking bookcase We were really impressed with the Sonoma Bookcase. Some assembly is required, but it was relatively simple and we had it up within about half an hour. The quality is excellent, and the overall appearance is even better in real life than in the catalog. It is very sturdy as well as polished and elegant-looking. And the open construction allows us to have a large bookcase without overwhelming our small home office. We thought the price was great for what you receive. March 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Proportions We were debating between these shelves - we ultimately ordered two to frame the fireplace and mounted tv - and some smaller scale, but much cheaper, ones from another store. We love them! They are gorgeous and open and the wood has a very nice tone that coordinates well with the other wood tones in our home. Would have loved a better "deal", but what can you do? The cross-back is a nice feature too and the black frame is sturdy and made it easy to assemble. Great size and shape, perfect proportions. Overall = recommend. March 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a perfect display unit. The item was easy to put together. It's height adds to a room with high ceilings. I wish the shelves were not distressed but I'm still using it. March 16, 2011
  • 2015-11-29 T10:36:06.018-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_96, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_MV260, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Product:MV260-Sonoma Bookcase

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later