Top_Nav_v2_Font
Shipping To: ???HEADER_COUNTRY_SELECTOR_ENABLED???
1.800.536.7551 Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 90400
false header 2 90400
ICAT
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300
 

Sonoma Bookcase

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $6.00 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Sonoma Bookcase is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 101.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for our new study! Great value for the price. Lots of room for books and nic naks. Very solid yet has a nice open feel. Love the adjustable shelves. Compliments wood, metal and stone decor.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value - great look The height is terrific and provides great scale to our room. It was fairly simple to put together, is quite sturdy and is an excellent value for the sale price of $349 (or even for the regular price). If you're pleased with how it looks in the catalog, I think you'll be very happy with these shelves.
Date published: 2011-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High end! This bookcase is all I wanted it to be! Adjustable shelves, super sturdy, tall and spacious, really great.. I recommend to anyone! Ballard Designs costumer service was also more than helpful during the ordering process and it shipped really quickly.
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and Easy Assembly I read most of the reviews prior to purchasing this product. I dont like to assemble anything, but got so excited when it arrived I put together by myself. Looks great, quality is wonderful as it looks at pictured and is sturdy.
Date published: 2011-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking piece! I absolutely love this piece of furniture. We got the English cherry version and it's beautiful. Very sturdy and has adjustable feet to assure it will be level no matter where you put it. We have it in our kitchen and looks great....highly recommend.
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great Awesome look and fit! Perfect for our hallway. Took some time but easy assembly.
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great quality. Great look. I'm about to order the smaller version.
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice-looking bookcase We were really impressed with the Sonoma Bookcase. Some assembly is required, but it was relatively simple and we had it up within about half an hour. The quality is excellent, and the overall appearance is even better in real life than in the catalog. It is very sturdy as well as polished and elegant-looking. And the open construction allows us to have a large bookcase without overwhelming our small home office. We thought the price was great for what you receive.
Date published: 2011-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Sonoma Bookcases are perfect! I started looking for bookcases three years ago. I finally found the perfect bookcase at Ballard's. I love my bookcases! I put them in the living room which is small and oddly shaped. The design of the Sonoma bookcases makes the living room appear larger and they give it a great open look, and makes the room feel light. I love that that the lower shelves are wider which give me room to display books and artifacts. The bookcases were easy to put together. I am going to order the smaller Sonomas for other areas in my home.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and functional! The Sonoma Bookcase was on my wish list for a long time! When it went on sale, I was thrilled! Then when it arrived and we put it together, it was beyond what I had expected...it was perfect!
Date published: 2011-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds A Lot of Books! This bookshelf is the best! It holds so many books because of its size. But the open design keeps it from overwhelming a small-ish room. Also, the open back lets my red walls show through for a more cohesive look in the library. Putting it together was straightforward. It's big, so it took a little while to assemble, but there were no glitches or surprises. I'm very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2011-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Easy to put together and looks very nice, exactly like the picture.
Date published: 2011-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE my new bookshelf! I LOVE my new bookshelf. I ordered and received it within 3 days. It is very easy to put together...so easy in fact, I did it all by myself! I would recommend 2 people put it together, but 1 person can do it if it's a must. I was too excited to wait for help! It is very well made and sturdy. I can't wait to get it decorated and filled with books. I highly recommend this product! My shopping experience with Ballard was exceptional - their customer service was beyond my expectation. I will definitely shop with them again soon!
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sonoma Bookcase We ordered this piece for it's look and dimensions and we were not disappointed! It was in perfect shape and easy to put together. The wood shelves are a lovely cherry and fit the black iron brackets with ease. We are using this piece for china and glassware in our dining room and have had many compliments. Thank you Ballard for a great first buy from your catalogue!
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful, well-made, easy assembly I insist on real solid wood because it looks better, holds up better and because I have concerns about outgassing with fiberboard products. I've gotten several pieces from Ballard because they offer good-looking, real solid wood furniture at reasonable prices. For a price equal to or less than something made of mdf, the Sonoma bookcase is a quality piece of furniture that looks great now and, I'm sure, will for years. It also holds a ton and is a versatile piece. I got one for my home office. The top part organizes my work stuff and I got baskets for the larger shelves on the bottom to hold my young son's art supplies. The room looked neater instantly and I decided to get a second one for the living room. It suits my needs now as a bookcase and toy storage (again with baskets) but I can see using it as a media center with a flat screen TV (by removing one of the upper shelves) or in almost any other room. The piece was easy to put together. I was able to do it alone, though it would not be a bad thing to have one other person to help. The only complaints I have are that this very heavy piece was shipped in one box (I had to unpack it at my front door and carry the pieces up the stairs) and that there was so much styrofoam used in packaging. The item arrived in perfect condition, but I wish Ballard and other retailers would find more earth-friendly packing materials! (Styrofoam is not recyclable.) I'm very happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2011-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sonoma Bookcase My expectations were surpassed by the high quality, beautiful materials in this bookcase. The shelving is top quality wood, the ironwork exceptionally sturdy, and the overall look just outstanding. All of the components were labeled well, making assembly easy.
Date published: 2012-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a perfect display unit. The item was easy to put together. It's height adds to a room with high ceilings. I wish the shelves were not distressed but I'm still using it.
Date published: 2011-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is a must have with its open airy design These bookcases are the perfect alternative to the "closed in" features of other designs. It allows for the wall color to show through while displaying favorite items- they provide the exact open and airy design I was looking for. Another Ballard Design winner!
Date published: 2012-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks like a much more expensive unit. Super sturdy I love my new bookcase! Put it together myself in about an hour and a half. I love the open look. Feels very airy despite its large size. The fixed shelves will hold an amazing amount of weight, haven't overloaded the others, so don't know how they would do long-term. Highly recommend this item. I could use it in any room.
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid wood and tubular steel, easy to assemble Two of the shelves are fixed and the others can be left in or out. I use it in a secluded dining room wall off the kitchen for appliance and kitchen tool over flow. Might purchase another for my pantry area. Just what I need and meet my hopes for the intended application.
Date published: 2012-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile piece The Sonoma bookcase is a nice addition to our Florida room. It was easy to put together by myself. I like that the shelves are adjustable to accommodate anything you may want to display.
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as expected! The piece was well represented online, arrived well packaged and on time. I have gotten quite a few compliments on it and would definitely buy again! Assembly was simple and like that the shelves adjust for different 'looks'.
Date published: 2011-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous stately bookcase We loved the Sonoma bookcase so much in our office, that we purchased a second one for our daughter's bedroom. It is great with the adjustable shelves to accommodate various books or decor. Comes easy to assembly and looks fabulous.
Date published: 2012-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Proportions We were debating between these shelves - we ultimately ordered two to frame the fireplace and mounted tv - and some smaller scale, but much cheaper, ones from another store. We love them! They are gorgeous and open and the wood has a very nice tone that coordinates well with the other wood tones in our home. Would have loved a better "deal", but what can you do? The cross-back is a nice feature too and the black frame is sturdy and made it easy to assemble. Great size and shape, perfect proportions. Overall = recommend.
Date published: 2011-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even more elegant in person! I needed furniture to both hold my stereo and store my textbooks. This unit fit the bill perfectly. My husband had it assembled in an evening. It is sturdy, well-made, and handsome. If offers a great deal of storage without making a small guest room/office look even smaller. The deeper shelves fit a tuner, cd player and speakers with room to spare. It would also hold a small to medium sized AV set, depending on how you set up the adjustable shelves. My only suggestion would be to get a basket or a set of book ends to ensure books not fall off the sides or back of unit.
Date published: 2012-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the look Love this bookcase! Reasonable price, good quality. Love the look. It took a little bit of time to get it put together, but well worth it!
Date published: 2011-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Open Shelves We are using two of these bookcases in our breakfast room to augment our kitchen storage. They are just right for displaying our more attractive dishware, fruitbowls, cookbooks, and things like that. We've placed them in front of windows, and they look great without blocking the light. Assembly was fine -- my husband did it on his own. Packaging was great and the bookcases had no damage. The wood is rich-looking and pretty in a dark honey-brown tone. It is mostly smooth, but heavily distressed in places, so be aware of that. The overall look of the bookcases is open and light, but they are sturdy and don't wobble. Their height is really nice -- 7' tall!
Date published: 2012-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am thrilled with this piece. It is sturdy, attractive and reasonable to assemble. Looks great and stylish in my hallway and stores a ton.
Date published: 2011-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. It's clean and simple and gave just the right balance and function to a small room. It works perfectly for the TV and still gave me space to include some books and personality.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect piece for the den We needed a small bookshelf for a TV, books and other items. This fit our needs perfectly. Easy to put together and we get lots of compliments.
Date published: 2015-04-09
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_101
  • loc_, sid_MV260, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
Product:MV260-Sonoma Bookcase
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here.
  2. Login/Register for convenient access to your Gift Registry and Wish List.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]