Top_Nav_v2_Font
Shipping To: ???HEADER_COUNTRY_SELECTOR_ENABLED???
1.800.536.7551 Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300
 
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $6.00 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Sonoma Bookcase is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 101.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful bookcase! This bookcase transformed my home office. It's beautiful and functional. It's very well made and durable. It's exactly what I was looking for!
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this piece. Love the wider two shelves on the bottom and the soaring height. It seems very adaptable and could be used in any room. Adds a nice eclectic look to my great room. Now I need to order a twin!
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my Sonoma Bookcase I have been looking at this bookcase for a while now and finally the right time came to purchase it. I had a friend help me put it together and we did not tighten everything down untill we had it all together (one of the previous reviews suggested this). This design is perfect for my modest sized living room and I had the most fun arranging all my books, pictures and other treasures on it and then changing them all around untill I had it just right. I also put my flat screen on the fixed middle shelf and left out the one above so it fits and looks great. It does not overwhelm my room and the open design displays everything beautifully.
Date published: 2011-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As good as it looks This product looks just like the picture and it is very sturdy. I love the sleek design and the functionality of the piece. Woul highly recommend this piece.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I debated getting this shelf since I couldn't see it in person but I love it. My kitchen sorely lacks storage and this is just what I needed. I have a small oven and stand mixer on the wide shelf and baskets on the other shelves. It looks great, it wasn't difficult to assemble and is very sturdy. And I love the adjustable shelves, so easy to change them around to get just the right fit for my baskets.
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Purchase I purchased this bookcase for a sewing room to make the most of available space. While I would have preferred instructions with actual words (I hate things that just have diagrams/pictures), it was not all that difficult to put together. There was a little jiggling required here and there to get things into the proper holes but not too bad. It looks great and the shelves adjust easily and to heights able to accommodate the different items I need to store. I'm quite happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow I could not be more happy with this piece of furniture. We purchased two of these to serve as a bookcase and media furniture. We have a small, oddly shaped living room so we needed something that would hold a lot yet feel open and not make the room feel smaller or cramped. This is perfect. Very easy to put together.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection! I bought this bookcase for my office to replace 2 smaller bookcases. The bookcase was easy to put together with the directions and tools provided. It was exactly as described and fit my office perfectly. The larger bottom shelves hold my printer and baskets for all of my loose office "stuff" and the upper shelves work well for books and display objects. I purchased the dark cherry finish and am very please. It's beautiful, sturdy, and suits my needs perfectly. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Functional and stylish This is my third purchase from Ballard and once again I am delighted with the style, quality and value. I bought a wall of shelving (2 Sonoma bookcases, 2 towers) for my study. The pieces don't take up too much visual space but add warmth as well as great storage. The wood is a heavily distressed cherry stain which doesn't show up well in the photograph but is very pretty. I use one of the bookcases to hold a 32 inch flatscreen TV--it works well for that, and you could even fit a larger TV than I have. Assembly is fairly straightforward, much easier as a two-person job. My only complaint is that the pieces are marked with stickers that are very difficult to remove from the wooden shelves. But that is a small objection. Overall, I love the bookcases.
Date published: 2012-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Addition to My Small Kitchen I had my eye on this bookcase for a long time and purchased it when it went on sale. It fits perfectly in the corner of my kitchen. I've made the main shelf a coffee/tea station and the other shelves provide additional storage. I love the English Cherry stain on the shelves and the fact that I'm able to adjust their height. This bookcase came with easy instructions and I was able to put it together myself with some help from my husband. This is my first purchase from Ballard Designs and it won't be my last.
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as stated on the site This bookcase meets every expectation. It fits wonderfully in the spot we chose for it. The finish looks very high-end and the matte metal frame adds a nice touch. We love the adjustable shelves and see this piece as the perfect addition to our room! Great buy!
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! It was a little tricky to put together so I had to call in some big guns to help. Once it was up and in place it looked great. It fit beside my fireplace perfectly and now I want to buy another for the other side. I'm just waiting for a sale or special offer. (hint, hint)
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is sturdy and easy to assemble. I love my Sonoma Bookcase. The assembly was easy. I am impressed with the construction. I love the flexibility it will give. I am currently usung it in my living room. When I get bored, I can move it to my kitchen, hallway, or even my 3 season room. Well worth the money.
Date published: 2011-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from all of the above^ The ballard product description provided online is completely accurate and says it all-a recommended read!
Date published: 2011-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! This was better than expected. It was simple to put together--probably about 20-30 minutes. It looks great! Well made.
Date published: 2011-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! I'm a long-time Ballard customer and, when looking for a bookcase to go into my new mudroom, I found this one in a catalogue. Read the reviews -- and ordered it immediately. Easy to put together; did not need two people, either. Looks wonderful and is the perfect fit for the room. Once again, Ballard Designs comes through.
Date published: 2012-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit The Sonoma bookcase is a perfect fit for the loft. It was assembled in less than an hour and looks fantastic with books and decorative accents. Excellent quality. I especially like the adjustable shelves.
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall the Sonoma Bookcase is a well constructed versatile piece of furniture. The Sonoma Bookcase is wonderful. Very well constructed with easy to follow instructions for assembly. This bookcase is functional without taking up precious space. In an time when many people are down-sizing and need furniture that can morph from one room to another the Sonoma Bookcase fits the ticket. The colors used - the black matte finish metal frame and the English Cherry finish wood shelves lend an understated sophistication to the piece. It can blend easily with many styles. A quality, well built piece of furnture with out the bulky feel.
Date published: 2011-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost five stars I've had this bookcase for several months now and I really like it. I use it as a baker's rack in my breakfast area and it shelves my cookbooks and all sorts of dishes etc. The overall look is great (love the height) and I'm impressed with the quality of the wood shelves. I just wish the frame were made of wrought iron instead of this matte black "tubular" metal (which is very black and a bit cheap looking). That would have earned it five stars for sure. But overall it's a great option for the price point and I really am happy with it (I'm even thinking of ordering another one to go next to it).
Date published: 2011-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ordered 3, really like the bookcases. I really like the 3 bookcases in my dining room. They provide a little break against the wall of mirror they're in front of. They offer good storage and are well constructed. Unfortunately, the baskets shown with the bookcase were too large and not usable. Sadly, it doesn't give the look in the catalog without the baskets.
Date published: 2011-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Substantial and nicely designed This shelving unit is substantial and somewhat quick to assemble. The frame seems to be made of aluminum so it's strong without being too heavy and the shelves are very substantial. It was packed with enough styrofoam to fill 3 huge contractors bags. Things to know are: 1. The units ship with annoying paper stickers to identify each part. While this helps during assembly, the stickers are hard to remove and the ones on the largest shelf left a sticky residue I was unable to remove. The glue should be changed to rubber cement type glue so these can be taken off without damaging the finish on the shelves. 2. The middle shelf and top of the unit are screwed in with very nice long screws. The bottom shelf has no holes in it and is supposed to be attached to the frame with 3 very small wood screws. However, the bottom shelf sits about 3" from the floor. I don't know how it would be possible to screw this on from the bottom with the unit standing up, and the screws are too small to actually hold the heavy shelf on if the unit was not standing up, so I just let the bottom shelf sit on the supports without affixing it. 3. The assembly instructions have an issue that should be corrected in the documentation! In steps 1 and 2, the front of the shelves is forward as you put the first couple of pieces together. At step 3, the back of the unit is suddenly facing forward, with no explanation, which is very confusing as you try to figure out how to complete assembly. I took the shelves apart twice after step 2 thinking I had started incorrectly. You'll figure it out eventually because of the location of holes in the frame, but this slowed down the project quite a bit. I recommend Ballard label the unit in the assembly instructions pamphlet FRONT and BACK so it's clear that the unit should get turned around midway through assembly. The crossbracing doesn't add to the design in my opinion, but is probably an important structural component and will provide a way for us to secure the unit to the wall--we're here in earthquake country.
Date published: 2013-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for I really like this bookcase. It is a perfect size for the wall in our living room. I love the look of the wood too. It came quickly and was easy to put together. There is just one problem and that is the stickers that they put on it do not want to come off. I am frustrated that they are so hard to come off and you can't use any product on it or it will damage it. So I am slowly and gently scraping them off with my fingernail. I am not pleased about the sticky residue that is going to be left on the wood. And there are about 10 stickers. Other than the sticker issue I am pleased with this bookcase.
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This bookcase has lots of shelf space in a small footprint I ordered this bookcase because had a simple yet classically modern look. It caught my eye in the catalog also because the dimensions were perfect for my space and the open back was necessary for a heating unit. The process of assembling was simple, with photo directions. The places where certain screws were supposed to go, under the main shelf, did not match but were not really necessary.
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value, stylish look This bookcase looks great once assembled. Was a little disappointed at the quality of the metal but I guess for the price, and to save on shipping, it's not going to be solid wrought iron (metal poles are hollow). But once assembled it really does look great. I used it similar to one of the photos - to hold misc serving pieces and display in a kitchen/dining area. Wood is quality.
Date published: 2011-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's grown on me and now I love it We needed something to flank our fireplace, and built-ins were going to be too expensive. This bookcase has great height and its open design keeps our room from feeling closed in. I love the distressed shelves, but at first, I wasn't too crazy about the color of them. They have an orange tint to the stain, which I didn't think would work in my room. I had wanted something a little more brown. But, we found the perfect rug with all the colors in it that I'm using, and it also has a hint of rusty-orange which ties the bookcase in nicely. So, its a keeper. I still have to order a second one, and I'm hoping it goes on sale soon. I do wish it was a little less expensive. All in all, it's a good choice.
Date published: 2011-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bookcase Love the bookcase. The only negative was the bookcase came without instructions on how to assemble it. It took a long day of repeated phone calls to get the instructions. Once that happened it was easy to put together and we are enjoying it!
Date published: 2011-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from once assembled great Assembly should come with instruction that states not to actually screw all pieces together to start...it almost needs to be losely held in place or not all of it will line up. Also you need a short handled screw driver to put the screws in the bottom shelf (or do that out of order!). The self leveling feet are great - but they are only on the back feet so be warned that you might need to place felt pads under the front so that it does not lean forward. Once assembled and leveled front and back it is great.
Date published: 2012-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive as an étagère, and light-weight book storage. We ordered two Sonoma Bookcases and like the open feeling that such large furniture normally would not have. They are sturdy, and really function more as illustrated in your catalog—fewer books and more objects. They are more suitable as an étagère rather than a bookcase, because most of the shelves are made of thinner wood and would not support a full shelf of books without eventually sagging. Please note that several shelves had rough long gouges, creating a rustic appearance.
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great quality but strong chemical odor This bookcase looks just as pictured. It is well packaged and puts together easily. However, there is a strong chemical odor coming off of this piece of furniture, and it is giving us a headache. We hope it wears off soon. Quality is high, but the strong smell gives this 3 stars instead of the 5 it should receive. I have ordered from Ballard 3 times before and never had such an issue - loved everything else I have received.
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality issues The bookcase is nice, but one of the boards was warped and wobbles when items are placed on it. I was hoping the quality would be better.
Date published: 2014-06-06
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_101
  • loc_, sid_MV260, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
Product:MV260-Sonoma Bookcase
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here.
  2. Login/Register for convenient access to your Gift Registry and Wish List.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]