GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  20 5 20 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Sonoma Bookcase 4.7 5 90 90
Looks good from a distance The quality of this product isn't as high as expected compared to other Ballard Design items that we have purchased. We had to have an additional shelf sent as one was severely cracked. It appears that the look the manufacturer was going for is rustic. I'm not sure that this is portrayed in the description or the photos. The quality control from the supplier is suspect. March 27, 2014
Nice but not up to Ballard standards I was somewhat disappointed in this Sonoma line of open shelving. I purchased the cherry version ... had a bit of trouble putting it together, as holes were not drilled precisely. The finish on the metal is very cheap looking (factory pebbled texture) and doesn't match the rustic look of the wood. The shelves are nicely finished but, though distressed, they are not antique looking by any means (too slick and regular). The worst part is that after just a few weeks the seams in the deeper shelves are separating. What looked like a bargain piece of furniture now looks ready to be replaced. February 23, 2014
Great Piece This bookcase has fit into my room beautifully. The openness and height were very important considerations for us. I love it, and am considering purchasing another one. November 10, 2013
Substantial and nicely designed This shelving unit is substantial and somewhat quick to assemble. The frame seems to be made of aluminum so it's strong without being too heavy and the shelves are very substantial. It was packed with enough styrofoam to fill 3 huge contractors bags. Things to know are: 1. The units ship with annoying paper stickers to identify each part. While this helps during assembly, the stickers are hard to remove and the ones on the largest shelf left a sticky residue I was unable to remove. The glue should be changed to rubber cement type glue so these can be taken off without damaging the finish on the shelves. 2. The middle shelf and top of the unit are screwed in with very nice long screws. The bottom shelf has no holes in it and is supposed to be attached to the frame with 3 very small wood screws. However, the bottom shelf sits about 3" from the floor. I don't know how it would be possible to screw this on from the bottom with the unit standing up, and the screws are too small to actually hold the heavy shelf on if the unit was not standing up, so I just let the bottom shelf sit on the supports without affixing it. 3. The assembly instructions have an issue that should be corrected in the documentation! In steps 1 and 2, the front of the shelves is forward as you put the first couple of pieces together. At step 3, the back of the unit is suddenly facing forward, with no explanation, which is very confusing as you try to figure out how to complete assembly. I took the shelves apart twice after step 2 thinking I had started incorrectly. You'll figure it out eventually because of the location of holes in the frame, but this slowed down the project quite a bit. I recommend Ballard label the unit in the assembly instructions pamphlet FRONT and BACK so it's clear that the unit should get turned around midway through assembly. The crossbracing doesn't add to the design in my opinion, but is probably an important structural component and will provide a way for us to secure the unit to the wall--we're here in earthquake country. September 14, 2013
Sturdy--easy to assemble I bought two to go on both sides of an antique buffet that I'm using for a media center. Their open design was perfect and does not overwhelm the wall. They are holding many books and table-side photos. Love them!!! May 25, 2013
Great quality but strong chemical odor This bookcase looks just as pictured. It is well packaged and puts together easily. However, there is a strong chemical odor coming off of this piece of furniture, and it is giving us a headache. We hope it wears off soon. Quality is high, but the strong smell gives this 3 stars instead of the 5 it should receive. I have ordered from Ballard 3 times before and never had such an issue - loved everything else I have received. May 3, 2013
Open, airy bookcase with solid construction I replaced two smaller, dark, enclosed bookcases with the Sonoma bookcase and LOVE the look. It's well constructed (assembly required# and solid but has a much lighter, open feel than did my enclosed bookcases. I'm using it to store heavy hard-bound books #lots of antique legal books), and it is holding up perfectly. Love this bookcase and the way it changed the look of our den! April 29, 2013
Exactly as stated on the site This bookcase meets every expectation. It fits wonderfully in the spot we chose for it. The finish looks very high-end and the matte metal frame adds a nice touch. We love the adjustable shelves and see this piece as the perfect addition to our room! Great buy! April 26, 2013
Shelves sway under weight of books I've had this bookshelf for 2 years and the shelves have begun to sway under the weight of the books I have stored on it. The shelves should have been made thicker so they could handle the weight of books -- it's a bookcase after all!! The finish is attractive and blends well with my custom cherry office cabinetry. April 21, 2013
Sonoma Bookcase We ordered this piece for it's look and dimensions and we were not disappointed! It was in perfect shape and easy to put together. The wood shelves are a lovely cherry and fit the black iron brackets with ease. We are using this piece for china and glassware in our dining room and have had many compliments. Thank you Ballard for a great first buy from your catalogue! March 27, 2013
Easy to put together and functional for small space. I love this shelf. I bought the narrower "tower' a few months ago and loved it also. They are easy to put together, look good, and the extra height in my small space uses more room efficiently and makes my rooms look larger. March 25, 2013
Great value for price At first I was concerned about the quality of the product; however, once assembled I am thrilled with the way they look. They are a great value for the sale price. Read the reviews before you assemble they are very helpful. Some key things to note: oak finish is more of a brown than yellow (but still nice); I would recommend putting on the very bottom shelf first to easily access the screws from underneath the shelf and to help stabilize the unit while you finish the assembly, keep screws a little loose while assembling so you can line up holes, and assembly took me less than an hour per unit (I bought two) by myself but you may need help with the very top shelf since unit is so high. March 18, 2013
Just what my space was looking for! I had been postponing buying a new bookcase for quite some time since I couldn't find anything that fit the bill. My niece saw this on Ballards and sent a link to me to check it out. It was the perfect size and a substantial yet airy look to balance and compliment some heavier furniture I had in the room. It was easy for me to put together myself in less than an hour and turned out to be the perfect solution! January 15, 2013
Wow I could not be more happy with this piece of furniture. We purchased two of these to serve as a bookcase and media furniture. We have a small, oddly shaped living room so we needed something that would hold a lot yet feel open and not make the room feel smaller or cramped. This is perfect. Very easy to put together. January 8, 2013
Looks like a much more expensive unit. Super sturdy I love my new bookcase! Put it together myself in about an hour and a half. I love the open look. Feels very airy despite its large size. The fixed shelves will hold an amazing amount of weight, haven't overloaded the others, so don't know how they would do long-term. Highly recommend this item. I could use it in any room. November 21, 2012
functional and beautiful A great piece for any room - beautiful shelves, sturdy, flexible arrangement. I'm using it in the kitchen as an updated bakers rack. A great find for rhe money! October 14, 2012
So great - I ordered a second I ordered one and was so happy I ordered another a week later. They look great flanking my fireplace. One recommendation, when assembling the bookcases complete step 8 right after step 2. It reduced the time to just 10 minutes! Well worth the price! September 19, 2012
Mulit-use possiblities Used this in kitchen as a sort of baker's rack. Looks great. Sturdy. Shelving has distressed portions which are part of the finish - giving it a great look. Love it. August 30, 2012
Just what I needed! I'm a long-time Ballard customer and, when looking for a bookcase to go into my new mudroom, I found this one in a catalogue. Read the reviews -- and ordered it immediately. Easy to put together; did not need two people, either. Looks wonderful and is the perfect fit for the room. Once again, Ballard Designs comes through. August 23, 2012
Sonoma Bookcase My expectations were surpassed by the high quality, beautiful materials in this bookcase. The shelving is top quality wood, the ironwork exceptionally sturdy, and the overall look just outstanding. All of the components were labeled well, making assembly easy. August 12, 2012
This product is a must have with its open airy design These bookcases are the perfect alternative to the "closed in" features of other designs. It allows for the wall color to show through while displaying favorite items- they provide the exact open and airy design I was looking for. Another Ballard Design winner! July 22, 2012
Functional and stylish This is my third purchase from Ballard and once again I am delighted with the style, quality and value. I bought a wall of shelving (2 Sonoma bookcases, 2 towers) for my study. The pieces don't take up too much visual space but add warmth as well as great storage. The wood is a heavily distressed cherry stain which doesn't show up well in the photograph but is very pretty. I use one of the bookcases to hold a 32 inch flatscreen TV--it works well for that, and you could even fit a larger TV than I have. Assembly is fairly straightforward, much easier as a two-person job. My only complaint is that the pieces are marked with stickers that are very difficult to remove from the wooden shelves. But that is a small objection. Overall, I love the bookcases. July 21, 2012
once assembled great Assembly should come with instruction that states not to actually screw all pieces together to start...it almost needs to be losely held in place or not all of it will line up. Also you need a short handled screw driver to put the screws in the bottom shelf (or do that out of order!). The self leveling feet are great - but they are only on the back feet so be warned that you might need to place felt pads under the front so that it does not lean forward. Once assembled and leveled front and back it is great. July 19, 2012
Good Design, Poor quality The bookcase is a good looking piece and looks similar to that advertised, however, three of the shelves received are warped. Due to the size and nature of the shelves, we decided to keep them instead of trying to return or exchange them. We would have rated the book shelf much higher if the shelves had not arrived in the condition noted. The unit was easy to put together and a decent price for the relatively large size. July 4, 2012
Beautiful, functional shelving I'm so impressed with the Sonoma shelving. I used two of them in my kitchen/breakfast area to hold serving pieces, extra dishes, linens, cookbooks, etc. Because of their height they hold so much, and yet hug the wall so as not to be cumbersome next to the table and chairs. They are sturdy and beautifully crafted. Very easy to put together. I am extremely satistfied with my purchase! June 28, 2012
Beautiful Shelves We used a couple of these to finish off a pantry and they were just the look we wanted. The shelves are nicely antiqued. June 15, 2012
This bookcase has lots of shelf space in a small footprint I ordered this bookcase because had a simple yet classically modern look. It caught my eye in the catalog also because the dimensions were perfect for my space and the open back was necessary for a heating unit. The process of assembling was simple, with photo directions. The places where certain screws were supposed to go, under the main shelf, did not match but were not really necessary. June 12, 2012
Solid wood and tubular steel, easy to assemble Two of the shelves are fixed and the others can be left in or out. I use it in a secluded dining room wall off the kitchen for appliance and kitchen tool over flow. Might purchase another for my pantry area. Just what I need and meet my hopes for the intended application. June 10, 2012
Gorgeous stately bookcase We loved the Sonoma bookcase so much in our office, that we purchased a second one for our daughter's bedroom. It is great with the adjustable shelves to accommodate various books or decor. Comes easy to assembly and looks fabulous. May 24, 2012
Even more elegant in person! I needed furniture to both hold my stereo and store my textbooks. This unit fit the bill perfectly. My husband had it assembled in an evening. It is sturdy, well-made, and handsome. If offers a great deal of storage without making a small guest room/office look even smaller. The deeper shelves fit a tuner, cd player and speakers with room to spare. It would also hold a small to medium sized AV set, depending on how you set up the adjustable shelves. My only suggestion would be to get a basket or a set of book ends to ensure books not fall off the sides or back of unit. May 17, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Product:MV260-Sonoma Bookcase
0

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???