GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 68029
false header 2 68029
  20 5 20 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
1
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Ballard Designs {0} Services per unit {1} 04-Threshold Delivery,60-In Home Delivery,33-Oversized Delivery,ESB60-In Home Upgrade
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Sonoma Bookcase 4.7 5 90 90
Lovely Open Shelves We are using two of these bookcases in our breakfast room to augment our kitchen storage. They are just right for displaying our more attractive dishware, fruitbowls, cookbooks, and things like that. We've placed them in front of windows, and they look great without blocking the light. Assembly was fine -- my husband did it on his own. Packaging was great and the bookcases had no damage. The wood is rich-looking and pretty in a dark honey-brown tone. It is mostly smooth, but heavily distressed in places, so be aware of that. The overall look of the bookcases is open and light, but they are sturdy and don't wobble. Their height is really nice -- 7' tall! March 17, 2012
Versatile storage I live in a small apartment of 525 square feet, so all of my furniture needs to serve multiple purposes. About a year ago, I bought the Sonoma Bookcase and used it as a combination bookshelf and entertainment center (by moving the shelves up and putting my 42” television on it.) It worked great and I got compliments on it all the time! It is airy and open, and I like that I can adjust the shelves. It doesn’t look like it would be able to hold a 42″ flatscreen, but it sure can! A 42” television fits perfectly in this bookcase. My only wish is that ALL of the shelves would have the grooves that lock them onto the frame, because they only have an inch or so of horizontal wiggle room before they become topsy turvy and fall out of the frame. February 26, 2012
beautiful, well-made, easy assembly I insist on real solid wood because it looks better, holds up better and because I have concerns about outgassing with fiberboard products. I've gotten several pieces from Ballard because they offer good-looking, real solid wood furniture at reasonable prices. For a price equal to or less than something made of mdf, the Sonoma bookcase is a quality piece of furniture that looks great now and, I'm sure, will for years. It also holds a ton and is a versatile piece. I got one for my home office. The top part organizes my work stuff and I got baskets for the larger shelves on the bottom to hold my young son's art supplies. The room looked neater instantly and I decided to get a second one for the living room. It suits my needs now as a bookcase and toy storage (again with baskets) but I can see using it as a media center with a flat screen TV (by removing one of the upper shelves) or in almost any other room. The piece was easy to put together. I was able to do it alone, though it would not be a bad thing to have one other person to help. The only complaints I have are that this very heavy piece was shipped in one box (I had to unpack it at my front door and carry the pieces up the stairs) and that there was so much styrofoam used in packaging. The item arrived in perfect condition, but I wish Ballard and other retailers would find more earth-friendly packing materials! (Styrofoam is not recyclable.) I'm very happy with this purchase! October 22, 2011
Great quality but strong chemical odor This bookcase looks just as pictured. It is well packaged and puts together easily. However, there is a strong chemical odor coming off of this piece of furniture, and it is giving us a headache. We hope it wears off soon. Quality is high, but the strong smell gives this 3 stars instead of the 5 it should receive. I have ordered from Ballard 3 times before and never had such an issue - loved everything else I have received. May 3, 2013
Shelves sway under weight of books I've had this bookshelf for 2 years and the shelves have begun to sway under the weight of the books I have stored on it. The shelves should have been made thicker so they could handle the weight of books -- it's a bookcase after all!! The finish is attractive and blends well with my custom cherry office cabinetry. April 21, 2013
It's grown on me and now I love it We needed something to flank our fireplace, and built-ins were going to be too expensive. This bookcase has great height and its open design keeps our room from feeling closed in. I love the distressed shelves, but at first, I wasn't too crazy about the color of them. They have an orange tint to the stain, which I didn't think would work in my room. I had wanted something a little more brown. But, we found the perfect rug with all the colors in it that I'm using, and it also has a hint of rusty-orange which ties the bookcase in nicely. So, its a keeper. I still have to order a second one, and I'm hoping it goes on sale soon. I do wish it was a little less expensive. All in all, it's a good choice. May 18, 2011
Exactly as described My Sonoma bookcase arrived promptly. I was able to assemble it by myself with no problem (BTW, I am a 60yr old grandmother!), and it looks great! This is not a flimsy quasi-wood shelf product; these are solid, real wood shelves supported by a heavy metal frame. I am totally happy with this purchase. April 8, 2011
Nice but not up to Ballard standards I was somewhat disappointed in this Sonoma line of open shelving. I purchased the cherry version ... had a bit of trouble putting it together, as holes were not drilled precisely. The finish on the metal is very cheap looking (factory pebbled texture) and doesn't match the rustic look of the wood. The shelves are nicely finished but, though distressed, they are not antique looking by any means (too slick and regular). The worst part is that after just a few weeks the seams in the deeper shelves are separating. What looked like a bargain piece of furniture now looks ready to be replaced. February 23, 2014
Assembly nightmare I loved the look of this bookcase, especially the height and the adjustable shelves. After over 4 hours of attempting to assemble, I waived the white flag and boxed it back up. I am a handy person, but could not get the holes to line up. I called in the troops, we tried loosening screws, tightening screws, but finally realized it was not going together without breaking out some power tools. Customer service was great about returning, no exchange available for 2 months, as this is a very popular item. Hoping my next Ballard purchase goes better! June 20, 2014
Great Addition to My Small Kitchen I had my eye on this bookcase for a long time and purchased it when it went on sale. It fits perfectly in the corner of my kitchen. I've made the main shelf a coffee/tea station and the other shelves provide additional storage. I love the English Cherry stain on the shelves and the fact that I'm able to adjust their height. This bookcase came with easy instructions and I was able to put it together myself with some help from my husband. This is my first purchase from Ballard Designs and it won't be my last. June 13, 2014
Quality issues The bookcase is nice, but one of the boards was warped and wobbles when items are placed on it. I was hoping the quality would be better. June 6, 2014
Great value for price At first I was concerned about the quality of the product; however, once assembled I am thrilled with the way they look. They are a great value for the sale price. Read the reviews before you assemble they are very helpful. Some key things to note: oak finish is more of a brown than yellow (but still nice); I would recommend putting on the very bottom shelf first to easily access the screws from underneath the shelf and to help stabilize the unit while you finish the assembly, keep screws a little loose while assembling so you can line up holes, and assembly took me less than an hour per unit (I bought two) by myself but you may need help with the very top shelf since unit is so high. March 18, 2013
Almost five stars I've had this bookcase for several months now and I really like it. I use it as a baker's rack in my breakfast area and it shelves my cookbooks and all sorts of dishes etc. The overall look is great (love the height) and I'm impressed with the quality of the wood shelves. I just wish the frame were made of wrought iron instead of this matte black "tubular" metal (which is very black and a bit cheap looking). That would have earned it five stars for sure. But overall it's a great option for the price point and I really am happy with it (I'm even thinking of ordering another one to go next to it). November 14, 2011
Looks great Awesome look and fit! Perfect for our hallway. Took some time but easy assembly. May 10, 2014
This is a perfect display unit. The item was easy to put together. It's height adds to a room with high ceilings. I wish the shelves were not distressed but I'm still using it. March 16, 2011
Great Piece This bookcase has fit into my room beautifully. The openness and height were very important considerations for us. I love it, and am considering purchasing another one. November 10, 2013
I love my Sonoma Bookcase I have been looking at this bookcase for a while now and finally the right time came to purchase it. I had a friend help me put it together and we did not tighten everything down untill we had it all together (one of the previous reviews suggested this). This design is perfect for my modest sized living room and I had the most fun arranging all my books, pictures and other treasures on it and then changing them all around untill I had it just right. I also put my flat screen on the fixed middle shelf and left out the one above so it fits and looks great. It does not overwhelm my room and the open design displays everything beautifully. September 29, 2011
Overall the Sonoma Bookcase is a well constructed versatile piece of furniture. The Sonoma Bookcase is wonderful. Very well constructed with easy to follow instructions for assembly. This bookcase is functional without taking up precious space. In an time when many people are down-sizing and need furniture that can morph from one room to another the Sonoma Bookcase fits the ticket. The colors used - the black matte finish metal frame and the English Cherry finish wood shelves lend an understated sophistication to the piece. It can blend easily with many styles. A quality, well built piece of furnture with out the bulky feel. June 24, 2011
Perfect Proportions We were debating between these shelves - we ultimately ordered two to frame the fireplace and mounted tv - and some smaller scale, but much cheaper, ones from another store. We love them! They are gorgeous and open and the wood has a very nice tone that coordinates well with the other wood tones in our home. Would have loved a better "deal", but what can you do? The cross-back is a nice feature too and the black frame is sturdy and made it easy to assemble. Great size and shape, perfect proportions. Overall = recommend. March 17, 2011
Even more elegant in person! I needed furniture to both hold my stereo and store my textbooks. This unit fit the bill perfectly. My husband had it assembled in an evening. It is sturdy, well-made, and handsome. If offers a great deal of storage without making a small guest room/office look even smaller. The deeper shelves fit a tuner, cd player and speakers with room to spare. It would also hold a small to medium sized AV set, depending on how you set up the adjustable shelves. My only suggestion would be to get a basket or a set of book ends to ensure books not fall off the sides or back of unit. May 17, 2012
Looks just gorgeous and very is sturdy, but ... These units look exactly as pictured, they are incredibly sturdy and well packaged so damage would be highly unlikely. There is one problem, unfortunately they have an incredibly strong chemical smell, probably off gassing formaldehyde from the compressed wood shelves. Solely because of that, I cannot recommend these. September 28, 2011
The Sonoma Bookcases are perfect! I started looking for bookcases three years ago. I finally found the perfect bookcase at Ballard's. I love my bookcases! I put them in the living room which is small and oddly shaped. The design of the Sonoma bookcases makes the living room appear larger and they give it a great open look, and makes the room feel light. I love that that the lower shelves are wider which give me room to display books and artifacts. The bookcases were easy to put together. I am going to order the smaller Sonomas for other areas in my home. March 16, 2011
Ordered 3, really like the bookcases. I really like the 3 bookcases in my dining room. They provide a little break against the wall of mirror they're in front of. They offer good storage and are well constructed. Unfortunately, the baskets shown with the bookcase were too large and not usable. Sadly, it doesn't give the look in the catalog without the baskets. November 3, 2011
Sonoma Bookcase We ordered this piece for it's look and dimensions and we were not disappointed! It was in perfect shape and easy to put together. The wood shelves are a lovely cherry and fit the black iron brackets with ease. We are using this piece for china and glassware in our dining room and have had many compliments. Thank you Ballard for a great first buy from your catalogue! March 27, 2013
Easy to put together and functional for small space. I love this shelf. I bought the narrower "tower' a few months ago and loved it also. They are easy to put together, look good, and the extra height in my small space uses more room efficiently and makes my rooms look larger. March 25, 2013
Open, airy bookcase with solid construction I replaced two smaller, dark, enclosed bookcases with the Sonoma bookcase and LOVE the look. It's well constructed (assembly required# and solid but has a much lighter, open feel than did my enclosed bookcases. I'm using it to store heavy hard-bound books #lots of antique legal books), and it is holding up perfectly. Love this bookcase and the way it changed the look of our den! April 29, 2013
So great - I ordered a second I ordered one and was so happy I ordered another a week later. They look great flanking my fireplace. One recommendation, when assembling the bookcases complete step 8 right after step 2. It reduced the time to just 10 minutes! Well worth the price! September 19, 2012
LOVE my new bookshelf! I LOVE my new bookshelf. I ordered and received it within 3 days. It is very easy to put together...so easy in fact, I did it all by myself! I would recommend 2 people put it together, but 1 person can do it if it's a must. I was too excited to wait for help! It is very well made and sturdy. I can't wait to get it decorated and filled with books. I highly recommend this product! My shopping experience with Ballard was exceptional - their customer service was beyond my expectation. I will definitely shop with them again soon! April 27, 2012
Just what I was looking for I really like this bookcase. It is a perfect size for the wall in our living room. I love the look of the wood too. It came quickly and was easy to put together. There is just one problem and that is the stickers that they put on it do not want to come off. I am frustrated that they are so hard to come off and you can't use any product on it or it will damage it. So I am slowly and gently scraping them off with my fingernail. I am not pleased about the sticky residue that is going to be left on the wood. And there are about 10 stickers. Other than the sticker issue I am pleased with this bookcase. January 7, 2012
Beautiful Furniture I bought 2 of these to fill up large, high wall spaces. And, they do so beautifully. They are heavy and well made. The wood shelves are offer wonderful texture against the smooth black frames. I have filled them with books, lamps, plants, photos, a small wine rack and lots of pretty accessories, and they have become focal points. Check your measurements-they are (wonderfully) tall. Easy to assemble. Great buy! April 9, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Product:MV260-Sonoma Bookcase