Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  30 6 0 View All View All image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)

Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

FINISH View larger More views Email a specialist OVERVIEW specifications Supply your own fabric /webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/COMShopFabricsView /webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/COMShopPricingView COLORS: Show All All Patterns All Types All Grades *For fabric names and description hold mouse over the swatch. Refine Your Fabric Choices with the check boxes below. Select your fabric and finish choice from below to see pricing and availability. PATTERN TYPE GRADE FABRICS Size FABRIC: ORDER A FABRIC SWATCH Please Select a ADD TO CART TELL A FRIEND ADD TO GIFT REGISTRY / Wish List Quantity *Actual fabric colors may vary from web representation based on individual monitor settings.
*Your credit card will be charged for the fabric used on your upholstered product separate from the frame.
Need help with your order? Call 800-536-7551 PRINT YOUR SELECTION You have added a swatch of {0} to your cart. To make your fabric selections easier, we offer free swatches of all our fabrics, leathers and most rugs ($5.95 Shipping & Processing).
Ten swatch maximum.
10 0
You have reached the maximum number of free swatches ({3}, {2} max total in your cart).
It looks like you have selected more than 10 swatches. Please deselct some swatches and try again.
Select up to 10 fabrics from above.

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 28 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this chair! I ordered this chair in the distressed off white finish with the Suzanne Kasler signature blanc linen. I love it! The fabric and finish were true to the swatches that I ordered and the workmanship is terrific. The chair is comfortable and lightweight, which is an asset since I move it back and forth on carpet in my bedroom when I sit down at my secretary desk. I would buy the chair again and I recommend it highly. It came significantly sooner than promised, packaged very carefully. November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stunning! Elegant! The perfect update for my very old dining set. The room has new life and looks classy. (Last year I bought 2 of Ballard's Camille chairs for the ends of the table.) The Louis chairs were packed very well, are well made and extremely beautiful. They are comfortable, and lighter than I expected, making them easy to pull in and out. I'm thoroughly satisfied. October 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautifully upholstered in MY ( COM) fabric Love them The color of the grey finish looks more cream than grey. The seat was very firm.... Until I bounced on it a bit to soften it a little. Very sturdy for such an elegant chair. I bought 8 chairs & they look stunning around my heavily carved walnut dining room table. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful chair I am so pleased with this chair. I got it in brown with the Tanzania upholstery. It is lighter weight than I expected but the work on it is very good; the upholdstry job is perfect; pattern matches exactly and it is centered just right. I would recommend this to anyone; it is a beautiful thing. May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful chair This chair is truly beautiful ! It surpassed my expectations. I ordered it in brown wood with a violet velvet fabric and it beautifully fits into my room decor. I recommend it. April 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice chair Well built, comfortable, and stylish. Lots of cool fabrics to choose from as well. March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by These chairs are stunning. I covered mine in the cheetah fabric and they are the highlight of my dining room!! They are a stylish and fun complement to just about any decorating scheme. I have them paired with a traditional Karastan rug. I get so many compliments on them. Plus they are comfortable, durable, and right-sized. They arrived well-packed and were in superb condition after shipping. I can't say enough good things about them. March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product has great styling. I am very hapy with my recent purchase. The chair has great style and design. The fabric is very servicable and durability. Construction is a grest value. July 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I purchased just one to see what I would think about it for my dining room. I just placed another order for a second chair. Have not decided yet about the next 4-6. I might mix up the fabric but will be back for more. Very nice. May 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful, elegant, and comfortable We've had our Louis chairs for roughly three weeks. The upholstery (velvet) was done with the same quality of more expensive local upholsterers. I also like the way the chairs sit. The bottom cushion is a bit firm, but once you sit in it for a couple of minutes it becomes quite comfortable. And I like the fact that the bottom cushion won't break down quickly. We will be sitting in these chairs daily in our breakfast room. I would definitely order them again. March 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Attractive and well made. My oval back side chair looks wonderful and feels sturdy. I'm very happy with the quality of the finish, upholstery work, and the fabric I chose. November 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the chairs I am very pleased with my purchase of 4 of these chairs. They are beautiful and look great with my glass-top table. The custom upholstery that I selected is even more beautiful than the sample and the edging is very detailed and adds to the elegant look. I was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the chairs are - very cushy! They are a nice size for a smaller eating area and are lightweight. November 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great chairs I love the chairs. They look great, not bright orange but more subdued which is great. The only reason they don't get four stars are (1) they take way too long to make and deliver and (2) they're over packaged, like everything from Ballard. One shipment from them fills my garbage and recycling bins for weeks. October 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Chairs were exactly as expected. The pair of Louis XVI side chairs were ordered to match six existing dining chairs. They blend well with the with the existing chairs. The chairs were upholstered with COM fabric. I am very pleased with the result.J August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality! Love my new Louis chair! The upholstery is well done and the wood finish is perfect for my new room. I chose the white distressed finish and I love it. It is not as white as I thought it would be but it blends wonderfully with my white desk. It is super comfy and very sturdy I highly recommend the Louis chair! July 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very satisfied Customer service during the order process went smoothly. Once delivered, we were delighted with workmanship and the chairs are lovely. We ordered these chairs without knowing what to bravo! March 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This chair is the perfect compliment to the other Ballard Chairs I have added to my breakfast room. While the round back chair could easily fit in my dining room, these chairs are in my breakfast room and mix with the square back chair also from Ballards. I find that they are really well made, comfortable, and light weight enough to get in and out of easily in the morning. They're perfect for my space! January 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for a great looking chair I am very happy with this purchase. The chair is a little light, but that's okay as it is being used as an accent chair in a guest bedroom. It looks great--nice styling! November 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressive job with placement and work on custom fabric I ordered these chairs after sending away for swatches, to be sure the colors were right for what I wanted to match. I was so impressed when the chairs arrived as, not only were they beautifully done, but each chair matched every other chair as far as the placement of the designs in the fabric and the designs were perfectly placed on the chair. Ballard Designs clearly spent a lot of time and fabric to get the design on each chair centered so perfectly. They look amazing. November 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks Beautiful! I got this chair in the distressed black and dessert chenille leopard fabric. The chair looks gorgeous, however, it isn't the most comfortable. I have to agree with another customer that left a similiar review. There is just something weird with the seat cushion. July 28, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good The craftsmanship of the chairs is excellent; however, I wish that they were bigger in all dimensions. July 7, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by chair I got this chair in linen and chocolate velvet and while it's lovely to look at it's not that practical to sit in. I originally wanted to have these chairs in my dining room so I ordered one. I must say they are rather light in weight and we were afraid our guests would tip backwards in them so I didn't order any more. It's currently sitting in a guest bedroom. Pretty to look at but I would not recommend sitting in it. Also the velvet material is not as high quality as I would like for upholstery. July 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazingly beautiful chair I purchased 4 of these chairs in Suzanne Kessler's Mineral with the beige wood. They have an absolutely stunning design, but they are also surprisingly comfortable. Perhaps Ballard added extra padding to the chair. The chairs did take several weeks for the special order, but they arrived a couple weeks early with a flawless delivery. June 12, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the looks of this chair! I was really excited to order the Louis XVI sidechair to pair with a small writing desk given to me from my grandmother when she moved into a smaller apartment. The best part was being able to pick wood finish and upholstery for a custom look. I was planning on ordering more of this chair later to mix with my current dining table chairs. After receiving it however, I probably won't order more upholstered pieces from Ballards. It seems very sturdy and I love the look/design and finish of the chair but the seat/back cushion is extremely firm. I don't know what material the cushioning is but it is QUITE uncomfortable, I can't emphasize this enough. Very disappointing as it looks so inviting until you actually sit on it. I will use it strictly as an accent piece. April 22, 2011
  • 2015-11-27 T13:25:42.562-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_28, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_UD047, prod, sort_default
You will eliminate your current selection. Are you sure you want to proceed?
*Colors can vary from screen to screen, so it's good idea to order a swatch before completing your order. We offer free swatches of all our fabrics, leathers and most rugs for just $5.95 Shipping & Processing; 10-swatch maximum. Swatches are approximately 3" x 3". Please allow 3-7 business days for delivery.
*Your credit card will be charged for the fabric used on your upholstered product separate from the frame.
Product:UD047-Oval Back Louis XVI Side Chair

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later