Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300
 
Provide initials as you wish them to appear left-to-right.
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 157 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by for scrapbooking I am pleased with this product. Easy to assembly for me; fit my spot well in the scrapbooking room; attractive; & it was a good value since I ordered when it was at a reduced price. I was hoping the angled shelf would work well for 12 x 12 scrapbooking supplies. I didn't find measurements for this space in the product description. It will hold these items but you must twist or turn them in order to shelve & unshelve them, inconvenient. Wishing it were a little roomier there. May 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Buy Exactly as it appears in the picture. Great, solid buy! We are using it as a hallway book shelf and it's great. May 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good basic unit This metal shelf is fine for a small spot. Pretty easy to assemble and holds quite a few books and magazines. June 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice and studry bookshelf I purchased this bookshelf to be placed right by my window at the corner of the dining area. It's very nice to look at and I placed a few photos and an orchid plant on the top shelf. It was not too bad to put together, I did it by myself in an hour without my husband's help. There is a little bit of concern of scratches because it's a matte finished metal. But you just need to be more careful when placing items on it. January 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by looks great, however rough finish The shelf looks great, as expected, however the finish is rough, not smooth. It was what I was looking for so I decided to keep it, although wish it was smooth. February 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks great but is hard to clean This shelf looks great by the door and is really handy. The only issue I have is that it is hard to clean/dust because of the rough surface. A damp/wet microfiber cloth seems to work the best. Putting it together was fairly easy, but my husband had to use a specially sized screwdriver as using the one they provide was a bit difficult. April 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product This has worked out well by our front door for shoes, purse, etc. I like the rough finish, however, it does present a challenge when dusting. June 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This piece is very well made and sturdy. I am using this piece in our bathroom to hold extra rolled towels. On the bottom shelf, I placed two baskets, one for extra rolls of toilet paper and one to hold a hair dryer. It looks great and serves it's purpose. The reason I gave it 4 stars was due to the finish. It's very rough so the only way I can clean it is to use a vacuum. July 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the look of this piece Love the look of this piece, but I don't like the finish. It's very sticky and can't be dusted. The only way I can figure out how to clean it is to vaccuum it. Also, when I read the dimensions, (which were very important for what I wanted to use it for) the bottom shelf dimension was given and I thought it was for the top shelf, which is much narrower. I did find another use for it, as I really liked the look of it. it's very sturdy and will hold heavy books. September 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty and Functional I was looking for a bookshelf that was not your average bookshelf, and that's what I got! It's both pretty and functional. Spacious without being too big. Love it! September 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks great! Not too hard to assemble and looks great. Textured metal could be difficult to dust/clean - we'll see after I've had it for a while! October 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Powder coated bookshelf I really enjoy the look of this bookshelf. I was not expecting the look & feel of the powder coated iron...reminds me of a truck bed liner feel & look, however, I still love this product & it is very functional! October 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great vintage style My grandmother had a 100-year-old mahogany version of this shelf in her living room and when she passed away, my mom gave it to my sister (much to my annoyance because I had always loved it). Then I was pleasantly surprised to find the same vintage-style library shelf at Ballard! I like the paint, finishings, and quality and the shelf holds a number of my heavy coffee table books. It was a little difficult to put together however. On one side, I couldn't get the screws screwed in all the way. Try assembling it with two people (I tried to put it together on my own). Aside from the assembly issues, I love this book shelf and it reminds me of my grandmother! November 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great piece, good value This bookcase is a great size for locating just about anywhere and can double as a display surface or side table. The shape is very interesting and the angled top shelf makes viewing book titles very easy. I don't love the feel of the powder-coat finish but it looks good and is well made. November 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Design and Sturdy Construction Finish as described is misleading; turns out to be an application quite unlike any powder coated finish I have ever seen, very rough and would be very abrasive to book covers over time. Proceeded to have unit powder coated anew in a black satin finish.......cost $150; yeh it was that bad! RAF December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stylish and functional I bought a pair of these bookshelves for my home office, where they look great. Thanks to previous reviewers who alerted me that I would need to refinish the extremely rough surfaces or ruin my books, boxes, tablets and anything else I used them for. Following their advice, I sanded the pieces with 220 grit paper, washed them with soap and water (according to directions on metal spray paint can), painted them (two coats) with matte black. In all, about 3 hours of sanding for each bookcase, 2+ hours spray painting for each (had to set up paint area between coats), an hour each to assemble these by myself. Ballard needs to change the finish on these bookcases; I don't understand the reason for the very rough finish when another type of powder-coating could be applied But, they sure are cute! August 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect size This was the perfect size bookshelf, fits in front of my window. One recommendation is to use regular screws instead of the hex head ones. I put this together by myself. It was difficult aligning the screws through the holes & tightening with a hex key wrench while holding pieces together. I would recommend this product to a friend & help with assembly. December 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a good purchase This bookshelf is a great price and looks really nice. It was the perfect size for where I needed it and fit in really well with my décor. It actually holds a lot more items than I anticipated, which is a plus. The only negative was that I didn't find the assembly as easy as it could have been - based on the position of the pieces it was a little hard to twist in the screws. It went much easier with two people. April 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good product overall This is a good product overall but when I ordered it I thought it would be made of wood. The metal is okay but I would never put it where it would be obvious, too casual. But for what I need, a bookcase in an unseen corner, it works very well. March 16, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by nice but difficult to put together I liked the way this looked after I finally got it assembled, but assembly was very difficult, requiring two people, at least one of them strong. I was also frustrated because the price was reduced about a month after I bought it. But it is durable and requires no care. March 18, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Assembly was terrible! It took less time to replace six door knobs and six sets of hinges in my house than it did to put this shelf together. I think I will like the look of the bookshelf once I have it accessorized it but right now I am too disgusted by the amount of time it took to assemble to look at it any longer today. February 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and bad I have wanted this for a year. Pros: super easy to assemble/sturdy/sizing is just right. Con: I HATE the rough, pebbled surface. It's rough, dull, and it's a pain to clean. In catalog the surface looks smooth. My brain did not register what "powder coated finish" meant, so can't fault Ballard for that. That is the only reason I cannot recommend this item. July 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sturdy, but rough finish I like it for its strength and elegant lines, but I guess I did not know that powder coated meant a very rough, sandpaper-like finish. It scratches easily in black, as someone noted, but also it will scratch the books or whatever you store on it, because the metal is rough (think coarse grade sandpaper feel) to the touch. I still like it, I was just expecting smooth metal. August 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hard to assemble I have assembled many items over the years, and this was a frustrating task. I ended up not following the directions as written, because they simply didn't work. That said, when I finally did get the job done, it looks good, is sturdy, and for a small piece, it holds an amazing amount of books. August 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good design but questionable execution Ideally I would have preferred this bookshelf in wood or with wood shelves but I found for an inexpensively priced item it had good design details and fits well into my living room. Assembly was straight forward with no problems. HOWEVER, while the textured paint softens the look and removes a cheap metal apperance that a gloss finish would do, the finish results in something akin to sandpaper. It is near impossible to wipe with a cloth without leaving reside or even if you swipe your hand across the surface. The abrasive surface is not friendly to book covers or fragile materials. Contrary to some other commenters, its "powder coated" paint does not mean that it has to be as rough as it is. I eventually solved the problem by very, very lightly sanding the shelf surfaces (not the frame or shelf undersides) with very fine sandpaper (really requires only a very small amount of sanding and could be easy to sand too much as you only want to knock down the sharpness) and then spraying the whole bookcase with a flat black enamel. It now retains a textured surface but not so extreme as to be problem. Ballard should revise their build/construction specs to provide a less abrasive but textured finish. October 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Impossible to assemble Charming design, holds lots of books (but be aware that the bottom shelf cannot accommodate upright books because because the slanted middle shelf cuts into the space). I've downrated it because, while the description said something like "some assembly required," it did not indicate just how much assembly, or how difficult it would be. It took me eight hours over three days to put this thing together -- I have assembled whole dressers and cabinets in less time and with less effort. The diagrams were amazingly unhelpful, the hardware did not fit the drilled holes properly; some bits had to be forced and hammered into place. The individual iron (cast aluminum?) pieces are heavy and must be balanced on each other for assembly. Fine if you have another set of strong hands working with you. If you happen to be a strong but oldish woman with arthritic hands and don't have help, it's nearly impossible. March 16, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by nice look, don't like finish I love the look of this book shelf - unique. The size is great. But the finish is very rough - just like the other reviewers note. I sprayed the polyurethane on it as one reviewer recommended. But even so, the finish remains very rough. It's impossible to wipe off dust as the cloth gets caught in the rough finish. I kept this piece to avoid the hassle of returning it. But I would not have purchased if I had seen it first. March 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice and funcitonal BUT material terrible The overall function and look of the piece is nice...but what everyone says is true the material is terrible. The metal coating is very rough and hard to clean - if at all. If you rub it even with brush up against it leaves a residue....so cleaning it is challenging - I just lightly dust it with a Swiffer duster but that is it. I got something on it - probably dog slobber and I couldn't really get it off. I like the look but wish the material was better - they need to sand down the coating a bit to make it easier to keep clean. May 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bookshelf Very cheap looking in black, looks better online. Would not buy again. June 29, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by cheap materials The metal is really cheap looking in white and the weight felt flimsy. I returned it. December 28, 2011
  • 2016-05-05 T10:30:56.893-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_157, tr_157
  • loc_en_US, sid_MV246, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Product:MV246-Librarie Bookshelf
0

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here.
  2. Login/Register for convenient access to your Gift Registry and Wish List.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???