GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  20 5 20 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
1
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

Sale
Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Ballard Designs {0} Services per unit {1} 04-Threshold Delivery,60-In Home Delivery,33-Oversized Delivery,ESB60-In Home Upgrade
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Librarie Bookshelf 4.5 5 146 146
Perfect piece We were very excited to get this piece. We had read previous reviews and were a little concerned about the texture of it and how difficult it would be to assemble. After receiving it we were very pleased, it took less than 30 minutes to assemble. The texture is a little rough but not unexpected. We now wish we had bought the taller one! April 10, 2014
nice look, don't like finish I love the look of this book shelf - unique. The size is great. But the finish is very rough - just like the other reviewers note. I sprayed the polyurethane on it as one reviewer recommended. But even so, the finish remains very rough. It's impossible to wipe off dust as the cloth gets caught in the rough finish. I kept this piece to avoid the hassle of returning it. But I would not have purchased if I had seen it first. March 21, 2014
Great Design and Sturdy Construction Finish as described is misleading; turns out to be an application quite unlike any powder coated finish I have ever seen, very rough and would be very abrasive to book covers over time. Proceeded to have unit powder coated anew in a black satin finish.......cost $150; yeh it was that bad! RAF December 9, 2013
Perfect for our guest room. Placed it next to the bed. The top can be used for a carafe of water and their book and lamp! The angle shelf now holds guest towels and magazines on the lower. December 6, 2013
Great piece, good value This bookcase is a great size for locating just about anywhere and can double as a display surface or side table. The shape is very interesting and the angled top shelf makes viewing book titles very easy. I don't love the feel of the powder-coat finish but it looks good and is well made. November 21, 2013
Great vintage style My grandmother had a 100-year-old mahogany version of this shelf in her living room and when she passed away, my mom gave it to my sister (much to my annoyance because I had always loved it). Then I was pleasantly surprised to find the same vintage-style library shelf at Ballard! I like the paint, finishings, and quality and the shelf holds a number of my heavy coffee table books. It was a little difficult to put together however. On one side, I couldn't get the screws screwed in all the way. Try assembling it with two people (I tried to put it together on my own). Aside from the assembly issues, I love this book shelf and it reminds me of my grandmother! November 14, 2013
Cute, easy to put together Got this when it was on sale for $119 (thanks Ballards!). Got two of them to flank my bedroom window. The metal has a gritty texture. It was incredibly easy to put them together. Love the unique design. I was not able to put magazine holders on the bottom shelf due to the middle v-shaped shelf angle, but there is plenty of room to stack books. It's such a strong, sturdy shelf that I stacked a lot of heavy coffee table books on that bottom shelf. Arrived in less than a week (to MN). This is the third time I've purchased shelves from Ballards and bought a side table from here years ago. Great designs, incredible value. October 24, 2013
Good design but questionable execution Ideally I would have preferred this bookshelf in wood or with wood shelves but I found for an inexpensively priced item it had good design details and fits well into my living room. Assembly was straight forward with no problems. HOWEVER, while the textured paint softens the look and removes a cheap metal apperance that a gloss finish would do, the finish results in something akin to sandpaper. It is near impossible to wipe with a cloth without leaving reside or even if you swipe your hand across the surface. The abrasive surface is not friendly to book covers or fragile materials. Contrary to some other commenters, its "powder coated" paint does not mean that it has to be as rough as it is. I eventually solved the problem by very, very lightly sanding the shelf surfaces (not the frame or shelf undersides) with very fine sandpaper (really requires only a very small amount of sanding and could be easy to sand too much as you only want to knock down the sharpness) and then spraying the whole bookcase with a flat black enamel. It now retains a textured surface but not so extreme as to be problem. Ballard should revise their build/construction specs to provide a less abrasive but textured finish. October 24, 2013
Very Disappointed I was very disappointed with the finish. Even though the reviews said it had a "rough" finish, I didn't expect it to be this bad. I sprayed it with a clear finish attempting to smooth it out, but it was so rough, even three coats didn't help. So now I'm in the process of sanding and spraying again. I wish I had returned the item before trying to make it work...... October 24, 2013
Powder coated bookshelf I really enjoy the look of this bookshelf. I was not expecting the look & feel of the powder coated iron...reminds me of a truck bed liner feel & look, however, I still love this product & it is very functional! October 21, 2013
Looks great! Not too hard to assemble and looks great. Textured metal could be difficult to dust/clean - we'll see after I've had it for a while! October 9, 2013
Love at first sight... I LOVE THIS SHELF! Even my husband who was not thrilled with the purchase at first has made several comments on how it fits the space perfectly and makes the room look better. Very happy with the purchase. Appreciate it being offered at a savings so we could try it as the savings put it in our price range. :-) Thank you Ballard! September 25, 2013
Nice storage I love it. Looks great by the door in my Florida room. You can store shoes, books and even put decorations on top. I almost need another one for my outside clutter. September 22, 2013
problem solved I searched for a way to store all my sheet music and scores near my piano,,,and this holds all my collection, and looks good. Perfect! September 20, 2013
Pretty and Functional I was looking for a bookshelf that was not your average bookshelf, and that's what I got! It's both pretty and functional. Spacious without being too big. Love it! September 15, 2013
an old fashioned book case i love this bookcase...it is beautiful and very well made...it holds lots of magazines and books September 14, 2013
Great product I love this booksellers bookcase. It fits nicely below my bedroom window with room on top for house plants, plenty of room for books in the middle and a shelf on the bottom for decorative boxes,etc. September 11, 2013
useful size This fits perfectly near my desk and holds all the catalogs and paper products that I hoped it would. The color (black) is unobtrusive. September 5, 2013
Love the look of this piece Love the look of this piece, but I don't like the finish. It's very sticky and can't be dusted. The only way I can figure out how to clean it is to vaccuum it. Also, when I read the dimensions, (which were very important for what I wanted to use it for) the bottom shelf dimension was given and I thought it was for the top shelf, which is much narrower. I did find another use for it, as I really liked the look of it. it's very sturdy and will hold heavy books. September 5, 2013
Hard to assemble I have assembled many items over the years, and this was a frustrating task. I ended up not following the directions as written, because they simply didn't work. That said, when I finally did get the job done, it looks good, is sturdy, and for a small piece, it holds an amazing amount of books. August 31, 2013
Pretty, sturdy, and versatile I needed a cookbook shelf in my kitchen that would also act as storage, and this piece suited my needs perfectly. The dimensions were just right for my space, and its style and design fit the eclectic mood of my kitchen. It's solid and very well-constructed, and fits all my cookbooks. Although it requires assembly, the directions for assembly are straightforward. It took me about an hour to put together by myself. For two people, it would take considerably less time. Other reviewers have noted that the powder-coated finish is just slightly rough, which makes it a bit difficult to clean with a wet cloth. That's true. A standard sponge or microfiber cloth is not a good choice for cleaning this, because the fibers will catch a little on the surface. But I use a duster that attracts dust with static electricity to clean it, as well as the floor underneath it, in just a few seconds. No muss, no fuss. I would think that a vinegar/water solution on smooth T-shirt cloth might also do well to clean up any spots. Finally, be aware that this is a powder-coated METAL bookshelf--if you expect it to be wood, do not order! But if it were made of wood it would cost more than twice as much. I actually like the fact that it is metal. I ordered it in white, but in the future, if I change my color scheme, I won't think twice about painting it. If you want something for your books that's pretty and elegant, that offers additional storage, and that's functional, sturdy, and cost-effective, this is a great piece at a great price. Highly recommend. August 23, 2013
sturdy, functional, clean lines & textural finish I love this bookshelf! It was easy to assemble, fits perfect in my space, holds books & accessories, and looks great! August 22, 2013
Sturdy, but rough finish I like it for its strength and elegant lines, but I guess I did not know that powder coated meant a very rough, sandpaper-like finish. It scratches easily in black, as someone noted, but also it will scratch the books or whatever you store on it, because the metal is rough (think coarse grade sandpaper feel) to the touch. I still like it, I was just expecting smooth metal. August 16, 2013
Better than described When I read that the bookshelf was metal, I was hesitant to purchase it. However, it looks great in my living room. I use it as an end table with a lamp on top and it stores all of my child's books and toys on the shelf. It couldn't be a better product for this! It keeps everything nice and organized and off the floor. Thanks Ballard for another great piece of furniture! July 25, 2013
Good and bad I have wanted this for a year. Pros: super easy to assemble/sturdy/sizing is just right. Con: I HATE the rough, pebbled surface. It's rough, dull, and it's a pain to clean. In catalog the surface looks smooth. My brain did not register what "powder coated finish" meant, so can't fault Ballard for that. That is the only reason I cannot recommend this item. July 18, 2013
This piece is very well made and sturdy. I am using this piece in our bathroom to hold extra rolled towels. On the bottom shelf, I placed two baskets, one for extra rolls of toilet paper and one to hold a hair dryer. It looks great and serves it's purpose. The reason I gave it 4 stars was due to the finish. It's very rough so the only way I can clean it is to use a vacuum. July 14, 2013
It has no great features Should be ok in a garage for holding oil cans and rags June 27, 2013
Great product This has worked out well by our front door for shoes, purse, etc. I like the rough finish, however, it does present a challenge when dusting. June 20, 2013
poor engineering this bookshelf would have been lovely if all the pieces could actually fit together. the actual holes on the parts did not line up correctly so it could not be assembled. too bad - this would have been perfect for my daughter's room. June 1, 2013
Just what I was looking for I have been shopping for a small bookcase and when I saw this I knew I had found the perfect piece. It was easy to put together, and I love the tilted shelf. May 9, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Product:MV246-Librarie Bookshelf