Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  30 6 0 View All View All image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)

Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 155 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I love this bookshelf. It has met all my needs. Seems to be the perfect size to fit in so many places in my home, I find myself ordering more! April 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So much nicer than a boring rectangular bookcase! This bookshelf met my needs for a sturdy, functional item. I like how it has character in the way the sides are made. The tilted middle shelf is great for seeing book titles. I use the bottom shelf for a row of decorative storage boxes that keep small items stored neatly. The very top is used to display the latest issues of my magazines. That makes them accessible and easy to swap out when new issues arrive. March 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the looks! Easy assembly. I would have given this a five star review, but I wanted to put an object I have on the bottom shelf, and there just was not enough clearance to do so. It would be nice to make it a bit higher with a little more clearance on the bottom. I would still order again, it's great for my cook book collection. March 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it. This librarie book shelf is very useful and has meet with many functions in our home. It not only stores some of our cookbooks but displays a small collection of baskets and shells very nicely. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am very pleased with the librarie bookshelf It was easy to put together. It is very sturdy. I liked the first one so much, I ordered another. March 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy assembly, great looks. Very functional and attractive piece. Easy assembly and perfect for a small spot where books and such are needed. This piece is in my kitchen and is used for the kids text books. Perfect. March 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good kitchen addition I needed a place for my cookbooks in our new kitchen after downsizing. The slanted book shelf is perfect for them. I added baskets to the bottom shelf for additional storage and plants on the top shelf. The black scuffs easily because the finish is not smooth. March 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Assembly was terrible! It took less time to replace six door knobs and six sets of hinges in my house than it did to put this shelf together. I think I will like the look of the bookshelf once I have it accessorized it but right now I am too disgusted by the amount of time it took to assemble to look at it any longer today. February 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by cheap materials The metal is really cheap looking in white and the weight felt flimsy. I returned it. December 28, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just as pictured The book shelf is exactly what I wanted and I'm happy with the purchase. A gave it 4 stars only because assembly was not a "breeze". One person can do it, but two would make it easier. November 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Practical & Stylish We have placed two bookshelves side by side, behind our sectional sofa. Our shelves hold plants and books on the top two shelves. On the bottom shelf, we have baskets which hide our young daughter's school items. They are very practical & we always received compliments on the shelves! November 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great features This product was perfect our guest bedroom. Holding items like books, magazines, and a radio without looking cluttered. Placing rattan baskets across the bottom shelf gave it a finished look holding everything a guest might need. November 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well-made, reasonably priced product. I've purchased six of these units and am very pleased with them (the sixth unit had an incorrect part which customer service handled expeditiously). October 27, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Functional and Attractive We placed the librarie bookshelf in our reception area to display several large "coffee table" type books. It works perfectly. The shelves are deep and the entire bookcase is very attractive. It was easy to assemble. The only caution is that the surface "scratches" easily; however, the marks can be wiped off with a damp cloth. I would definitely recommend this piece. October 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice looking, hope it lasts This product is easy to put together. I was able to do it myself, took about 45 minutes start to finish. The white is very sharp looking and is a great element in our family room, but I did notice a small chip in the paint after putting it together and am hoping it will withstand a home with three children. I;'ve had it about 3 weeks and so far it looks great. Time will tell! October 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by exactly what I was looking for I needed a shelf for my dinning area. I wanted something simple that would not take up a lot of space but still have some storage. This shelf was perfect for a small area. It holds all my cook books on the angled shelf so I can easily see the titles of the books, and on the bottom rack I stored some pretty stackable colorful bowls. This freed up storage space in my kitchen and looks great. there is also a tiny shelf on top perfect for displaying small seasonal decorations. Overall I am very pleased with my purchase. September 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love the library bookshelf. The bookshelf is exactly as pictured. I have placed it in my study and it looks PERFECT. Easy assembly, but requires two people. September 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Millions of uses! I had a 'closet' dedicated to my grown children's 'vintage' toys for my grandchildren to play with when they visit, but I needed my closet back! I wanted something inviting and easy to organize/put back for the toys and to create an inviting place for the grandchildren. I bought two of these shelves, organized books and toys in baskets. The large baskets on the bottom shelves holds lots of smaller items. The shelves look great; the kids love their new space, and all their parents want their own librarie shelves in their homes now. These shelves are so versatile; I can think of literally hundreds of uses. I was able to put them together all by myself, but it would have been really nice to have another pair of hands to help. LOVE these! September 13, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to asemble, very sturdy. We were looking for something to place a slab of granite on for our kitchen. We need the workspace. The bookshelf combines the area for the granite as well as the shelving for cookbooks, my soup tureen and some baskets. It has become a hard working center for our kitchen without having to buy and island. August 31, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful....but scratches easily Bought the bookshelf in black and am very pleased with how sturdy the bookshelf is. The metal is a nice, updated look for a typical wooden, bookseller's bookshelf and holds a ton of weight. The piece was a snap to assemble (comes with it's own allen wrench) and took about 30 minutes of my time from start to finish. As other folks have indicated in their reviews... the metal scratches very easily. To allay this problem, I simply used a matte, polyurethane spray to topcoat the the entire piece and voila..... no more scratches. (also... prior to poly-ing the bookshelf, I rubbed a little bit of gold, bronze, and antiqued silver to the edges and over various parts of the piece to give it a little bit of depth. The black is beautiful, but it needed a little more 'oomf') August 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The bookshelf is very continental and adds a splash of beauty and practicality. This bookshelf is handy not only for books, (cookbooks in my case) but also for oversize items like my crock pot and large ceramic pieces. It goes nicely with my yellow walls and black & white floor. It was relatively easy to put together solo. August 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charm "in spades" and easy to assemble I am so happy that I ordered this bookshelf. It's perfect for the location where I've struggled to find the right accent table. It is very charming in appearance. The lightly textured black metal is a perfect counterpoint to the wood furniture in the room. The assembly was VERY EASY - I am a widow living alone and it went together in 20 minutes from the time I cut the packaging open. Based on other comments on this table, I expected it to wrestle me or something, but assembly was SMOOTH and uncomplicated; all you do is screw in a total of 14 screws with the provided allen wrench. Some complaints in earlier reviews could have been negated if people would have paid attention to the description and the dimensions. It is exactly as represented, does NOT look cheap (or it would not be in my home!), and is the easiest piece of furniture I have ever assembled! August 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looks nicer than I even expected This product is well described in the catalog. It arrived promptly and was not damaged in transit. It looks great in my house and I'm very pleased. The only issue is that black powder coating does attract dust and smudges. August 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this! This is unique and charming and looks great in my spare room with my garden gate bed. Easy to assemble and light weight enough to move easily. Bottom shelf lacks much room height wise, but is still useful. Best part, unlike other bookshelves this looks great from all angles. August 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by small footprint but large storage/display space I am extremely please with my purchase of the librarie bookshelf. I needed something with a small footprint for a small room. This fills my needs completely because it does not overwhelm the room and provides ample storage/display space. It is a charming piece that would compliment any decor and could be used in any room of the house. It is solid and sturdy but does not have a "heavy" look. Easy to assemble too. August 1, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great style! I love the style of this bookshelf. It is exactly what I had been looking for. It was very easy to assemble by myself and the size is great. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the texture of the metal. It is not a smooth surface. It has an odd texture to it that I don't like at all. And it will scuff very easily. Wish this info had been noted in the write-up. Otherwise the item is fine and I would recommend it. July 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it!! I have looked for years for a bookshelf like this. The quality is good, very solid. Easy to put together July 7, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bookshelf Very cheap looking in black, looks better online. Would not buy again. June 29, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice bookshelf I use this in my kitchen to store my recipe books where I can see them. It is perfect for this use and attractive. June 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly as previewed, excellent piece of furniture Serves its purpose very well in a small space.The bookshelf mixes very well with the antique reproductions that are part of the decorative elements in the room. Excellent as storage and decorative functionality. June 5, 2011
  • 2015-10-07T07:29:13.692-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_155, tr_155
  • loc_en_US, sid_MV246, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Product:MV246-Librarie Bookshelf

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later