GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  20 5 20 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
1
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Ballard Designs {0} Services per unit {1} 04-Threshold Delivery,60-In Home Delivery,33-Oversized Delivery,ESB60-In Home Upgrade
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Librarie Bookshelf 4.5 5 144 144
just what i needed for my entryway I needed something that would fit in a small space in my entryway underneath a window, where the kids could stash their schoolbooks, and shoes right as they come in the door after school. This bookshelf has worked great for that purpose. The design is very attractive, and the assembly was easy enough. A couple of the screws did not go in all the way, however, it is not noticeable and the shelf seems to be quite sturdy. I purchased this on sale, and I feel it was a good deal for the sale price. Honestly, though, I'm not sure that I would have bought it at full price. March 16, 2011
Sturdy, but rough finish I like it for its strength and elegant lines, but I guess I did not know that powder coated meant a very rough, sandpaper-like finish. It scratches easily in black, as someone noted, but also it will scratch the books or whatever you store on it, because the metal is rough (think coarse grade sandpaper feel) to the touch. I still like it, I was just expecting smooth metal. August 16, 2013
Pretty, sturdy, and versatile I needed a cookbook shelf in my kitchen that would also act as storage, and this piece suited my needs perfectly. The dimensions were just right for my space, and its style and design fit the eclectic mood of my kitchen. It's solid and very well-constructed, and fits all my cookbooks. Although it requires assembly, the directions for assembly are straightforward. It took me about an hour to put together by myself. For two people, it would take considerably less time. Other reviewers have noted that the powder-coated finish is just slightly rough, which makes it a bit difficult to clean with a wet cloth. That's true. A standard sponge or microfiber cloth is not a good choice for cleaning this, because the fibers will catch a little on the surface. But I use a duster that attracts dust with static electricity to clean it, as well as the floor underneath it, in just a few seconds. No muss, no fuss. I would think that a vinegar/water solution on smooth T-shirt cloth might also do well to clean up any spots. Finally, be aware that this is a powder-coated METAL bookshelf--if you expect it to be wood, do not order! But if it were made of wood it would cost more than twice as much. I actually like the fact that it is metal. I ordered it in white, but in the future, if I change my color scheme, I won't think twice about painting it. If you want something for your books that's pretty and elegant, that offers additional storage, and that's functional, sturdy, and cost-effective, this is a great piece at a great price. Highly recommend. August 23, 2013
Impossible to assemble Charming design, holds lots of books (but be aware that the bottom shelf cannot accommodate upright books because because the slanted middle shelf cuts into the space). I've downrated it because, while the description said something like "some assembly required," it did not indicate just how much assembly, or how difficult it would be. It took me eight hours over three days to put this thing together -- I have assembled whole dressers and cabinets in less time and with less effort. The diagrams were amazingly unhelpful, the hardware did not fit the drilled holes properly; some bits had to be forced and hammered into place. The individual iron (cast aluminum?) pieces are heavy and must be balanced on each other for assembly. Fine if you have another set of strong hands working with you. If you happen to be a strong but oldish woman with arthritic hands and don't have help, it's nearly impossible. March 16, 2011
Charm "in spades" and easy to assemble I am so happy that I ordered this bookshelf. It's perfect for the location where I've struggled to find the right accent table. It is very charming in appearance. The lightly textured black metal is a perfect counterpoint to the wood furniture in the room. The assembly was VERY EASY - I am a widow living alone and it went together in 20 minutes from the time I cut the packaging open. Based on other comments on this table, I expected it to wrestle me or something, but assembly was SMOOTH and uncomplicated; all you do is screw in a total of 14 screws with the provided allen wrench. Some complaints in earlier reviews could have been negated if people would have paid attention to the description and the dimensions. It is exactly as represented, does NOT look cheap (or it would not be in my home!), and is the easiest piece of furniture I have ever assembled! August 13, 2011
Great piece for my foyer I needed a table/storage piece for my foyer to store purses, backpacks, school books and shoes. I was looking for one that was open for quick, easy access but that looked nice. That is exactly what I found in this great piece. I bought it in matte black and added the black rubber boot tray that Ballard sells (item# AM817) to the bottom shelf and it fits perfectly and looks fabulous while neatly keeping our shoes organized and off of the floor. The piece's angled shelves work especially well for holding school books and backpacks. The backpacks can be left open for access to the contents without falling over or spilling all over the place. The Librarie Bookshelf is made of iron so it is very sturdy and looks more expensive than it is. It also was easy to assemble, I did it by myself in about 30 minutes. I would absolutely recommend this piece (as well as the rubber boot tray) to anyone. Thank you, Ballard Designs, for offering tasteful, high-end products at affordable prices. April 1, 2013
Great bookshelf; great value! After buying the librarie bookshelf in black approx a year ago, I thought of so many uses for it that I recently bought a second. It's an attractive piece, with a style that looks just as "at home" in a kitchen or bedroom as in a library, office or living room. I like the two shelves end-to-end in our long hallway; they look great back-to-back in the library. My family room sofa is not against the wall, and the librarie bookshelves also work well end-to-end as a sofa table. Right now, I am using one in each of two guest bedrooms as nightstands with recent books/magazines, some decorative objects, a water carafe, etc. Of course, they're also great in a home office or kitchen. I should mention that I had glass cut for the tops of these bookshelves because I find it helps me to clean them more easily, but that's just my personal preference. The assembly is quick/easy for one individual. I've had absolutely no problem with the finish scratching. These bookshelves are strong and will hold quite a bit of weight. The cross-brace design is not only attractive but it eliminates any "wobble" or "swaying". It's just a great, versatile and hard-working piece. April 14, 2012
Nice and funcitonal BUT material terrible The overall function and look of the piece is nice...but what everyone says is true the material is terrible. The metal coating is very rough and hard to clean - if at all. If you rub it even with brush up against it leaves a residue....so cleaning it is challenging - I just lightly dust it with a Swiffer duster but that is it. I got something on it - probably dog slobber and I couldn't really get it off. I like the look but wish the material was better - they need to sand down the coating a bit to make it easier to keep clean. May 14, 2014
Millions of uses! I had a 'closet' dedicated to my grown children's 'vintage' toys for my grandchildren to play with when they visit, but I needed my closet back! I wanted something inviting and easy to organize/put back for the toys and to create an inviting place for the grandchildren. I bought two of these shelves, organized books and toys in baskets. The large baskets on the bottom shelves holds lots of smaller items. The shelves look great; the kids love their new space, and all their parents want their own librarie shelves in their homes now. These shelves are so versatile; I can think of literally hundreds of uses. I was able to put them together all by myself, but it would have been really nice to have another pair of hands to help. LOVE these! September 13, 2011
exactly what I was looking for I needed a shelf for my dinning area. I wanted something simple that would not take up a lot of space but still have some storage. This shelf was perfect for a small area. It holds all my cook books on the angled shelf so I can easily see the titles of the books, and on the bottom rack I stored some pretty stackable colorful bowls. This freed up storage space in my kitchen and looks great. there is also a tiny shelf on top perfect for displaying small seasonal decorations. Overall I am very pleased with my purchase. September 27, 2011
Beautiful and Classic. I bought 4 of these to line a hallway. Assembly was easy, parts fit together perfectly and easily. Allen wrench was included in purchase. They are beautiful and classic in appearance. Very functional. Note that books put on bottom shelf need to be laid down. Not much clearance under the shelf above. I put my coffee table books there and they are attractively displayed. These are high quality, priced economically. I am VERY satisfied with my bookshelves. May 20, 2011
Perfect piece We were very excited to get this piece. We had read previous reviews and were a little concerned about the texture of it and how difficult it would be to assemble. After receiving it we were very pleased, it took less than 30 minutes to assemble. The texture is a little rough but not unexpected. We now wish we had bought the taller one! April 10, 2014
nice look, don't like finish I love the look of this book shelf - unique. The size is great. But the finish is very rough - just like the other reviewers note. I sprayed the polyurethane on it as one reviewer recommended. But even so, the finish remains very rough. It's impossible to wipe off dust as the cloth gets caught in the rough finish. I kept this piece to avoid the hassle of returning it. But I would not have purchased if I had seen it first. March 21, 2014
for scrapbooking I am pleased with this product. Easy to assembly for me; fit my spot well in the scrapbooking room; attractive; & it was a good value since I ordered when it was at a reduced price. I was hoping the angled shelf would work well for 12 x 12 scrapbooking supplies. I didn't find measurements for this space in the product description. It will hold these items but you must twist or turn them in order to shelve & unshelve them, inconvenient. Wishing it were a little roomier there. May 8, 2012
Practical & Stylish We have placed two bookshelves side by side, behind our sectional sofa. Our shelves hold plants and books on the top two shelves. On the bottom shelf, we have baskets which hide our young daughter's school items. They are very practical & we always received compliments on the shelves! November 9, 2011
This product has great features This product was perfect our guest bedroom. Holding items like books, magazines, and a radio without looking cluttered. Placing rattan baskets across the bottom shelf gave it a finished look holding everything a guest might need. November 2, 2011
I love the library bookshelf. The bookshelf is exactly as pictured. I have placed it in my study and it looks PERFECT. Easy assembly, but requires two people. September 16, 2011
This product is attractive and functional. I was looking for a wood shelf just like this one, but couldn't find one at this price. It has turned out to be a great second option as it is very attractive and suits my needs. It's sturdy and does not need special care. April 23, 2011
Highly recommended My husband is a clutter bug and he loves to read in his personal corner. This sturdy, timeless, attractive 3 level shelf tidied up that corner nicely! Photos and nic nacks on the top shelf, books in the center and magazines and newspapers on the bottom. PERFECT! It was easy to put together and is certain to last our lifetime. Couldn't have asked for a better design or higher quality shelf to meet my need. December 14, 2012
Great Design and Sturdy Construction Finish as described is misleading; turns out to be an application quite unlike any powder coated finish I have ever seen, very rough and would be very abrasive to book covers over time. Proceeded to have unit powder coated anew in a black satin finish.......cost $150; yeh it was that bad! RAF December 9, 2013
Great vintage style My grandmother had a 100-year-old mahogany version of this shelf in her living room and when she passed away, my mom gave it to my sister (much to my annoyance because I had always loved it). Then I was pleasantly surprised to find the same vintage-style library shelf at Ballard! I like the paint, finishings, and quality and the shelf holds a number of my heavy coffee table books. It was a little difficult to put together however. On one side, I couldn't get the screws screwed in all the way. Try assembling it with two people (I tried to put it together on my own). Aside from the assembly issues, I love this book shelf and it reminds me of my grandmother! November 14, 2013
Perfect for our guest room. Placed it next to the bed. The top can be used for a carafe of water and their book and lamp! The angle shelf now holds guest towels and magazines on the lower. December 6, 2013
Great piece, good value This bookcase is a great size for locating just about anywhere and can double as a display surface or side table. The shape is very interesting and the angled top shelf makes viewing book titles very easy. I don't love the feel of the powder-coat finish but it looks good and is well made. November 21, 2013
Easy to asemble, very sturdy. We were looking for something to place a slab of granite on for our kitchen. We need the workspace. The bookshelf combines the area for the granite as well as the shelving for cookbooks, my soup tureen and some baskets. It has become a hard working center for our kitchen without having to buy and island. August 31, 2011
Cute, easy to put together Got this when it was on sale for $119 (thanks Ballards!). Got two of them to flank my bedroom window. The metal has a gritty texture. It was incredibly easy to put them together. Love the unique design. I was not able to put magazine holders on the bottom shelf due to the middle v-shaped shelf angle, but there is plenty of room to stack books. It's such a strong, sturdy shelf that I stacked a lot of heavy coffee table books on that bottom shelf. Arrived in less than a week (to MN). This is the third time I've purchased shelves from Ballards and bought a side table from here years ago. Great designs, incredible value. October 24, 2013
Exceeded my expectations! I loved the clean design of this piece, but was concerned that it might not be strong enough for the use I had in mind - that of holding all of my big and heavy cookbooks on its slanted shelf. I'm happy to report that it took the full load of books with no problem. It's really sturdy, and I'm really pleased with it. April 16, 2012
good basic unit This metal shelf is fine for a small spot. Pretty easy to assemble and holds quite a few books and magazines. June 2, 2012
Good kitchen addition I needed a place for my cookbooks in our new kitchen after downsizing. The slanted book shelf is perfect for them. I added baskets to the bottom shelf for additional storage and plants on the top shelf. The black scuffs easily because the finish is not smooth. March 1, 2012
Very Disappointed I was very disappointed with the finish. Even though the reviews said it had a "rough" finish, I didn't expect it to be this bad. I sprayed it with a clear finish attempting to smooth it out, but it was so rough, even three coats didn't help. So now I'm in the process of sanding and spraying again. I wish I had returned the item before trying to make it work...... October 24, 2013
Powder coated bookshelf I really enjoy the look of this bookshelf. I was not expecting the look & feel of the powder coated iron...reminds me of a truck bed liner feel & look, however, I still love this product & it is very functional! October 21, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Product:MV246-Librarie Bookshelf