Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  30 6 0 View All View All image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)

Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 21 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice Seems to be quite well made and sturdy. My only complaint is that it doesn't really match the desk that I ordered from this collection over a year ago. Both are supposed to be tuscan cream but the file console is lighter in color than the desk--more like a white than a cream. July 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a beautiful example of Tuscan Design. I wanted an attractive piece of furniture that could be used as a file cabinet or for any other items you want to store. I wanted this cabinet to be nicely designed so that it would blend in with the furniture pieces that one has in the living room area. This fit the bill exactly. I love the Tuscan design. This piece also has the safety feature of one drawer that can be open at a time, ensuring that the weight will be distributed properly, and guarantees that all the family, including young children are protected from an accident. Great purchase! June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this file cabinet. It has the capability for regular or legal size files! Fantastic! The cabinet has a rich quality to the finish. Plus it is beautiful! April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home Office File Console Very well designed, attractive, office file console. Plenty of room for smaller hanging files as well as legal size hanging files. GOOD safety feature. To prevent toppling over, drawers are designed to deny opening of a second drawer while the other drawer is already opened. I appreciate that thoughtful attention to detail. Ms CAH February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid and substantial file cabinet I finally decided to purchase this file cabinet to replace the old metal one in my office. What a difference it has made - it is very nice looking and well constructed. February 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful to look at but arrived damaged I recently purchased the console in brown as a gift for my husband's home office. Upon opening the package, I discovered that the base was damaged with a substantial crack. In addition, the top drawer would not close properly and the metal slide was loosely attached which cause the drawer to stick. I contacted Ballard for an exchange. Hopefully, the new console with not be damaged. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and functional These files are even more beautiful in person, and are heavy, well-built pieces of furniture. Best of all, they are very functional and the drawers extend fully, making it easy to reach the files in the back. I bought two of these lateral file consoles. I need the file space, but I have a small house - so I put one in my home office, and one in my living room. These are pretty enough that it looks like a credenza and blends in seamlessly with my other living room furniture. I haven't had any issues with the top drawer not locking, and both of my units function perfectly. There was a slight hiccup on delivery when I couldn't find the hardware. I took a quick look at the reviews here, and someone had mentioned the hardware is placed on the bottom of the unit. Mine was placed there as well. Overall I'm really pleased with my choice, and am happy these turned out to be so beautiful. August 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Looking and Sturdy I purchases two of the file consoles for my dining room. Nothing else I found seemed to be as good looking or sturdy. I don't use them as file cabinets but as storage for seldom used serving dishes and other items for which I didn't have space in the kitchen. They are great storage for any room not just the office. We love them August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by File console I love my new file consoles. I put them up against the wall, and then put a long kitchen table out from the wall in-between the two file consoles. It made a beautiful partners desk. Having fun setting up my new office. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent piece This piece looks wonderful, it is very sturdy and has lots of filing room. The drawers can only open one at a time, but glide beautifully. It was the perfect solution for our home office! February 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clutter Solution I have been following this product for a while, and recently purchased it. It is extremely good looking, and fits well in my home office with my desk and hutch. The only issue to report is that the top drawer does not seem to lock shut. I may need to put something under the unit so it is properly balanced. One absurd thing is that the file cabinet hardware was taped to the bottom of the unit and there were no instructions on where to find it. Otherwise, it is a very functional piece and great to look at! February 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful file cabinets! They are sturdy and very roomy -- I was surprised by the amount of room in these file cabinets. They are the perfect color (antique white). Very heavy, high quality piece of furniture. I would buy these again in a heartbeat. November 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful addition to my home. Very attractive. Holds quite a few file folders. Helps me stay organized. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Console is beautiful. However, I have had problems with the top drawer not closing properly. Took it out and reinserted it but it still gives me little problems now and then. May 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleased with my desk and file cabinet I actually wanted the desk that goes with the filing cabinet and I was looking for a cabinet that would store office items and additional files (the desk did not have enough file space with only one file drawer). The ensemble did not have a corresponding two drawer file drawer and two shelf cabinet that would go together so I ordered the four drawer file cabinet. I use the top for files and the bottom drawer for storage of envelopes, labels, etc, etc. Both the desk and file cabinet appear to be good quality and are aesthetically pleasing (they are in my study not my husbands). I would only ask the desk have a pull out flat shelf above the drawer to use as additional work space (my husband's desk has such a shelf). I'm really glad their was very little assembly, other desks and file drawers I looked at from other companies did require assembly July 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice piece of furniture. I got the file console and the 4 drawer desk. I'm very happy with both. They are substantial and look great. Very good value. June 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by File Console I purchased the desk and hutch a couple years ago and the antique white color of this console is darker. I still like the file console and will make it work. July 8, 2011
  • 2015-11-30 T09:29:55.295-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_MO191, prod, sort_default
Product:MO191-Home Office Ensemble File Console

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later