GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 68407
false header 2 68407
  20 5 20 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
1
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Ballard Designs {0} Services per unit {1} 04-Threshold Delivery,60-In Home Delivery,33-Oversized Delivery,ESB60-In Home Upgrade
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Hartman Desk Chair 3.9 5 42 42
Hartman Desk Chair We really like our Hartman Desk Chairs. We use ours at the breakfast table. The swivel casters make it convenient to turn around to put something in the microwave or toaster without getting up from the chair which is a great convenience for my disabled husband. However, it would be nice if they came with casters that are safe for hardwood floors. I had to spend considerable money to get an additional set of caster for each chair so we would not mar our hardwood floors. March 16, 2011
Poorly Constructed The appearance of the chair is great but it falls apart. The casters have broken twice. September 8, 2013
DEFECTIVE I have had this chair for approximately one year or a little more. I found it difficult to put together. The casters were very difficult to get on. One has fallen off twice and now I cannot get it back on because the thread is messed up. Had to take all the casters off and now the chair is way too short. Beware of this chair! May 11, 2012
this chair is poorly made and the rollers dug into the hard-wood floors causing indentations. We are trying to sell it. Can't use it. This is not a satisfactory office chair. Needs to be redesigned or always used with a carpeted surface as the rollers are too small and dig into hard-wood floors. The chair is not comfortable either. Don't buy it!!! February 26, 2014
Love the style Had been looking at this desk chair for several years. Finally, for my upcoming kitchen renovation which will have a small desk, I ordered the Hartman Desk Chair utilizing the 15% off coupon on the catalog. The instructions for putting it together were very clear and I was given all of the equipment necessary (all the screws, Allen wrench, etc.) so I was able to do it myself. The only thing left for my husband to do was one screw on the stretcher bar because the area was so "tight". I plan to have the seat cushion re-done in the same fabric as my kitchen chairs after the renovaton. Thanks, Ballards! July 17, 2011
Difficult to put together This chair is attractive but it was difficult to put together. The instructions were great and they put in most of the tools you'll need. But we could NOT get the last screw in the arm of the chair (where it attaches to the back of the chair) and it's very apparent that one arm protrudes out further than the other. We had everyone in our family, including two very strong young men, try to get that screw in but the hole is off center and it just won't go in. It would be way too much trouble to take it all apart and try to stuff it back in the box it came in and send it back, so we're just keeping it. It's not used daily, it's in front of a desk we use maybe twice a week so we're hoping it will hold up ok with light use. If it weren't for the one screw that won't go in, I'd love it and would recommend it. But I can't honestly do that now. June 20, 2011
We liked this chair so much because of its style and comfort that we bought another one. We bought desk chair No. 1 to use downstairs with my trunk desk in our bedroom. It wasn't too hard to assemble -- did most of it myself. Husband liked the chair so we got him one too to use upstairs with a traditional computer desk in his home office. We both are pleased with the chairs because they are very practical and a good value. We could have spent much more on desk chairs but not have been happy. The chairs roll smoothly, too. March 16, 2011
It's the second one I've ordered that broke It's obviously for looks. I use it every day and BOTH that I ordered broke within three weeks; I weigh 160 pounds. What if a male wanted to use it? July 30, 2011
Delicate chair for the feminine office Love it! Looked everywhere trying to find a more delicate chair for my home office. Only 4 stars because of price. April 18, 2014
Don't buy, quality is poor I bought this chair to use at a computer in April 11. Within a year, a caster fell off with the screw-in stripped. I contacted the company and was told sorry, not on warranty. I was able to fix it myself. Now 3 years after receiving, the weld holding the seat to the leg has failed. I sit in one place while using my desktop and do not roll around. Disappointed to say the least. April 2, 2014
We love this product as it is easy to roll to and away from the work space there are two screw holes that did not line up no matter what we did while putting the chair together. So there are two less screws for stability We do not know if the frame was bent or what the problem was, but we had screws left over and holes that were 1/2 inch off. Bending the metal to align the holes was the only other option for two of the screw holes that did not align. None the less, I am sitting on the chair now and it is light , sturdy, functional and decorative. September 12, 2013
chair is good size for home use found it difficult to assemble. sections did not match up easily or in one case at all September 11, 2013
All-around great chair I. and my family, love both of our Hartman desk chairs. We use one at the computer desk and the other at the old over-sized desk. They are very comfortable, especially when sitting at the computer or working for several hours at the desk. They are adjacent to the family room, and we easily "roll" them there for extra seating when needed. My son-in-law assembled both chairs in a reasonable length of time. We couldn't be more pleased. March 16, 2011
Classy! I am a huge Ballards fan; and this chair did not disappoint. I have the rubbed black corner computer desk and they look terrific together and it is comfortable. I even uploaded a picture of it to FB when I finished putting it together. It was a little challenging to assemble but finished product was worth it. June 20, 2011
Seems sturdy The chair was easy to assemble and seems sturdy. It sits high for a desk with keyboard tray so there isn't much leg room. Unfortunately it reminds me of patio furniture when I look across the room at it and the suede-type seat fabric continually shows the shape of the user's rear. June 20, 2011
Great Chair Got the Spa color and it looks wonderful. Chair is sturdy and the perfect size for my office. January 8, 2014
Great chair, difficult assembly I love this chair - I tried to find another like it for a long time, both online and in stores, due to the price - but never found anything close. It's beautiful and comfortable but it was a BEAR to put together. It's still missing a screw as you would've had to physically bend the metal to get it to go in. But overall I'm happy with it! November 30, 2013
Exactly as promised! This chair is perfect for an office area within a living space. It has clean lines that don't look too bulky. I have a small home and have my work-at-home desk in the living room and did not want a big office-type chair, but yet I wanted arms and comfort for all day sitting. This chair is perfect! September 6, 2012
This chair is superb! Easy assembly, very sturdy and the design and color match my computer room extremely well. Highly recommend this chair. November 27, 2013
Beautiful! I bought the lighter-colored spa version. I was so happy to find such a nice looking desk chair, and also pleased to have an open-back chair for my small room. I didn't think the assembly was too hard. The only thing I wish were different would be a seat fabric that is darker in color or has a print to camouflage dirt/stains. I haven't had the chair long enough to show stains yet, but I'm sure that'll happen. November 13, 2013
Excellent buy I had only one problem putting the chair together - one of the casters would not screw into the pre-drilled hole - but I filed down the width of the screw a bit and it went right in. One person's review thought it was flimsy but I can say it does hold someone who is very heavy. It's an excellent buy. April 8, 2012
Beautiful Chair This chair will be used at a desk that adjoins my living room and therefore, can be brought right over to use as another seat for the living room area. It is a beautiful chair, not just a desk chair. In my case the fabric matches the trim on my sofa cushions perfectly. I am very pleased with the quality, comfort and casters on this chair. Very easy assembly too. July 20, 2011
Esthetically perfect, but... The casters seem to be off-center and don't roll properly. The fault doesn't seem to be with the caster but with the hole drilled to receive it. Putting it together wasn't unduly difficult; the chair is attractive; and the cushion is fairly comfortable ( a little hard). June 20, 2011
Attractive desk chair Stylish and comfortable this works very well at a desk in my daughter's room. We added a small pillow at the back that coordinates with the rest of the room making the chair look very custom. July 17, 2013
Perfect & comfortable chair The chair goes perfect with my Desk from Ballard's...the Genevieve. My room has a totally new look. June 12, 2013
Love it The look of this chair is just perfect for our small home office. Open lattice back eliminates the clunky desk chair feel. Extremely easy to put together, very sturdy and the wheels keep the floors from being damaged. I will be recovering the seat with a fabric that better suits my decor but the padding itself is great quality. April 10, 2013
easy to assemble,comfortable needed an office chair-did not want a big bulky computer chair -this one is compact and attractive. September 3, 2011
fell apart after several months. I loved this chair while it lasted, unfortunately, that was only for a few months! First one of the wheels came loose by the screw unscrewing which I didn't notice so when I sat down the screw was bent. I was able to sit in the chair but couldn't get the screw out or all the way back into place. Then one of the arms came loose from a welded joint. I'd read the other reviews describing similar issues but took a chance anyway because it visually was just what I wanted. What a waste of $200.00 ! Ballard's should really take this out of their catalog. January 29, 2013
Looks good.... Looks really good, is comfortable and used as a desk chair. Assembly a little hard lining up the pieces to screw them together. March 15, 2013
Nice chair This chair is nice for occasional use, I don't think it would be comfortable to sit in all day. Looks nice, doesnt take up a lot of room. Putting it together was NOT easy, the premade holes did not align well. Definately need two people to assemble. February 4, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Product:SC402-Hartman Desk Chair