Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 83431
false header 2 83431
  30 6 0 View All View All image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)

Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 38 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Returning I really wanted to love this shell. It looks gorgeous in the Ballard photos but in person it just didn't look as good. It just looked like a big fake cheap plastic shell to me. The inside was way to shiny! I tried moving it around to different areas & it just didn't work. I buy lots from Ballard & this is the first item I've ever returned. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Diggin the Clam Shell It is as exactly as depicted. LOVE it!! Great décor, conversational piece @ a v-good price. Have not yet put it to use as a creative practical piece as per some of the uses described but plan to do this spring/summer or perhaps create something of my own. March 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointment Major disappointment! The interior of this shell has an opalescent "paint" coating that is so poorly applied that bubbles and bumps can be seen under the sheen. It looks cheap and extremely fake. The outside of the shell is fairly credible, but cannot be appreciated if you use the shell inside-up, to hold anything. I ended up filling it with other shells and bits of ocean treasures in order to cover the horrible pearlized paint. I had intended using this outdoors, but it is clearly not sturdy enough for that use. Not a good purchase. I feel I was misled. August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Centerpiece I purchased this for our patio table; our table is really huge. This is a big shell and I planted succulents in it like the picture shows. It took a lot of plants to fill it; I planted it at the nursery....good thing as it took way more plants than I estimated. It is really beautiful, I have had lots of complements on it. We will enjoy it for many years! August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product looks very realistic. I love this large clam shell and so does everyone who sees it. It looks like this real thing and is large enough to hold my stack of "to be read" books. It's a perfect coffee table item. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is just as described I received this clam shell today, and I love it. The size is perfect, and I really appreciate the felt pads on the bottom of the shell to help protect my table. Even my husband was impressed. The description and pictures show it perfectly. The pearlized finish inside is done more to look like the inside of a shell. It is not overly done and looks perfect. I put a variety of shells into mine, and expect to change it out for the seasons. I would recommend it to anyone. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a unique item! We have a four seasons room that we have done elegantly casual with tropical touches. The clam shell was the perfect accessory for our décor. It adds a unique design for our succulent plants. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This is one of many of these Giant Clam Shells that we have ordered. Just as all of the others it is fantastic. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my Giant Clam Shell I saw a Giant Clam Shell in a shop down south and thought I had no way of getting that home plus it was quite expensive. So I thought I could make my own so when I arrived home there was my Ballard's Catalog waiting for me in my mailbox with a Giant Clam Shell. I put together a really beautiful centerpiece for our outdoor picnic shelter for our coffee table. Everyone loves it and I did it for less than half the price of the one I saw earlier. Thanks Ballard's for another wonderful item to make our house a home! July 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not satisfied with the product Product does not resemble what was depicted in the catalog. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not quite realistic looking - but close. If the actual item looked exactly like the picture I would like it more. The item received was not quite realistic looking and the one in the picture is more flat looking which is preferable. Price is high for the actual item received. April 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very versatile piece Bought this to serve cold drinks but may use it as a planter. I love the look but the inside is a bit shiner than I would have liked. All in all, I am happy with this purchase. April 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovin' my clam shell! I just love my new clam shell! Perfect centerpiece for my table! February 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not look as pictured I bought this for my redecorating project in my living room. Going to a coastal theme I thought this would be perfect to use for plants, sea glass, shells or orbs. In all the online and catalog pictures it is shown sitting straight, mine does NOT sit straight, and I would have to add a lot to the bottom of one side to make it sit straight. I was very disappointed in this item, I will probably just use it outside in the flower beds near the pool now. Much too expensive for an outdoor accent! January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT I've had my eye on this piece for quite some time. At $129, I wanted to make sure I loved it. I do. Exactly as described and came in excellent condition. Ballard's products are high quality. You get what you pay for. This piece makes a statement. January 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by wish it was a little bigger, but very nice! I love it, but wish it was made in a bigger size to put more things in it. August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great addition to my beach house! Product is substantive, has many uses use and seems to be what all of our visitors notice. I love it! August 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE my Gigantic clam!!!! I plan to put white phalienopsis orchids in it for summer decor or the succulent plants! So many other ideas and places to put it too!!! Light weight! April 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Serves the purpose, but found it looked very faux and especially on the inside which simply looked like a shiny paint looking nothing near what a real shell would look. Purchased for our large eat in kitchen table for a Spring/Summer centerpiece with the intention of heaping it up with lemons or green apples. I did a lot of research on different similar shells and settled on this which was more pricey than the one I hemmed and hawed over. I wish I would have tried the other as this was too expensive for what I see. I recommend to others only because so many others seem ok with it and maybe I'm just a bit too picky and was more disappointed with the inside vs. the outside of the shell. For those that would want to do plantings would probably sufice. Personally, I would not like to do a planting in a shell such as this. March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by exactly as i wanted perfect. arrived on time and in great shape. buy it February 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations! I put off purchasing this for awhile having not seen it in person, but it arrived today and I could not be more pleased! It is perfect for our dining room -especially since we have an ocean theme. The added felt pads on the bottom were a huge plus and will prevent scratches to the table. If you have had your eye one this for awhile, you won't be disappointed if you purchase this. Lots of centerpiece ideas in the Internet to make this shell ideal for all seasons. January 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to my expectations Thought the shell I had observed in the past, in a few catalogs, were generally all alike...not so. I visualized the multiple curved section would be more upright, more or less as a background for the succulents I planned to plant. Yours lays flat and with plants, the background would lose its visibility. Another catalog had one that looked t like the one I admired some time ago. It was considerably less in cost also. It had the upright look but looked "cheaper".. I contacted your customer service. Naturally I discounted the choice to return it! Was discounted Twenty five dollars January 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect!! We used the clam shell for our daughter's Hawaiian theme wedding. We placed the favors for guests in it. We also used it at the brunch the next morning to hold the rolls...I have many uses in mind for it!!! So glad I found it!! August 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great accent! This is a really nice piece. It looks fairly realistic but not fragile like a genuine shell. The interior has a pretty pearlized finish. I could fine many uses for this. Very pleased. June 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product is quite unique. We haven't actually gotten to use the clam shell yet. We are planning on putting some succulent plants in it and putting it out on our deck. It was delivered intact and looks beautiful. May 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressive I was looking for a centerpiece for our outside lanai, and boy did I get one! This shell is huge, heavy, and beautiful. I'm so pleased. Worth the money. May 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as Realistic-Looking as You'd Expect It serves its purpose - acting as a centerpiece on our dining room table. But it's the second major disappointment we've ordered from Ballard Designs. It's too expensive for what you get. The BD catalogues go straight in the recycling bin now. May 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Conversation Piece!! This clam shell almost looks like the real thing but it's not as fragile as actual shells would be. I loved the picture with succulent plants put inside - so I took my shell to a local nursery and we created a living piece of art!! The price is also quite a deal. Real shells can go for a minimum of $600! I love it! May 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love it - it can be used many ways. I love it. There are many uses - like a beverage cooler - a pot pourie container - a large salad server, etc. Good value for the money. March 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Will Work Well I wanted to use this shell as a planter for very small succulents in my tropical back yard. I had bought a different shell last year that worked very well. This one, however, is not quite as realistic with its shiney interior and will have to be treated in order to use it out doors. It is okay, but I liked the one that I found last year better. January 29, 2012
  • 2015-11-30 T09:29:43.374-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_38, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_AA841, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 next>>
Product:AA841-Giant Clam Shell

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later