Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 83927
false header 2 83927
  30 6 0 View All View All image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)

Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 174 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by It serves my needs perfectly. I am well satisfied with the Eastman Secretary. It has ample storage, fits into the space I have available, and is a good looking piece of furniture. I particularly appreciate the large working space when the desktop is open. Good design all around October 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful purchase! I had been looking at the Eastman Secretary Desk for several years and finally purchased it. It is well made and is just the right size for a computer desk. I just purchased an IMac with a large 23 inch screen and the computer fits into the desk with the door closed. I am so happy with this purchase and wonder why I didn't purchase it several years ago. September 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I wanted! I bought this in wormwood brown to replace a bookcase I had in my living room. It came fully assembled except for four rails you pop in the bottom drawer to make it a file drawer. It looks so much better than the open bookcase did with books and papers looking unorganized. It is a great little home office that closes up to hide the bills, papers and office stuff. I can fit my laptop in the desk section. I did downsize the number of books but the cubbies and two other drawers hold a lot! I am very happy with this purchase. September 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good use of space I bought this because of the lower file cabinet drawer which is a great use of space. However, the flip down cover to the desk/secretary is too high for a conventional desk chair which makes it uncomfortable for my laptop and IPAD. August 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by In-Home Delivery is WORTH It! I agree with all the other favorable reviews of this perfect piece: it's exactly as described in the photos and specs (thanks for adding that detailed sheet on-line). Most of our furniture are true antiques, but this fits well in a small guestroom as desk/drawers for frequent weekenders. Trying to save $100, I opted for the basic delivery. (Which by the way, is difficult to arrange if you work and aren't home all day long!) However as others noted, that is one hot mess! It took several hours to wrest it from it's careful packing, 3 giant plastic bags of foam + several piles of cardboard, and several vaccuumings to track down all the little static styrofoam pieces. (A month later, I'm still finding a few, and believe me - I was fanatical!) In the end I gave the neighbor boys $20 to help me wrangle it upstairs! I HIGHLY recommend you upgrade to the in-home delivery service! Let them cart away all that stryo & cardboard recycling, place it carefully where you want it, and make your whole experience really sweet! August 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love this desk! I was pleased with the quality of the desk and how nice it looks. It is perfect for paying bills, keeping my personal files and roomy enough to hold desk accessories. I am 5'4" so I need to use a taller chair or would need to sit on a pillow. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and practical I absolutely love this piece. It is the perfect size. It fits everything I need for the daily organizing of running our home, and it is so beautiful. I love the Old World Brown color. July 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by excellent design, only fair quality I had looked & looked for a SMALL secretary desk for a new, compact office I just opened. This meets my needs, is stylish and affordable (although NOT cheap). I was hesitant after reading some reviews, about quality, but loved the features and the overall design enough to take the risk..... Well, the features and design ARE great - but the workmanship is only fair. Not horrible, but definitely more Target or Walmart quality in my opinion. It's so big though that I don't want to bother wrapping it up to return. And I know the selection of desks this size hasn't increased. I should've stretched and gone up to the higher quality of Pottery Barn or Crate & Barrel. When something seems like a really great deal - 'buyer beware'. Too bad the quality control staff didn't catch things like chipped paint, permanent black marks on ivory colored wood and poor joining of edges and joints. A bit more effort would make a wonderful top-notch product. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I was looking for! Love this accent furniture piece! fits in perfectly with my living room (bought the rubbed cream) and is just right for filing important papers, storing important documents and makes a great central location for all the paperwork that seems to accumulate on the kitchen/dining room table. Stores laptop when not in use. I look forward to getting my life organized and am very happy I found this item at Ballard Design, quality piece and seamless shipping/delivering. June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for small spaces We actually bought this "desk" as a TV stand for our bedroom because we needed to get our TV up higher. It worked out perfectly for that, and the desk is beautiful with great storage. Drawers close solidly. The brown does have a lot of red, but it's a beautiful color, and it blended in with our furniture. Beautiful piece of furniture! June 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful!! Packaged very well!! Beautiful and great quality!! June 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very sturdy and long lasting This desk is exactly what I was looking for. I wanted something built strong with solid wood and not that flimsy warping fake wood. I hate spending a lot of money for a piece of furniture that feels cheap, and this desk IS worth it! It feels like its going to be something I can pass down to my kids one day. Its so hard to find furniture built to last these days. I am happy to say that this desk is one of them. And its beautiful looking in my small living room too! May 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very pleased with this purchase! The Eastman Secretary is the perfect solution for my guest room! May 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This product cracked in several places in less than a year I purchased this in the rubbed cream finish. It's the perfect size for a small space and I get a lot of compliments on it. However, after several months the wood has cracked in several places along the front of the desk in between the drawers. This desk gets limited use and doesn't store anything heavy, so I am not sure what could be causing it to split apart. Ballard Customer Service has been great and is sending out a replacement. I just hope the same thing doesn't happen again. May 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect desk for small spaces! This desk has a lot of storage for its compact size. It arrived in a very, well packed box. I especially like the file cabinet in the bottom drawer. May 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice and functional This desk sits in a corner in my living room and serves as my work space. It is the perfect size for my laptop and odds and ends. The file drawer is what drew me to this piece and it has worked out well but is a bit on the small side (the files catch each other in the middle.) It is serving its purpose well, the only downside is that I paid extra for the belgian oak finish and it is ok but does have a lot of white specks here and there. Even my husband noticed them, kind of looks like any place putty or filler was used didn't take the stain. It is minor but it is something I would have considered before purchasing, looks a bit more rustic. May 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for small space I added it to our larger office space to have my own desk area next to my husband's. It is very functional and good quality. I'm converting my old desk in the kitchen area to a wine bar! That's the big win in this deal. April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm very happy with the quality of this desk. I looked for a long time to find a secretary desk with a file drawer to fit in a space only 32" wide. This is the only one I could find but it isn't cheap. I waited for the 15% off sale and then succumbed. I'm very happy with the quality. It's very sturdy and the drawers and hinges work well. File drawer hardware is stapled under the bottom of the unit for those who can't find it. I just cut the straps rather than trying to remove the staples. There is indeed lots of Styrofoam and cardboard to dispose of after unpacking. Mine arrived in perfect condition. The nice delivery man wheeled it to the middle of the dining room so unpacking it there and sliding it into place worked well. It's heavy!! I don't sit at it so the height of the desk part isn't an issue for me. It's more for storage. I LOVE having the file drawer. The unit was described well on the web site with pictures and words. There were no surprises and I'm very happy with the desk. April 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Fit! We ordered the off-white secretary for the living room. It arrived well packaged in a big box, fully assembled. It's a sturdy, heavy piece with quality hardware. We use it as a laptop station, and the flip-down desk is higher than a normal desk so you may need a higher chair. We wanted something practical but stylish, and this is perfect! April 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! Very functional and attractive. Fits perfectly in the space and matches the other furniture in the room. April 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I hoped for! My new Eastman Secretary is the perfect desk for a small space. It has loads of storage and fits in beautifully with my antiques. I am especially impressed with the quality of workmanship! A wonder piece at a great price! I'm thinking of buying one for my daughters room! March 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Mother's hidden. The main purpose for this desk was to store our girls crafts, drawing materials, puzzles, and games. The bottom drawer is deep and perfect for the many puzzles and games, while the smaller drawers are perfect for paper, drawing utensils, and stickers. We use it in our kitchen and it really is a beautiful piece of furniture. The only complaint is the drawers don't seem flush when closed. It's not bad, but not great. I'm still overall pleased with our purchase and thankful that it hides our mess. :o) February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for the price I read other reviews in advance of purchasing this product and was glad I purchased it despite some of the other purchaser's misgivings. It arrived on schedule, perfectly packaged without any damage. The item is exactly as described and all parts work perfectly. I love it. February 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I recommend this purchase. The Eastman Secretariat is just what I was hoping for. The bottom drawer came with the pendaflex hardware and works perfectly. I especially like the hydraulic feature the top compartment has. This piece of furniture is worth the money. February 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Meets our needs! This secretary fits underneath our stairs and is a perfect place for mail, laptops, iPads, and phones. The file drawer at the bottom makes organizing easy and fun! Having this piece has made it possible to free up lots of other storage areas in the house. We are very happy with this purchase! February 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality and Function Meet Arrived perfectly as it was packaged so very, very well. Impressed with the quality of the construction and the finish. It's the functional piece I had wanted. The piece is totally a reference for Ballard's quality. Excellent. February 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect size I live in a small house build in 1943, it is difficult to find small furniture that will fit my small rooms, this secretary desk is the perfect size for my guest room and it also includes the file cabinet, absolutely perfect January 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice! This desk is well put together, the hinge on the upper main door opens and closes the door slowly and the bottom files drawer has a nice rolling hinge system. It came packaged nicely to protect everything. I got the off white color which I normally wouldn't get but I really like it. Love it and would recommend it! January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by JUST EXACTLY WHAT WAS NEEDED! This secretary turns out to be the best thing that happened to me this year! I have a townhouse that has a a kitchen, living room and dining room space that is kinda all granite counters in the kitchen are beautiful but I could hardly ever see them cause I had so much stuff on them...important everyday stuff like keys,the newspaper, mail, hair elastics, pens & pencils, scissors, tape and on and on. I was always trying to find the perfect basket to contain a lot of it but there was always overflow. Until I ordered this is absolutely perfect and is small enough that it fits my space but does not overwhelm it. It is very well made. I have other pieces from Ballard so I knew about their legendary packing as well... I have no issues whatsoever with the bottom drawer coming open like a previous reviewer but I can tell you if you don't shut it completely that would happen because the drawers are on very smooth glides and are a delight to open and close. The price for the value is outstanding. My boyfriend when I first showed him what I was getting said..."Oh I am sure we can find one locally, cheaper." I really didin't want to waste my time but I humoured him because I wanted him to know that I valued his imput! So we looked everywhere...I took pictures of everything but every single one of the secretaries we looked at was more expensive and didn't have all the features of the eastman...I finally just said...honey I'm ordering the one from Ballard cause it's just what I need and the price is outstanding. When we received it he was very surprised at how well it was made and packaged...It's not the end of our love story but it is the end of this review and we both give it 2 thumbs up! January 25, 2013
  • 2015-10-04T06:15:48.176-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_174, tr_174
  • loc_en_US, sid_MO196, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later