GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 80927
false header 2 80927
  20 5 20 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

Sale
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Eastman Secretary 4.6 5 157 157
This desk was nicer than I expected for the price. The eastman desk is sturdy and beautiful. It came assembled and worked out well. Love it. April 18, 2014
Great product for the money This product has been perfect. It is just the right size for my laptop and counter-height stool. It fits nicely in my kitchen! March 22, 2014
the Eastman Secretary is exactly as prsented. we are decorating a den and the Eastman secretary fits in beautifully. it is exactly as was presented in the catalog. the size is perfect and color matched other pieces in the room. the quality is excellent. I like the slow -closing drawers. the amount of drawers is also just right. I couldn't have designed it better. I was worried ordering such a large piece of furniture without seeing it in person , but I am so glad I did. extremely happy with it ! February 16, 2014
Acceptable if unspectacular quality Item arrived heavily packaged in cardboard box with TONS of Styrofoam pieces surrounding it. Since it makes a trip from China, I suppose the excessive packaging is warranted. After removing packaging, was pleasantly surprised there was little damage. Only part of the base molding was pushed out of place and the adjoining seam gap was noticeable. Was easy to repair myself. Drawers and doors work great, and the size and functionality is what we wanted for the space we had in mind. The only complaint is that the Belgian Oak finish was mostly Oak and missing most of the "whitewash" look that it was supposed to have based on photos. Not worth the hassle of having Ballard ship another one and our returning this one. Overall, a nice if somewhat average piece of furniture. February 13, 2014
High quality piece of furniture I love this secretary, it is well built, the size is perfect for the location in my guest room - not too deep, but the drawer sizes are large enough for storage. I purchased the off-white painted secretary and the color matches the other furniture in the room. January 26, 2014
Uncomfortable work space I have owned this desk for 7 months and am very disappointed. The writing area is higher than normal desk height yet lower than counter height making it uncomfortable to use with either a normal chair or a stool. This was a complete waste of money. January 23, 2014
Not too big, not too small, perfect for what I need, good storage and pretty to look at. Love it, not too big, not too small, perfect for my needs and good to look at. January 8, 2014
Great little desk! it actually is a good sized desk for a bedroom or corner in a living room. fold down drawer allows for a computer to sit on top and for smaller papers and desk items to be located inside. Drawers under have room for paper and files (legal or letter). great find! December 16, 2013
As a desk, not good The height of the desk table area in this piece is about 1.5" higher than standard desk height. Extremely unergonomic -- I can't imagine what Ballard was thinking when designing it this way. I spent a lot of money on this and now I'm going to have to re-sell it. November 23, 2013
This is a well laid-out piece of furniture Looked all over for a closeable desk and file drawers, and for a specific sized space. This is the best one I've seen - it fit all my needs. I was hesitant with the folding desk top/cover because I didn't know if it would be flimsy. I received it and it's not flimsy! This is a solid piece of furniture, you can close it up and it looks neat and tidy, the file drawer is heavy-duty, and it fits into the place that I needed it for perfectly! Highly recommend this if you're looking for a desk and storage, but have limited space. November 21, 2013
Love, love, love this desk! My home is small and my challenge was to create an office area without really much room to work with. Enter the Eastman Secretary desk. I bought it in the cream and it is so elegant and beautiful. I holds a lot and of course the drop leaf gives me a desk space when I need it and folds up to reveal a lovely piece of furniture when I don't need it. November 14, 2013
Very pleased so far I recently started working from home and ordered this desk for my dining room so I would have a mini home office to work at and store things in. Overall it's great for what I need, it has just enough file storage and plenty of drawers to organize things in. I purchased it in the rubbed cream and it is very pretty. I wanted something that would go with other furniture and not look like office furniture. It is perfect in that respect. I'm glad I didn't pay the extra $100 for the delivery service to unwrap it. That amount is ridiculous just to have someone unwrap it for you, it is already assembled. The $140 shipping fee is already pretty high. If it weren't assembled then I can see paying the extra $100 to put it together and I would have paid it in that case. They rolled it right into my dining room. It was easy to unwrap. It's wrapped in Styrofoam panels and if you don't rip them there isn't a big mess. You just have to break down the box and put it all out in the trash, no big deal. The file drawer hardware is stapled to the very bottom of the desk right under the front molding. It was kind of hard find all the pieces and get out, don't know why it couldn't have been attached inside the drawer. The drawers do have to be pushed all the way closed, but this is typically a sign of good quality in office furniture, not bad. The height of the pull down desk is definitely too high like the other reviews have said, not so much to write on, but definitely too high to use a laptop. My back and shoulders hurt after just a few minutes. It's not 30.5" from the floor as the dimensions state, it's closer to 32". This is why I didn't rate it a 5. My husband is 5'10" and it's too high even for him, maybe someone who is 6' or taller would not have a problem. A typical chair isn't tall enough and a bar stool would be too high. I found a drafting table chair and it's perfect. November 11, 2013
Very happy with it. Came assembled perfectly, and looks great. Very functional. We are very happy with it. November 7, 2013
It serves my needs perfectly. I am well satisfied with the Eastman Secretary. It has ample storage, fits into the space I have available, and is a good looking piece of furniture. I particularly appreciate the large working space when the desktop is open. Good design all around October 5, 2013
Wonderful purchase! I had been looking at the Eastman Secretary Desk for several years and finally purchased it. It is well made and is just the right size for a computer desk. I just purchased an IMac with a large 23 inch screen and the computer fits into the desk with the door closed. I am so happy with this purchase and wonder why I didn't purchase it several years ago. September 24, 2013
Exactly what I wanted! I bought this in wormwood brown to replace a bookcase I had in my living room. It came fully assembled except for four rails you pop in the bottom drawer to make it a file drawer. It looks so much better than the open bookcase did with books and papers looking unorganized. It is a great little home office that closes up to hide the bills, papers and office stuff. I can fit my laptop in the desk section. I did downsize the number of books but the cubbies and two other drawers hold a lot! I am very happy with this purchase. September 6, 2013
Good use of space I bought this because of the lower file cabinet drawer which is a great use of space. However, the flip down cover to the desk/secretary is too high for a conventional desk chair which makes it uncomfortable for my laptop and IPAD. August 9, 2013
In-Home Delivery is WORTH It! I agree with all the other favorable reviews of this perfect piece: it's exactly as described in the photos and specs (thanks for adding that detailed sheet on-line). Most of our furniture are true antiques, but this fits well in a small guestroom as desk/drawers for frequent weekenders. Trying to save $100, I opted for the basic delivery. (Which by the way, is difficult to arrange if you work and aren't home all day long!) However as others noted, that is one hot mess! It took several hours to wrest it from it's careful packing, 3 giant plastic bags of foam + several piles of cardboard, and several vaccuumings to track down all the little static styrofoam pieces. (A month later, I'm still finding a few, and believe me - I was fanatical!) In the end I gave the neighbor boys $20 to help me wrangle it upstairs! I HIGHLY recommend you upgrade to the in-home delivery service! Let them cart away all that stryo & cardboard recycling, place it carefully where you want it, and make your whole experience really sweet! August 6, 2013
I love this desk! I was pleased with the quality of the desk and how nice it looks. It is perfect for paying bills, keeping my personal files and roomy enough to hold desk accessories. I am 5'4" so I need to use a taller chair or would need to sit on a pillow. July 8, 2013
Beautiful and practical I absolutely love this piece. It is the perfect size. It fits everything I need for the daily organizing of running our home, and it is so beautiful. I love the Old World Brown color. July 2, 2013
excellent design, only fair quality I had looked & looked for a SMALL secretary desk for a new, compact office I just opened. This meets my needs, is stylish and affordable (although NOT cheap). I was hesitant after reading some reviews, about quality, but loved the features and the overall design enough to take the risk..... Well, the features and design ARE great - but the workmanship is only fair. Not horrible, but definitely more Target or Walmart quality in my opinion. It's so big though that I don't want to bother wrapping it up to return. And I know the selection of desks this size hasn't increased. I should've stretched and gone up to the higher quality of Pottery Barn or Crate & Barrel. When something seems like a really great deal - 'buyer beware'. Too bad the quality control staff didn't catch things like chipped paint, permanent black marks on ivory colored wood and poor joining of edges and joints. A bit more effort would make a wonderful top-notch product. June 28, 2013
Exactly what I was looking for! Love this accent furniture piece! fits in perfectly with my living room (bought the rubbed cream) and is just right for filing important papers, storing important documents and makes a great central location for all the paperwork that seems to accumulate on the kitchen/dining room table. Stores laptop when not in use. I look forward to getting my life organized and am very happy I found this item at Ballard Design, quality piece and seamless shipping/delivering. June 22, 2013
Great for small spaces We actually bought this "desk" as a TV stand for our bedroom because we needed to get our TV up higher. It worked out perfectly for that, and the desk is beautiful with great storage. Drawers close solidly. The brown does have a lot of red, but it's a beautiful color, and it blended in with our furniture. Beautiful piece of furniture! June 20, 2013
Beautiful!! Packaged very well!! Beautiful and great quality!! June 14, 2013
Very sturdy and long lasting This desk is exactly what I was looking for. I wanted something built strong with solid wood and not that flimsy warping fake wood. I hate spending a lot of money for a piece of furniture that feels cheap, and this desk IS worth it! It feels like its going to be something I can pass down to my kids one day. Its so hard to find furniture built to last these days. I am happy to say that this desk is one of them. And its beautiful looking in my small living room too! May 17, 2013
Very pleased with this purchase! The Eastman Secretary is the perfect solution for my guest room! May 12, 2013
This product cracked in several places in less than a year I purchased this in the rubbed cream finish. It's the perfect size for a small space and I get a lot of compliments on it. However, after several months the wood has cracked in several places along the front of the desk in between the drawers. This desk gets limited use and doesn't store anything heavy, so I am not sure what could be causing it to split apart. Ballard Customer Service has been great and is sending out a replacement. I just hope the same thing doesn't happen again. May 8, 2013
Perfect desk for small spaces! This desk has a lot of storage for its compact size. It arrived in a very, well packed box. I especially like the file cabinet in the bottom drawer. May 5, 2013
Nice and functional This desk sits in a corner in my living room and serves as my work space. It is the perfect size for my laptop and odds and ends. The file drawer is what drew me to this piece and it has worked out well but is a bit on the small side (the files catch each other in the middle.) It is serving its purpose well, the only downside is that I paid extra for the belgian oak finish and it is ok but does have a lot of white specks here and there. Even my husband noticed them, kind of looks like any place putty or filler was used didn't take the stain. It is minor but it is something I would have considered before purchasing, looks a bit more rustic. May 2, 2013
Perfect for small space I added it to our larger office space to have my own desk area next to my husband's. It is very functional and good quality. I'm converting my old desk in the kitchen area to a wine bar! That's the big win in this deal. April 25, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary
0

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???