GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 79909
false header 2 79909
  30 6 0 View All View All image html 2000 300
 
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

Sale
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Eastman Secretary 4.6 5 170 170
The Eastman Secretary has a lot of space for the size. The Eastman Secretary was just the compact size we needed for our bedroom. It is well made and is typical of Ballard Designs quality. March 29, 2015
Perfect fit We had a hard time finding a desk and finally found exactly what we needed on Ballard's website. We love this desk. Well built and great looking. Thank you Ballard for quick service February 19, 2015
nice compact desk but working surface too high The height of the working surface under "Specifications" is listed as 32 1/2". Under "Details" it is 30 1/2". After reading a number of reviews which said the surface of the desk was too high I contacted the Ballard rep who responded promptly by sending me another drawing from the manufacturer (I assume) with a height of 30 1/2". I ordered the desk and discovered the height is indeed 32 1/2" which is much too high since the standard desk height is between 28" and 30". All other measurements are accurate and I do like the style and quality of desk with this one big exception. Because I am tall and sit on a thick pillow, I can adjust to the oversized height. I think Ballard should deal with the manufacturer over this major issue. It just strikes me as sloppy design since the proper height could and should have easily been achieved. February 14, 2015
Wellmade, functional, and beautiful This is the first piece of furniture I purchased from Ballard Designs, and I am impressed with the quality - which is excellent. The desk is exactly what I was looking for and at a great price. I purchased the Old World Brown which both blends in well with my great aunt's antique furniture and fits right in with my cabin. It arrived yesterday, and I had the fun of unpacking it last night (no assembly but LOTS of styrofoam for safe shipping). I'm looking forward to going home tonight to play with filling it up. January 23, 2015
Nicely constructed piece This desk in the antique white finish was a perfect match to the Pier 1 console stand in a similar finish. It's the perfect size and will be an excellent and functional piece. Thank you! December 28, 2014
I love this desk! I have this desk in the Belgian oak. Love it! There is so much storage with such a small footprint. The Belgian oak finish is true to the picture. Love that I can hide my mess. I read nearly all of the reviews before purchasing. It is true that the drop down desk is at an odd height. I'm still looking for a chair just the right height. I highly recommend this desk! December 19, 2014
I love the drop down top I love my Eastman Secretary, I fits perfectly in my bedroom. It has all of the features I need for setting up a little office. The delivery went perfectly and the desk had no problems. December 18, 2014
This is a great product I was a bit skeptical about ordering furniture online, however, after reading all the great reviews I decided to go ahead. I was not disappointed. all the reviews were right. This is a well built desk. It was packaged extremely well and arrived as promised. Awesome.... December 18, 2014
very nice This secretary looks great in our family room. I ordered the old world brown, it is lighter than depicted online and catalog, but still looks great. Excellent function and storage. November 21, 2014
nice looking but mine was defective I ordered this desk and I am very pleased at the look and functionality, however mine was defective (the wood between the drawers was bowed causing you to be unable to close the top drawer) and I am waiting for a new one to be delivered. Although Ballard Designs is was easy to work with to get the exchange authorized, the delivery has been a nightmare. May 29, 2014
This desk is just what I was looking for..... I would highly recommend this desk to anyone who is looking for a desk that is both functional and attractive. The desk is very well made and had no issues in the shipping process. The drawers are a good size and shut securely. If ordering the black, I would recommend the gray inside as the black on black makes it hard to see inside the desk. Lots of storage when the drop top is down and it looks classy open or closed. I have accessorized mine on top with family photos and a desk lamp. As others have stated, be warned that unpacking is messy with the packing material, however, worth it since there was no damage to the desk. This is my first purchase with Ballard and I am sure it will not be my last. May 18, 2014
Wood Quality Much Better Than Expected I was surprised at the quality of the wood, it is a good, heavy width and well made, not the cheap stuff you buy in office supply stores. The desk is the perfect size for my 8' x 11' office. If you do not have a lot of space, and need storage, this is the piece for you. I, like the reviewer before me, do not have an issue so far with the bottom drawer opening or not staying shut, and I am placing art supplies in it and not files. I also love the way the secretary opens, the hinges open gradually like a soft close drawer on a kitchen cabinet. This is a great feature. May 3, 2014
Perfect piece for kitchen files and paperwork. This secretary works in every way as a nice side piece in the breakfast nook. It is well built; all the bottom drawers open smoothly, and the mechanism that operates the drop desk portion looks like it will last. The cubby holes are convenient to reach with the desk open and the drawers are handy as well. Due to the heavy duty packing, it arrived without a scratch or ding anywhere. It was helpful to read the other comments since the color is definitely cream rather than white - so I knew what to expect. Very impressed with this purchase! April 27, 2014
This desk was nicer than I expected for the price. The eastman desk is sturdy and beautiful. It came assembled and worked out well. Love it. April 18, 2014
Great product for the money This product has been perfect. It is just the right size for my laptop and counter-height stool. It fits nicely in my kitchen! March 22, 2014
the Eastman Secretary is exactly as prsented. we are decorating a den and the Eastman secretary fits in beautifully. it is exactly as was presented in the catalog. the size is perfect and color matched other pieces in the room. the quality is excellent. I like the slow -closing drawers. the amount of drawers is also just right. I couldn't have designed it better. I was worried ordering such a large piece of furniture without seeing it in person , but I am so glad I did. extremely happy with it ! February 16, 2014
Acceptable if unspectacular quality Item arrived heavily packaged in cardboard box with TONS of Styrofoam pieces surrounding it. Since it makes a trip from China, I suppose the excessive packaging is warranted. After removing packaging, was pleasantly surprised there was little damage. Only part of the base molding was pushed out of place and the adjoining seam gap was noticeable. Was easy to repair myself. Drawers and doors work great, and the size and functionality is what we wanted for the space we had in mind. The only complaint is that the Belgian Oak finish was mostly Oak and missing most of the "whitewash" look that it was supposed to have based on photos. Not worth the hassle of having Ballard ship another one and our returning this one. Overall, a nice if somewhat average piece of furniture. February 13, 2014
High quality piece of furniture I love this secretary, it is well built, the size is perfect for the location in my guest room - not too deep, but the drawer sizes are large enough for storage. I purchased the off-white painted secretary and the color matches the other furniture in the room. January 26, 2014
Uncomfortable work space I have owned this desk for 7 months and am very disappointed. The writing area is higher than normal desk height yet lower than counter height making it uncomfortable to use with either a normal chair or a stool. This was a complete waste of money. January 23, 2014
Not too big, not too small, perfect for what I need, good storage and pretty to look at. Love it, not too big, not too small, perfect for my needs and good to look at. January 8, 2014
Great little desk! it actually is a good sized desk for a bedroom or corner in a living room. fold down drawer allows for a computer to sit on top and for smaller papers and desk items to be located inside. Drawers under have room for paper and files (legal or letter). great find! December 16, 2013
As a desk, not good The height of the desk table area in this piece is about 1.5" higher than standard desk height. Extremely unergonomic -- I can't imagine what Ballard was thinking when designing it this way. I spent a lot of money on this and now I'm going to have to re-sell it. November 23, 2013
This is a well laid-out piece of furniture Looked all over for a closeable desk and file drawers, and for a specific sized space. This is the best one I've seen - it fit all my needs. I was hesitant with the folding desk top/cover because I didn't know if it would be flimsy. I received it and it's not flimsy! This is a solid piece of furniture, you can close it up and it looks neat and tidy, the file drawer is heavy-duty, and it fits into the place that I needed it for perfectly! Highly recommend this if you're looking for a desk and storage, but have limited space. November 21, 2013
Love, love, love this desk! My home is small and my challenge was to create an office area without really much room to work with. Enter the Eastman Secretary desk. I bought it in the cream and it is so elegant and beautiful. I holds a lot and of course the drop leaf gives me a desk space when I need it and folds up to reveal a lovely piece of furniture when I don't need it. November 14, 2013
Very pleased so far I recently started working from home and ordered this desk for my dining room so I would have a mini home office to work at and store things in. Overall it's great for what I need, it has just enough file storage and plenty of drawers to organize things in. I purchased it in the rubbed cream and it is very pretty. I wanted something that would go with other furniture and not look like office furniture. It is perfect in that respect. I'm glad I didn't pay the extra $100 for the delivery service to unwrap it. That amount is ridiculous just to have someone unwrap it for you, it is already assembled. The $140 shipping fee is already pretty high. If it weren't assembled then I can see paying the extra $100 to put it together and I would have paid it in that case. They rolled it right into my dining room. It was easy to unwrap. It's wrapped in Styrofoam panels and if you don't rip them there isn't a big mess. You just have to break down the box and put it all out in the trash, no big deal. The file drawer hardware is stapled to the very bottom of the desk right under the front molding. It was kind of hard find all the pieces and get out, don't know why it couldn't have been attached inside the drawer. The drawers do have to be pushed all the way closed, but this is typically a sign of good quality in office furniture, not bad. The height of the pull down desk is definitely too high like the other reviews have said, not so much to write on, but definitely too high to use a laptop. My back and shoulders hurt after just a few minutes. It's not 30.5" from the floor as the dimensions state, it's closer to 32". This is why I didn't rate it a 5. My husband is 5'10" and it's too high even for him, maybe someone who is 6' or taller would not have a problem. A typical chair isn't tall enough and a bar stool would be too high. I found a drafting table chair and it's perfect. November 11, 2013
Very happy with it. Came assembled perfectly, and looks great. Very functional. We are very happy with it. November 7, 2013
It serves my needs perfectly. I am well satisfied with the Eastman Secretary. It has ample storage, fits into the space I have available, and is a good looking piece of furniture. I particularly appreciate the large working space when the desktop is open. Good design all around October 5, 2013
Wonderful purchase! I had been looking at the Eastman Secretary Desk for several years and finally purchased it. It is well made and is just the right size for a computer desk. I just purchased an IMac with a large 23 inch screen and the computer fits into the desk with the door closed. I am so happy with this purchase and wonder why I didn't purchase it several years ago. September 24, 2013
Exactly what I wanted! I bought this in wormwood brown to replace a bookcase I had in my living room. It came fully assembled except for four rails you pop in the bottom drawer to make it a file drawer. It looks so much better than the open bookcase did with books and papers looking unorganized. It is a great little home office that closes up to hide the bills, papers and office stuff. I can fit my laptop in the desk section. I did downsize the number of books but the cubbies and two other drawers hold a lot! I am very happy with this purchase. September 6, 2013
Good use of space I bought this because of the lower file cabinet drawer which is a great use of space. However, the flip down cover to the desk/secretary is too high for a conventional desk chair which makes it uncomfortable for my laptop and IPAD. August 9, 2013
  • 2015-07-02T10:05:21.436-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_170, tr_170
  • loc_en_US, sid_MO196, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary
0

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???