Top_Nav_v2_Font
Ballard Designs
Shipping To:
800.536.7551
1.800.536.7551 Return to Shopping Cart
ICAT
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300

Eastman Secretary - Standard

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $6.00 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

10 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Eastman Secretary - Standard is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 216.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased I am very pleased with how well the desk is constructed - it is sturdy and beautiful. The drawers are the perfect size and they open and close easily. Extremely satisfied with this product.
Date published: 2011-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It serves my needs perfectly. I am well satisfied with the Eastman Secretary. It has ample storage, fits into the space I have available, and is a good looking piece of furniture. I particularly appreciate the large working space when the desktop is open. Good design all around
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eastman Secretary Love my secretary. Perfect for a small space. Can't find many similar products to fit into samll space. Wish it had included hanging file folder hardware, and cubbyhole drawers are a little shallow, but I should have anticipated that issue when I needed a narrow depth piece of furniture. Quality is excellent. It was my first Ballard purchase, and I have already ordered another piece.
Date published: 2011-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! Exactly what we were looking for. Small yet very functional and stylish. Well constructed and fits in with out other furniture. :)
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The desk is very attractive as well as functional. The large bottom drawer is perfect for filing important papers in. The desk is not large and cumbersome. it is perfect for a bedroom and has ample amount of space for papers, writing supplies, a file compartment and even a small computer. I ordered the antique white one and it is very nice looking. With the front panel being easy to put up and down, it has a neat appearance even if the inside is a little messy!
Date published: 2012-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As usual - good quality and shipping. Nice piece for corner nook with extra storage. 15% off when I bought but after extra ship price, about full price. Go back to BD for our eclectic taste and their quality. Wish they'd offer more free shipping! I'd probably buy more!
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is exactly what I need The Eastman Secretary fits perfectly into the space I have and has plenty of storage for the files I want to have close at hand. As one reviewer said, there's lots of packing, but it arrive in pristine shape, so I suppose that's the point. It's a handsome piece of furniture and I'd recommend it.
Date published: 2011-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the drop down top I love my Eastman Secretary, I fits perfectly in my bedroom. It has all of the features I need for setting up a little office. The delivery went perfectly and the desk had no problems.
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I expected I ordered this secretary to have additional work space and storage for our apartment living room, and I am totally satisfied. It looks just as pictured (Belgian Oak in my case), and it's very functional. I haven't had the sturdiness issues that others have mentioned although it's only been a few weeks. I also don't mind the height of it because it keeps me from straining my neck by looking down too far. It has lots of great storage and looks great at as accent piece. I also used a 15% coupon so I got it for an unbeatable price. Haven't seen anything else like it for the price and quality.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size, attractive and functional We needed a small desk to fit in a small area. This one is perfect. It has a file drawer and several other drawers to keep odds and ends. I don't plan to actually sit and work at it but will use it mainly for storage and as a charging station. I love that the main compartment closes up and hides any clutter. Overall it is attractive and seems solidly made. The delivery people were very professional and were eager to please. I'm very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2012-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice solid piece of furniture This desk/hutch is the perfect addition to my dining room. It was packed very well and required virtually no assembly. I need to get used to it though, as I keep clipping my shoulder on the top corner when I walk by it....my issue. I would strongly recommend this piece if you are looking for a functional work space that can be hidden in seconds. Great drawers for storage. Because of this desk, I've freed up counter space in my small kitchen!
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful purchase! I had been looking at the Eastman Secretary Desk for several years and finally purchased it. It is well made and is just the right size for a computer desk. I just purchased an IMac with a large 23 inch screen and the computer fits into the desk with the door closed. I am so happy with this purchase and wonder why I didn't purchase it several years ago.
Date published: 2013-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for! Love this accent furniture piece! fits in perfectly with my living room (bought the rubbed cream) and is just right for filing important papers, storing important documents and makes a great central location for all the paperwork that seems to accumulate on the kitchen/dining room table. Stores laptop when not in use. I look forward to getting my life organized and am very happy I found this item at Ballard Design, quality piece and seamless shipping/delivering.
Date published: 2013-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One year later -- still looking great We've had this secretary for over one year and it's still looking great. Fortunately, unlike some other reviews, ours did not arrive with warped doors, and we've found that the hinged door that pulls down is still in good shape, not loose. We bought the "Old World Brown" stain, and it's a lovely, warm, deep stain. The secretary is well-made, heavy, nothing cheap about it in my opinion. My husband has no patience for furniture that is poorly-constructed or uses cheap materials, but as soon as this one came out of the shipping box, he was impressed. We have it in the dining room to collect all the bills and papers from school that used to land on our dining room table. We have an old, small house with limited storage/closets. We really needed something that could be "closed up" and look neat and tidy, so this worked perfectly for us. One note -- we don't use it as a desk, and I can understand why some reviewers were disappointed with that function of it because the pull-down drawer that acts as the desk top is WAY too high for someone sitting in a normal chair. Maybe a bar-stool would work??
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great piece for small places Been looking at this desk for 2 years and finally decided to purchase it and am so happy I did. Quality craftsman. Beautiful!
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with the size and functionality of this piece. Due to our home having 9 foot ceilings, the height of the piece is in good proportion to the home office where it resides. It sits on carpet so does have a tendency to lean forward when filing cabinet door is open, but the wall attachment should fix the problem. The lines of the secretary, are clean, simple and classy. Thanks for offering such a functional piece!!
Date published: 2012-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compact beauty and function Our door from the garage and driveway enters the dining room, so we needed a small, good looking piece to serve as the desk and drop station for keys, phones, paperwork, and laptop. It's perfect.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally I get my Ballard Design secretary! Like so many other reviewers, I'd been wanting the Eastman Secretary for some years and finally I made the purchase. I bought the Belgian Oak and the color is true to the photos online. I'm completely happy with my purchase. It's rather on the costly side but for the quality of the desk - the wood, the sturdiness, heft and design of the piece, I suspect I'll have my secretary for twice as many years to come, so it's worth the price! Customer Service: top notch. I was unpleasantly surprised by the cost of added shipping of the desk that didn't show in my final checkout page, but showed up when BD sent me an email confirmation. The Customer Service shift supervisor was accommodating and understanding of my dissatisfaction. True to her word, she adjusted my price expeditiously. Ballard Design has been a good retailer to me on several occasions and they will continue to get my business!
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect secretary I bought the smaller secretary for an apartment. It is a perfect compact space with the bottom being a file cabinet. The craftsmanship is beautiful; I ordered the brown worm wood because it went with my furniture but the other colors looked nice as well. My only opinion of a design flaw is that I wish the top small drawers were maybe at the top so I could stand an address book, etc to one side. They are in the middle of the space. But, that is a minor thought and I would still give it 5 stars! It was delivered in perfect condition and I didn't think there was excess packing material like other reviews.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and practical I absolutely love this piece. It is the perfect size. It fits everything I need for the daily organizing of running our home, and it is so beautiful. I love the Old World Brown color.
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! This is a beautiful piece of furniture. Very well made - nice and solid - no wobbly drawers. Arrived very well packed! The cream color is beautiful but has a hint of yellow so if you want pure almond beware. Fits perfectly in the corner of our bedroom.
Date published: 2011-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! Purchased fo a guest room, beautiful, sturdy -- enough drawers for desk accessories and filing.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great desk Love this desk! It looks perfect in my office and I can close it up and the mess goes away and looks pretty. The cream color is so soft and classy looking, just is the perfect piece.
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty piece. Great storage. We bought the Eastman secretary in cream to serve as our home office after getting rid of a large computer armoire. We use a laptop now and didn't need the other bulky piece of furniture. I was very impressed with the storage available in the Eastman secretary for its size. I love all of the drawers and especially the file drawer which help me stay organized without creating a cluttered mess like our other did. We live in an apartment now, so the secretary is a pretty and functional addition to our living room. When we move into a house, it will look great in a guest bedroom or a large kitchen. We have had the piece for about 2 weeks now, and the quality is great. I am very happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2011-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wood Quality Much Better Than Expected I was surprised at the quality of the wood, it is a good, heavy width and well made, not the cheap stuff you buy in office supply stores. The desk is the perfect size for my 8' x 11' office. If you do not have a lot of space, and need storage, this is the piece for you. I, like the reviewer before me, do not have an issue so far with the bottom drawer opening or not staying shut, and I am placing art supplies in it and not files. I also love the way the secretary opens, the hinges open gradually like a soft close drawer on a kitchen cabinet. This is a great feature.
Date published: 2014-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what i needed for my sitting room this secretary is used in my master bedroom sitting room as a small desk for bills, correspondence etc. its the perfect size for my space and love the rubbed white. nice quality very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2011-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous, great workmanship So attractive, useful and quality constructed. Lots of storage in a compact space for my small apt. I paid for inside delivery and unpacking and still had to cleanup so much styrofoam which flew everywhere, but it was well worth it. I love this desk. It easily stores my laptop inside and the file drawer holds twice what I expected. The printer is well-fitted on top and the drawers are roomy, too. Mine is black and classy.
Date published: 2015-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeds expectations. We downsized a bit in a recent move and I was looking to stay organized but only had one corner in which to set up a desk. This guy fit the bill. Size is perfect for a corner of my sunroom, design is convenient and quality was even better than expected. I don't think it would stand up to the daily beating I give my desk at work, but for correspondence and bill paying I could not be more pleased.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this piece This secretary desk is beautiful, well-constructed and arrived in perfect condition. We needed something that wasn't too big for our kitchen and it fits the space perfectly. It's sturdy and we didn't have to put anything together- it arrived in 1 piece. I highly recommend!
Date published: 2011-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely LOVE it It's a compact home office. Plenty of room for everything! Replaces the filing cabinet, desk and storage cabinet for office/home supplies.
Date published: 2012-05-04
  • y_2017, m_7, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_216
  • loc_, sid_MO196, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary - Standard
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

When you see an item you love, drag and drop the photo here. when you Log In, You'll be able to add these items to your cart and lists.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]