Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  30 6 0 View All View All image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)

Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 174 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! I needed a simple and compact desk/storage combination piece to allow me to work on my laptop, and to hold files, mail, desk accessories/necessities (e.g., stamps, scissors, pens), and many boxes of thank-you notes and stationery. Eastman Secretary is absolutely PERFECT for the small space in the corner of my family room, which now holds all my files and miscellaneous items that used to be stored in plastic boxes in a closet. Yay! I'm so excited to be so organized with such a beautiful piece of furniture. The cream color is perfect, not too white or yellow. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice solid piece of furniture This desk/hutch is the perfect addition to my dining room. It was packed very well and required virtually no assembly. I need to get used to it though, as I keep clipping my shoulder on the top corner when I walk by issue. I would strongly recommend this piece if you are looking for a functional work space that can be hidden in seconds. Great drawers for storage. Because of this desk, I've freed up counter space in my small kitchen! January 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice little desk Wish the finish had a little more gloss, seems hard to keep dust free. December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by As usual - good quality and shipping. Nice piece for corner nook with extra storage. 15% off when I bought but after extra ship price, about full price. Go back to BD for our eclectic taste and their quality. Wish they'd offer more free shipping! I'd probably buy more! December 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy with the Eastman Good looking. And arrived without a scratch. Happy with the unit. December 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice piece of furniture for less than expected. My new desk is well made from good materials that would cost alot more if made locally. I am very pleased with it! December 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I expected I ordered this secretary to have additional work space and storage for our apartment living room, and I am totally satisfied. It looks just as pictured (Belgian Oak in my case), and it's very functional. I haven't had the sturdiness issues that others have mentioned although it's only been a few weeks. I also don't mind the height of it because it keeps me from straining my neck by looking down too far. It has lots of great storage and looks great at as accent piece. I also used a 15% coupon so I got it for an unbeatable price. Haven't seen anything else like it for the price and quality. December 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product for the price The desk is very handsome and is very well priced. It was packed very good for shipping. I noticed just a couple of minor flaws that I could touch up myself. To note, the brackets for the hanging files are underneath the desk!! December 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a beautiful desk. We are very pleased with this spacious desk. The finish is beautiful. The packaging was excellent and the delivery service receives very high marks. I would recommend this secretary to anyone needing the work area and storage but want to close it up when not in use. November 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this piece. This desk is very nice quality. It was packaged very very well and there wasn't a mark on it. I am very happy with it. November 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid construction. Looks great next to my cream cabinets in the kitchen. The counter stool item #ST233 works well with the desk as it sits a little higher. November 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and High Quality We bought this for one of the bedrooms in our vacation home. It offers up the usefulness of a desk to hide away a laptop, papers, and files without looking like "work". The black finish is slightly worn to reveal a bit of the light/ white wood beneath which pairs nicely with any style. We purchased locally a reclaimed wood and iron piano stool to adjust to the height of our guests while using the desk which addresses the height issue other reviewers mentioned. October 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I expected! Excellent quality, love the color, perfect for my kitchen! October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect size I love my new Eastman Secretary. The color is well represented as rubbed cream. It is just the right size in our new "downsized" home where this desk and dining room table and chairs coordinate together in a fairly small area. The desk top is higher as indicated in other reviews. I was able to resolve the issue by purchasing a Farmhouse Cushion, also from Ballard Design. It gives me just enough height to feel comfortable working at my laptop. October 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One year later -- still looking great We've had this secretary for over one year and it's still looking great. Fortunately, unlike some other reviews, ours did not arrive with warped doors, and we've found that the hinged door that pulls down is still in good shape, not loose. We bought the "Old World Brown" stain, and it's a lovely, warm, deep stain. The secretary is well-made, heavy, nothing cheap about it in my opinion. My husband has no patience for furniture that is poorly-constructed or uses cheap materials, but as soon as this one came out of the shipping box, he was impressed. We have it in the dining room to collect all the bills and papers from school that used to land on our dining room table. We have an old, small house with limited storage/closets. We really needed something that could be "closed up" and look neat and tidy, so this worked perfectly for us. One note -- we don't use it as a desk, and I can understand why some reviewers were disappointed with that function of it because the pull-down drawer that acts as the desk top is WAY too high for someone sitting in a normal chair. Maybe a bar-stool would work?? September 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy with the size and functionality of this piece. Due to our home having 9 foot ceilings, the height of the piece is in good proportion to the home office where it resides. It sits on carpet so does have a tendency to lean forward when filing cabinet door is open, but the wall attachment should fix the problem. The lines of the secretary, are clean, simple and classy. Thanks for offering such a functional piece!! September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect little desk I needed a small desk for my laptop for my living room, and I love that I can close this one up and hide my papers and other mess. Great for a small space and a really nice looking piece of furniture. September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great desk Love this desk! It looks perfect in my office and I can close it up and the mess goes away and looks pretty. The cream color is so soft and classy looking, just is the perfect piece. August 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Piece My son has a queen bed, which doesn't leave space for much more. This piece is exactly what we needed to provide some drawer space and a homework area. It is well built and very heavy. The drawers slide nicely & the desk front doesn't slam. It really looks nice in the room! August 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Storage, Looks Great I'm really pleased with my Eastman Secretary. I had been wanting one for a long time and finally treated myself. Thankfully, it had leveling screws on the bottom feet so I could adjust it to accommodate my slanty floors. I needed to get an adjustable chair so that I could sit at a comfortable height relative to the writing seemed a bit high to me. July 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the design - piece was delivered with some dents and scratches. The price is great and the design is wonderful. Unfortunately the piece was delivered with some dents and minor scratches which was a bit disappointing. July 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful desk. Love the file drawer. We were looking for something compact but with plenty of storage, especially for the family files. We also wanted something that could 'hide' all the paper that collects in our household from bills, etc. This desk more than fit the bill. We got the black w/ grey interior and it looks fantastic. It arrived well packaged and on time. The only complaint is that it should come with instructions on how to unpackage without damaging it. We had to be very careful when opening the box. July 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product This product is well built, and has multiple function to use. However, I think it is hard to adjust the height on the bottom of the feet, because it is very heavy you have to have at least two people to do it. Also the inside of the paint is not smooth. I just got it little while ago, and after use more I think I will have more opinions. June 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great desk Love the slow opening hinges on the door. Packaged very well. June 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality Desk I had been looking at this desk for quite some time and when I saw it go on sale I jumped on the deal. So glad I did. I received it in perfect condition. Actually, it exceeded my expectations, as I love the look, quality, and size of this desk. It has so much storage space, but the overall size is compact, just right for a small space. I would advise anyone thinking about this desk as I was, to purchase it. You won't be sorry. June 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple clean design just as shown in catalog. Height of drop down desk is too high. Had a chair as shown in catalog I wanted to use as a desk chair. All regular chair height are too low to use with this product. An adjustable would work, but they are SO unattractive. I have never purchased furniture through a catalog and was very pleased with the care Ballard took with my purchase. May 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by quality piece I love this desk. solid, sturdy. hinges on fold down table very strong. Built in hanging files nice bonus. fits in sitting area of bedroom perfectly. packaged well. May 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Attractive but smell is overwhelming I love the look of the Eastman Secretary but the odor of the wood is so strong that it makes my eyes water. I guess the odor is formaldehyde? Very disappointing. May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect size, attractive and functional We needed a small desk to fit in a small area. This one is perfect. It has a file drawer and several other drawers to keep odds and ends. I don't plan to actually sit and work at it but will use it mainly for storage and as a charging station. I love that the main compartment closes up and hides any clutter. Overall it is attractive and seems solidly made. The delivery people were very professional and were eager to please. I'm very pleased with this purchase. May 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! One of my best furniture purchases EVER! This little desk has more storage than I imagined. It is very well-made - the drawers don't wiggle around when you open them and the drop-down desk top has great hinges. There was a lot of packaging, but this ensured that my piece had no damage when it arrived. Very thankful that it was fully-assembled when I got it. I am very happy with my purchase and so glad I finally got it! (I had my eye on this for a couple of years before buying it.) May 16, 2012
  • 2015-10-07T07:28:37.066-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_174, tr_174
  • loc_en_US, sid_MO196, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later