GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 83919
false header 2 83919
  20 5 20 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Eastman Secretary 4.6 5 157 157
I'm very happy with the quality of this desk. I looked for a long time to find a secretary desk with a file drawer to fit in a space only 32" wide. This is the only one I could find but it isn't cheap. I waited for the 15% off sale and then succumbed. I'm very happy with the quality. It's very sturdy and the drawers and hinges work well. File drawer hardware is stapled under the bottom of the unit for those who can't find it. I just cut the straps rather than trying to remove the staples. There is indeed lots of Styrofoam and cardboard to dispose of after unpacking. Mine arrived in perfect condition. The nice delivery man wheeled it to the middle of the dining room so unpacking it there and sliding it into place worked well. It's heavy!! I don't sit at it so the height of the desk part isn't an issue for me. It's more for storage. I LOVE having the file drawer. The unit was described well on the web site with pictures and words. There were no surprises and I'm very happy with the desk. April 23, 2013
Perfect Fit! We ordered the off-white secretary for the living room. It arrived well packaged in a big box, fully assembled. It's a sturdy, heavy piece with quality hardware. We use it as a laptop station, and the flip-down desk is higher than a normal desk so you may need a higher chair. We wanted something practical but stylish, and this is perfect! April 11, 2013
Perfect! Very functional and attractive. Fits perfectly in the space and matches the other furniture in the room. April 5, 2013
Exactly what I hoped for! My new Eastman Secretary is the perfect desk for a small space. It has loads of storage and fits in beautifully with my antiques. I am especially impressed with the quality of workmanship! A wonder piece at a great price! I'm thinking of buying one for my daughters room! March 21, 2013
DESK IS GOOD QUALITY WE WERE PLEASED WITH THE QUALITY OF THE DESK WE BOUGHT. IT WAS WELL PUT TOGETHER AND DESIGN AND COLOR FIT IN VERY WELL WITH THE ROOM. February 27, 2013
A Mother's Mess...now hidden. The main purpose for this desk was to store our girls crafts, drawing materials, puzzles, and games. The bottom drawer is deep and perfect for the many puzzles and games, while the smaller drawers are perfect for paper, drawing utensils, and stickers. We use it in our kitchen and it really is a beautiful piece of furniture. The only complaint is the drawers don't seem flush when closed. It's not bad, but not great. I'm still overall pleased with our purchase and thankful that it hides our mess. :o) February 26, 2013
Great value for the price I read other reviews in advance of purchasing this product and was glad I purchased it despite some of the other purchaser's misgivings. It arrived on schedule, perfectly packaged without any damage. The item is exactly as described and all parts work perfectly. I love it. February 6, 2013
I recommend this purchase. The Eastman Secretariat is just what I was hoping for. The bottom drawer came with the pendaflex hardware and works perfectly. I especially like the hydraulic feature the top compartment has. This piece of furniture is worth the money. February 4, 2013
Meets our needs! This secretary fits underneath our stairs and is a perfect place for mail, laptops, iPads, and phones. The file drawer at the bottom makes organizing easy and fun! Having this piece has made it possible to free up lots of other storage areas in the house. We are very happy with this purchase! February 2, 2013
Quality and Function Meet Arrived perfectly as it was packaged so very, very well. Impressed with the quality of the construction and the finish. It's the functional piece I had wanted. The piece is totally a reference for Ballard's quality. Excellent. February 1, 2013
perfect size I live in a small house build in 1943, it is difficult to find small furniture that will fit my small rooms, this secretary desk is the perfect size for my guest room and it also includes the file cabinet, absolutely perfect January 31, 2013
Very nice! This desk is well put together, the hinge on the upper main door opens and closes the door slowly and the bottom files drawer has a nice rolling hinge system. It came packaged nicely to protect everything. I got the off white color which I normally wouldn't get but I really like it. Love it and would recommend it! January 28, 2013
JUST EXACTLY WHAT WAS NEEDED! This secretary turns out to be the best thing that happened to me this year! I have a townhouse that has a a kitchen, living room and dining room space that is kinda all together....my granite counters in the kitchen are beautiful but I could hardly ever see them cause I had so much stuff on them...important everyday stuff like keys,the newspaper, mail, hair elastics, pens & pencils, scissors, tape and on and on. I was always trying to find the perfect basket to contain a lot of it but there was always overflow. Until I ordered this secretary...it is absolutely perfect and is small enough that it fits my space but does not overwhelm it. It is very well made. I have other pieces from Ballard so I knew about their legendary packing as well... I have no issues whatsoever with the bottom drawer coming open like a previous reviewer but I can tell you if you don't shut it completely that would happen because the drawers are on very smooth glides and are a delight to open and close. The price for the value is outstanding. My boyfriend when I first showed him what I was getting said..."Oh I am sure we can find one locally, cheaper." I really didin't want to waste my time but I humoured him because I wanted him to know that I valued his imput! So we looked everywhere...I took pictures of everything but every single one of the secretaries we looked at was more expensive and didn't have all the features of the eastman...I finally just said...honey I'm ordering the one from Ballard cause it's just what I need and the price is outstanding. When we received it he was very surprised at how well it was made and packaged...It's not the end of our love story but it is the end of this review and we both give it 2 thumbs up! January 25, 2013
Perfect! I needed a simple and compact desk/storage combination piece to allow me to work on my laptop, and to hold files, mail, desk accessories/necessities (e.g., stamps, scissors, pens), and many boxes of thank-you notes and stationery. Eastman Secretary is absolutely PERFECT for the small space in the corner of my family room, which now holds all my files and miscellaneous items that used to be stored in plastic boxes in a closet. Yay! I'm so excited to be so organized with such a beautiful piece of furniture. The cream color is perfect, not too white or yellow. January 23, 2013
Very nice solid piece of furniture This desk/hutch is the perfect addition to my dining room. It was packed very well and required virtually no assembly. I need to get used to it though, as I keep clipping my shoulder on the top corner when I walk by it....my issue. I would strongly recommend this piece if you are looking for a functional work space that can be hidden in seconds. Great drawers for storage. Because of this desk, I've freed up counter space in my small kitchen! January 2, 2013
Nice little desk Wish the finish had a little more gloss, seems hard to keep dust free. December 19, 2012
As usual - good quality and shipping. Nice piece for corner nook with extra storage. 15% off when I bought but after extra ship price, about full price. Go back to BD for our eclectic taste and their quality. Wish they'd offer more free shipping! I'd probably buy more! December 15, 2012
Happy with the Eastman Good looking. And arrived without a scratch. Happy with the unit. December 14, 2012
Nice piece of furniture for less than expected. My new desk is well made from good materials that would cost alot more if made locally. I am very pleased with it! December 13, 2012
Just what I expected I ordered this secretary to have additional work space and storage for our apartment living room, and I am totally satisfied. It looks just as pictured (Belgian Oak in my case), and it's very functional. I haven't had the sturdiness issues that others have mentioned although it's only been a few weeks. I also don't mind the height of it because it keeps me from straining my neck by looking down too far. It has lots of great storage and looks great at as accent piece. I also used a 15% coupon so I got it for an unbeatable price. Haven't seen anything else like it for the price and quality. December 7, 2012
Great product for the price The desk is very handsome and is very well priced. It was packed very good for shipping. I noticed just a couple of minor flaws that I could touch up myself. To note, the brackets for the hanging files are underneath the desk!! December 2, 2012
This is a beautiful desk. We are very pleased with this spacious desk. The finish is beautiful. The packaging was excellent and the delivery service receives very high marks. I would recommend this secretary to anyone needing the work area and storage but want to close it up when not in use. November 6, 2012
Love this piece. This desk is very nice quality. It was packaged very very well and there wasn't a mark on it. I am very happy with it. November 5, 2012
Solid construction. Looks great next to my cream cabinets in the kitchen. The counter stool item #ST233 works well with the desk as it sits a little higher. November 4, 2012
Beautiful and High Quality We bought this for one of the bedrooms in our vacation home. It offers up the usefulness of a desk to hide away a laptop, papers, and files without looking like "work". The black finish is slightly worn to reveal a bit of the light/ white wood beneath which pairs nicely with any style. We purchased locally a reclaimed wood and iron piano stool to adjust to the height of our guests while using the desk which addresses the height issue other reviewers mentioned. October 28, 2012
Everything I expected! Excellent quality, love the color, perfect for my kitchen! October 24, 2012
Perfect size I love my new Eastman Secretary. The color is well represented as rubbed cream. It is just the right size in our new "downsized" home where this desk and dining room table and chairs coordinate together in a fairly small area. The desk top is higher as indicated in other reviews. I was able to resolve the issue by purchasing a Farmhouse Cushion, also from Ballard Design. It gives me just enough height to feel comfortable working at my laptop. October 6, 2012
One year later -- still looking great We've had this secretary for over one year and it's still looking great. Fortunately, unlike some other reviews, ours did not arrive with warped doors, and we've found that the hinged door that pulls down is still in good shape, not loose. We bought the "Old World Brown" stain, and it's a lovely, warm, deep stain. The secretary is well-made, heavy, nothing cheap about it in my opinion. My husband has no patience for furniture that is poorly-constructed or uses cheap materials, but as soon as this one came out of the shipping box, he was impressed. We have it in the dining room to collect all the bills and papers from school that used to land on our dining room table. We have an old, small house with limited storage/closets. We really needed something that could be "closed up" and look neat and tidy, so this worked perfectly for us. One note -- we don't use it as a desk, and I can understand why some reviewers were disappointed with that function of it because the pull-down drawer that acts as the desk top is WAY too high for someone sitting in a normal chair. Maybe a bar-stool would work?? September 29, 2012
Happy with the size and functionality of this piece. Due to our home having 9 foot ceilings, the height of the piece is in good proportion to the home office where it resides. It sits on carpet so does have a tendency to lean forward when filing cabinet door is open, but the wall attachment should fix the problem. The lines of the secretary, are clean, simple and classy. Thanks for offering such a functional piece!! September 19, 2012
perfect little desk I needed a small desk for my laptop for my living room, and I love that I can close this one up and hide my papers and other mess. Great for a small space and a really nice looking piece of furniture. September 12, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary
0

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???