GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 68046
false header 2 68046
  20 5 20 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
1
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Ballard Designs {0} Services per unit {1} 04-Threshold Delivery,60-In Home Delivery,33-Oversized Delivery,ESB60-In Home Upgrade
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Eastman Secretary 4.6 5 157 157
Looks nice...BUT The look of the piece and construction is nice, however, the drop down door has warped so significantly that it barely closes now. I'm going to try to request a new door. Has anyone else had this problem? March 16, 2011
excellent design, only fair quality I had looked & looked for a SMALL secretary desk for a new, compact office I just opened. This meets my needs, is stylish and affordable (although NOT cheap). I was hesitant after reading some reviews, about quality, but loved the features and the overall design enough to take the risk..... Well, the features and design ARE great - but the workmanship is only fair. Not horrible, but definitely more Target or Walmart quality in my opinion. It's so big though that I don't want to bother wrapping it up to return. And I know the selection of desks this size hasn't increased. I should've stretched and gone up to the higher quality of Pottery Barn or Crate & Barrel. When something seems like a really great deal - 'buyer beware'. Too bad the quality control staff didn't catch things like chipped paint, permanent black marks on ivory colored wood and poor joining of edges and joints. A bit more effort would make a wonderful top-notch product. June 28, 2013
Almost perfect... Beautiful, sturdy piece. The color was a little more red (I purchased the Old-World Brown) than I thought, but still works in our space. Also, as noted by others the file drawer does not come with the hardware. This is difficult because the drawer is shallow (which is what makes the piece good for small spaces) but all the retrofit file hardware is for deeper drawers. I would have given it 5 stars if not for that issue. Also, the shippers did not unpack the piece, so be prepared for a big mess, but worth it for the nice piece of furniture at a great price! August 4, 2011
Acceptable if unspectacular quality Item arrived heavily packaged in cardboard box with TONS of Styrofoam pieces surrounding it. Since it makes a trip from China, I suppose the excessive packaging is warranted. After removing packaging, was pleasantly surprised there was little damage. Only part of the base molding was pushed out of place and the adjoining seam gap was noticeable. Was easy to repair myself. Drawers and doors work great, and the size and functionality is what we wanted for the space we had in mind. The only complaint is that the Belgian Oak finish was mostly Oak and missing most of the "whitewash" look that it was supposed to have based on photos. Not worth the hassle of having Ballard ship another one and our returning this one. Overall, a nice if somewhat average piece of furniture. February 13, 2014
This product cracked in several places in less than a year I purchased this in the rubbed cream finish. It's the perfect size for a small space and I get a lot of compliments on it. However, after several months the wood has cracked in several places along the front of the desk in between the drawers. This desk gets limited use and doesn't store anything heavy, so I am not sure what could be causing it to split apart. Ballard Customer Service has been great and is sending out a replacement. I just hope the same thing doesn't happen again. May 8, 2013
Waited a long time to get this... I admired this at a friend's house several years ago, but due to the expense I held off on ordering it. I finally decided to pull the trigger when BD offered a small coupon. Overall, I'm glad I did. It fits very well in the space we have, and it's interior space is efficiently set up. Furthermore, it was the only desk this compact that offered a file drawer. Construction is pretty good. It arrived fully assembled and safely packed. Unpacking took some time, but wasn't as messy as others have indicated. My only complaint thus far is that within 2 weeks of purchase the drawers became misaligned, so they do not close flush with the unit. Not horrible, just annoying. Also, not sure if they have the height of the desk listed, but it is too high to sit at comfortably in a standard chair. January 28, 2012
In-Home Delivery is WORTH It! I agree with all the other favorable reviews of this perfect piece: it's exactly as described in the photos and specs (thanks for adding that detailed sheet on-line). Most of our furniture are true antiques, but this fits well in a small guestroom as desk/drawers for frequent weekenders. Trying to save $100, I opted for the basic delivery. (Which by the way, is difficult to arrange if you work and aren't home all day long!) However as others noted, that is one hot mess! It took several hours to wrest it from it's careful packing, 3 giant plastic bags of foam + several piles of cardboard, and several vaccuumings to track down all the little static styrofoam pieces. (A month later, I'm still finding a few, and believe me - I was fanatical!) In the end I gave the neighbor boys $20 to help me wrangle it upstairs! I HIGHLY recommend you upgrade to the in-home delivery service! Let them cart away all that stryo & cardboard recycling, place it carefully where you want it, and make your whole experience really sweet! August 6, 2013
Very pleased so far I recently started working from home and ordered this desk for my dining room so I would have a mini home office to work at and store things in. Overall it's great for what I need, it has just enough file storage and plenty of drawers to organize things in. I purchased it in the rubbed cream and it is very pretty. I wanted something that would go with other furniture and not look like office furniture. It is perfect in that respect. I'm glad I didn't pay the extra $100 for the delivery service to unwrap it. That amount is ridiculous just to have someone unwrap it for you, it is already assembled. The $140 shipping fee is already pretty high. If it weren't assembled then I can see paying the extra $100 to put it together and I would have paid it in that case. They rolled it right into my dining room. It was easy to unwrap. It's wrapped in Styrofoam panels and if you don't rip them there isn't a big mess. You just have to break down the box and put it all out in the trash, no big deal. The file drawer hardware is stapled to the very bottom of the desk right under the front molding. It was kind of hard find all the pieces and get out, don't know why it couldn't have been attached inside the drawer. The drawers do have to be pushed all the way closed, but this is typically a sign of good quality in office furniture, not bad. The height of the pull down desk is definitely too high like the other reviews have said, not so much to write on, but definitely too high to use a laptop. My back and shoulders hurt after just a few minutes. It's not 30.5" from the floor as the dimensions state, it's closer to 32". This is why I didn't rate it a 5. My husband is 5'10" and it's too high even for him, maybe someone who is 6' or taller would not have a problem. A typical chair isn't tall enough and a bar stool would be too high. I found a drafting table chair and it's perfect. November 11, 2013
Good use of space I bought this because of the lower file cabinet drawer which is a great use of space. However, the flip down cover to the desk/secretary is too high for a conventional desk chair which makes it uncomfortable for my laptop and IPAD. August 9, 2013
One year later -- still looking great We've had this secretary for over one year and it's still looking great. Fortunately, unlike some other reviews, ours did not arrive with warped doors, and we've found that the hinged door that pulls down is still in good shape, not loose. We bought the "Old World Brown" stain, and it's a lovely, warm, deep stain. The secretary is well-made, heavy, nothing cheap about it in my opinion. My husband has no patience for furniture that is poorly-constructed or uses cheap materials, but as soon as this one came out of the shipping box, he was impressed. We have it in the dining room to collect all the bills and papers from school that used to land on our dining room table. We have an old, small house with limited storage/closets. We really needed something that could be "closed up" and look neat and tidy, so this worked perfectly for us. One note -- we don't use it as a desk, and I can understand why some reviewers were disappointed with that function of it because the pull-down drawer that acts as the desk top is WAY too high for someone sitting in a normal chair. Maybe a bar-stool would work?? September 29, 2012
Well built, attractive I had been looking for a long time for a small desk to fit into a corner of my kitchen where I like to work. This desk is the perfect size and is sturdily built and attractive. It has levelers on the feet so that it sits firmly on an uneven surface. The hardware is of good quality. The only issue is that the drop front is too high to sit at and work without the use of a "booster" on a normal height chair. This is offset by the fact that there is so much storage space below. The large hanging drawer file is plenty big enough for my household files. The 2 smaller drawers above give me plenty of additional space. Good purchase. We went for the delivery option where they placed it and took away the packaging. It was expensive but the service was efficient. November 10, 2011
Exactly what I was looking for This is a great, well-made piece of furniture. I was looking for a piece to serve as a catch-all for mail, cards, bills, etc. and this fit the bill perfectly. It's perfect when you need to maximize a small space where most desks won't fit. October 3, 2011
Attractive but smell is overwhelming I love the look of the Eastman Secretary but the odor of the wood is so strong that it makes my eyes water. I guess the odor is formaldehyde? Very disappointing. May 23, 2012
Solid piece The piece is solid and seems to be durable. The color is not quite what it appeared to be in the catalog however. Also he height of the pull down desk top is a little higher than a normal desk level which might be a problem if you work at it a long time. The file drawer on the bottom of the unit does not flow easily so has to be pushed hard to close. June 11, 2011
I'm very happy with the quality of this desk. I looked for a long time to find a secretary desk with a file drawer to fit in a space only 32" wide. This is the only one I could find but it isn't cheap. I waited for the 15% off sale and then succumbed. I'm very happy with the quality. It's very sturdy and the drawers and hinges work well. File drawer hardware is stapled under the bottom of the unit for those who can't find it. I just cut the straps rather than trying to remove the staples. There is indeed lots of Styrofoam and cardboard to dispose of after unpacking. Mine arrived in perfect condition. The nice delivery man wheeled it to the middle of the dining room so unpacking it there and sliding it into place worked well. It's heavy!! I don't sit at it so the height of the desk part isn't an issue for me. It's more for storage. I LOVE having the file drawer. The unit was described well on the web site with pictures and words. There were no surprises and I'm very happy with the desk. April 23, 2013
Great product for the money This product has been perfect. It is just the right size for my laptop and counter-height stool. It fits nicely in my kitchen! March 22, 2014
Eastman Secretary Love my secretary. Perfect for a small space. Can't find many similar products to fit into samll space. Wish it had included hanging file folder hardware, and cubbyhole drawers are a little shallow, but I should have anticipated that issue when I needed a narrow depth piece of furniture. Quality is excellent. It was my first Ballard purchase, and I have already ordered another piece. June 12, 2011
This is exactly what I need The Eastman Secretary fits perfectly into the space I have and has plenty of storage for the files I want to have close at hand. As one reviewer said, there's lots of packing, but it arrive in pristine shape, so I suppose that's the point. It's a handsome piece of furniture and I'd recommend it. July 21, 2011
the Eastman Secretary is exactly as prsented. we are decorating a den and the Eastman secretary fits in beautifully. it is exactly as was presented in the catalog. the size is perfect and color matched other pieces in the room. the quality is excellent. I like the slow -closing drawers. the amount of drawers is also just right. I couldn't have designed it better. I was worried ordering such a large piece of furniture without seeing it in person , but I am so glad I did. extremely happy with it ! February 16, 2014
Wonderful purchase! I had been looking at the Eastman Secretary Desk for several years and finally purchased it. It is well made and is just the right size for a computer desk. I just purchased an IMac with a large 23 inch screen and the computer fits into the desk with the door closed. I am so happy with this purchase and wonder why I didn't purchase it several years ago. September 24, 2013
Beautiful piece of furniture! I love my desk but have found it to be too small to have surface for writing or using paper work and having the lap top also on the desk. It is very difficult to get into the drawers when one is working on the desk surface. It does fit perfectly into the small space that I wanted it to fit. I should have realized the difficulties for my use but am still glad that I purchased it. It is also higher than is convenient for a normal desk chair. I realize that 3 drawers would not have fit at a lower height but it is an inconvenience. March 16, 2011
Perfect for Our kitchen! Love it - just the right size, drawers glide perfectly, made very well. 1st time buying from Ballard Designs - would definitely do it again. The packaging is extensive, but protects it from shipping issues. Delivery was great too! Advance notice and very helpful through the whole process! Thanks so much! December 30, 2011
Beautiful piece for the price Love this secretary. Nice finishes, good ornamentation, fits nicely in a small room, holds a lot. My only (minor) complaints are that when you fold the secretary door down to work, it's still too high, much higher than a desk would be, so you need a higher chair to actually do work at a computer. The other is that the thing came stuffed with enough packing peanuts to fill India! I'm still finding them! But overall, I love it. March 16, 2011
High quality piece of furniture I love this secretary, it is well built, the size is perfect for the location in my guest room - not too deep, but the drawer sizes are large enough for storage. I purchased the off-white painted secretary and the color matches the other furniture in the room. January 26, 2014
Uncomfortable work space I have owned this desk for 7 months and am very disappointed. The writing area is higher than normal desk height yet lower than counter height making it uncomfortable to use with either a normal chair or a stool. This was a complete waste of money. January 23, 2014
Very nice solid piece of furniture This desk/hutch is the perfect addition to my dining room. It was packed very well and required virtually no assembly. I need to get used to it though, as I keep clipping my shoulder on the top corner when I walk by it....my issue. I would strongly recommend this piece if you are looking for a functional work space that can be hidden in seconds. Great drawers for storage. Because of this desk, I've freed up counter space in my small kitchen! January 2, 2013
This desk is just what I was looking for..... I would highly recommend this desk to anyone who is looking for a desk that is both functional and attractive. The desk is very well made and had no issues in the shipping process. The drawers are a good size and shut securely. If ordering the black, I would recommend the gray inside as the black on black makes it hard to see inside the desk. Lots of storage when the drop top is down and it looks classy open or closed. I have accessorized mine on top with family photos and a desk lamp. As others have stated, be warned that unpacking is messy with the packing material, however, worth it since there was no damage to the desk. This is my first purchase with Ballard and I am sure it will not be my last. May 18, 2014
nice looking but mine was defective I ordered this desk and I am very pleased at the look and functionality, however mine was defective (the wood between the drawers was bowed causing you to be unable to close the top drawer) and I am waiting for a new one to be delivered. Although Ballard Designs is was easy to work with to get the exchange authorized, the delivery has been a nightmare. May 29, 2014
I love this desk! I was pleased with the quality of the desk and how nice it looks. It is perfect for paying bills, keeping my personal files and roomy enough to hold desk accessories. I am 5'4" so I need to use a taller chair or would need to sit on a pillow. July 8, 2013
Nice and functional This desk sits in a corner in my living room and serves as my work space. It is the perfect size for my laptop and odds and ends. The file drawer is what drew me to this piece and it has worked out well but is a bit on the small side (the files catch each other in the middle.) It is serving its purpose well, the only downside is that I paid extra for the belgian oak finish and it is ok but does have a lot of white specks here and there. Even my husband noticed them, kind of looks like any place putty or filler was used didn't take the stain. It is minor but it is something I would have considered before purchasing, looks a bit more rustic. May 2, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary