Top_Nav_v2_Font
Shipping To: ???HEADER_COUNTRY_SELECTOR_ENABLED???
1.800.536.7551 Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 83402
false header 2 83402
ICAT
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300
 

Eastman Secretary - Standard

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $6.00 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Eastman Secretary - Standard is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 210.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for the money This product has been perfect. It is just the right size for my laptop and counter-height stool. It fits nicely in my kitchen!
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This product is well built, and has multiple function to use. However, I think it is hard to adjust the height on the bottom of the feet, because it is very heavy you have to have at least two people to do it. Also the inside of the paint is not smooth. I just got it little while ago, and after use more I think I will have more opinions.
Date published: 2012-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice piece of furniture for less than expected. My new desk is well made from good materials that would cost alot more if made locally. I am very pleased with it!
Date published: 2012-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic design. Great storage space. I love the classic design and look of this piece. It fits in my small spare bedroom without crowding. And yet, it provides so much great storage space. Love the file cabinet drawer and the cubby is big enough to store my laptop and other various office objects.
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this desk! I was pleased with the quality of the desk and how nice it looks. It is perfect for paying bills, keeping my personal files and roomy enough to hold desk accessories. I am 5'4" so I need to use a taller chair or would need to sit on a pillow.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I recommend this purchase. The Eastman Secretariat is just what I was hoping for. The bottom drawer came with the pendaflex hardware and works perfectly. I especially like the hydraulic feature the top compartment has. This piece of furniture is worth the money.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great size This is a great desk for a small space. I can sit and pay bills, file away papers in the bottom file drawer and hide my messes. My daughter uses it for her 1st grade homework station.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made and compact, but challenging to take out of box! Overall, we are pleased with our purchase of the Eastman Secretary. The furniture is well made and the finish (cream) looks very nice. Our biggest challenge was getting it out of the box - we had to cut the side of the box off as it was too heavy to lift out, plus it is surrounded in styrofoam blocks and not only did it create a major mess, but it would have been impossible to re-pack it. The piece was cracked in the bottom corner, but because we could not put it back in the original shipping container and the delivery person left quickly before we could inspect it, we received a credit towards the purchase from a nice customer service rep. This was also probably due to the fact that the delivery arrived 2 hours after the 4 hour window we were given. Although it was a frustrating experience to receive and set up, we are happy with this piece of furniture and the ultimate result with customer service.
Date published: 2011-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well built, attractive I had been looking for a long time for a small desk to fit into a corner of my kitchen where I like to work. This desk is the perfect size and is sturdily built and attractive. It has levelers on the feet so that it sits firmly on an uneven surface. The hardware is of good quality. The only issue is that the drop front is too high to sit at and work without the use of a "booster" on a normal height chair. This is offset by the fact that there is so much storage space below. The large hanging drawer file is plenty big enough for my household files. The 2 smaller drawers above give me plenty of additional space. Good purchase. We went for the delivery option where they placed it and took away the packaging. It was expensive but the service was efficient.
Date published: 2011-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Waited a long time to get this... I admired this at a friend's house several years ago, but due to the expense I held off on ordering it. I finally decided to pull the trigger when BD offered a small coupon. Overall, I'm glad I did. It fits very well in the space we have, and it's interior space is efficiently set up. Furthermore, it was the only desk this compact that offered a file drawer. Construction is pretty good. It arrived fully assembled and safely packed. Unpacking took some time, but wasn't as messy as others have indicated. My only complaint thus far is that within 2 weeks of purchase the drawers became misaligned, so they do not close flush with the unit. Not horrible, just annoying. Also, not sure if they have the height of the desk listed, but it is too high to sit at comfortably in a standard chair.
Date published: 2012-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and functional This desk sits in a corner in my living room and serves as my work space. It is the perfect size for my laptop and odds and ends. The file drawer is what drew me to this piece and it has worked out well but is a bit on the small side (the files catch each other in the middle.) It is serving its purpose well, the only downside is that I paid extra for the belgian oak finish and it is ok but does have a lot of white specks here and there. Even my husband noticed them, kind of looks like any place putty or filler was used didn't take the stain. It is minor but it is something I would have considered before purchasing, looks a bit more rustic.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pleased with this purchase! The Eastman Secretary is the perfect solution for my guest room!
Date published: 2013-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice! Very nice piece! Sturdy! Comes assembled! HALLELUJAH! Writing surface is a bit high, for laptop use, but I don't use for long periods of time so I is ok. Really like being able to close the door and hide the junk!
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product for the price The desk is very handsome and is very well priced. It was packed very good for shipping. I noticed just a couple of minor flaws that I could touch up myself. To note, the brackets for the hanging files are underneath the desk!!
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful piece of furniture! I love my desk but have found it to be too small to have surface for writing or using paper work and having the lap top also on the desk. It is very difficult to get into the drawers when one is working on the desk surface. It does fit perfectly into the small space that I wanted it to fit. I should have realized the difficulties for my use but am still glad that I purchased it. It is also higher than is convenient for a normal desk chair. I realize that 3 drawers would not have fit at a lower height but it is an inconvenience.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple clean design just as shown in catalog. Height of drop down desk is too high. Had a chair as shown in catalog I wanted to use as a desk chair. All regular chair height are too low to use with this product. An adjustable would work, but they are SO unattractive. I have never purchased furniture through a catalog and was very pleased with the care Ballard took with my purchase.
Date published: 2012-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great purchase! this is a great piece of furniture for a small space. I especially like that it can be used as a desk or serving station.
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for small space I added it to our larger office space to have my own desk area next to my husband's. It is very functional and good quality. I'm converting my old desk in the kitchen area to a wine bar! That's the big win in this deal.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful piece for the price Love this secretary. Nice finishes, good ornamentation, fits nicely in a small room, holds a lot. My only (minor) complaints are that when you fold the secretary door down to work, it's still too high, much higher than a desk would be, so you need a higher chair to actually do work at a computer. The other is that the thing came stuffed with enough packing peanuts to fill India! I'm still finding them! But overall, I love it.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great desk If you are looking for a simple small desk with clean lines, this is the desk you've been looking for. It also has a lot of storage and ample room for your files. On top of that close the front and any mess or personal papers are out of sight!
Date published: 2011-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great storage space I love the storage space this compact secretary offers...Sturdy, solid piece and leveling feet a plus on Mexican tile floors...I ordered the black/black...Wish I would have paid the extra $$ for the gray interior, as it can be difficult to find cords, or dark objects without a lot of light...
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for. I have been trying to find a desk that I could hang file folders and also have drawers for other items. As soon as I saw this item in the catalog I knew I would work.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice style, good quality, color is really yellow. I like the style and it is good for a smaller space. The file cabinet drawer on the bottom is great. The color is really yellow although light it is still yellow. If I had known that it was yellow, I would have purchased the black unit. There is a small crack in the trim on one of the drawers and that is disappointing, too difficult to return and that is the downside of ordering online.
Date published: 2012-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pleased so far I recently started working from home and ordered this desk for my dining room so I would have a mini home office to work at and store things in. Overall it's great for what I need, it has just enough file storage and plenty of drawers to organize things in. I purchased it in the rubbed cream and it is very pretty. I wanted something that would go with other furniture and not look like office furniture. It is perfect in that respect. I'm glad I didn't pay the extra $100 for the delivery service to unwrap it. That amount is ridiculous just to have someone unwrap it for you, it is already assembled. The $140 shipping fee is already pretty high. If it weren't assembled then I can see paying the extra $100 to put it together and I would have paid it in that case. They rolled it right into my dining room. It was easy to unwrap. It's wrapped in Styrofoam panels and if you don't rip them there isn't a big mess. You just have to break down the box and put it all out in the trash, no big deal. The file drawer hardware is stapled to the very bottom of the desk right under the front molding. It was kind of hard find all the pieces and get out, don't know why it couldn't have been attached inside the drawer. The drawers do have to be pushed all the way closed, but this is typically a sign of good quality in office furniture, not bad. The height of the pull down desk is definitely too high like the other reviews have said, not so much to write on, but definitely too high to use a laptop. My back and shoulders hurt after just a few minutes. It's not 30.5" from the floor as the dimensions state, it's closer to 32". This is why I didn't rate it a 5. My husband is 5'10" and it's too high even for him, maybe someone who is 6' or taller would not have a problem. A typical chair isn't tall enough and a bar stool would be too high. I found a drafting table chair and it's perfect.
Date published: 2013-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality product, but color is a little different than what appears on the web site The product color is more red than appears on the website, but the quality of the piece is so great we decided to keep it.
Date published: 2011-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice piece of office furniture. This a very nice piece of furniture that goes well in my office. It has great space for storing briefcase and work supplies. Great color.
Date published: 2015-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for being unintrusive! Love it! over packaged - but great once you fight out of the styrofoam sea. Good quality product. It the draws did not pull all the way out - I would have given it 5 stars
Date published: 2011-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the design - piece was delivered with some dents and scratches. The price is great and the design is wonderful. Unfortunately the piece was delivered with some dents and minor scratches which was a bit disappointing.
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DESK IS GOOD QUALITY WE WERE PLEASED WITH THE QUALITY OF THE DESK WE BOUGHT. IT WAS WELL PUT TOGETHER AND DESIGN AND COLOR FIT IN VERY WELL WITH THE ROOM.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice desk It is pretty, feels solid. One flaw--the desk doesn't open quite flat, it is slanted a little. I don't know if it will open flat as it is used more (has vacuum-type hinges).
Date published: 2011-12-19
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_210
  • loc_, sid_MO196, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary - Standard
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here.
  2. Login/Register for convenient access to your Gift Registry and Wish List.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]