Top_Nav_v2_Font
Shipping To: ???HEADER_COUNTRY_SELECTOR_ENABLED???
1.800.536.7551 Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300
 
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $6.00 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Eastman Secretary - Standard is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 206.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well constructed This desk is wonderful. The wood is thick and the drawers slide out easily. The bottom drawer is roomy and the small drawers on inside are great for pencils and desk essentials. The metal rods that hold the fold down lid are strong and move beautifully. I couldn't be happier. And the price is great.
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Desk I had been looking at this desk for quite some time and when I saw it go on sale I jumped on the deal. So glad I did. I received it in perfect condition. Actually, it exceeded my expectations, as I love the look, quality, and size of this desk. It has so much storage space, but the overall size is compact, just right for a small space. I would advise anyone thinking about this desk as I was, to purchase it. You won't be sorry.
Date published: 2012-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit and looks We bought this Secretary for our cottage in Maine were space is not in abunndance. We needed something to keep the laptop and paperwork in, that did not take up too much space. This cabinet (ours is cream colored) is good looking, well made and a perfect fit for our use. ELM & PNM League City, Texas
Date published: 2011-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with it. Came assembled perfectly, and looks great. Very functional. We are very happy with it.
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great desk! I have been looking for a small self contained desk and file to have in the bedroom. The Eastman Secretary is small but well organized for the size it is! I decluttered my bedroom into this piece of furniture. It is well put together and the delivery men were very polite. Thanks for the great desk!
Date published: 2011-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful!! Packaged very well!! Beautiful and great quality!!
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JUST EXACTLY WHAT WAS NEEDED! This secretary turns out to be the best thing that happened to me this year! I have a townhouse that has a a kitchen, living room and dining room space that is kinda all together....my granite counters in the kitchen are beautiful but I could hardly ever see them cause I had so much stuff on them...important everyday stuff like keys,the newspaper, mail, hair elastics, pens & pencils, scissors, tape and on and on. I was always trying to find the perfect basket to contain a lot of it but there was always overflow. Until I ordered this secretary...it is absolutely perfect and is small enough that it fits my space but does not overwhelm it. It is very well made. I have other pieces from Ballard so I knew about their legendary packing as well... I have no issues whatsoever with the bottom drawer coming open like a previous reviewer but I can tell you if you don't shut it completely that would happen because the drawers are on very smooth glides and are a delight to open and close. The price for the value is outstanding. My boyfriend when I first showed him what I was getting said..."Oh I am sure we can find one locally, cheaper." I really didin't want to waste my time but I humoured him because I wanted him to know that I valued his imput! So we looked everywhere...I took pictures of everything but every single one of the secretaries we looked at was more expensive and didn't have all the features of the eastman...I finally just said...honey I'm ordering the one from Ballard cause it's just what I need and the price is outstanding. When we received it he was very surprised at how well it was made and packaged...It's not the end of our love story but it is the end of this review and we both give it 2 thumbs up!
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid construction. Looks great next to my cream cabinets in the kitchen. The counter stool item #ST233 works well with the desk as it sits a little higher.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality piece of furniture I love this secretary, it is well built, the size is perfect for the location in my guest room - not too deep, but the drawer sizes are large enough for storage. I purchased the off-white painted secretary and the color matches the other furniture in the room.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a small bedroom This secretary replaces a large vanity in my bedroom. It provides lots of storage in its compact design. I store toiletries, electronics (including my laptop), files, and more, all in one space-saving place. We picked it up at the local Ballard's. It was very well packed and well made, excellent quality. The fold down desktop is not suitable for use with a standard chair so you'll need a chair with adjustable height. The doors and drawers open and close easily. You can feel the quality when you open them. We had difficulty placing the special order at the store due to computer problems but the staff was very polite and called me when they resolved the issue. The customer service at the store was fantastic. The sales staff was very knowledgeable, friendly, and quick to assist. They actually looked like they enjoyed working there and their attitude made you enjoy the whole retail experience.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Piece This desk is exactly what I have been looking for. I wanted something that had a hanging file drawer which this does. Also I wanted an attractive secretary desk with this feature. This was impossible to find at any local stores. I was so pleased when I saw it at a friends home and she was pleased with it and the way it was shipped. I did not hesitate in ordering if for my self. I was impressed with how well it was packed when it arrived.
Date published: 2011-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful desk. Love the file drawer. We were looking for something compact but with plenty of storage, especially for the family files. We also wanted something that could 'hide' all the paper that collects in our household from bills, etc. This desk more than fit the bill. We got the black w/ grey interior and it looks fantastic. It arrived well packaged and on time. The only complaint is that it should come with instructions on how to unpackage without damaging it. We had to be very careful when opening the box.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great desk I ordered the white one 16 years ago. Recently I wanted a finished wood desk, so pleasantly surprised to find they still had them at Ballard! It is so nice to have it delivered already assembled & in perfect condition.
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was hoping it would be. All the positive reviews are correct. I've ordered from Ballard before, so knew I can trust them to provide quality products at a fair price. The Eastman Secretary fits perfect on my limited wall space, yet provides an abundance of storage & organizational space for it's relatively small size. The matierals used to build it are better than I thought it would be. This is a quality piece of furniture, not a temporary quick fix that might get put in a garage sale someday. I'm thrilled with it!
Date published: 2011-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice! This desk is well put together, the hinge on the upper main door opens and closes the door slowly and the bottom files drawer has a nice rolling hinge system. It came packaged nicely to protect everything. I got the off white color which I normally wouldn't get but I really like it. Love it and would recommend it!
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this desk The moment I saw this desk I knew it was perfect for the small space we are trying to furnish. I love the color, amount of storage and the fact that the bottom drawer is for files. The piece was very well packaged and you definitely need two people to do the work. It ends up being a lot of garbage but its fine. I would highly recommend this piece to anyone looking for a desk.
Date published: 2011-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The desk is very nice. I was very pleased when it arrived as it was fully assembled. That was a great surprise. The desk is well made and looks just like the one on the web. I especially like that you can close it up so that it always looks nice.
Date published: 2011-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not too big, not too small, perfect for what I need, good storage and pretty to look at. Love it, not too big, not too small, perfect for my needs and good to look at.
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality piece I love this desk. solid, sturdy. hinges on fold down table very strong. Built in hanging files nice bonus. fits in sitting area of bedroom perfectly. packaged well.
Date published: 2012-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 stars I looked at the Eastman secretary for a long time before purchasing. I was nervous about buying a piece of furniture online, however I'm so glad that I did. It has great features and plenty of space for a laptop. It's the perfect desk for me to keep everything organized. I do think Ballard's shipping charges are excessive but I used a coupon so that I helped.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Piece My son has a queen bed, which doesn't leave space for much more. This piece is exactly what we needed to provide some drawer space and a homework area. It is well built and very heavy. The drawers slide nicely & the desk front doesn't slam. It really looks nice in the room!
Date published: 2012-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Our kitchen! Love it - just the right size, drawers glide perfectly, made very well. 1st time buying from Ballard Designs - would definitely do it again. The packaging is extensive, but protects it from shipping issues. Delivery was great too! Advance notice and very helpful through the whole process! Thanks so much!
Date published: 2011-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with the Eastman Good looking. And arrived without a scratch. Happy with the unit.
Date published: 2012-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am using this in a small business office ... ... that I use for therapy (~ 100 sq. ft.). In order to keep space open for people while counseling, yet have desk space at other times, this is a delightful piece of furniture! It provides ample storage space (including a bottom drawer for hanging files) that is priceless for me! It came wonderfully packaged (no damage!) although coordinating with the movers was a real dance (they only let you know the delivery window the night before so I had to reserve a whole day; then arrived :45 before the window so I had to scurry down the road to meet them). I will try to add a photo once my new office is fully furnished.
Date published: 2015-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for a small desk. I really enjoy my new desk. It fits in the small space and I can keep everything on the desk. When company comes over, I just close the front. I also like the way it opens-slowly because of the piston arms on each side. It has class.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great desk Love the slow opening hinges on the door. Packaged very well.
Date published: 2012-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for small spaces We actually bought this "desk" as a TV stand for our bedroom because we needed to get our TV up higher. It worked out perfectly for that, and the desk is beautiful with great storage. Drawers close solidly. The brown does have a lot of red, but it's a beautiful color, and it blended in with our furniture. Beautiful piece of furniture!
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected The secretary desk arrived promptly and packed very well to assure it would not be damaged in delivery. The piece, though compact, provided even more storage than I expected. The hinge was quite strudy and the writing surface plenty big for a laptop or to pay bills, etc..
Date published: 2011-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect small desk I bought the cream color for a small corner in our condo where we had to have a desk. This one is perfect - well designed to make the most of every inch and excellent construction. The drawers open smoothly and the pull-down desk area is solid and well supported. There is a hole for cord management in the rear. The bottom drawer includes rails to use as a legal or letter file. I love it and now am looking at the larger one for another room.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful piece of furniture Bought this desk to fit with an off-white bedroom set as a home office. It matches perfectly. Made well. Looks beautiful. Has lots of space to fit all of my work odds & ends. Came fully assembled. Highly recommend this versatile desk.
Date published: 2015-11-08
  • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_206
  • loc_, sid_MO196, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary - Standard
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here.
  2. Login/Register for convenient access to your Gift Registry and Wish List.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]