Top_Nav_v2_Font
Shipping To: ???HEADER_COUNTRY_SELECTOR_ENABLED???
1.800.536.7551 Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
ICAT
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300
 

Eastman Secretary - Standard

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $6.00 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Eastman Secretary - Standard is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 214.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect small desk I bought the cream color for a small corner in our condo where we had to have a desk. This one is perfect - well designed to make the most of every inch and excellent construction. The drawers open smoothly and the pull-down desk area is solid and well supported. There is a hole for cord management in the rear. The bottom drawer includes rails to use as a legal or letter file. I love it and now am looking at the larger one for another room.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful piece of furniture Bought this desk to fit with an off-white bedroom set as a home office. It matches perfectly. Made well. Looks beautiful. Has lots of space to fit all of my work odds & ends. Came fully assembled. Highly recommend this versatile desk.
Date published: 2015-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it love it I have had this piece now for several years and still love it. The hubs has his man-cave and I have a small room for my space and the Eastman Secretary fits perfectly. The two bottom drawers are really spacious. I use this secretary for correspondence to store the Christmas cards, greeting cards, notecards, etc., and more. Love it!!
Date published: 2011-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great writing desk I love this desk ~ I bought it in the oak, and it looks great. The only downfall is that the drop front creaks a little when it's open if inconsistent pressure is applied, but a laptop computer is heavy enough to alleviate the problem for the most part. As well, an adjustable chair is necessary, as a standard-height chair is too low. That all said, I'm still very happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what we wanted This desk was perfect for what we were looking for. it fit perfectly into the smaller space we were looking to cover. This was the only one we saw of its kind through a lot of searching. The desk actually has a lot of room for such a small profile. It came with no issues looked great out of the box. Once thing I really like is that it has "feet that it rests on instead of the wood. this made it really easy to maneuver. If I had any minor complaint, it would be that the desk was a little higher than I wanted for the chair I'm pairing it with.
Date published: 2011-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit! We ordered the off-white secretary for the living room. It arrived well packaged in a big box, fully assembled. It's a sturdy, heavy piece with quality hardware. We use it as a laptop station, and the flip-down desk is higher than a normal desk so you may need a higher chair. We wanted something practical but stylish, and this is perfect!
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for a smaller space Pleasantly surprised at the heft, quality, and design of the new Eastman Secretary. Came thoroughly packaged and protected without a hitch. I was worried that it might be damaged from the long shipping trip, but it was perfect. Only small drawback is a strong smell of varnish which has dissipated a bit each day since the desk's arrival. It is a beautiful, quality piece and fits the bill 100%. I needed a desk for a small space in my apartment. I couldn't be more pleased.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been waiting for the Eastman Secretary The Eastman Secretary is perfect for my needs. It fits in our bedroom does not take a lot of space. It's is tall enough and the width is great. I placed my printer and pictures etc. on top. More space that I expected. It is a solid piece and the color(old world brown) works with our bedroom furniture. When I opened the drop down leaf it slowly goes down into place. I have been chasing this item for awhile. When it went on sale, I got it. Very Very Happy.
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great product I was a bit skeptical about ordering furniture online, however, after reading all the great reviews I decided to go ahead. I was not disappointed. all the reviews were right. This is a well built desk. It was packaged extremely well and arrived as promised. Awesome....
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm very happy with the quality of this desk. I looked for a long time to find a secretary desk with a file drawer to fit in a space only 32" wide. This is the only one I could find but it isn't cheap. I waited for the 15% off sale and then succumbed. I'm very happy with the quality. It's very sturdy and the drawers and hinges work well. File drawer hardware is stapled under the bottom of the unit for those who can't find it. I just cut the straps rather than trying to remove the staples. There is indeed lots of Styrofoam and cardboard to dispose of after unpacking. Mine arrived in perfect condition. The nice delivery man wheeled it to the middle of the dining room so unpacking it there and sliding it into place worked well. It's heavy!! I don't sit at it so the height of the desk part isn't an issue for me. It's more for storage. I LOVE having the file drawer. The unit was described well on the web site with pictures and words. There were no surprises and I'm very happy with the desk.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In-Home Delivery is WORTH It! I agree with all the other favorable reviews of this perfect piece: it's exactly as described in the photos and specs (thanks for adding that detailed sheet on-line). Most of our furniture are true antiques, but this fits well in a small guestroom as desk/drawers for frequent weekenders. Trying to save $100, I opted for the basic delivery. (Which by the way, is difficult to arrange if you work and aren't home all day long!) However as others noted, that is one hot mess! It took several hours to wrest it from it's careful packing, 3 giant plastic bags of foam + several piles of cardboard, and several vaccuumings to track down all the little static styrofoam pieces. (A month later, I'm still finding a few, and believe me - I was fanatical!) In the end I gave the neighbor boys $20 to help me wrangle it upstairs! I HIGHLY recommend you upgrade to the in-home delivery service! Let them cart away all that stryo & cardboard recycling, place it carefully where you want it, and make your whole experience really sweet!
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Function Meet Arrived perfectly as it was packaged so very, very well. Impressed with the quality of the construction and the finish. It's the functional piece I had wanted. The piece is totally a reference for Ballard's quality. Excellent.
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & practical desk We ordered this in the rubbed black finish for our living room. It is the perfect size and has a lot of storage space and room for file folders. While it says it is made for a laptop, we have pc monitor and keyboard on it. It is well made and sturdy.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Eastman Secretary Desk met all my expectations and more. I am very pleased with the desk. What I thought I would receive was exactly what came. I was also very impressed with the packaging of the product for shipping. I think that it was packed so well that any normal handling of the product and even aggressive handling should not harm the item.
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy and long lasting This desk is exactly what I was looking for. I wanted something built strong with solid wood and not that flimsy warping fake wood. I hate spending a lot of money for a piece of furniture that feels cheap, and this desk IS worth it! It feels like its going to be something I can pass down to my kids one day. Its so hard to find furniture built to last these days. I am happy to say that this desk is one of them. And its beautiful looking in my small living room too!
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Efficient, stylish desk for small spaces! This desk fit nicely in my laundry room. My son does his homework at the desk, and I organized my kids and my papers and school supplies. A great value that is stylish too.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality furniture Quality furniture that was ordered for a female physician office. Delivered when promised by workers that cared about handling the furniture with care when unpacking.
Date published: 2011-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size I love my new Eastman Secretary. The color is well represented as rubbed cream. It is just the right size in our new "downsized" home where this desk and dining room table and chairs coordinate together in a fairly small area. The desk top is higher as indicated in other reviews. I was able to resolve the issue by purchasing a Farmhouse Cushion, also from Ballard Design. It gives me just enough height to feel comfortable working at my laptop.
Date published: 2012-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect desk for a small space! I love this product! I set it up right away and it's already become a 'command center' for my family of 5! I have had so many people say they love it - and I have already had 2 friends purchase it. Great piece!
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Meets our needs! This secretary fits underneath our stairs and is a perfect place for mail, laptops, iPads, and phones. The file drawer at the bottom makes organizing easy and fun! Having this piece has made it possible to free up lots of other storage areas in the house. We are very happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This piece is both functional and beautiful in cream. I chose to put this in my bedroom for my personal items. Not only is it beautiful to look at, it serves me well. I'd recommend it to anyone for any living area of the house.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the Eastman Secretary is exactly as prsented. we are decorating a den and the Eastman secretary fits in beautifully. it is exactly as was presented in the catalog. the size is perfect and color matched other pieces in the room. the quality is excellent. I like the slow -closing drawers. the amount of drawers is also just right. I couldn't have designed it better. I was worried ordering such a large piece of furniture without seeing it in person , but I am so glad I did. extremely happy with it !
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully finished and very well built. What a great purchase! I love this secretary. It has lots of space...great for my laptop and all the room necessary for bill paying and the file drawer is perfect for completing the job. This item was packed so well...no chance for damage.
Date published: 2012-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect desk for small spaces! This desk has a lot of storage for its compact size. It arrived in a very, well packed box. I especially like the file cabinet in the bottom drawer.
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded my expectations !! I received my Eastman Secretary today and it is absolutely gorgeous !! I've wanted this for a while - and saw it on sale and decided to get it now !! This is a beautiful piece of furniture !! We purchased it to go in our "Master On Main" bedroom - mainly to help with organization but also as a decor piece. It is better than I imagined !! Perfect size - quality is outstanding - just perfect !! I purchased the Olde World Brown - I imagined it just a shade darker but once I reviewed the item description - it is true as shown and actually co-ordinates beautifully with my existing furniture. I can see why it's a Best of Ballard item - you won't be disappointed with thus purchase !!
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality piece of furniture This product arrived in perfect condition, but be prepared for an excessive amount of packing materials. There is no assembly necessary and the quality of the wood is good. It fits perfectly in our small space. The bottom drawer is great for hanging files.
Date published: 2011-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well designed, well made piece of furniture I was pleasantly surprised to have a power outlet strip incorporated into the desk. Can also charge a Fitbit, cellphone, ebook, etc. It's perfect for a small space and is a great organizational tool.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing features! Ballard's secretary desk fits perfectly in our new home! The features- charging station, file drawer are perfect for our needs!
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Piece The Eastman Secretary is well built, appropriately finished and is a nice edition to a guest bedroom or apartment/ condo. The drop down front is sturdy and will last. The drawers slide easily and fit well. It was packed and shipped to not arrive damaged. The shipping time was a little more lengthy than we had anticipated, but, the courier was also there when they called and delivered as asked.
Date published: 2011-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost perfect I love my new secretary desk. I had a very small and challenging space for my personal office and this desk is perfect for the space. It is beautiful, sturdy, well-made and functional. The only inconvenience is that when the desk lid is in the open position, accessing the contents of the drawers is tricky. But, I have figured it out, made it work and I am really happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-11-04
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_214
  • loc_, sid_MO196, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary - Standard
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here.
  2. Login/Register for convenient access to your Gift Registry and Wish List.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]