Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 64440
false header 2 64440
  30 6 0 View All View All image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)

Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 176 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect size, attractive and functional We needed a small desk to fit in a small area. This one is perfect. It has a file drawer and several other drawers to keep odds and ends. I don't plan to actually sit and work at it but will use it mainly for storage and as a charging station. I love that the main compartment closes up and hides any clutter. Overall it is attractive and seems solidly made. The delivery people were very professional and were eager to please. I'm very pleased with this purchase. May 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! One of my best furniture purchases EVER! This little desk has more storage than I imagined. It is very well-made - the drawers don't wiggle around when you open them and the drop-down desk top has great hinges. There was a lot of packaging, but this ensured that my piece had no damage when it arrived. Very thankful that it was fully-assembled when I got it. I am very happy with my purchase and so glad I finally got it! (I had my eye on this for a couple of years before buying it.) May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprisingly well constructured For the price, this piece of furniture is very sturdy and well built. Fits into a small corner of our bedroom and yet opens up into a real work space. The bottom drawer acting as a file cabinet allows us to keep the work right there. May 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well made small desk I got this desk so I would no longer use my kitchen as an office. I got tired of getting my printer (and mail) in and out of the pantry. This little desk is perfect to keep my laptop, printer and all the stuff I use everyday. I love that I can just close it and hide away the ugly electronics. May 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great purchase! this is a great piece of furniture for a small space. I especially like that it can be used as a desk or serving station. May 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice style, good quality, color is really yellow. I like the style and it is good for a smaller space. The file cabinet drawer on the bottom is great. The color is really yellow although light it is still yellow. If I had known that it was yellow, I would have purchased the black unit. There is a small crack in the trim on one of the drawers and that is disappointing, too difficult to return and that is the downside of ordering online. May 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely LOVE it It's a compact home office. Plenty of room for everything! Replaces the filing cabinet, desk and storage cabinet for office/home supplies. May 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it Great purchase. Beautiful piece of furniture. Couldn't believe the price. It's perfect storage for what I needed. Love it. April 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a small bedroom This secretary replaces a large vanity in my bedroom. It provides lots of storage in its compact design. I store toiletries, electronics (including my laptop), files, and more, all in one space-saving place. We picked it up at the local Ballard's. It was very well packed and well made, excellent quality. The fold down desktop is not suitable for use with a standard chair so you'll need a chair with adjustable height. The doors and drawers open and close easily. You can feel the quality when you open them. We had difficulty placing the special order at the store due to computer problems but the staff was very polite and called me when they resolved the issue. The customer service at the store was fantastic. The sales staff was very knowledgeable, friendly, and quick to assist. They actually looked like they enjoyed working there and their attitude made you enjoy the whole retail experience. April 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by looks great, but does not stay shut I purchased this secretary about a year ago. It was just what I was looking for in a desk - some storage space, space for hanging folders, front that could close and hold back the mess, not too large. For the first few months, I was thrilled with my purchase. But now, several items are problematic. The bottom file drawer will not stay closed (it is half loaded with papers). It keeps rolling open. More importantly, the top will not stay shut - it keeps flapping open and the magnets are not strong enough to hold it up and shut. I use this desk with a laptop and spend much time with the laptop perched on the desk writing surface and as a result, the desk front is now warped, contributing to the fact that it will not close and stay shut. I would say that this is a lovely desk for those who use it very lightly. But for those who use it with a laptop, not so much. April 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful piece of furniture Delivered right to my doorstep. Great communication with delivery time. Came all in one piece (which is wonderful!). A lot of packaging, but totally worth it to not have to assemble anything. Great quality; absolutely beautiful. April 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautifully finished and very well built. What a great purchase! I love this secretary. It has lots of space...great for my laptop and all the room necessary for bill paying and the file drawer is perfect for completing the job. This item was packed so chance for damage. April 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what I was looking for. I have been trying to find a desk that I could hang file folders and also have drawers for other items. As soon as I saw this item in the catalog I knew I would work. April 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The desk is very attractive as well as functional. The large bottom drawer is perfect for filing important papers in. The desk is not large and cumbersome. it is perfect for a bedroom and has ample amount of space for papers, writing supplies, a file compartment and even a small computer. I ordered the antique white one and it is very nice looking. With the front panel being easy to put up and down, it has a neat appearance even if the inside is a little messy! March 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased! We love our new secretary desk. Beautiful wood and craftmanship, sturdy, and very functional. And the best thing was that we didn't have to put any of it together ourselves! March 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the wait!! This is a great desk, it was packed very well and is a nice looking piece of furniture. It fits just right in a corner in my bedroom. March 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Compact beauty and function Our door from the garage and driveway enters the dining room, so we needed a small, good looking piece to serve as the desk and drop station for keys, phones, paperwork, and laptop. It's perfect. March 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect desk for a small space! I love this product! I set it up right away and it's already become a 'command center' for my family of 5! I have had so many people say they love it - and I have already had 2 friends purchase it. Great piece! March 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secretary Desk This is the perfect size desk. I also see that it can be used for other uses, which over time, instead of losing use of it, I can use it for a wet bar or in a bedroom. I did read in reviews and I would agree, the one downfall, it is very difficult to find a chair to meet the level of where the desk folds out to-we are still looking for one. I'm sure we will find something, but it is definitely not an easy find. March 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very well made, high quality and really useful very well designed and the wood is high quality (I ordered the Belgian oak) and it is full of useful drawers, file holders, and cubbies and fits into a Manhattan apartment hallway. I looked and looked and this is by far the best I found and it is very well priced. It also arrived quickly and the men who delivered were incredibly helpful. February 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classic design. Great storage space. I love the classic design and look of this piece. It fits in my small spare bedroom without crowding. And yet, it provides so much great storage space. Love the file cabinet drawer and the cubby is big enough to store my laptop and other various office objects. January 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful piece! I love this secretary and so glad I found it! We wanted a nice desk for our sitting room so we could hide away the laptop and bills when we had company. I searched high and low for something nice that also had a lot of file storage and this is one of the only ones out there! Also it does come with hardware for hanglng files - someone in a previous review said it didn't but it indeed does. I'd say my only problem is it is a bit higher than desk height so I need to find a higher chair for when I do computer work. And I just noticed the tiny drawers on the inside are scraping a little but other than that it is a beautiful piece and came well packed - very happy! Thanks Ballard for making such a convenient multi-purpose piece of furniture! January 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Waited a long time to get this... I admired this at a friend's house several years ago, but due to the expense I held off on ordering it. I finally decided to pull the trigger when BD offered a small coupon. Overall, I'm glad I did. It fits very well in the space we have, and it's interior space is efficiently set up. Furthermore, it was the only desk this compact that offered a file drawer. Construction is pretty good. It arrived fully assembled and safely packed. Unpacking took some time, but wasn't as messy as others have indicated. My only complaint thus far is that within 2 weeks of purchase the drawers became misaligned, so they do not close flush with the unit. Not horrible, just annoying. Also, not sure if they have the height of the desk listed, but it is too high to sit at comfortably in a standard chair. January 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! Exactly what we were looking for. Small yet very functional and stylish. Well constructed and fits in with out other furniture. :) January 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for Our kitchen! Love it - just the right size, drawers glide perfectly, made very well. 1st time buying from Ballard Designs - would definitely do it again. The packaging is extensive, but protects it from shipping issues. Delivery was great too! Advance notice and very helpful through the whole process! Thanks so much! December 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected The secretary desk arrived promptly and packed very well to assure it would not be damaged in delivery. The piece, though compact, provided even more storage than I expected. The hinge was quite strudy and the writing surface plenty big for a laptop or to pay bills, etc.. December 23, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice desk It is pretty, feels solid. One flaw--the desk doesn't open quite flat, it is slanted a little. I don't know if it will open flat as it is used more (has vacuum-type hinges). December 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the job! The Eastman Secretary does its job very well: not too small, not too big and is very functional at the same time (lots of room for papers, laptop, and stuff). The brown is a bit red and the furniture is finished quite well. The packaging was the best I've ever seen and delivery service was also very good. All in all, I am impressed with it all because I have never bought a piece of furniture over the Internet before. I appreciate all the reviews because they were informative, spot on, and match my assessment for the most part. December 10, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quality product, but color is a little different than what appears on the web site The product color is more red than appears on the website, but the quality of the piece is so great we decided to keep it. December 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this desk! This desk is the perfect size for a corner in our family room to hold my laptop & other devices. I like that I can create a charging station in the desk through the grommet in the back & close the door to hide all the wires! The file drawer is wonderful at holding day to day files, especially the children's school papers, activity info & coupons. It's the perfect desk for light use. The construction is surprisingly solid for the price. It arrived well packaged. Lots of material to recycle. I am very pleased with this purchase! December 2, 2011
  • 2015-11-29 T10:36:39.345-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_176, tr_176
  • loc_en_US, sid_MO196, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Product:MO196-Eastman Secretary

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here
  2. Login/Register if you want to save your board for later