GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 79919
false header 2 79919
  20 5 20 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
1
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Ballard Designs {0} Services per unit {1} 04-Threshold Delivery,60-In Home Delivery,33-Oversized Delivery,ESB60-In Home Upgrade
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Durham Tall Bookcase 4.7 5 39 39
Love the rustic I love these bookshelves. I purchased two and am very pleased with the quality and the rustic look. It took my husband about 45 minutes to assemble one. It was complete with parts and holes for screws in the right places which is a pleasant surprise nowadays. The shelves looked just like the picture. March 1, 2014
Beautiful Metal and Wood Finish- Very Sturdy I am extremely happy with my Durham Bookcases. I purchased two to flank our television and they are the focus of the room. The distressed wood finish and the metal frame are very classic and blend with the other wood pieces in my room. The assembly was a little cumbersome, lots of nuts, washers and bolts, but the bookcases are very sturdy once assembled, so it was worth a little extra time. They were packaged well, with lots of foam protection. The delivery company called, scheduled a delivery date and were very helpful and professional, arriving on time as promised. All and all, I am very happy with my experience with Ballard Designs as a result of this purchase. December 8, 2013
It's a great bookcase! I wasn't sure I should order this bookcase, but I just wasn't finding anything else with the dimensions I needed and that would hold what I needed it to hold (all my books!). I guess I wasn't sure about the metal frame look. But, you know, it works. It is very nice and went together easily and I really like it. November 14, 2013
Solid Material I'm pleased with the quality. Solid materials were used. I'm female and I did assemble this by myself in about 2 hours. There are A LOT of screws (about 50), but no tools were necessary other than what came with the product. Also, I wish that stickers would not have been applied to the product as mentioned in previous reviews. It was difficult to remove and I did scratch the metal when I attempted to scrub it off with soap and water. October 28, 2013
beautiful and well made, but a pain to assemble This is a great product that resembles much more expensive bookcases and is attractive and well made. It was a bit of a pain to put together because it requires dozens of screws to assemble, though it's straightforward and I did do it all myself one morning. The thing that actually took me the most time was that for some reason, Ballard put 4 stickers on the product (2 on the wood, 2 on the metal) that would not cleanly peel off. As a result, I spent 2 hours scraping off the sticker residue after assembling the bookcase. October 5, 2013
Outstanding Value After a lot of research, I purchased three of these bookcases. I had intended to pay almost 3 times the price for another brand's bookcases, yet everything I've gotten at Ballard is such excellent quality for the price. These bookcases coordinate well with a very expensive coffee table I got years ago and they are beautifully made. Our customer service at Ballard was flawless, and the only thing to be aware of is that if you choose to assemble them yourselves, they are a bit more time consuming to assemble than one would imagine. My husband said it was worth saving $300 to "do it himself", but he complained the whole time! May 25, 2013
Exceeded my expectations I purchased two Durham bookcases for a small bedroom I'm turning into a den/home office. This is my first purchase from Ballard, and I couldn't be happier. As a pair, they make a strong design statement, but don't overwhelm the room. The clean, open frame keeps them from looking too heavy. The color of the steel and wood match the online photo. In fact, I think the wood looks better in person, and the steel has a nice, matte surface. Described as 'distressed,' the wood shelves certainly aren't beat up, but do have a nice surface treatment, looking like two to three planks put together. The contrast of the metal and wood looks great. Putting these together wasn't difficult, I did both by myself in about two hours. Only the frame gets assembled and the shelves drop in, then get screwed into place. The frame pieces fitted true and tight. The assembled shelf unit is sturdy and not exactly lightweight - I recommend assembling them at or near where you'll be using them. Be aware there is a fair amount of packing material - cardboard and styrofoam sheets and blocks. I had two so had to deal with twice as much to dispose of. Overall, a great looking product that's a prefect solution to my den decoration display and storage problem. May 13, 2013
unique This is a great item. I bought 2 of the tall ones and 1 shorter one to make a wall of bookshelves. I had the inhouse delivery for the tall ones, and given that they are on my 2nd floor, it was worth it. The smaller one, I unpacked myself and took it upstairs piece by piece. I also put them together myself. Except for a few mis-steps because I wasn't paying attention, all went well. And I'm a 65 year old woman. No problem. May 7, 2013
This book shelf is very sturdy I am very pleased with this book case. It was fairly easy to assemble. I'm a girl and I put it together all by myself! It's also a very solid piece of furniture. Something you don't always find in book cases. It will last a very long time. April 17, 2013
Look great, perfect size for my space I bought two of these Tall Durham Bookcases. These are very sturdy bookcases and look great in my home. My only complaints: take a while to put together, they came with a lot of packing materials that were hard to get into my recycle bin and the delivery company forgot to put them on the truck on my scheduled delivery day, so it took another half a day of waiting to get them. They look less rustic than I expected. But, for the price and fact that they are the perfect size to fit on either side of my fireplace I am very happy with them. Ballard customer service in helping me handle my problems was excellent too. March 30, 2013
Fantastic bookcase! I had been eyeing this bookcase for a while and decided to take the plunge when it went on sale. It was exactly what I was looking for! Very sturdy and has the shabby chic appearance that fits perfectly into my sitting room. It was extremely easy to put together, and not at all frustrating, as some DIY assemblies can be. All of the pieces were included, the holes all lined up, and the instructions were very straightforward. Very happy with this purchase! March 23, 2013
Fantastic piece! I ordered this bookcase for my home office and am so glad I did: it looks great and makes my office look clean and organized. I am using baskets for storage and have decorative pieces and stacked books for "interest". My husband assembled in about an hour. The piece is solid and sturdy. I am delighted with my purchase! March 23, 2013
Nicely finished product! This is our fifth purchase from the Durham collection and we’re very happy with the product. It was easy to assemble and the overall quality of the product and hardware was excellent. This product differs from the other 4 items we purchased (console, cocktail table, and 2 end tables) in that for the lower 4 shelves, the wood does not sit within the metal frame rails as it does for the others pieces, but sits above the frame rails (wood is notched at each of the 4 corners) so it’s not as clean a look as the other Durham products where the wood sits within the frame rails. Was not a deal breaker for us and it does showcase more of the warmth of the wood, but a point worth considering if you are planning to purchase. Overall, we are very happy with this piece and the collection! February 21, 2013
Great product Excellent bookcases for the price (I bought two on sale). Good quality, nice design, balance of modern and rustic. Really warms up my modern loft space. They took some time to put together - a two person job. But it was worth it. February 14, 2013
Perfect bookcase This bookcase was just what I was looking for. It was easy to put together (took about an hour by myself) and it looks perfect in my family room. simple, clean lines. I'm thinking about purchasing the coffee table to match. I would highly recommend this bookcase. February 7, 2013
Solid, easy to put together and beautiful Really happy with the overall look of this and the lower bookcases in our home. We purchased three lower and one tall Durham book cases for a large wall in a modern home that we want to have more of a beach like/relaxed feel and they did the trick. The room was transformed instantly. All bookshelves arrived in perfect condition, went together easily (my 9yo did most of the assembly) and look amazing. Couldn't be happier. February 7, 2013
Fine shelf for the price This assembled quite easy, the pieces arrived undamaged, and the holes lines up with reasonable ease. My only assistant during assembly was a hyper eight-year-old and we did fine. I like that the shelves are parawood, so no one needs to cut down some poor endangered critters house to make them. It looks good and seems very sturdy. It helps to have an allen wrench head for an ordinary screwdriver to assemble this (luckily I did) because some of the things needing tightened were placed so that the long arm of the allen wrench provided did not rotate freely. Something to bear in mind for product development going forward. February 6, 2013
Beautiful If you like the distressed look, this fits the bill. Sturdy and worth the price. February 3, 2013
Beautiful! I'm so pleased with this bookcase. It's great quality, easy to put together and is the perfect size. The top (finished side) of the shelves have a distressed finish on them, which gives the piece some character. It's very sturdy and overall an excellent value for the price. January 28, 2013
This shelving unit is everything I hoped for Purchased this as a Christmas gift for my newly married daughter and her husband. The size allows it to fit perfectly in a niche in their kitchen. It is attractive, sturdy, and well made...and they love it! January 4, 2013
Great bookcase for the price Absolutely love this shelf. Sturdy, easy to assemble and provides the rich look I was trying for. November 15, 2012
So happy I finally purchased! I've had my eye on this piece for some time, hoping it would go on sale. Woot woot ... 15% helps! I knew it would be a perfect piece for an alcove in my family room and it was. Hubby put together is less than 30 minutes and it is a heavy, quality, complimentary piece to our contemporary rustic taste. Worth every penny. Well done, Ballard Designs ... well done! October 8, 2012
Great bookcase This was very easy to put together, by myself. I was looking for something very sturdy and functional, this bookcase is perfect. Also fits very nicely with my decor, very happy with this purchase. October 1, 2012
Great purchase. The bookcase is great and the price really couldn't be beat. It's very sturdy and should last a long time. Be prepared to assemble although that too was easy. Overall a great purchase. September 26, 2012
Handsome design, good price I searched for a while to find something like this, and had several other bookcases that were similar in mind. For the price, it's a great find. The bookcase is well designed. I really like the salvaged feel of the wooden shelves. Assembly was not hard, just kind of a pain, and one of the shelves had holes drilled that did not line up with the steel frame. It still works fine and is quite study and modern. The only complaint for me was that it took so long to get delivered and I had to make several calls to Ballard and the independent delivery company to get a date scheduled. In the end it worked out fine and I am very happy with the purchase. June 5, 2012
amazing for kitchen i love it in my kitchen..it displays my cookbooks, copper cookware and canisters beautifully! it goes well with my stainless steel appliances and gives a gourment look to my kitchen. May 23, 2012
Solid construction, great look. Love the design and solid construction of the bookcase. Looks great in our guest room/office alongside the matching Durham desk. May 21, 2012
Just what I've been looking for Good things are worth waiting for. I've searched for an open shelf so my living room would not appear smaller. This rustic looking piece fits perfectly on my wall and with my decor style. I wanted a larger piece to off-set my 32" Ballard's clock. This is a good height for that and since it has a metal frame, there is no need for unwanted support x's on the back. As always- the quality is up to Ballard's standards as well as mine. May 8, 2012
Excellent I have been shopping for shelves for MONTHS. I bought this one based on the reviews. VERY pleased with the look and the dimensions. I use this in my master bathroom to store folded towels, baskets, etc. I could use one in every room! March 13, 2012
Quality construction I bought 2 of these to flank a tv unit and love them. Easy to assemble and beautiful wood and metal. Wish I could have several more! February 5, 2012
<<prev2 3 next>>
Product:MV272-Durham Tall Bookcase