Top_Nav_v2_Font
Shipping To: ???HEADER_COUNTRY_SELECTOR_ENABLED???
1.800.536.7551 Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300
 
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $6.00 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Claudette Headboard is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 143.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from King Size Headboard is Beautiful but you may need your drill! The headboard is really beautiful. It's solid wood and the large middle area is an inch thick. We got the king size in whitewash. I've been thinking about this purchase for well over a year and finally ordered. Overall I am very pleased. I knocked off a star because the headboard pre-drilled holes did not match up with our bed frame. My husband was able to drill through the original holes at a slant to get the headboard to fit our frame but it was a bit challenging to make it work. This seems to be a recurrent theme based upon prior reviews and I was hoping this would have been fixed after others feedback and waiting for a year to order. Still we love the final installed headboard and are very happy with our purchase. We couldn't be home for the delivery so a neighbor signed on our behalf and we unpacked the headboard ourselves. The headboard was packaged really well and there was no damage in spite of the box looking a little abused. We live in a remote area off a 3 mile dirt road and I'm impressed with the trucking companies Ballard uses. J B Hunt asked about access to our location and downsized their truck to get down our 3 miles of dirt road. This is our 3rd threshold item we've purchased from Ballard and the packaging and trucking/delivery is a big part of why I like this company not solely because of their unique and well made items. Now we just have to figure out what chest of drawers etc. will match!
Date published: 2014-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the headboard but it did not come with hardware. I love the headboard but it did not come with hardware.
Date published: 2011-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love The Headboard - Disappointed w/no hardware Beautiful headboard, but I feel that they should include hardware to attach this to a bedframe. I bought bolts to do this, but the holes don't line up correctly. I therefore have to hire someone to put my bed together! I feel that this is an unnecessary step that will cost extra and not something I was expecting. I do still love the headboard and I feel sure that once I actually get it together I will love it! It is much heavier than I thought it would be and I love the finish. I got the wood finish!
Date published: 2011-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from At the end of the day, you get what you pay for! DOES NOT FIT THE STANDARD FRAME!!! You get what you pay for! It's pretty but one can definitely tell it's not a refined piece. I've never purchased a bed or headboard where a standard frame doesn't work properly. I'm sure we can make it work with a few bandaids and paper clips but what an inconvenience. Not sure the price is worth the hassle but my daughter really likes it.
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very nice headboard; did not include necessary mounting hardware Love the headboard, rustic and charming. But there was no hardware included to mount the headboard to the bedframe (king-sized). Also, the pre-drilled mounting holes in the headboard do not align with the holes on my standard bedframe. If not for these two faults, I would have given this product 5 stars.
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from no hardware Found out it's a B D policy to NOT include hardware on items that require mounting on something in your home. So it's leaning against the wall until I can hire someone to attach it. Would not have purchased this piece had I known.
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It suits our room. It is a rustic headboard and I do like it. It disturbed me that the woods vary so much that the boards give a stripe appearance. The finish also varies. The curved wood along the edge of the flat panel is shinny while the flat panel and sides have a mat fininsh. Also, the holes to attach the bed frame are drilled for a Cal King. We have a regular king, so my husband had to go purchase a drill in order to attach the frame to the headboard. I am going to try and stain the lighter boards to match the rest of the wood.
Date published: 2011-10-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would love some hardware I had been wanting this headboard since I first saw it introduced in the catalog. I finally made the purchase and was excited when it finally arrived. The headboard itself is great—exactly as I had imagined. What I'm not thrilled about is that this product does not come with the appropriate hardware to attach it correctly to a bed frame. Being that I'm not much of a DIY-er, I have absolutely no idea what to purchase! With an item at this price point, I don't think I should have to make a trip to the local hardware store!
Date published: 2012-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from UNIQUE, ATTRACTIVE BUT DAMAGED MY HEADBOARD ARRIVED DAMAGED. IT WAS VERY WARPED AND THE RIGHT SIDE PROTRUDED 2-3 INCHES FURTHER FROM THE WALL THAN THE LEFT. MY HANDY HUSBAND HAD TO SOMEWHAT REBUILD IT TO MAKE IT WORK. OTHERWISE, IT IS CUTE AND UNIQUE AND GOES WELL WITH MY DECORATING. IF YOU ARE WILLING TO SETTLE FOR SOME PROBLEMS, THEN BUY IT.
Date published: 2012-06-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful but too many tweaks required I love the style of this headboard. Styling and finish are very true to the photos. I think I've been able to create a great new look for my room BUT I've had to improvise quite a bit to get the king size headboard to work. First, as many others have written, the pre-drilled holes in the headboard do not line up with a standard king frame. Even if they did, the headboard would be too low for my taste. I have a plush but not pillowtop mattress -- pretty standard for king beds these days, I would think. When even standard pillows (not euro-sized) are propped against the headboard, the beautiful curved sides get hidden. To remedy this, I had to elevate the headboard by 6 inches. Unfortunately, this causes the useless pre-drilled holes in the legs to show above my bedskirt, so I've done my best to paint and install plugs for those. Given the improvisations, the headboard cannot be mounted to the frame of my bed but instead to the wall. This is fine but not what I envisioned. Overall, the bed looks very good and I receive a lot of compliments on its uniqueness and style. I just wish that, out of the box, the legs had been 6-8 inches taller with properly placed holes and hardware for mounting the headboard to my bed.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some kinks While I do love the design shape of this headboard I was disappointed to see that when I ordered 2 beds as "twin beds" in a guestroom, they did not design the bird to be installed on left and right options. It looks ridiculous to have both birds facing the same way so I just took it off the 2nd headboard as the room is better with only one bird. Also, the drill holes for the frame mount are missing on one headboard. The one that has drill holes does not fit my standard frame that came with my mattress. (perhaps the store sells a different height that works better but good chance you will have to drill your own holes.
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No Hardware! Are you kidding? Nice looking quality headboard but no hardware. At least have your customer service people recommend the diameter and length of the bolt or screw required. Well, it's off to the hardware store.............
Date published: 2011-09-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful headboard, Terrible packing, Terrible Fit-up This is an absolutely beautiful headboard and appears to be a well made piece. It looks great and really adds a lot to the room. However, like others, I experienced that the holes simply didn't line up to a standard bed frame, and it was a little shorter than expected once installed with pillows, etc.. In most reviews, you will see that it was no big deal and "my husband" drilled new holes or did this or that. In this case, I am the husband -- and let me tell you it was a pain. I was not able to drill new holes because they were just close enough and had to elevate the headboard with a little custom wood work. Additionally, for the cost of a piece like this, I expect to "pull a string" and unwrap. This looks like it was packaged by teenagers. It was well protected, but it literally took 25 minutes just to get it out of the box. Really unfortunate.
Date published: 2014-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just as pictured! I had my eye on this headboard for a long time, and am not at all disappointed in its looks. It's beautiful! However, the pre-drilled holes do not fit a king size bed frame, but rather a CA king, or proprietary frame, so I had to kind of jerry-rig the board so I don't knock holes in the wall behind it!
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very pretty but not enough whitewash I ordered the whitewash headboard in a twin. It is gorgeous; however, it has A LOT less whitewash than shown in the picture. The headboard I received is light wood color with a light whitewash finish. Very pretty but does not coordinate well with the furniture we previously purchased. I would return it, but I really don't feel like going through the hassle.
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice Headboard, Installation Headache Nice Headboard but the holes do not line up with the height of a standard bed frame plate. Also, the holes on the headboard are large and require 3/8" wood screws which don't fit thru the slots on a standard frame. Mod plates won't help because their slots aren't any bigger. Probably have to install with plastic fittings for smaller screws that actually fit. No hardware included with the head board.
Date published: 2011-12-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Love it but wouldn't order anything else due to shipping charges I really love the headboard but $114 to deliver was an overcharge I feel. So that will make me think several times over before I buy something else. You really have some beautiful things but the extra charges make you cancel the items in your cart.
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NO MOUNTING HARDWARE!! Very attractive piece of furniture but it comes with NO MOUNTING HARDWARE and the distance between the upright supports is wider than the distance between the mounts on a standard king-size bedframe. We have had the same standard king bedframe for 30 years and have had 3 previous headboards - all came with mounting hardware and all were sized to fit the mounts on our standard frame. This one does not fit. It is not even possible to drill new holes into the headboard uprights because they only overlap the frame mounts by a quarter inch. My suspicion is that this is a California King headboard, not a standard King - but it is not sold as such. We jerry-rigged a mounting solution but this should not happen with any item, let alone one that costs this much. Customer service supervisor was very solicitous but they cannot mitigate the fundamental problem. Buyer beware!!!
Date published: 2011-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed The picture and previous customers descriptions of this headboard indicate that the quality was great. However, when my headboard arrived, the segments along the side rails and part of the main panel were filled in with putty that was already cracking. Because the shipping took so long and it would have been a hassle to ship it back, and it was my daughter's Christmas gift (now it is February) we didn't go to the trouble to return it. Especially since we were dubious as to what the next one would look like. Also, the doweling for the bird was broken upon arrival and it had a big splat of stain on its back that looked like bird poo. I am going to try to get the company to replace that piece. The other customers' comments about the screw holes not lining up was accurate as well. This was my first time ordering from Ballard Designs.
Date published: 2012-02-05
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_143
  • loc_, sid_MH100, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
Product:MB401-Claudette Headboard
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here.
  2. Login/Register for convenient access to your Gift Registry and Wish List.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]