GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  20 5 20 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
1
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

Sale
Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Ballard Designs {0} Services per unit {1} 04-Threshold Delivery,60-In Home Delivery,33-Oversized Delivery,ESB60-In Home Upgrade
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Claudette Headboard 4.5 5 140 140
NO MOUNTING HARDWARE!! Very attractive piece of furniture but it comes with NO MOUNTING HARDWARE and the distance between the upright supports is wider than the distance between the mounts on a standard king-size bedframe. We have had the same standard king bedframe for 30 years and have had 3 previous headboards - all came with mounting hardware and all were sized to fit the mounts on our standard frame. This one does not fit. It is not even possible to drill new holes into the headboard uprights because they only overlap the frame mounts by a quarter inch. My suspicion is that this is a California King headboard, not a standard King - but it is not sold as such. We jerry-rigged a mounting solution but this should not happen with any item, let alone one that costs this much. Customer service supervisor was very solicitous but they cannot mitigate the fundamental problem. Buyer beware!!! May 9, 2011
Cool bed I ordered the wood color bed and for the price I'm very impressed. The packaging was crazy good. Maybe too good. Even though there are holes predrilled be prepared to drill 4 more for the bolts, nuts and washers that you'll have to buy yourself to attach it to your frame. I think a previous reviewer suggested 5.5 inch bolts which worked well. I think the 5 inch might be enough though. The wood is very hard so be patient with the drilling. There are cross supports on the back of the headboard so you have to place it up against a wall. I would have given it a 5 star review but the stain job is a little messy. I have several spots - some larger than a half dollar where the stain sat and left darker blotches. They're of course in the most noticeable part right in the middle of the headboard. The bed is for a spare room so it's not that big a deal and certainly not worth trying to get a replacement. After all it did take a few hours just to unpack and would have been impossible to repack and send back. Overall it was well worth the money I paid. I think I did get it for 15 to 20 percent off the sale price. I am very happy with it. February 16, 2012
Sturdy and dramatic. This is the second Claudette headboard I have purchased. It will be used as the second queen bed in a single bedroom. I was disappointed that the first was very white, but the second one just purchased has a grayish tint. I will need to paint the headboards to make them a matched set. Other than this inconvenience, the quality is very good. May 12, 2014
UNIQUE, ATTRACTIVE BUT DAMAGED MY HEADBOARD ARRIVED DAMAGED. IT WAS VERY WARPED AND THE RIGHT SIDE PROTRUDED 2-3 INCHES FURTHER FROM THE WALL THAN THE LEFT. MY HANDY HUSBAND HAD TO SOMEWHAT REBUILD IT TO MAKE IT WORK. OTHERWISE, IT IS CUTE AND UNIQUE AND GOES WELL WITH MY DECORATING. IF YOU ARE WILLING TO SETTLE FOR SOME PROBLEMS, THEN BUY IT. June 30, 2012
This headboard is exquisite! I've loved this headboard since I first saw it, but needed king size. I was so excited when I went to the website and saw that it was finally available in all sizes. I ordered the whitewash finish on the spot, and I'm so pleased that I did! I received the headboard in about 3 weeks. The packaging was superb, not a scratch on it. It looks so beautiful in my bedroom, and the bird is just charming. This is a very tall headboard, with a strong presence, so be warned, it may overpower a very small room. If your room is large enough, don't hesitate, this is a fantastic piece! I did take the advice of another reviewer who said she used wood glue to secure the bird in place. My bird actually fit into the hole quite well, but better safe than sorry. May 15, 2011
Love it but wouldn't order anything else due to shipping charges I really love the headboard but $114 to deliver was an overcharge I feel. So that will make me think several times over before I buy something else. You really have some beautiful things but the extra charges make you cancel the items in your cart. December 15, 2013
no hardware Found out it's a B D policy to NOT include hardware on items that require mounting on something in your home. So it's leaning against the wall until I can hire someone to attach it. Would not have purchased this piece had I known. March 8, 2012
Very pretty but not enough whitewash I ordered the whitewash headboard in a twin. It is gorgeous; however, it has A LOT less whitewash than shown in the picture. The headboard I received is light wood color with a light whitewash finish. Very pretty but does not coordinate well with the furniture we previously purchased. I would return it, but I really don't feel like going through the hassle. February 6, 2012
Solid wood...very pretty. This is a beautiful and unique headboard. And the price is right! It's not easy to find high design and solid wood for a reasonable price. Thanks Ballard! May 9, 2014
Beautiful Bed, No Hardware I love this bed but it DOES NOT COME WITH ANY HARDWARE whatsoever. Also, the pre-drilled holes did not line up with my metal bed frame. I had to get a handy friend to come over and drill new holes. We also made several trips to the hardware store. This is not a 15 minute job. It's sort of an "assemble at your own risk" type of thing. The finish is nice but a lot more of the natural wood color shows through the whitewash than you can tell from online. Otherwise it looks great, it's unique and I'm happy with it. August 17, 2011
So adorable I got 2 twin headboards for my twins. I love the bird motif and the white wash. My only concern is there there was no hardware included. Adding that would be a plus.This is a concern for many who have bought this headboard. I did order the headboards in late March and did not receive them until August. I thought that was a bit much of a wait, however, I love having them now. The price is right and the quality is very good. I know I'll have them for many years. August 26, 2011
Beautiful construction The headboard is solid and strong. We found the holes for the bedframe to be high and had to saw about an inch off the bottom of the posts. Also, the holes did not go through to hold screws and bolts so we drilled through. Otherwise, a beautiful headboard. December 21, 2011
Whimsical! Love this headboard. Very whimsical and well built. I walk in the bedroom and smile each time I see it. March 1, 2012
It makes me smile! When I saw this headboard in the catalogue it was so whimsical I knew I had to have it. The removable bird is what makes this headboard so special. I even named it. After a hard day's work I can always count on it to put a smile on my face. It is also heavy and well constructed. March 16, 2011
Amazing Headboards. Love Love Love them!! I am so pleased with my purchase of the twin head boards. They are so beautiful. They are made well, and just give the room that I am decorating for my grandchildren the look I wanted. It took awhile to get my order but was well worth the wait. September 10, 2011
Claudette Headboard - queen size whitewash Received shipment today! Very excited to finally get this beautiful headboard after waiting 2-1/2 months. It is exactly as depicted online, and once again Ballard has met my expectation of purchasing a unique and quality product. The killer was the packaging. I weigh 102 lbs and struggled to get the headboard out of the packaging, and then to cut down the huge cardboard package so I could get it downstairs and into my garage for disposal. The headboard is now the featured attraction in my entry where it was delivered. Wish I had the option to pay extra and have such a heavy piece of furniture unwrapped and delivered where intended. Nevertheless, it doesn't detract from owning this beautiful addition to my new home. July 26, 2011
Love! Although the wait was long, it was worth it! This is a nice headboard! The room is beautiful! September 9, 2011
I love the headboard but it did not come with hardware. I love the headboard but it did not come with hardware. July 21, 2011
Great headboard. Fits perfectly. Exactly as expected. This headboard works perfectly in our space, is just as expected, and good quality. We chose it for a small room with high ceilings and to fit between windows that didn't quite allow for a queen bed. The tall height accentuates the high ceilings, and the sloped sides don't interfere with the windows. A couple of minor cons were that delivery was delayed, so it took a little longer to arrive than our usual Ballard experience, and it required a little fussing to make the pre-drilled holes work with our bed frame. Otherwise, great headboard. December 29, 2012
Beautiful - I love it! This headboard is gorgeous in real life! I was hesitant to order the headboard after reading all the reviews about how it did not have holes or hardware because it would be difficult for me to drill the holes myself. Much to my surprise when it came, the holes were drilled and the hardware was included! Yea! It took all of 30 minutes to set up from unpacking to putting the final pillows on. Easy! January 10, 2013
This headboard is solid, easy to attach to frame. This headboard is solid and easy to attach to a frame. April 14, 2014
Would love some hardware I had been wanting this headboard since I first saw it introduced in the catalog. I finally made the purchase and was excited when it finally arrived. The headboard itself is great—exactly as I had imagined. What I'm not thrilled about is that this product does not come with the appropriate hardware to attach it correctly to a bed frame. Being that I'm not much of a DIY-er, I have absolutely no idea what to purchase! With an item at this price point, I don't think I should have to make a trip to the local hardware store! November 1, 2012
Love The Headboard - Disappointed w/no hardware Beautiful headboard, but I feel that they should include hardware to attach this to a bedframe. I bought bolts to do this, but the holes don't line up correctly. I therefore have to hire someone to put my bed together! I feel that this is an unnecessary step that will cost extra and not something I was expecting. I do still love the headboard and I feel sure that once I actually get it together I will love it! It is much heavier than I thought it would be and I love the finish. I got the wood finish! August 11, 2011
Not as shown This is the 2nd one of these I have bought. One was a king size for a client and this is a queen for myself. The proportions are different than shown in online photos. The twin has a very high peak and dramatic angles. The others don't. Look carefully. The photos online show the headboard much higher than it actually is. It appears as though they have the headboard on top of a box or something because in reality, that much of the headboard doesn't show. The actual height of the top of the headboard is much lower than it is shown. Its pretty but very disappointed and I paid a big price. Also, if you choose not to use the included bird, there is no plug for the hole. I guess someone read the reviews and complaints about not including hardware because this one had it included. July 15, 2013
excellent I have always been in love with these headboards, but was waiting for the right time to make a purchase. I am very pleased with them. I ordered the two twins for my guestroom for my grandkids when they come to visit. My grand-children loved it, so did my daughter.. thank you. September 9, 2013
This product is of great quality. This headboard was ordered for my teenage daughters new bedroom. It is of great quality and was exactly what the description described. We are very pleased with this product. She is pleased with the comments she receives on it. The delivery company was very curtious and reliable. We have since ordered many other products. We refer you to many friends. I appreciate the quality of the products. Quality is hard to find in most retail stores today. Thank you! May 20, 2012
Beautiful King-sized headboard. Delivered on time. I am enjoying this beautiful King-sized headboard. It is well built and comfortable. I was dismayed to find no mounting hardware was included in the package and the holes drilled in the headboard did not line up with my standard King sized bed frame. However, the headboard is so sturdy and so ample that I was able to overcome this issue with a drill and some carriage bolts from the garage. This headboard is truly a masterpiece of hardwood such as one rarely finds anymore. I know I will enjoy it for years to come. Thank you, Ballard for this magnificent design. February 2, 2012
Claudette white washed headboard I love this headboard - its whimsical and makes a statement with the height (queen size). There is a problem with attaching to your bed frame but you just need to drill different holes - no problem!!! June 20, 2012
Completely Satisfied.... I was hesitant to order furnitire via the web, but could not find what I wanted in any local retail stores. So I bit the bullet and ordered. I am very happy with that choice. The headboards (I ordered 2) have the city/country look I was wanting, even looking better than pictured. They arrived in perfect condition, the delivery truck driver even brought them into the bedroom for me. They are now attached to the beds and taking center place in the room's decor. Good experience - I'll order via web again. October 13, 2011
Awesome Headboard Headboard really makes a statement. I ordered the King size and it came within 10 days. The delivery company was very efficient and timely. They called to set up a delivery day & time and the driver called me 30 minutes before he got to my house. He loaded the headboard in my gargage. The box is really really big and took me over an hour to unpack with all the staples. The headboard was securely packed and arrived without damage. It is very heavy and well made. You will need 2 people to get it in your room. I agree with all the other reviewers - no mounting hardware and the holes are not in the correct place to line up with the pre-drilled holes in the headboard. Overall, I am very pleased and the headboard really makes my bedroom complete. It reminds me of a French country home. I have purchased many items from Ballard and never been disappointed. They are a top quality firm. I was worried about purchasing something a large as this headboard and what to do if I did not like it - how to return it, etc. But after reading the reviews, I decided to take a chance and am very glad I took the leap of faith. Now off to the hardware store for mounting material. February 21, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Product:MH100-Claudette Headboard