GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 67921
false header 2 67921
  20 5 20 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
1
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

Sale
Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Ballard Designs {0} Services per unit {1} 04-Threshold Delivery,60-In Home Delivery,33-Oversized Delivery,ESB60-In Home Upgrade
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Claudette Headboard 4.5 5 140 140
So pretty and with all hardware needed! I received my headboard today (5 days delivered) it is exactly what I wanted! It is so whimsical like described in other reviews. BUT---- they have listened to all the reviews!!!! It came with 3 pre-drilled holes on each leg PLUS all hardware (4 bolts,washers, nuts) and I'm sure with the advice of another customer they drilled the holes all the way thru to make it sturdier!! Thank you Ballard Designs for listening to your customers! March 15, 2013
Couldn't be More Thrilled! This was my first order from Ballard Designs and I couldn't be more thrilled. As others have written, the headboard is more unique and beautiful in person and you will need to reconcile how to attach to your bead frame, but it is easy to do so. Don't confuse the hardware/holes issue with the quality of the product. The headboard could not be a higher quality. I ordered for a guest room and it makes the room. If you are contemplating like I did for months (not wanting to deal w a "miss" that is this large of a piece of furniture) order it, I guarantee you will love it in person! January 18, 2013
Some kinks While I do love the design shape of this headboard I was disappointed to see that when I ordered 2 beds as "twin beds" in a guestroom, they did not design the bird to be installed on left and right options. It looks ridiculous to have both birds facing the same way so I just took it off the 2nd headboard as the room is better with only one bird. Also, the drill holes for the frame mount are missing on one headboard. The one that has drill holes does not fit my standard frame that came with my mattress. (perhaps the store sells a different height that works better but good chance you will have to drill your own holes. March 21, 2012
Love it! Received the headboard in a timely matter. It was packed well and was in perfect condition. It did not come with any hardware to attach it to the mattress frame, but I was aware if this from reading other reviews. I purchased four 4.5" bolts, washers, and nuts at a hardware store. The headboard came with two holes predrilled part way through each of the bed posts, but we went ahead and drilled them all the way through for more support. The headboard is absolutely beautiful and very unique. I've gotten many compliments on it already. I am very pleased. December 26, 2011
I love it! This headboard looks fabulous against my dark grey bedroom wall. I did make a few adjustments--didn't care much for the dusty-feeling texture and also found the white a bit dark and not a good match for the woodwork in the room. It was an easy fix; just mixed a light glaze of the woodwork paint and brushed it on. It took less than half an hour and dried overnight. I'm more than satisfied with it, it's a knockout! September 10, 2012
Disappointed The picture and previous customers descriptions of this headboard indicate that the quality was great. However, when my headboard arrived, the segments along the side rails and part of the main panel were filled in with putty that was already cracking. Because the shipping took so long and it would have been a hassle to ship it back, and it was my daughter's Christmas gift (now it is February) we didn't go to the trouble to return it. Especially since we were dubious as to what the next one would look like. Also, the doweling for the bird was broken upon arrival and it had a big splat of stain on its back that looked like bird poo. I am going to try to get the company to replace that piece. The other customers' comments about the screw holes not lining up was accurate as well. This was my first time ordering from Ballard Designs. February 5, 2012
Not as tall as it looks I bought this headboard in King size. The finish is beautiful, the shape is lovely. However, the headboard is not as tall as it looks in the pictures. Euro Square pillows will completely cover it so all you can see is the very top so what's the point? I thought about sending it back, but I like the look so much I'm going to figure out a way to raise it up even if I have to attach it to the wall. All in all, I'm pleased. I just wish it were taller. October 13, 2011
Whimsy and Fun :) My wood finish King headboard arrived today two just weeks after placing my order! The box was huge and had some dings so I was a bit concerned. It was packaged very well and is in perfect condition. The shape is so beautiful and I love the wood finish. It is hard to find a headboard that is unique. My bird sits on it fine so I think I will just secure it with some kid's putty. That way if I move I won't damage it in the transport. I will add a block of wood to the inside of each leg and drill mounting holes through it. Shouldn't be too difficult. I do agree I wish it had the mounting bolts and holes included. July 13, 2011
I love it, it's so unique. I unexpectedly lost my husband a couple years ago and am now feeling "normal". I'm able to move on and this headboard is playing a big part in this process. I'm making the bedroom mine. I've downsized to a full and even w/ the queen size headboard, it looks great. I got the brown to match my other furniture. The best part is the bird. It's quirky and fits my personality. I can see my husband smiling and just shaking his head at me. thx. August 2, 2012
Perfect! The headboard looks perfect in one of our guest bedrooms. The headboard arrived in perfect condition thanks to the voluminous amount of packing material! My only complaint was that the headboard did not arrive until approximately two months after ordering! However, it was worth the wait as it looks exactly as I had hoped in the room. March 16, 2011
Beautiful headboard! The headboard is superbly built, beautiful and a unique addition to my bedroom. There is only one problem...the bird is a bit flimsy. It fell off and broke soon after we put the headboard on our bed. I glued it back to the headboard with wood glue and problem solved! March 16, 2011
Perfectly Wonderful!!! After reading the reviews, I was weary about ordering this bed. I loved the bed but was worried about not having the hardware and about the holes not being drilled in the right places. When I got the bed, the hardware was now included and the holes fit perfectly with my bed frame. I put everything together myself without my husband's help! This headboard is magnificent!!!! Order today, don't delay!! September 15, 2013
Make sure you measure...twice! Queen/Natural Wood: Beautiful craftsmanship, so unique-well worth the backorder wait time. Heavy, solid and very antique looking. The box delivered was HUGE, and the headboard is all one piece (it's completely assembled.) Hence, it wouldn't fit up the narrow stairway of our older farmhouse-eventhough we measured ahead of time. Enjoying it still as it sits in our office waiting for us to come up with a plan!..wouldn't consider returning it for even a second... June 3, 2011
Nice Headboard, Installation Headache Nice Headboard but the holes do not line up with the height of a standard bed frame plate. Also, the holes on the headboard are large and require 3/8" wood screws which don't fit thru the slots on a standard frame. Mod plates won't help because their slots aren't any bigger. Probably have to install with plastic fittings for smaller screws that actually fit. No hardware included with the head board. December 25, 2011
Just Gorgeous The headboard is stunning! It was well packed and included the hardware. It was a bit challenging installing it myself but not impossible. I searched for an unusual headboard for quite a while and couldn't find anything that really stood out. This one does! March 14, 2013
Affordable, Graceful Chic! I just love my new headboard (it's not attached yet because as so many reviewers said, the hardware was not included..but the holes are in the right place) I designed my whole bedroom around it and I'm not sorry. It's substantial yet graceful. The surface is very smooth...the whitewash goes with alot of different shades of white/beige. The only thing I'd say is that you wouldn't want to remove the bird...because there would be a big hole there...although you can. But why would you? It's so nicely done and not at all "cute". Totally fabulously satisfied with my purchase. October 2, 2011
My new headboard is the shining star in my beautiful bedroom on the river! I love my new Claudette Headboard. I bought the white-washed king headboard The height and the graceful curves along with the whimsical bird really make a statement in my bedroom. My home is new and on a tributary of the Intercoastal River. The walls in this bedroom are aqua, the floor is light oak, and the coastal-inspired woodwork is white. This headboard mixes beautifully with the newness of the room as well as the antique desk, commode (for a bedside table), and wicker rocker from my mother's estate. It was packed very well and arrived in perfect shape. May 22, 2011
Don't hesitate. this is a great. The price is well worth it and the headboard is beautiful When ordering from a catalogue, one is a little apprehensive. Don't be, when considering the Claudette Headboard. I chose it in white and am thrilled. It looks much more expensive than it is Even my husband was impressed (which is saying something). February 7, 2013
Quality Product The bed is even more beautiful in person than in the photos. The texture and color of the wood is gorgeous! Couldn't be more pleased with the headboard! April 20, 2012
Beautiful headboard. Very pleased with headboard. Looks almost just like the picture online, maybe a little more whitewash than picture shows. Just wish they would have included the hardware to attach headboard to frame. (After a couple of trips to the hardware store) the bed is exactly as I imagined January 8, 2012
beautiful and cant beat the price! i just love this headboard! it is nice and heavy and looks just like the photos. i chose the brown for a spare bedroom. i must have looked online at hundreds of twin beds or headboards and this was by far the cutest and most reasonably priced. i did have to purchase 4 bolts nuts, & washers and drill the 1/4" holes all the way through to attach headboard to frame as there were none provided. May 21, 2011
No Hardware! Are you kidding? Nice looking quality headboard but no hardware. At least have your customer service people recommend the diameter and length of the bolt or screw required. Well, it's off to the hardware store............. September 11, 2011
Beautiful headboard, Terrible packing, Terrible Fit-up This is an absolutely beautiful headboard and appears to be a well made piece. It looks great and really adds a lot to the room. However, like others, I experienced that the holes simply didn't line up to a standard bed frame, and it was a little shorter than expected once installed with pillows, etc.. In most reviews, you will see that it was no big deal and "my husband" drilled new holes or did this or that. In this case, I am the husband -- and let me tell you it was a pain. I was not able to drill new holes because they were just close enough and had to elevate the headboard with a little custom wood work. Additionally, for the cost of a piece like this, I expect to "pull a string" and unwrap. This looks like it was packaged by teenagers. It was well protected, but it literally took 25 minutes just to get it out of the box. Really unfortunate. February 2, 2014
BEAUTIFUL HEADBOARD! Beautiful! I fell in love with it when I saw it in the catalog and love it even more in my guestroom! This will be a life-long love affair! June 15, 2012
Gorgeous & Frustrating The headboard: GORGEOUS The fact the holes are drilled wrong: FRUSTRATING. I ordered this headboard because the problem of wrong drilled holes looked like it had been corrected as per some prior reviews. I can assure you it is not. It is so frustrating to spend close to $600 on something and have it not be right. I am keeping it because the look is exactly what I wanted. If you are not handy, or live with someone handy, or plan on finding someone handy to drill more holes, this isn't for you. If you don't mind the extra work...order on...it is a beautiful piece. The crazy part is why the company doesn't correct the problem with SO many comments about the holes. August 23, 2013
The design is outstanding... I purchased the king size headboard in the natural wood color. It was delivered in less than 4 weeks and it was carefully wrapped and packed! This well made headboard is exactly as pictured and the color is true to the picture. It is very slightly distressed and has a hand made appearance. I am extremely happy with it! It will be perfect in my bedroom at the beach but this headboard could fly any where! January 14, 2012
Everyone loves this headboard the minute they enter the bedroom! The design of this headboard is fantastic! The wood construction is very solid and although hardware is not included for mounting the headboard, the predrilled holes make it just a matter of visiting your hardware store for screws. Unfortunately, my bird's beak was broken on delivery, but could easily be repaired with a little wood glue. Make sure your trailer is large enough when picking up this headboard!! January 5, 2012
Big and beautiful This headboard is as expected. Rustic, in whitewash, with hints of pale tan in the whitewash and teeny bits of the wood grain peeking through. Like a piece of sun-bleached driftwood. It's every bit of 5'7" tall, so it is substantial, and so is the bird. It was well packed, and the bird was well packed in his own box. If you live in a place that has elevators, please know the measurement of the size you want to buy versus the size of your elevator. I have a queen, and the box was about 6' square and about 6" thick. It fit in my elevator on an angle. A king would not have fit! It does not come with hardware, but your bed frame will have it. It came with 3 pre-drilled holes per leg, to allow for the height of your bed frame attachment. There is a slight odor, probably from the white wash, not unpleasant, but I expect that to dissipate in time, now that it is out of the box. I also see no reason why it couldn't be painted a different color if you want. I'm very pleased with this purchase. February 18, 2012
Lives up to my high expectations. Absolutely gorgeous headboard. I expected alot from reading the other reviews and I wasn't disappointed. January 14, 2012
NO MOUNTING HARDWARE!! Very attractive piece of furniture but it comes with NO MOUNTING HARDWARE and the distance between the upright supports is wider than the distance between the mounts on a standard king-size bedframe. We have had the same standard king bedframe for 30 years and have had 3 previous headboards - all came with mounting hardware and all were sized to fit the mounts on our standard frame. This one does not fit. It is not even possible to drill new holes into the headboard uprights because they only overlap the frame mounts by a quarter inch. My suspicion is that this is a California King headboard, not a standard King - but it is not sold as such. We jerry-rigged a mounting solution but this should not happen with any item, let alone one that costs this much. Customer service supervisor was very solicitous but they cannot mitigate the fundamental problem. Buyer beware!!! May 9, 2011
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Product:MH100-Claudette Headboard