Top_Nav_v2_Font
Shipping To: ???HEADER_COUNTRY_SELECTOR_ENABLED???
1.800.536.7551 Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300
 
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $6.00 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Claudette Headboard is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 143.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from put a bird on it! As breathtaking as this bed is in the catalog, it doesn't come close to the beauty of this piece in person. If I had read the reviews beforehand—about how the holes are ALL drilled wrong (and they don't go all the way through) and about how this piece comes with NO bolts or hardware of any kind—I might not have bought it. And I would have missed out. The headboard is huge and heavy. We have it propped against the wall (we bought bolts last week after having this headboard for a month but have yet to drill the holes), and it's perfectly safe there. But why, if EVERYBODY complains about the same thing, doesn't the company take the hint and ask their supplier to drill the holes in the proper place? These holes seem to work for NO ONE. At least move them so they work for SOME of us. And give us the freaking bolts. It's absurd. I guess they don't do it because they don't have to. We keep buying this headboard because it's magnificent.
Date published: 2012-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful design The little carved bird on the headboard is so cute and I love the shape of the headboard. Very unusual. I am using this in a guest bedroom. Had to wait a little while for delivery, but it was worth the wait.
Date published: 2011-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as shown This is the 2nd one of these I have bought. One was a king size for a client and this is a queen for myself. The proportions are different than shown in online photos. The twin has a very high peak and dramatic angles. The others don't. Look carefully. The photos online show the headboard much higher than it actually is. It appears as though they have the headboard on top of a box or something because in reality, that much of the headboard doesn't show. The actual height of the top of the headboard is much lower than it is shown. Its pretty but very disappointed and I paid a big price. Also, if you choose not to use the included bird, there is no plug for the hole. I guess someone read the reviews and complaints about not including hardware because this one had it included.
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great style and unique! I loved the headboard for its great style and uniqueness with the bird perched on the side. It adds a great flair to the room. It is very versatile and can go with country, country french, cottage and a few others. The only issue I had was that we needed to go out and buy the hardware. None was included in the purchase! What's up with that?!
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value, fun design Priced well. If this was priced higher, I'd be angry that the bolt holes don't line up to a standard bed frame. It's a fun and whimsical look. The bird is removable and can be turned to face different directions. It has a peg that goes in to the main headboard at a SLANT, not straight down. Looks great in the white wash on our dark painted walls. Not looking forward to drilling bolt holes in it, but for now, the board is resting fine as it's used in a guest room. Doubt you could find such a cute headboard for less money
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous & Frustrating The headboard: GORGEOUS The fact the holes are drilled wrong: FRUSTRATING. I ordered this headboard because the problem of wrong drilled holes looked like it had been corrected as per some prior reviews. I can assure you it is not. It is so frustrating to spend close to $600 on something and have it not be right. I am keeping it because the look is exactly what I wanted. If you are not handy, or live with someone handy, or plan on finding someone handy to drill more holes, this isn't for you. If you don't mind the extra work...order on...it is a beautiful piece. The crazy part is why the company doesn't correct the problem with SO many comments about the holes.
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as tall as it looks I bought this headboard in King size. The finish is beautiful, the shape is lovely. However, the headboard is not as tall as it looks in the pictures. Euro Square pillows will completely cover it so all you can see is the very top so what's the point? I thought about sending it back, but I like the look so much I'm going to figure out a way to raise it up even if I have to attach it to the wall. All in all, I'm pleased. I just wish it were taller.
Date published: 2011-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is so beautiful. This headboard is everything I had hoped for. It is gorgeous. As other reviewers stated, however, it was difficult to install. My husband suggested having the manufacturer not drill any holes at all, as he had to plug the pre-drilled holes & drill new ones to attach it to our bed frame. Lucky for me he is quite handy with a drill.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this is a very sturdy headboard and very dramatic We love the headboard, it has great design features which fit into my scheme which changes so there are a lot of approaches that can be achieved with this bed. So easy to decorate and use in any plan. Color on mine was just a little dark
Date published: 2011-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful construction The headboard is solid and strong. We found the holes for the bedframe to be high and had to saw about an inch off the bottom of the posts. Also, the holes did not go through to hold screws and bolts so we drilled through. Otherwise, a beautiful headboard.
Date published: 2011-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes me smile I had been using the same bedroom furniture since I graduated from college (14 years ago). I decided it was time for an upgrade but I really don't like all the matchy matchy sets. We also have a long narrow bedroom so I thought using just a headboard would be a nice solution. A friend of mine actually recommended that I take a look at this one because she had seen it in the store and loved it. I thank her all the time for that advice. This headboard is amazing. It makes me smile every time I look down the hall into our bedroom. It is just a fabulous piece. The bird is so cute but the headboard certainly works without the bird as well. It would certainly be 5 stars if the attachment issues were fixed. My husband did have to drill new holes but I knew that going into this purchase and he is the handy type so it wasn't an issue for us. I got the king size in the natural color and I just love it. The wood quality is very impressive and I think the value for the price is very good. It just seems that since this headboard is so popular and everyone has the same issues with the attachment holes that Ballard Designs would remedy the problem. With that being said, don't let that minor issue be the reason you don't purchase the headboard. It is amazing and beautiful and the attachment issue was an easy fix for us.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Headboard Headboard really makes a statement. I ordered the King size and it came within 10 days. The delivery company was very efficient and timely. They called to set up a delivery day & time and the driver called me 30 minutes before he got to my house. He loaded the headboard in my gargage. The box is really really big and took me over an hour to unpack with all the staples. The headboard was securely packed and arrived without damage. It is very heavy and well made. You will need 2 people to get it in your room. I agree with all the other reviewers - no mounting hardware and the holes are not in the correct place to line up with the pre-drilled holes in the headboard. Overall, I am very pleased and the headboard really makes my bedroom complete. It reminds me of a French country home. I have purchased many items from Ballard and never been disappointed. They are a top quality firm. I was worried about purchasing something a large as this headboard and what to do if I did not like it - how to return it, etc. But after reading the reviews, I decided to take a chance and am very glad I took the leap of faith. Now off to the hardware store for mounting material.
Date published: 2012-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality but no hardware. The quality of the headboard is superb. The only obstacle was that it came with no attachment hardware whatsoever, apparently by design. Finding bolts that fit both the pre-drilled holes and a standard frame impossible, so I was reduced to hand drilling my own. Fix this part, and it's a five-star product.
Date published: 2012-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful and a great value I bought this headboard in the wood color in a King size. It is really beautiful, especially given the cost and is made better than I was expecting for the price. I also bought the Belle Jardin Spa bedding to go with it, which is also lovely. It does not come with the hardware to attach it to the bed frame, which was surprising and inconvenient, but otherwise I am really happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2011-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy and well made The holes in the headboard are in the wrong place. They recommend that you use the holes and hardware provided but that would raise the headboard above the floor. I don't recommend that as that is too much weight for a standard metal bed frame. Plus the hardware is much too large for a standard frame. I drilled my own holes and used my own hardware and we are very happy with the looks and quality of this fine piece.
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful headboard! The headboard is superbly built, beautiful and a unique addition to my bedroom. There is only one problem...the bird is a bit flimsy. It fell off and broke soon after we put the headboard on our bed. I glued it back to the headboard with wood glue and problem solved!
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful King-sized headboard. Delivered on time. I am enjoying this beautiful King-sized headboard. It is well built and comfortable. I was dismayed to find no mounting hardware was included in the package and the holes drilled in the headboard did not line up with my standard King sized bed frame. However, the headboard is so sturdy and so ample that I was able to overcome this issue with a drill and some carriage bolts from the garage. This headboard is truly a masterpiece of hardwood such as one rarely finds anymore. I know I will enjoy it for years to come. Thank you, Ballard for this magnificent design.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So adorable I got 2 twin headboards for my twins. I love the bird motif and the white wash. My only concern is there there was no hardware included. Adding that would be a plus.This is a concern for many who have bought this headboard. I did order the headboards in late March and did not receive them until August. I thought that was a bit much of a wait, however, I love having them now. The price is right and the quality is very good. I know I'll have them for many years.
Date published: 2011-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big and beautiful This headboard is as expected. Rustic, in whitewash, with hints of pale tan in the whitewash and teeny bits of the wood grain peeking through. Like a piece of sun-bleached driftwood. It's every bit of 5'7" tall, so it is substantial, and so is the bird. It was well packed, and the bird was well packed in his own box. If you live in a place that has elevators, please know the measurement of the size you want to buy versus the size of your elevator. I have a queen, and the box was about 6' square and about 6" thick. It fit in my elevator on an angle. A king would not have fit! It does not come with hardware, but your bed frame will have it. It came with 3 pre-drilled holes per leg, to allow for the height of your bed frame attachment. There is a slight odor, probably from the white wash, not unpleasant, but I expect that to dissipate in time, now that it is out of the box. I also see no reason why it couldn't be painted a different color if you want. I'm very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2012-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall, very happy with it. Great if you want a distressed/rustic look. The headboard is very pretty, just expected it to be taller from the picture in the catalog.
Date published: 2012-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid wood...very pretty. This is a beautiful and unique headboard. And the price is right! It's not easy to find high design and solid wood for a reasonable price. Thanks Ballard!
Date published: 2014-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bed, No Hardware I love this bed but it DOES NOT COME WITH ANY HARDWARE whatsoever. Also, the pre-drilled holes did not line up with my metal bed frame. I had to get a handy friend to come over and drill new holes. We also made several trips to the hardware store. This is not a 15 minute job. It's sort of an "assemble at your own risk" type of thing. The finish is nice but a lot more of the natural wood color shows through the whitewash than you can tell from online. Otherwise it looks great, it's unique and I'm happy with it.
Date published: 2011-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this headboard Love the look of the headboard and it's quality construction. The only issue I encountered was that I had to drill extra holes For installation as the ones that were pre-drilled did not work for the height of my bed frame I was attaching to. Plus the pre drilled holes did not go all the way through or include nuts inside the pre drilled holes to keep the bed stable in a sturdy enough fashion. There was an easy work around for that. The look of the headboard is really nice and what I was hoping for.
Date published: 2012-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unique piece with character I love this bed, everyone that sees it loves it because it is so unique and quirky. However, the hardware that came with it was not long enough to fit the headboard and box springs, so I had to go to a hardware store and buy my own. It wasn't difficult, just inconvenient.
Date published: 2013-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Piece This headboard is even more impressive in person! Only drawback is that it did not come with the hardware to affix it to a bedframe. All in all, a beautiful piece.
Date published: 2011-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So pretty and with all hardware needed! I received my headboard today (5 days delivered) it is exactly what I wanted! It is so whimsical like described in other reviews. BUT---- they have listened to all the reviews!!!! It came with 3 pre-drilled holes on each leg PLUS all hardware (4 bolts,washers, nuts) and I'm sure with the advice of another customer they drilled the holes all the way thru to make it sturdier!! Thank you Ballard Designs for listening to your customers!
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Note: Whitewashed finish is a Beachy Look This would be a great headboard if you are going for a beach or cottage theme. Got 2 twins for guest room. The description did state that the finish was "sandblasted & dragged" but I did not expect it to be as rough textured -- not splintery however not smooth. Does not seem to be sealed. I will most likely be lightly sanding, chalk painting, and waxing to bring a more formal look to the set. Height is what I was looking for and they are perfect. Very difficult to find fairly tall headboards ONLY (did not want footboard) that are not upholstered. Especially in a twin size. And reasonably priced. Didn't want to spend a lot since they will not get that much use. Delivery service (JBHunt) was great, on time, called before arriving. Very please with them. All in all, with a bit of "tarting up", they will work very well for me. Worth the money and small bit of effort I will put into them.
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great headboard but headache to mount Beautiful headboard, I'm very pleased with the finish and the quality. I was however disappointed that it didn't come with any harware to mount and the long delivery time - we had to wait about 6 weeks for it to be delivered. Manufacturer should strongly considered including hardware that was a big headache for us and the reason I didn't give it a perfect score.
Date published: 2011-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Irishmomma The headboard is very well made. Not happy it did not include any hardware and appears to only be made for high mattress and box spring. Had to drill new holes and order special templates for my bed frame. It required a little bit of work but in the end looks beautiful.
Date published: 2012-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cool bed I ordered the wood color bed and for the price I'm very impressed. The packaging was crazy good. Maybe too good. Even though there are holes predrilled be prepared to drill 4 more for the bolts, nuts and washers that you'll have to buy yourself to attach it to your frame. I think a previous reviewer suggested 5.5 inch bolts which worked well. I think the 5 inch might be enough though. The wood is very hard so be patient with the drilling. There are cross supports on the back of the headboard so you have to place it up against a wall. I would have given it a 5 star review but the stain job is a little messy. I have several spots - some larger than a half dollar where the stain sat and left darker blotches. They're of course in the most noticeable part right in the middle of the headboard. The bed is for a spare room so it's not that big a deal and certainly not worth trying to get a replacement. After all it did take a few hours just to unpack and would have been impossible to repack and send back. Overall it was well worth the money I paid. I think I did get it for 15 to 20 percent off the sale price. I am very happy with it.
Date published: 2012-02-16
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_143
  • loc_, sid_MH100, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
Product:MB401-Claudette Headboard
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here.
  2. Login/Register for convenient access to your Gift Registry and Wish List.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]