GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
1
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Ballard Designs {0} Services per unit {1} 04-Threshold Delivery,60-In Home Delivery,33-Oversized Delivery,ESB60-In Home Upgrade
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Catherine Rug 4.2 5 115 115
Love this Rug! It is lighter then the pictures online, but it is still beautiful. Fits in perfectly with my decor and in our entryway. Gives it such a welcoming feel. I definitely recommend this rug! January 12, 2013
Darker than it appears in catalogue This rug caught my eye several months ago. We just replaced the carpeting in our bedroom with hardwood flooring and wanted an area rug under the bed. In my search for a 9 x12 rug I began to realize the cost for an all wool rug could run me over a $1000. Not exactly what I wanted to spend for a rug that is mostly under my bed. I originally liked this rug for its neutral tones. However upon delivery it is clearly not a cream color background. It is a little gray or ashy almost looking as though it is dirty. With that being said, I am not returning it. I waited for almost 3 months for it to be delivered. I got in for a great price (much less than $1000) and the quality and feel of the rug is much to my liking. Just not a fan of the color. Would have liked it to be more of a beige or cream background. The other colors in the rug are blue and green and soft apricot. February 16, 2014
Order the color swatch first. I ordered this item for our bedroom, expecting the rug's shades of beige, blue, and grey to nicely complement our existing decor. (The photos in the catalog make the rug appear very light beige.) While I was pleased with the rug's overall quality and design, I was surprised to find that its dominant color is actually green. I am considering returning it because it doesn't at all go with the blue hue of the walls in our room, but it's such a hassle to wrap up and ship back. I really wish I had ordered the swatch first! July 29, 2011
Beautifully made all wool rug. In the pictures on the site, the rug has a taupe color, but in person it was really grey. I could not use grey in a taupe room, so sadly, am returning the rug. February 15, 2014
a pretty mistake Although we like the overall appearance of this rug, I have never had a rug shed so badly. If it weren't such a hassle I would send it back. I am so disappointed. When I vacuum I have to empty the canister three times for a 9 x 12 rug. I certainly learned my lesson not to buy a rug online again! I would not recommend this rug to anyone unless you want a constant mess. October 10, 2011
Beautiful Rug. Horrible shedding. I bought this rug in 2 different sizes a year ago. The first 8 months the carpet shed SO much that no-one could even sit on it; this was problematic since I bought it for our newborn son to play on. Each time I used the vacuum the entire canister would be filled with nothing but the carpet shed. A year later and plenty of foot traffic and vacuuming the carpet has finally stopped shedding. I still love the soothing colors. But it was a pain the 1st year. June 20, 2011
Words cannot describe shedding This rug is beautiful! The colors are muted and gorgeous. It was exactly the look I was going for. However, the shedding is more than you can imagine. I have a Dyson and vacuum the rug once a day. The canister fills EVERY TIME. How there are still fibers on this rug, I'll never know. It's been a month and fibers are all over my house. I swiffer daily. I'm considering sending it back, but am disappointed because it took me so long to find a rug with these colors... December 20, 2011
beautiful but sheds! The colors in the rug are beautiful and compliment the furniture in my family room nicely, but it's like having a giant shedding dog in the house! I vacuumed the rug everyday for the first week and filled a Dyson canister every time. I now vacuum every other day for the past month and a half and STILL get a lot of shedding but not as bad as the first week, maybe 1/3 of a canister. Do NOT get this rug if you are a neat freak or if you have small children that will be spending time on it. February 17, 2014
Poor quality; shedding I love the color and pattern of this rug. I bought the 5x8 as well as the runner and they're perfect, EXCEPT... both are "shedding" for lack of a better word. Both are losing fibers in massive quantities. If I simply brush my hand along the edge, I can get what I'd describe as a handful of "hairball" or fuzz from each. My daughter can't crawl on them without becoming coated in fuzz from head to toe. I've had them for 2 months now and the problem only seems to be getting worse. Plus, because it's happening on both, I don't think it's just a fluke. I've even stopped using a regular vacuum and switched to a hand vac hoping it would reduce the shedding. But no such luck. So ultimately, while I love the way they look, the quality is abysmal. I'm very disappointed and if rugs were easier to ship/return, I'd have tried to return. June 29, 2012
Beautiful Rug! I have had this rug for approximately 5 weeks now and absolutely love it. It's thick, rich looking and well made. The colors that stand out the most for me are light blue, gray, and caramel. I think it depends on the lighting in your home but the colors are very soft and muted so they go with many things. With regards to the shedding, it was quite excessive in the beginning and we have wood floors that show everything. I struggled with the thought of having to return this beautiful rug or live with the shedding so I went in search of a solution. One suggestion I read was to vacuum the rug daily. That's exactly what I did for approximately 2 weeks. I used a well known brand cordless stick vacuum that worked great and it took care of the problem. Wool rugs shed so it's not going to go away completely but it sheds very little now. Great price for such a beautiful rug, quick shipping...no complaints. October 2, 2013
Pretty but messy I bought this rug despite the reviews that indicated it's propensity to shed. I couldn't ignore the color pallet and low cost. I wondered how much could it really shed? Well, a lot! My house now sports a thin layer of carpet fibers all over the hard wood floors and other solid surfaces. The vacuum dust container must be emptied due to fibers a minimum of 3 times each time I vacuum the rug, which is frequently. I'm still hoping it will finally give up all the loose fibers and quit producing such a mess. October 28, 2013
Color variance I ordered 5 Catherine Rugs in 3 sizes. They are all coming at different times because they were backordered several months. Therefore, the color varies greatly from one to the next. So far, I had to return 1 of the 3. I hope the next 2 are the same color. January 29, 2014
Beautiful Rug! Great value! I was skeptical of ordering the Catherine rug based on the numerous reviews about it shedding horribly. But I fell in love with the color palette and pattern of this rug, so I had to take the chance. After shopping for a rug for almost a year, I couldn't wait to receive the rug today. It's absolutely beautiful and comfortable. The colors work perfectly in my living room and I have light tan walls and a beige sofa set. I don't think I could have found a more perfect rug. As for the shedding. I have dark laminate floors which show everything. It does shed but so far it hasn't been that bad. When I rub my hand back and forth on the carpet you can see the fibers fall onto the wood. I have not vacuumed yet, but I'm hoping after a couple times, the shedding won't bother us. As of now, I'm willing to put up with any shedding because the look of this rug exceeds my expectations. April 2, 2014
Terrible Shedding As a previous reviewer stated, this rug was the perfect color and pattern I had been searching for. But, I now regret not sending it back. I have had this rug for 5 months and it's still shedding. Now, strands of rug are coming up! Instead of a beautiful smooth rug, it has strands of yarn sticking up. I would not recommend this rug to anyone. March 13, 2012
Looks nice but sheds a lot We've had the rug for less than two months and it is still shedding. It is like having a dog hidden in the rug. It almost fills the vacuum cleaner canister each time it is vacuumed. The edges are already starting to show wear (there are only 2 of us using the rug). The two stars are because the rug is very nice looking and has great colors. January 10, 2014
Too much shedding! I love the look of the rug. It was delivered quickly and in beautiful condition. My biggest complaint is the shedding. I expect it with new rugs but this is just crazy. Fills up the vacuum bag every other time I vacuum. Costing me a fortune in bags since I have to vacuum quite often. Hopefully it will stop soon! Also, the swatch was not very helpful. The swatch was a striped piece of the rug to show the colors. The colors were accurate but you didn't get any idea of which colors were most prominent. November 24, 2012
Love the colors, love the feel. Lots of "fluff" coming off rugs but I am sure it will end soon, I think my dog is alergic to the wool but I'm alergic to her so we are even! April 10, 2014
Love this rug but still sheds after 2 years I absolutely love this rug. So many patterns and colors go with this rug because it has subtle shades of blue/green, grey, gold, brown, cream. It is not boring, but not an over the top pattern either. My one complaint is that two years later, it is still shedding like crazy! I vacuum about once a week and it sheds like it is a new rug. I guess it is worth it though, because for the price the quality is great. February 19, 2013
Oh so pretty! Just received my 9x12 rug for my master bedroom and it's beautiful! The colors are stunning! I think they are closer to the catalogue than to the colors on my laptop and IPad! I looked at the colors on several computers and they all made the rug look more tan. The rug has soft grays, taupes,greens, spa blue,and carmel colors. The outlines of many of the designs is a dark brown. I have several other wool rugs, and I do expect some shedding. I'm not bothered by this. I plan on ordering a smaller one for my walk in closet. March 8, 2012
Color issue Though the rug is beautiful and I got it for a good price, the color does not match the pictures in the catalog or online--at all! I was looking for a more beige tone and this rug is much darker and has an overall blue tone to it. I was so disappointed! I ended up returning it because I just didn't want to settle. The hunt goes on... I do want to say that delivery was very fast and they make it very easy to return if you are not satisfied. November 2, 2013
Decent Rug I really love this rug, but have to agree with other reviewers, it does shed quite a bit. Not a problem in my home. With 3 kids and a dog, I vacuum frequently anyways. The colors are just right for my home and taste, though the creamy background color that the website shows is in reality darker and more of a grayish color. I personally would have preferred it to be lighter, but it hides dirt well. All in all, I am happy with the rug, and would purchase again. October 26, 2013
Great Rug I have had this rug about a month. When it first arrived, I was really worried about the color. It looked more gray than cream and almost had a sage green tint to it. I bought it for our bedroom, which has cream and teal walls. Once situated in the room it looks very nice. The rug is thick and soft. I don't think shedding is an issue, but I expect any wool rug to shed a little. October 26, 2013
Beautiful but sheds a lot I've had this rug as a runner for over a year now and love it just as much as the first day I laid it down. Only negative is that it still sheds a lot. I have to empty the vacuum at least once after cleaning it and often find clumps of the fibers hanging from the edges or floating around my apartment. Still, the colors are great because they're so subtle while still bringing in something other than just tan or grey into my color palette. July 5, 2011
Great for a dining room I was a little reluctant to buy this rug because I thought the colors would be too brown, but I was pleasantly surprised with the beautiful muted blue and green colors. Yes, it sheds, but I have it in my dining room so no one is sitting on it. Vacuuming solves the problem for me. I probably would not like this in an area where anyone would sit on it, but for my dining room, it's perfect. October 20, 2013
Colors not overpowering and perfect for my purposes. Sample does not do it justice. Though when I put in place, color seemed lighter than what I anticipated via the sample, picture online and in catalogue. Looks very nice in my foyer and draws in colors from adjoining rooms. August 19, 2011
beautiful but intolerable shedding I just received the Catherine Rug and while I think it is extremely pretty (browns, light sea foam blue and grey sage) I vacuumed the rug for 2 hours with my heavy duty top of the line vacuum cleaner and then got down and brushed it with a brush and vacuumed it again and it is still shedding like crazy. I just wont be able to deal with the inevitable months of shedding so I will have to send it back. If the shedding would not bother you I could not recommend the look and plushness of this rug enough. I love Ballard Designs and their satisfaction guarantee and as a result will be a customer for life. September 19, 2013
Ordered for a bedroom that has tile floor. It is very soft and feels substantial. The colors are soft/subdued. I would have preferred a little more spa and caramel and less grey, but I still like it very much. Its is very soft under bare feet and substantial weight. It does not have much fuzz when I vacuum. The shipment arrived very promptly and was well packaged to prevent damage during shipment. This is my first major purchase from Ballard, and I will continue to shop at Ballard. September 29, 2013
Color is more green than I thought Although I did not order a sample, based on the photos online and in the catalog, did not expect the green hue to be as strong as it is. I bought the 9x12. I'm still on the fence as to whether or not I send it back. I will say that it's super soft and comfortable and the color isn't BAD, it's just a strange shade of muddy green. I also think that I can offset some of it by using white, teal and/or burgundy accessories to make it pop. At the moment, I only have a beige couch to compare it to so maybe that's part of the issue as well. So while I don't hate it, I don't love it either. Get a swatch before ordering. September 14, 2013
Well worth the price. Bought this rug as a runner for my front hall. It's really great quality, nice and thick and should wear well. So glad I got it - especially on sale! February 19, 2014
Beautiful Rug I've had this rug for several weeks and I still get excited every time I walk into the room. True to the other reviews, the rug has more spa blue tones than appears in the photo and so the rug did not work out as well in my living room as I would have liked but...thanks to those reviews I was prepared for that and the rug is perfect for my bedroom. The rug is beautiful and I hope it holds up for many, many years. There is some initial shedding, but that should be expected of a new wool rug. February 11, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>