GUEST
Shipping To: true
Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1 68049
false header 2 68049
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 100
 
1
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our "Bring Home Ballard: collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Bring Home Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 3 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $5.95 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Ballard Designs {0} Services per unit {1} 04-Threshold Delivery,60-In Home Delivery,33-Oversized Delivery,ESB60-In Home Upgrade
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Braided Jute Rug 4.3 5 213 213
Disappointment Bought this rug on a bring home Ballard sale, 2 or 3 years ago? It is just a mess now. We are just two very neat adults, but the tassels that are stepped on are totally gone, and in a couple of places in the middle of the rug, the braiding has unraveled. And if you sit on it, you are totally covered in fibers even this long down the road. It was a great price, very soft, and looked great at first. But unless you are going to put it where it gets no traffic, I would pick another rug. I have had lots of natural fiber rugs that didn't have these problems. August 3, 2013
messy and bad for kids I hate this rug. I have a 5 and 1 yr old and their clothes are always covered. The reviews I read said the shredding slows down but mine hasn't. I sweep constantly, it's rough, and the edges are always a mess. I've tried several things to straighten them out but nothing has worked, and now some of them are worn down to the knot. I hate that I wasted my money on it and I'm now in the process of finding another rug. October 16, 2012
Best Deal Around When I ordered the rug, I was notified that it was on back order. i gotta say, it was worth the wait! This rug is terrific. I have never ordered an item of this size from a catalog so I was somewhat nervous about the purchase. Ballard emailed me with updates regarding the arrival. I was contacted by the delivery service to pre-schedule the delivery. On delivery day, I was contacted via phone by the guy driving the truck, not once but twice! The first time was to tell me he was leaving the warehouse and had a delivery prior to mine and would call me when he was on his way to my house! Within an hour of delivery, Ballard was contacting me regarding the delivery. I was blown away with this level of costumer service. It was truly impressive. Now about the rug...I love it. it looks great in the space, is softer than I had imagined and it doesn't shed. The backing for the rug is substancial so there is no need for a pad. I ordered the 9X11 size so this is a big rug and it looks like a million bucks. Thanks Ballard. September 7, 2012
Unravelled mess! I bought this rug because it was beautiful, the price was right and it had great reviews. After about six months, one side started to unravel and after one year, both sides are now unravelling. The shedding, which typically happens for six months, has not stopped and has gotten worse! There are clumps of rug everywhere! We have to throw it away unfortunately. Put your money toward a nicer rug. I feel this was a waste of money. October 13, 2013
Looks great...sheds A LOT We absolutely love the look of this rug, but it is like having a horribly shedding dog in the house. I have to run my Dirt Devil every other day - the shedding of this rug is so bad. I guess it doesn't help that it's on hardwoods, so the white shedding shows up much more. But literally, the shedding is ALL OVER our downstairs - it doesn't just stay in the Great Room where the rug is. Very frustrating for the price we paid for this. So we'll just deal with it and run our Dirt Devil over and over and over and over again. Plus, our little one is crawling everywhere, so he ends up with the white shedding all over his clothes. Really a mess! March 30, 2013
Good Value. Makes a mess Love the way this rug looks and feels. It is a good value for the price. Be prepared to vacuum Every Day. This rug sheds like a long-haired pet!!! If you don't mind vacumming daily or having wads of "rug hair" floating around your home, this is the rug for you!!!! January 31, 2013
Love the rug, but not the shedding I love the looks of this rug! It has great texture, and as others have mentions, is still soft on bare feet (unlike a lot of sisals). What I don't like is the shedding of the tassels. And I have to admit, I was appalled when I first unrolled the rug as the sight of the fringe. But after smoothing and trimming to a consistent length, they looked awesome. Now I just lightly go over the fringe with my vacuum attachment when I clean, and they stay looking great. So there is some maintenance to the rug to a certain degree, but for the price and style, I would do it again in a heartbeat!! November 9, 2013
Just not what I expected. I had my eye on this rug for a couple of months and after reading all the good reviews I finally ordered it. There are many jute rugs out in the market but this one had a unique look. However I did not like the texture at all. It was uneven and too chunky for my taste. Also the color was much darker in person. I was expecting something more toward cream and Ivory and this was way too dark and didn’t go with the rest of my decor and furniture. Unfortunately nothing really special about this rug in my opinion other than the fringes which are not even as neat as the picture shows. Returned it the next day it was delivered. July 31, 2012
neither love it nor hate it! rug not same color as pictured (shocking, i know!) and yes, per other reviews the tassles are waaaaaay larger and more unkempt than pictured as well. i'm keeping the rug because at this point it would be too much of a hassle to return it. i don't love it and i don't hate it and that is why i did not check whether or not i would recommend this rug. i'm not decorating the Taj Mahal so hopefully the way it looks in my humble little Florida condo will indeed grow on me. August 24, 2012
Loved everything, BUT the shedding! I was so pleased when I received this rug.. the look, the feel, the durability! However, the constant shedding is so problematic. I can't believe the other reviewers don't have this problem. Is there something I am missing? Unfortunately, a recent storm ruined our rug from water damage, I would love to purchase another, but I think I may have to look for something without the tassels, as I think this may be the reason for the shedding. October 12, 2012
In love ok. so my husband and I and our 5 kids bought a bi level house. You walk in and immediately see two sets of stairs. How to dress them up??? We bought two runners, whacked off the tassels, and put them up and down the steps. ABSOLUTELY STUNNING! Compliments from all who enter. And after months of traffic, they still look new. I have bought many products from Ballard, and am a huge fan; I love their products and their prices. October 7, 2012
Great Classic Rug with Great Ballard Style I purchased the 4 x 6 rug over 7 years ago. The dimensions are right on but do not include the finge. This rug has been in my living room, at my back door and has now been in my front foyer for over 5 years. It gets heavy use, both human and pet and still looks great. The fringe has diminished a bit but it is a very durable, thick rug. I vacuum it to clean it and it doesn't mind a bit. It also has a rubbery coating on the back that does a decent job of keeping even this smaller rug in place. I would definitely purchase this rug again, but no need! I don't think it will ever wear out! August 17, 2012
This product does not meet Ballard's normally high quality. I initially loved this rug but after just a few years the backing has disintegrated and the rug is looking worn. I buy Ballard products for their quality but this one absolutely did not meet Ballard's standards. February 11, 2014
Jute rug The carpet looks beautiful in my living room. The only complaint I have is it sheds a LOT! I'm still hoping it will calm down. April 4, 2013
Just what I was looking for I looked at rugs forever and everything online had me choosing an additional binding around the edges... I did not want that. After much comparison shopping I chose Ballard and am so happy with the choice! Everyone loves it, it's soft and thick, the right size, and it hides my Golden Retriever's hair (She loves to lay on it). Very pleased! September 5, 2012
Worse than dog hair!! I love the look, I love the texture, the padding is fantastic. The jute is a little rough, particularly on my 8 month old's knees (now red with small cuts ... only one day of crawling and now I don't allow him on it). My 3 year old doesn't seem to mind the texture at all. But what REALLY gets me is the SHEDDING. The fibers are EVERYWHERE. I have wide plank dark hardwood and this carpet has small fibers, long fibers, and dust-like fibers that have made their way throughout my home and even upstairs. I vacuum without the beater bar, as was recommended, but take it from me... This rug WILL release all kinds of small particles. I ended up swiffering my hardwood daily and mopping once a week. To no avail. Finally at my wits end with this shedding, I am calling it quits and returning. Other notes: there is a slight odor from the rug upon delivery and when it is humid in the house. Also, the fringe on the rug is extremely shaggy and not nearly as neat as in the pictures. Alas, the adage is true... You get what you pay for! Resist the temptation. June 11, 2012
Sheds like crazy, unravels, bald patches I've had this rug for under four years and I am now throwing it out-- not selling it, not giving it away, throwing it in the trash-- because it has deteriorated to such a sorry state that no one could use it. The rug sheds ridiculously, and no amount of vacuuming can keep up with the piles of fibers all over the floor. My crawling, infant son is always covered in an impossible layer of fuzz. The backing seems to be deteriorating at the edges and the braids are all unraveling. The worst part though is that it has simply worn away at a spot in the middle- it's just got a bald patch. This is a total disappointment. March 11, 2014
This is a great rug for high traffic rooms! I purchased 2 of these rugs for my living and family rooms. I could not be happier. They are chunky and variegated in color and soft underfoot and seem to hide dirt and imperfections beautifully! In addition to a 10 year old boy who forgets to take his shoes off, I have a destruction-prone dog. I think these rugs might actually be able to stand up to our dogs dirty paws, constant shedding and even some chewing. I bought the natural color rugs, and they are a little darker than the photo. Mine are the color of a dark Golden Retriever, which is perfect for a high trafffic area. So pleased! February 10, 2012
Came unraveled Mine unraveled after a year or so. Too bad, b/c it was thick, soft, comfortable and I had recommended it to people! Now I have to replace it :( June 25, 2013
Wonderful coloring in the jute! I have a big formal living room with hardwood floors and I wanted to give it an updated look - I bought the large jute rug and it was just beautiful. The striations made by the different natural pieces of jute as they were woven in adds to the overall look and gives it a warm, natural feeling. The knots on the ends are rather large and a bit loose, and I suspect they will need to be tightened now and then. I am always barefoot in my house and while the larger jute weave is a bit bulky to walk on, it is definitely softer than expected. Surprisingly, there was no smell even when first unrolled! Would love to put another one somewhere else in the house!! I bought the rug pad suggested on the website to help keep it from slipping -it is not needed as the latex back works fine, but I think the padding will help lengthen the life of the jute material. March 25, 2013
Updated look I love the look, texture, & color palette of this rug. It gives an instant updated look to our family room. It has warm tones and the braided texture definitely gives the rug interest. The smell dissipated within a week and the built-in underpadding is a nice feature. I felt like the colors are warmer & deeper in person than in the online photo. The photo on the website makes the rug look more washed out than it really is. It is slightly rough & lumpy underfoot, but not too uncomfortable to walk on. The kids don't really like to lay on the floor to watch tv with this rug the way they did with our previous wool rug. I would definitely recommend this rug for a casual, updated look. August 15, 2012
Love Love Love this Rug! I debated for a long time wether or not to get this rug. I have the banded seagrass in the dining room and am extremely happy with it but I was worried that this rug would look too casual for my living room. When the jute rug came on sale, from it's already low price, I knew I had to do it. This carpet is LOVELY, thick and soft, elegant yet casual. I chose the natural and it is seems very true to the photo in the catalogue in color. Even my 16 year old daughter is impressed with this "chic" addition to my livig room. Whatever scent there was was not particularly bad or overpowering. A natural grassy scent. Any imperfections....fluffy fringe or loose pieces are natural the the material and add to it's charm. By the way, the fringe can easily be hand raked and straightend. I love this carpet and would readily reccomend to anyone who is on the fence to go for it! April 1, 2012
Beautiful rug! This is a gorgeous rug! I've only had it down a couple of weeks but get lots of compliments. But a word of warning - if you order it, take it out of the bagging immediately to air. My first one mildewed because I left it in the bag too long. But Ballard was great and replaced it without question! They have great customer service :) October 31, 2012
Overall very happy! Overall, I am very happy with my 8x10 rug. As others have said, it is bigger than expected and the color variation is beautiful. Two negative things about it however, the fringe was uneven and a little ragged; not as pictured in the photo. I trimmed it and it looks better. Also, when the rubber backing was put on, some of it got onto some of the fringe. Overall, I am very happy and it looks amazing in my dining room!! October 5, 2013
Extremely rustic & bumpy I read all of the reviews and thought this would be a great rug. It is much more rustic than I thought it would be. It is usually shedding all over my kids clothes and the edges that look like a nice little fringe in the photo are actually very bushy and at times come off in chunks. If it wasn't such a hassle to return it, I would. My family does not like it at all but we decided we would live with it for a couple of years and then get something else. It is better suited for a sun room rather than my living room. March 31, 2013
better than expected I needed a nice way to allow my outdoor dog to walk to the kitchen without destroying another Ballard rug. The jute runner is just right and can be rolled up and stowed if company is coming! it is much thicker than I expected and well made. the natural color is sort of dark, but that is even better for dirty paws! If I had paid attention to the ad copy, I would have seen that it is not reversible; I hope that won't be necessary after all. Delivery was delayed, but Ballard kept me informed all along the way. So, a good purchase! March 28, 2013
would not purchase this again I bought these rugs for my den and kitchen. I thought the color would be great for hiding dirt for a high traffic area. I have 3 complaints: 1.Well, when the rugs arrived the smell was horrible. it was almost a mildew smell/chemical smell. I ordered a 8x10 and did not want to go to trouble of sending it back so I waited it out to see if smell went away and it has not. 2. the tassels were so tangled on the edges of the rugs. It looked nothing like the magazine picture 3. the rug has so much fibers that get on your floor, furniture, and clothes. I have to sweep everyday and use a lint roll brush constantly. So my advise, is dont by this rug and waste the money like I did. February 4, 2012
Love it~ This rug is softer and heavier then I expected. It is great! The braid is tight and the color rich. Great sticky bottom, no need for rug pad! August 1, 2012
Natural rug with casual comfort. Beautiful rug that fits well with our casual style. Rug is softer than I expected from jute. I love the natural colors and texture! Everyone who has seen it loves it! April 12, 2013
Pretty Rug but Sheds and Itches I love the look of this rug and I get a lot of compliments on it; however, we have had it for about a year now and the braids are coming loose. I have to tuck them back in from time to time. This rug also sheds like crazy! If a throw pillow or blanket ever fall off the couch onto the rug, it is covered in jute. The rug is also pretty itchy. Not sure if this is a personal reaction to it or common for most people, but I can't sit on the rug without itching like crazy within a few minutes. February 4, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>