Top_Nav_v2_Font
Shipping To: ???HEADER_COUNTRY_SELECTOR_ENABLED???
1.800.536.7551 Return to Shopping Cart
false header 1
false header 2
  30 6 0 More More text html 2000 300
 
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account.
Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue'
Example: name@domain.com For further assistance in retrieving your
password, please call:

(800) 536-7551
Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /BallardDesigns/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18

If you're not happy, we're not happy. That's where our "Love It or Send It Back" policy comes in. If you're dissatisfied with your Ballard purchase for any reason, you can return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or full refund* (excluding Shipping & Processing fees).

You are invited to try items within our Best of Ballard collection risk-free for 30 days. If you're not satisfied, we will refund the purchase price AND shipping costs. Best of Ballard items are exempt from additional discounts and free shipping offers.

If you don't absolutely love your new slipcovered seating or upholstered seating for any reason, return it within 10 days of delivery absolutely free – we'll even pay the return shipping. It's that simple. We guarantee it. Now doesn't that make you happy?

*Excludes personalized, customized, monogrammed or COM (customer's own material) unless defective.

We want you to be happy. If for any reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, simply return it within 90 days of the ship date for an exchange or refund (excluding Shipping & Processing fees). All products are guaranteed from defects for a full year.

Please carefully inspect your order upon delivery. If you receive damaged or defective merchandise, you may contact our Customer Service department at 1-800-536-7551 and a representative will be glad to arrange a return or exchange for you.

Please note: Any items that are monogrammed, customized, Customer's Own Material (COM), or made-to-order cannot be returned or exchanged unless damaged or defective. Defective items will be exchanged unless no longer available, in which case a Merchandise Certificate will be issued. Once a returned item is received in our warehouse, the return or exchange will be processed immediately. For credit card orders, you can expect to see your refund credit within 72 hours. For check and money orders, you can expect to receive your refund check within 7-10 business days.

Special delivery methods are noted in the item description.

Standard Delivery
Orders are shipped by standard ground and usually arrive within 3-7 business days. Items ordered at the same time may not be delivered together.

Threshold Delivery
Threshold Deliveries are made by standard truck, unloaded by the driver and placed inside the first-floor doorway, garage or covered area of your choice. Delivery is typically 2-3 weeks from the date item is shipped but may vary depending on your residence and location of shipment pickup.

In-Home Delivery
In-Home Deliveries are made by standard truck, placed inside your home wherever you like, inspected, and the packaging removed. Please allow an additional 2-3 weeks from Ship Date for your order to arrive. An agent will call to schedule your delivery. (Not available in all states.)

O/S (Oversized) Delivery
Items that are heavy or bulky are subject to an Oversized Delivery surcharge. This charge is listed after the item price.

Express Delivery
Express orders received by 4 p.m. EST are shipped the same day.
For items under 15 lb., the following Express Delivery rates apply:

  • Two day service, add $9.95
  • Next day service, add $19.95
  • Alaska, Puerto Rico, USVI & Hawaii, add $9.95 (Express Delivery required)


Call 1-800-536-7551 for Express Delivery charges for items over 15 lb.

Swatch Shipping
Ballard Designs offers up to 10 free swatches for all of our fabrics for a small fee of $6.00 for shipping and processing. It will take 3-7 business days for your swatches to arrive. The swatches are approximately a 3" X 3" square.

To order a fabric swatch, click here.

We do offer some rug, leather, and wallpaper swatches. To see if the swatch is available, please call us at 800-367-2775.

false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Bourdonnais Double Bookcase Short is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Husband's bookcase Looks wonderful in place. Well made - totally pleased.
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dual Purpose I purchased this to use for a tv/media console. It arrived just as promised and in perfect condition. I like the fact that it holds my 55" flat screen but can also be used as a bookcase if my needs change. Great look and quality for the price!
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and beautiful! I love this bookcase in my livingroom. It is so sturdy and beautiful.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it...looks great w/our Japanese 4 panel screen over the top of it. Love it ...looks great w/our 4 panel Japanese screen hung over the top of it. It was a great choice and all came together.
Date published: 2013-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful look These bookcase are very sturdy and look great. The weathered finish is very pretty and they are a good height.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great piece of furniture! This bookcase is perfect. It is actually wood and not particle board or composite. It looks great in my husband's office. The bookcase is not too big and not too small. I am very pleased. The delivery was quick and I am satisfied in every way.
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful piece. Arrived sooner then expected, great piece looks wonderuful in the entry area.
Date published: 2012-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is of excellent quality! I am so pleased with my bookcase ! It is not only stunning but very well built.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I finally bought it! :-) For some time I had been looking for a bookcase which could do double duty as a sofa table. This is the one I always came back to, even though it is way "too nice" not to be in full view. The sofa backs up to a passage way and windows to the back porch, so only the top is visible from the living area. I like the open design which doesn't bulk up the space; the height is just right as a sofa table, enabling me to display some finishing touches there, plus provides a place to set a drink, etc. The espresso contrasts well against the warm brown sofa and coordinates with a few other dark pieces here and there. Good to know: it has floor-leveling adjusters on the 4 corners--nice. I did have to use some glue remover to get the white label off the upper back edge, which showed above the sofa back. The quality is very good, and it was delivered assembled, well-packed in a box, and carried to where I needed it by the polite delivery men from the trucking company. I was alerted the day before, and 30 minutes before delivery. Now, I wonder what practical use I can find for that cardboard box--puppet theatre? SUV cargo liner? Craft area floor protector? Even the rigid packing foam gets repurposed in this house. Fun!
Date published: 2012-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sofa table I bought this table to use as a sofa table and room break. It is perfect! I think it will serve many purposes and looks fantastic.
Date published: 2011-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent- Belgian Oak Finish- See pictures! Product was fully assembled. Looks great in our long hallway entrance. Added a pic of the Belgian oak finish to help everyone get a better idea of what it looks like. If you look at it long enough, theres a slight pink undertone, but it may just be the wall & floor colors in my house bringing it out. Its definitely darker than what this website shows.
Date published: 2012-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great style. Solid construction. I ordered this great bookcase in gray oak. It has a satin finish and is well made. My one pet peeve: I wish there was an opening in the back of the base molding to slip excess wires from lamps,etc. beneath. Other than that, I would highly recommend this product and will probably order it again for other clients.
Date published: 2016-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stronger than I dared hope! Wanted an open back bookcase with enough strength to actually hold books! So many I looked at - even in this price range were quite flimsy. Just downsized (retiring!) and wanted to keep my open rooms open. This does the trick while looking lovely and providing separation for the different seating areas.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT ITEM Very satisfied with this item. Looks great in my office. Could not be happier.
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality and a perfect fit for our space The bookcase is the perfect size for our space. We are delighted with the quality of the bookcase and it provides the storage we need and at a fair price.
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as pictured The bookcase is well constructed and exactly as pictured. The rubbed black finish blended well with the other furniture we have in the bonus room. We are very pleased with the purchase.
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant and well-sized. We selected this bookcase for our master bedroom. It's perfectly sized and the open contruction keeps it from feeling like a large/heavy piece. I'm very pleased.
Date published: 2012-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's perfect in the dining room! We'd been searching for a sideboard for the dining room, but nothing struck us as "right." This is it!
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Solid & Nice Piece I am very pleased with my bookcase. It is a solid and stable piece and it looks beautiful in our library. The top has room enough for our flat screen TV and the bottom is spacious enough for many books, although I am trying not to stuff it with books as the detail in the back looks quite pretty when the shelves are not packed!
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a sturdy, nice looking book case. In addition to ordering this low bookcase, I also ordered the Tuscan large center bookcase. The low bookcase is nice looking and very sturdy. I would recommend it. The large bookcase looks nice, but as a previous reviewer mentioned, the shelves droop in the middle with a full load of books on them. They are not strong enough or well-supported enough to hold a full shelf of books without sagging in the center. The previous reviewer was exactly right about this issue and I should have heeded their advice.
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This piece Anchors the room I love this piece! Because I can see through the piece it doesn't overpower the room with heaviness yet I can hide any wiring running from my TV and allows me flexibility in furnishings and decor of my living room. Couldn't have made a better choice!
Date published: 2011-10-11
  • y_2017, m_2, d_22, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_, sid_MV208, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ballarddesigns
Product:MV208-Bourdonnais Double Bookcase Short
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]

Welcome to your Idea Board

  1. Grab your favorite Ballard items from the site, and drag and drop them here.
  2. Login/Register for convenient access to your Gift Registry and Wish List.
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]